BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/2003

GT Car Shop, Inc.

Phone: (303) 744-7711Fax: (303) 715-1878View Additional Phone Numbers1235 S Jason St, DenverCO 80223-3114

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/2003

BBB has determined that GT Car Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised GT Car Shop, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GT Car Shop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: GT Car Shop was unethical,dishonest about the repairs and completion time and did inferior work during the course of repairing my Jeep Grand Cherokee.
GT Car Shop received my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee on 12/20/13. The vehicle was involved in an accident and GT Car Shop was recommended to me for repairs. GT Car Shop told me and the insurance company they would have the vehicle teardown completed so Progressive Insurance could do their inspection by 12/23/14. They did not do this. Progresive was out on 12/23 and 12/27 and the vehicle wad not ready. They were not able to inspect the vehicle until 12/30 due to the shop not having it ready as promised, delaying everything a week. While I was negotiating a settlement with Progressive, I visited the shop on 1/7 and met with ***** *****, the owner, and his body tech. We went over the vehicle together and he assured me that he could fix it as well as it was before the accident. I explained to him that I was currently renting a car and needed the vehicle back as soon as possible. I also told him that I needed his estimate completed as soon as possible so the work could begin once I settled with the insurance company. He shook my hand and gave me his word/guarantee that the vehicle would be fixed properly and quickly and he would get the estimate ready immediately.
***** sent me a revised estimate on 1/10/14 with a note that he would be gone the entire next week. It was incomplete and did not include many of the things we discussed. I called and discussed this with him and he assured me he would get it corrected before he left. I settled with Progressive on 1/17/14. I called the shop to begin work. ******, the receptionist told me ***** was out of town, had not completed the estimate or ordered the parts and they couldn't do anything until he got back the following week. She sent me another incomplete estimate on 1/21. I signed it and sent it back on 1/22 with notes that it was incomplete still. She said he would call on Mon. He did not. After leaving 10 messages on Tues 10/28, he finally called me back. He apologized and said he would get on it. We finally agreed to the additions/changes on 1/28/14, 11 days after the work was supposed to begin.
It was agreed the Jeep would be done by 2/14/14. The Jeep was not done until 2/20/14. It was also agreed that the Jeep would be in a lit garage when I picked it up so I could see it. When I picked it up on 2/20/14, it was outside in the dark. I regretfully was trusting enough to pay cash and take the vehicle home.
The next day, I saw that they had not replaced the grill per the estimate and put the same scratched one back on, there were body clips missing in a wheel well, there were globs of excess paint hanging from the corners of panel, there was dirt under the clear coat in 3 different spots, The hood didn't match the existing grill or quarter panel and there was a misaligned hood with a large gap between it and the grill. I took the vehicle back to the shop on the 22nd and ***** said I was being overly critical but bring it back in on Mon 2/24 and he'd do what he could. I took it back on Mon 2/24. When I picked it up on Tues 2/25, the original grill was still on it, the hood was till misaligned with the grill and the hood still didn't match the grill or quarter panel. All they did was replace the body clips and sand off the globs nothing else. I asked ***** why the grill was not replaced and he said that the replacement part they ordered did not come with paintable overlay, only the grill back. He said the paint matched as good as they could get it and he said he did not see a problem with the large gap between the hood and grille. He would not do anything more at that time.
I got home that day and I called a Jeep dealership and had them look up the part # for the grill. They pulled one out the warehouse and assured me it should have come with the overlay. I emailed ***** about this and he said that he called their part supplier and that part must have been stolen out of the box and they were sending him another one. Continued in settlement....

Initial Business Response
See pdf attachment

03/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/02/1988Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Smith (President)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Paintless Dent Repair
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for GT Car Shop, Inc.

1235 S Jason St

Denver, CO 80223-3114

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*GT Car Shop, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 715-0737
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

Automobile Service & Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.