BBB Accredited Business since

GT Car Shop, Inc.

Phone: (303) 744-7711 Fax: (303) 715-1878 View Additional Phone Numbers 1235 S Jason St, Denver, CO 80223 http://www.gtcarshop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GT Car Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GT Car Shop, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GT Car Shop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1982 Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 06/13/1988 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kelly Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Smith, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Paintless Dent Repair
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GT Car Shop was unethical,dishonest about the repairs and completion time and did inferior work during the course of repairing my Jeep Grand Cherokee. GT Car Shop received my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee on 12/20/13. The vehicle was involved in an accident and GT Car Shop was recommended to me for repairs. GT Car Shop told me and the insurance company they would have the vehicle teardown completed so Progressive Insurance could do their inspection by 12/23/14. They did not do this. Progresive was out on 12/23 and 12/27 and the vehicle wad not ready. They were not able to inspect the vehicle until 12/30 due to the shop not having it ready as promised, delaying everything a week. While I was negotiating a settlement with Progressive, I visited the shop on 1/7 and met with ***** *****, the owner, and his body tech. We went over the vehicle together and he assured me that he could fix it as well as it was before the accident. I explained to him that I was currently renting a car and needed the vehicle back as soon as possible. I also told him that I needed his estimate completed as soon as possible so the work could begin once I settled with the insurance company. He shook my hand and gave me his word/guarantee that the vehicle would be fixed properly and quickly and he would get the estimate ready immediately. ***** sent me a revised estimate on 1/10/14 with a note that he would be gone the entire next week. It was incomplete and did not include many of the things we discussed. I called and discussed this with him and he assured me he would get it corrected before he left. I settled with Progressive on 1/17/14. I called the shop to begin work. Selena, the receptionist told me ***** was out of town, had not completed the estimate or ordered the parts and they couldn't do anything until he got back the following week. She sent me another incomplete estimate on 1/21. I signed it and sent it back on 1/22 with notes that it was incomplete still. She said he would call on Mon. He did not. After leaving 10 messages on Tues 10/28, he finally called me back. He apologized and said he would get on it. We finally agreed to the additions/changes on 1/28/14, 11 days after the work was supposed to begin. It was agreed the Jeep would be done by 2/14/14. The Jeep was not done until 2/20/14. It was also agreed that the Jeep would be in a lit garage when I picked it up so I could see it. When I picked it up on 2/20/14, it was outside in the dark. I regretfully was trusting enough to pay cash and take the vehicle home. The next day, I saw that they had not replaced the grill per the estimate and put the same scratched one back on, there were body clips missing in a wheel well, there were globs of excess paint hanging from the corners of panel, there was dirt under the clear coat in 3 different spots, The hood didn't match the existing grill or quarter panel and there was a misaligned hood with a large gap between it and the grill. I took the vehicle back to the shop on the 22nd and ***** said I was being overly critical but bring it back in on Mon 2/24 and he'd do what he could. I took it back on Mon 2/24. When I picked it up on Tues 2/25, the original grill was still on it, the hood was till misaligned with the grill and the hood still didn't match the grill or quarter panel. All they did was replace the body clips and sand off the globs nothing else. I asked ***** why the grill was not replaced and he said that the replacement part they ordered did not come with paintable overlay, only the grill back. He said the paint matched as good as they could get it and he said he did not see a problem with the large gap between the hood and grille. He would not do anything more at that time. I got home that day and I called a Jeep dealership and had them look up the part # for the grill. They pulled one out the warehouse and assured me it should have come with the overlay. I emailed ***** about this and he said that he called their part supplier and that part must have been stolen out of the box and they were sending him another one. Continued in settlement....

Desired Settlement: ....continued from complaint details. ***** said that grills are hard to paint and he did not want to paint it. He also said that he knew the hood and quarter panel was mismatched but justified this by saying that they were actually doing me a favor by painting the entire hood to cover one small scratch on the corner instead of fading it into the only panel proplerly as they had promised. At this point, I made it clear that I expected them to finish the repairs and install all of the new parts on the vehicle I had paid for. ***** actually told me at this time that I was being overly difficult and offered to give me the unpainted replacement grill, give me $100 and wanted me to take the Jeep to another shop to complete the repairs. I of course refused this and told him I expected him to complete the work and I was not going to involve another shop in a job that his business in responsible for completing. ***** then agreed to paint and replace the grill, fade in the quarter panel and attempt to correct the gap under the hood. This is when the games really started. He told me could not get me in until 3/17/14 and made me wait 3 and a half weeks to get me in to work on the Jeep again. I told him that I was still renting a vehicle in the meantime and he seemed to take great satisfaction is telling me that I wouldn't have to rent a vehicle if I would just accept the Jeep as it is. I told him I would wait and get the vehicle in again on 3.17. I dropped the vehicle off again of 3/17/14. I picked it up again on 3/20/14. The paint work was completed but they once again left several globs of excess paint on the panels. There is still an extremely large gap between the hood and the grill. I verified at a Jeep dealership that is over twice as large as the gap on any of the vehicles of the same year they have on their lot. When they reinstalled the quarter panel, they also left an extremely large gap between the hood and this panel. When I got the vehicle home, I had toe unbolt and reinstall the quarter panel myself. The hood is loose on the vehicle from them trying to unsucessfully correct the gap and is loose on the vehicle and wobbles and shudders at highway speed. I brought all of these things to *****'s attention. He basically said that he did all he was going to do. He did not agree to try to correct the issues until I threatened to take it up with the BBB. He made me wait an unreasonably long time again until 4/16/14 to get the vehicle back in. He rescheduled for 5/15/14 as he said they were swamped and this was the soonest he could get me in. When I brought the vehicle in on 5/15, I was told by Selena, the receptionist, that ***** was not there and they were not expecting the vehicle. She would not allow me to leave it. I have tried calling the business and emailing them several times since and have not received a response or returned phonecall. Settlement I am seeking: I still have a vehicle with a loose hood, a large gap between the grill and good, misaligned panels and several globs of excess paint still present. I do not trust GT Car Shop to complete this work. I would like them to reimburse me to have the work completed at a reputable shop. I am not seeking any backpay for all of the wasted time and rental costs due to their incompetence. I simply want the vehicle fixed per the original agreement. I have photos of the vehicle before and after the accident and emails and phone records to prove all of the details and dates of the factual info that has been relayed to you in the correspondence. Sorry for the lengthy nature of this. There is still a lot I did not include that I dan expound upon or provide additional details of if needed. I truly appreciate your assistance and thank you in advance for assisting me in resolving this unfortunate situation. Thank you. **** ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/07/03) */ See pdf attachment


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on GT Car Shop, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)