BBB Accredited Business since

BJ's Auto Theft & Collision Specialists

Phone: (303) 227-1222 7051 E 56th Ave, Commerce City, CO 80022 http://www.bjsautotheftrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BJ's Auto Theft & Collision Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for BJ's Auto Theft & Collision Specialists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on BJ's Auto Theft & Collision Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 25, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1997 Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated 02/16/2000 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. BJ Penrod, Owner Ms. Lisa J. Penrod, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. BJ Penrod, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Stereo, alarm installation, remote starts, window tint, clear bras, window installation and PDR, etc.

Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BJ's Auto Theft & Collision Specialists has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7051 E 56th Ave

    Commerce City, CO 80022 (303) 227-1222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **,his employees**********, never mentioned that there was an increase in cost if they purchased rims and tires for me than the one advertised on sit I talked to ** and asked him if I needed to replace the tires and rims with the original ones or could I get aftermarket. **'s response was yes, if you find cheaper rims and tires, like in discount tire or anywhere, just let me know and we will go with those. On 11/19 I received my estimate for repairs from my insurance company. After I reviewed them, I called the **'s and talked to ***** to see if I could get an estimate from them for repairs. She stated that they charge whatever the insurance claim paid. I asked specifically asked her that if that is the case, and I get cheaper aftermarket tires and rims that if they would inflate the cost to match the appraisal and she said no, any difference in cost would be paid to the customer. I opted to get a little more expensive tires but cheaper rims to reduce the cost. In my many communications to the shop, including when I sent which tires and rims I wanted from tirerack.com, no one mentioned that they were going to increase the cost of tires and rims to match the appraisal, even on the receipts that I got from them. To get refunded $378.80 for the difference in pricing between the appraisal ($448/rim x 4 and $144/tire x 4 = $2,368) to the cost in tire rack ($283/rim x 4 and $189.30 x 4 +~$100. S&H = $1,989.20). This does not include also differences between mount and balancing and the TPMS on all 4 tires because in one of my conversations with ***, he mentioned that tirerack included the mount, balancing and TPMS which was around $49.00 per tire. ** charged me $956.52 for all tires and $1415 for all rims, which clearly contradicts what ***** told me. On Dec. 1st, ** ended up charging me the $500 deductible minus a $100 discount as an inconvenience of taking longer than initially promised, which should not be taken into consideration for this complain as it was its own separate issue. ** claimed that they charge an additional 25% charge to the tires and rims, but if you do the math, the costs do not add exactly 25%. ** used a deceiving sales tactic by eliminating this cost until the end. On Dec. 1st, ** even told me the following, "yeah, I guess we forgot to mention this to you but you got nice rims". Rims I asked them to get are ATX AX191 Shackle 20x9 for $283 each with BFGoodrich Rugged Terrain T/A P275/55R20 Tires at 189.30, which I found in Tirerack.com

Desired Settlement: $378.80 for the difference in pricing between the appraisal ($448/rim x 4 and $144/tire x 4 = $2,368) to the cost in tire rack ($283/rim x 4 and $189.30 x 4 +~$100. S&H = $1,989.20). This does not include also differences between mount and balancing and the TPMS on all 4 tires because in one of my conversations with ***, he mentioned that tirerack included the mount, balancing and TPMS which was around $49.00 per tire.

Business Response: This will respond to Mr. ******* concerns as outlined in his BBB complaint.

He is only slightly incorrect in his statement we "charge whatever the insurance claim paid". Actually, if insurance is involved we work from their estimate, and advise them if there is any variance from their estimate necessary to complete the repair. In this instance Mr. ***** specifically requested we order wheels and tires for his vehicle from Tirerack, which included aftermarket wheels not available from our normal suppliers. As with every body shop, we buy parts at wholesale, and bill them out at retail. Since Tirerack is not a wholesale vendor, we marked up the parts received from them the minimum industry standard of 25%. This resulted in a variance of $3.73 from what was allowed for wheels and tires on the insurance estimate. Tirerack did include mount and balance, which was $60 on the insurance estimate, but also charged us sales tax (not charged by our wholesale vendors) of slightly more than that, resulting in a "wash" of that charge.

A final bill was submitted to Nationwide Insurance, billiing tires out at $239.13 each, wheels at $353.75 each and TPMS sensors at $61.25 each per the Tirerack invoice + 25%. A copy of the Tirerack invoice was included with our final bill, as markup is allowed and expected by insurance. Our final bill to Nationwide was for an additional $190.75 over their estimate for a tax rate adjustment, differential fluid and time to program the TPMS sensors.

Mr. ***** appears to be upset with his contractual obligation to pay his $500 deductible, and we provided him a $100 credit to assist him with that obligation.

A copy of our final bill to Nationwide is attached.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1st off ,the response "He is only slightly incorrect in his statement we "charge whatever the insurance claim paid", is what his employee, *****, told me when I called to get a quote if I left my truck in his shop.

2nd, in good faith, I wanted to find alternatives in order to decrease the deductible. ** FAILED to disclose that they would mark up price. I am a consumer, not a wholesale or retailer or work in any body shop or in the insurance business. It should have **s due diligence to make me aware of such information.

I am upset because I was not made aware that there was going to be a 25% increase in the cost of tires and rims.

Business Response: As suggested by the BBB, we contacted Mr. ***** in an attempt to reach a compromise settlement to this disputed claim. We offered to give him an additional $150 which essentially covered 50% of his $500 deductible when combined with the $100 discount we had previously provided. Mr. ***** initially declined our offer, but called back and countered with $250 as a compromise. Although we did nothing unethical in the handling of his repair, we agree communication was lacking, and can understand how he reached the conclusion he should not have to pay his full deductible. As such, we have agreed to the above mentioned compromise.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on BJ's Auto Theft & Collision Specialists
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart