BBB Accredited Business since

Colorado Auto Body

Phone: (303) 361-6942 Fax: (303) 200-8156 1465 Dallas St, Aurora, CO 80010 http://www.coloradoautobody.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Colorado Auto Body staff offers our customers over 150 years of combined experience with a full range of auto body repair and auto body replacement services.  Colorado Auto Body is locally owned and been in business since 1984.  We service the entire Denver and Aurora metropolitan area.
If you can’t bring your vehicle to us; we’ll even travel to you to give you a free estimate.  Among the many other service benefits we provide to you are:
Free 24/7 pick-up and delivery of your vehicle to your home or business.
Free shuttle service for our customers.
Colorado Auto Body’s Lifetime Warranty on all auto body work we perform *please call for details*.
Car and truck rental arrangements for our customers.
24/7 towing services available to our customers
Help with your insurance claims.  (We have outstanding relationships with all of the major auto insurance companies and their agents.)
Credit financing offered by GE’s CARCAREONE repair financing program.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Colorado Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Colorado Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Colorado Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1985 Business started: 10/23/1984 Business started locally: 10/23/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Lipsitz, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Lipsitz, Owner/President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Method(s) of Payment

cash , check, all credit cards normally accepted in the USA , financing thru Synchrony Bank

 

Refund and Exchange Policy
Colorado Auto Body offers a lifetime warranty on all of our auto body repairs and refinish workmanship.  Please be sure to ask about the details.
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Colorado Auto Body has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COLORADO AUTO BODY, MALICIOUS MANIPULATIVE REPAIRS DONE TRUCK RETURNED WITH SYSTEMATIC ERRORS DONE ONLY TO BE TOLD THEY ARE NOT RESPOSIBLE. MY TRUCK A ***** *** **** WAS IN FRONT END COLLISION. I GOT ONLINE AND LOOKED UP REPAIR SHOPS, COLORADO AUTO BODY LOOKED LIKE A LEGITIMATE SHOP " DRIVING HOME QUALITY" IS THERE COIN PHRASE. TRUCK WAS FLAWLESS PRIOR TO ACCIDENT AND HAD NO LIGHTS ON DASH. AFTER ACCIDENT TRUCK STILL HAD NO LIGHTS ON DASH STILL RAN FINE AND HAD ZERO FLUID LEAKS. TRUCK WAS THEN TOWED TO COLORADO AUOT BODY. I CALLED ONCE TWICE A WEEK TO GET UPDATES OF REPAIRS BEING DONE I WAS TOLD THAT REPAIRS WERE GOING SMOOTHLY AND UNDER WAY ,THIS WENT ON FOR THREE MONTHS , COME TO FIND OUT THEY ONLY HAVE 58 MAN HOURS OF LABOR INTO TRUCK ON THERE BOOKS. THERE WERE FOUR INSURANCE SUPPLEMNTALS DONE. ***** AUTHORIZED APROX 14,000 $ OF PARTS AND LABOR TO TRUCK. EVENTUALLY TRUCK WAS " FINISHED". UPON ARRIVAL THE HEAD LIGHT WASNT EVEN MOUNTED CORRECTLY. I PAID 500 $ CASH AND GOT NO RECEIPT FOR DEDUCTABLE. I INSPECTED TRUCK AND EVERYTHING LOOKED GOOD. DROVE TRUCK HOME, ON WAY HOME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE TRUCK STARTED LOSING POWER BETWEEN GEARS LITTARALLY , I HAD KIDS IN CAR ON HIGHWAY DURING RUSH HOUR AND NO POWER ! SAFETY PROBLEM MAYBE? I CALLED C.A.B. AND TOLD THEM OF SYSTEMATIC REPAIRS THEY SAID WE WILL "FIX IT " ( MIND YOU THAT I WORK 80+ HRS A WEEK AND WIFE WORKS 40+ HRS AND THIS IS OUR ONLY CAR AND WE JUST REINTEGRATED TO CICVLIAN LIFE AFTER ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY )C.A.B THEN TOWED TRUCK BACK. PRIOR TO THE TRUCK GETTING TOWED I TOOK TRUCK TO A SHOP FOR A DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE TO SEE WHAT CODES WERE POPPING. THREE CODES POPPED LEFT SIDE AIR BAG SQUIB B1A28,( IMPROPER FIXING OR MOUNTING OF AIR BAG CAN BE ATTEMPTED MANSLAUGHTER IN SOME STATES ) P1451 EVAPORATIVE EMISSION SYSTEM VENT CONTROL CIRCUIT, AND p0513 INCORRECT IMMOBILIZER KEY. WITH OUT C.A.B KNOWING THIS THEY CALLED AND SAID THEY ONLY HAD ONE CODE. LEAVING OUT AIR BAG ENTIRELY AND IMMOBILIZER KEY, THEY ALSO SAID THAT THESE DAMQAGES WERENT RELATED TO ACCIDENT AFTER I TOLD THE MANAGER THAT "TRUCK RAN FINE UNTIL YOU OVERHAULED FRONT OF ENGINE AND I THINK WHAT YOU GUYS ARE DOING IS HOLDING ON TO VEHICHLES AND GETTING AS MUCH MONEY FROM INSURNCE COMPANYS AS POSSIBLE, MANIPULTING PARTS OF THE VEHICLES TO BREAK DOWN LATER SO VEHICLE HAS TO COME BACK AND GET REPAIRED, AGAIN TAKING MORE MONEY FROM ME THE INSURANCE COMPANYS AND WASTING MY VERY IMPROTANT TIME. AND OF COURSE ONCE I MENTIONED THIS ALL THE SUDDEN THERE NOT GOING TO FIX DAMAGES. SO THE TRUCK WORTH 35,000 DOLLARS AND HAD 14,000 OF WORK TO IT NOW SITS INOPERABLE BECAUSE C.A.B HAS NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING WITH ANY VEHICLE AND THINKS THEY CAN WASTE MY TIME MONEY AND INSURANCE COMPANYS MONEY WHILE THEY JOKE IN THE GARAGE INSTEAD OF DOING THERE JOB.

Desired Settlement: ANY ONE ELSE HAVE PROBLEMS WITH COLORADO AUTO BODY LET KNOW. THIS COMPANY ONLY EXISTS TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF DECENT HARD WORKING CONSUMERS.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/05/26) */ response XX-XX-XXXX to BBB (2008 ***** *** XXXX Xx4 Quad Cab, Silver, 96,418.00 miles) Mr. *********'s Vehicle was brought in for repairs on January 5, 2015, authorization was signed on the 6th and disassembly of the damaged parts began on the 7th. The supplement was completed and faxed to Geico on the 15th. Our file documentation shows the customer was contacted a minimum of once a week while the vehicle was being repaired. The total amounts for the repairs were $14066.90. (also Sent another receipt to customer for his deductible and all payments applied via us mail). For a repair of this caliber the time for repairs is not solely based off the repair hours which were listed in the estimate. There are other factors which play in to the time frame of the repairs such as insurance inspection delays, parts delays, pre-existing vehicles in production. Every time a supplement or an insurance carrier requests to re-inspect a vehicle, the car is then taken out of production and placed back in to production once the additional damage is approved. This is another reason why the repairs were delayed. Towards the end of the repairs the vehicle was found to have a damaged differential which could only be found with the alignment in this case. The vehicle required approximately 25 hours of frame repair which utilized our specialty frame rack due to the trucks size. To help the customer during the time of repairs, We assisted the customer with rental car for 30 days. The customer picked up his vehicle on 04/03/2015 and called back on 04/06/2015 to report he had a check engine light on and that the truck began to run rough. We told the customer we would tow the truck back to the shop and check the engine light and to see what was causing rough drive, free of charge. After multiple conversations we were able to convince the customer to allow us to tow the vehicle to the shop on 04/25/2015. Colorado Auto Body supplied the customer with a second rental until the diagnosis could be completed, free of charge. We had our Mechanical shop complete a check the Engine light and test drive the vehicle. The tests found P1451: Diesel Particulate filter system performance - which is normal wear on this time of truck and **** cause a drivability issue (Loss of Speed or power). PXXXX: XX Sensor bank 1 sensor 2 heater circuit fault- Which is another part which wears and can cause performance issues. No other faults or indicators lights were detected. At the time of the inspection we were unable to detect or locate any air bag warning codes. The Repair facility stated per the facts of the accident they were unable to associate the issues with this type of accident. I advised the customer we could send the vehicle to the local Dodge Dealer for a second opinion, but he would be responsible for the checkout charge unless they could relate the issues to the accident at which time the insurance company would cover the repairs in full. The customer declined the inspection. We gave the customer an additional day with the rental to think about having a second opinion. When he declined, we towed the vehicle back to his residence, free of charge. Mr. ********* was kept informed throughout the re-inspection process. Colorado Auto Body paid approximately $1000.00 in assistance with the rental cars, towing and indicator light inspection. This amount was only to assist the customer some of the frustrations which are common when going through a dramatic experience such as a major front end collision. We pride ourselves in maintaining a great customer relationship. Although **** ********* may not agree, as a company we have gone over above in an effort to keep a valued customer. We **** be happy to have Mr ********* bring his vehicle back and have his insurance company re-inspect and address any oncerns that he may have in referace to the repairs. We would like to win back Mr ********* as a customer and we are open to help him resolve any possible related issues. Please contact **** ****** GM @ XXXXXXXXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (4200, 13, 2015/06/10) */ SENATE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS, PROFESSIONS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT Senator ****** ** ****** **** Chair Bill No: SB 869Author:Yee As Introduced: February 18, 2011 Fiscal: Yes SUBJECT: Automotive repair dealers: airbags. SUMMARY: Increases the penalty for a person who, after preparing a written estimate to repair a deployed airbag, fails to properly repair and restore that airbag to its original condition. Existing law, the Business and Professions Code (BPC): 1) Establishes the Bureau of Automotive Repair under the Supervision and control of the Director of Consumer Affairs. (BPC § 9882) 2) Establishes a misdemeanor penalty of up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both for a person who fails to comply with the Automotive Repair Act, except as specified. (BPC § 9889.20) Existing law, the Vehicle Code (VC): 1)Requires that if a vehicle was originally manufactured with a "supplemental restraint system" Ýwhich includes airbags the reconstructed Ý"salvaged vehicle" shall also be equipped with a supplemental restraint system in good working order that meets applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards and conforms to the manufacturer's specifications for that vehicle. (VC § 5505) 2)Establishes a misdemeanor penalty of up to one year in jail, a $5,000 fine, or both for a person who installs or reinstalls for compensation, distributes, or sells a previously deployed airbag in a vehicle, if the person knows that the airbag has been previously deployed. SB 869 Page 2 (VC § 27317) This bill: Establishes a misdemeanor penalty of up to one year in jail, a $5,000 fine, or both for an automotive repair dealer who prepares for a customer a written estimate that includes replacement of a deployed airbag and who fails to repair and fully restore the airbag to original operating condition. FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown. This bill has been keyed "fiscal" by Legislative Counsel. COMMENTS: 1. Purpose. This bill is sponsored by the Center for Auto Safety (Sponsor). Existing law establishes a penalty of up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both for a person who fails to comply with the provisions of the Automotive Repair Act. However, there is no language that requires an air bag repair to fully restore the airbag "to its original operating condition." Additionally, the Sponsor believes that the "current penalty provision is not strong enough to deter an automotive repair dealer for failing to bring the airbag back to its pre-loss condition." 2. Recent Events Involving Faulty Airbags. A February 2008 Reader's Digest article, Airbag Scams: Dashboard Danger, discussed several accidents where a faulty airbag led to a fatality in an automobile accident. In one case in San Diego, an 18-year old man died in a car accident where the airbag compartments were stuffed with paper. A forensic scientist concluded that although he had not been wearing a seatbelt, had there been an airbag in the truck, he would have survived. The article also stated that a consumer is vulnerable to these types of fraud whenever he or she buys a used vehicle or sends a wrecked one for repairs. A con artist who steals a brand new single airbag can make $1,000 or more. The article also states that customers currently do not have a reliable method to determine the full history of a used car before they buy it. It warns that existing databases don't always receive the most up-to-date information. This happens for a variety of reasons, but can be attributed to the fact that insurance companies and some DMV's will not share damage claims data with the database services. For example in 2006, a potential car buyer ran a Carfax report before buying a car. After ensuring that everything checked SB 869 Page 3 out, he purchased the car only to have it break down the next day. He later found out that it would require $4,000 in repairs. 3. Reestablishment of the BAR Autobody Inspection Program. The Department of Consumer Affairs' 2006-07 Annual Report states that the BAR reestablished the Auto Body Inspection Program in January 2007. This program allows qualified consumers to receive free inspections to verify the collision repair work done on their cars. During the 2006-07 fiscal year, the BAR's Auto Body Inspection Program completed 232 inspections, of which 81 (35 %) uncovered poor workmanship and/or billing for parts and services not performed. A total of 86 complaints were opened as a result. It is unclear how many of these were related specifically to airbags. 4. Related Legislation. SB 427 (Negrete McLeod) of 2009, would have established the same misdemeanor with the same penalties for a violation as the current bill. Additionally, that bill would have required the parts invoice for any replacement airbag installed as part of the vehicle repair to be attached to the final repair invoice given to a consumer. That bill was vetoed by the Governor, citing that it was duplicative of existing law and, therefore, added very little additional benefit to consumers. 5. Arguments in Support. The California New Car Dealers Association (CNCDA) supports this measure. It states that although it is already fraud to invoice a customer for replaced parts and not do so, it is difficult to prove that fraud has occurred after the fact. The CNCDA states that it has had an interest in curbing the nefarious practice of parts switching and, therefore, support this bill since it narrowly targets the most egregious example of such conduct concerning a critical vehicle safety component. Other supporters agree that the failure to properly replace an airbag is a serious problem which costs individual customers thousands of dollars and can even take their lives. They cite studies by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) which found that 20% of all deaths in crashes caused by an airbag failure to deploy are due to the airbag not having been installed in a repair prior to the crash. The total absence of an airbag was stated in these studies to be the most common reason for auto fatalities in cases where the air bag did not deploy. According to the Center for Auto Safety, in California, at least 30,000 repairs are performed each year where a deployed airbag is not replaced . Additionally, there are no added costs for its implementation; rather, this law will reduce the costs to society and the state by SB 869 Page 4 reducing the number of deaths and serious injuries in crashes in California. Also, supporters feel that this measure will help with the BAR's continuing efforts to combat auto body fraud. 6. Policy Issue : Should there be a requirement to repair or replace a deployed airbag? Currently, there are no statutes requiring that an auto repair shop replace a deployed air bag. However, it is required for "salvaged vehicles" that the restraint systems be in good working order which meets Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2015/08/10) */

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Colorado Auto Body has had our car for repairs after an accident for almost three months for a repair estimated to take 8 days We had a car accident on August 7, 2014, and the car was towed to Colorado Auto Body CAB) on the same evening. As of today (October 30, 2014) the reaps have not been completed. CAB was paid for the repair by our insurance at least 6 weeks ago and they have given us at least 5 dates by which they wanted to complete the repairs, all have been missed by WEEKS. Every time we call them or they call us the assure us that work is in progress and things will take another 1-2 weeks, but at the end of that time frame, the repairs are not done. Also, the status updates they give are at least highly misleading if not fraudulent. For example, **** from CAB has told us about 5 times that the car will go into "painting" next week. that has been going on since mid-September. I paid them a surprise visit this morning and demanded to see my car - it still has not been painted. Also, we have been told repeatedly that "the airbag specialist" will come out over the next few days to do the airbag. I have a recording of a voicemail from **** which states that (dated Oct 16) and as of this morning, the exploded curtain air bag had still not been replaced. I have been lied to by either **** or *** from CAB regarding the status of the repair on more occasions than I can remember. Three months to complete the repairs is completely unheard of in the industry (remember, insurance estimated for this to take 8 days), and Allstate insurance adjusters, the Hertz rental agents, and everybody tells us that time frame is completely unreasonable and unheard of. We have given them every benefit of the doubt but the limit has been reached.

Desired Settlement: We expect the repairs to be completed by next Friday, November 7, 2014. That is the official three month mark. If the work is not completed by that time, we request the nullify the transaction. In that case, CAB would assume ownership of the vehicle (and then can take as long as they want to repair it), and CAB would pay us a fair market value of the car. According to Kelly Blue Book, the value of the (pre-accident) vehicle is $13006, so that would be one way to estimate the payment. Alternatively, CAB should refund all our money the insurance paid to them (around $7500), plus the remaining value of the car which is around $4500, i.e. around $12000.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/14) */ In response to our customers concerns; Vehicle was towed to our shop on Thursday 8-7-14. Allstate Insurance Company inspected vehicle On 8-11-14. Allstate's preliminary inspection estimated 8 days of repair for 6,671.42. After dis-assembly of damaged parts we found substantial additional damage. On November 12th we requested additional damage approval from Allstate Insurance. They did not come out to our shop until 8-20-14. Allstate wanted us to do some preliminary structural pulls before they would authorize additional repair for inner structure. On 8-26-14 we requested them to come back out to inspect. Do to the amount of time needed to repair the pillar Allstate thought it may be cost effective to section in a used structural center pillar. Ordered part on 8-27-14 and it was delivered on 9-10-14. After part arrived we scheduled vehicle back into production. On 9-10-14 we were informed by VW dealer that the related torn seat cover was discontinued and the only way to resolve the difference was to replace all the seat covers in the vehicle which was approximately 5000.00 additional. Due to the amount of repairs vs. the value of the vehicle the repair was placed on hold until Allstate Insurance was to make a decision if the vehicle was an economic total loss. Allstate Insurance came out approximately 1 week later and decided to resume repairs and give the customer an appearance allowance for the seat difference of 500.00(appearance allowance is a settlement with the customer gets compensation to accept an operation that will not be equal to its pre-loss condition) We ordered a single seat cover and 1st one came in with the wrong part and we re-ordered and waited till 10-10-14 to receive. The color was dramatically way different and was not an acceptable (was not close to the original color) After we got passed the possibility of the vehicle being deemed a total loss we received the used part and determined that the best repair to keep the vehicle structurally sound was to repair the inner structure opposed to sectioning. The vehicle now had approximately 88 hours of repair time. Based on industry standards upon the labor hours alone we were allotted 23 working days not to include time for parts delays and sublet repairs. Understanding the frustration and the time that it was taking to repair Colorado Auto Body provided the customer a rental vehicle at our expense which customer is still using today. Customer has been notified of projected finish dates by our staff only to not have been met do to uncontrollable circumstances. We have customers vehicle in the final Quality Control stage however do to the size of repair we are insuring that we thoroughly inspect every detail and we have found a few more cosmetic flaws which correcting to insure the customers satisfaction. We should have vehicle ready for delivery not later than Tuesday evening (11-18-14) We still have a part from VW on back order. It is a vehicle identification label which is scheduled to arrive in two weeks. The label can be placed on the vehicle at a later date and will not affect the safety, look, or drivability of the vehicle and will not hinder or delay the delivery date. As a hole the shop has needed to meet a number of obstacles and challenges in order to complete this repair. Our customer was also frustrated with the Allstate Insurance due to some of the response times. Although average collision repair is completed in less time this repair was more complex not only due to the number of people involved form Allstate Insurance (auto damage adjusters) and due to the type of repair which was more in-depth due to the structural panels involved. Again we understand the customer's frustration to be without a source of transportation for him and his family and this is why Colorado Auto Body is providing the customer with a rental car at our expense. (rental vehicle charges to shop are approximately 1200.00)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Colorado Auto Body
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart