BBB Accredited Business since

AutoNation Collision Center Denver

Phone: (303) 286-8323 Fax: (303) 289-8727 View Additional Phone Numbers 7420 Washington St, Denver, CO 80229 http://www.autonation.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation Collision Center Denver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Collision Center Denver include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Collision Center Denver
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 1997 Business started: 02/03/1997 Business started locally: 02/03/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Ian Angus, General Manager Mr. David Crover, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian Angus, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Collision Center Denver has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had alot of work done on my car. 6 weeks after I got it back it blew up and is a total loss. They are unresponsive to my insurance and myself. I was in an accident in March 2015. Was told they wouldn't be able to start work on my car for two weeks. I said ok. They didn't start the work till almost 2 months later. They kept ordering the wrong parts. Couldn't get the transmission to go past 30mph. Finally got me my car back at almost 3 months. Had the car back 6 weeks when I was driving home from the bank and my car went up in flames. My insurance put them on notice they never responded. My insurance investigated and determined it started under the hood where the body shop did the major work. The body shop nor their corporate office has returned any calls. My family and I have left countless messages. Their work has a warranty. **** ***** was my worker at the shop. Still nothing and its two months since I lost my car. My health has been impacted. I lost my job as a result of me not having a car. I have all reports. The previous work that had been done as well as the report from my insurance investigator.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace my car and I feel I should be compensated. I've lost my job. Almost became homeless. Lost my car and my health has been seriously effected.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/19) */ As the customer stated he was in an accident in March 2015. Vehicle had almost $10,000 in damage. Customers insurance approved to have vehicle repaired. It was determined the transmission was damaged in the accident but the insurance company would not pay for a new transmission to replace damaged transmission, and was difficult to locate a used transmission. Customer picked up car after work was completed, drove it for 6 weeks with no issues. Car had a fire in the engine compartment, resulting in a total loss of vehicle. We determined the battery in the vehicle was the cause of the fire. Notified the insurance company of our findings and they picked up the vehicle in August. Tried numerous times to contact insurance company and customer but neither returned our calls to close this work order. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response the company stated are lies. They never contacted my insurance company back after my insurance company tried to contact them on several occasions. Never responded to being put on notice. Their investigator was supposed to meet with my insurances investigator they never showed up. They are lieing. My insurance company and I have both tried to contact them. No responses from anyone. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again. These are all lies. I did pick up some things after my car was destroyed. NEVER paid anything, NEVER signed anything. They have been unresponsive since the beginning. Never received any calls from them. A matter a fact they have never returned any of my calls since August. Not even their corporate office has returned my calls. In the first response from them. They said they concluded it was the battery. How is that? Nowhere in the investigation report does it say anything about a battery. My insurance company can be contacted if needs be. They will tell you the same thing I have been. This is ridiculous. What kind of business are they trying to run? Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/11/10) */ As we stated in our previous two responses AutoNation has had no contact with ********* other than the review of the damaged vehicle. Not sure why the customer is continuing to request a vehicle from us, when his insurance company would be the one's to settle with him, either with a replacement vehicle of monetary settlement, and if they felt we were at fault then request a damage settlement be paid to them to be reimbursed for their payment to the customer. ******** has not requested anything from us.

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They scheduled in my car for repair, after ordering parts for repair due to hail damage. After asking if they had the parts for my repair they said yes and that it should be a 5 week repair. Dropped my car of and rented a car, thinking five weeks is fine, well my car sat for the first 17 workdays as they said they over scheduled repairs and due to holidays and vacation they didn't have anyone to work on my car, three weeks into the repair they discovered they ordered the wrong roof for my car, so another delay. then as they were working on it they didn't schedule glass removal as so it had to sit for 4 days waiting for the glass guy, now we are into Christmas week and new year, they have more techs on vacation so not much work is done on my car, this is the fault of the production manager who schedules repairs, I would have waited to schedule after the first of the year and told them so... As I didn't want this repair to take to long as I would be paying for the rental car out of pocket.. Have asked on a number of occasions for them to cover rental car expense as this would be the right thing to due because of lack of foresight from there production manager. They said no, many different times or didn't respond to my request them they came back and said they would cover 2 weeks, we are now into 10 weeks I have no car and no customer satisfaction, I am very upset with them. I have purchased 3 cars via autonation and was planning on another. My company buys cars from them as well. I will push on my company and all of my friends never to due business with them if they lack this type of customer service. They still don't have a date when my car will be done.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I think they should cover entire expense of the car rental, and cover my $500 deductible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/10) */ Autonation's goal, every department and branch is to exceed our customer's expectations. We are willing to extend ourselves to meet that goal with every customer. The circumstances of this repair made that goal a real challenge. We did set an expectation of 6-9 weeks for the repair time table prior to accepting the vehicle. We overcame an under written insurance evaluation. It took a week to correct the evaluation. Once properly evaluated the repair cost was over $13,000.00 and justified 41 working days (not including Pintless Dent Repair work, add a week) which equates to 2 1/2 months.By formula we achieved a reasonable time table, even through the holidays. Nearly every panel on the vehicle demanded repair and or re-fnish. We did pay two weeks of rental expense as a good will gesture. I believe we disclosed accurately and early in the process, kept our customer informed frequently through out the process and went beyond what should be expected by helping with the customer's expenses. Upon delivery the customer was impressed with our work except for the panels we did not paint as they were considered un-related by the insurance company. We agreed to paint the final panels if he would attempt to have his insurance include them in the claim, but we agreed to do the work at no cost to him even if they did not approve to include them. The customer did not pay his portion of the repair when he took delivery, that balance is due still, we are content to settle that balance once our customer has recieved the work he feels entitled to. We have been in contact with our customer since the filing of this complaint and he is scheduled to return for the additional work in two weeks.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 2 months having been at the repair shop 3 times our concerns with the car have not been addressed. The least amount of effort has been done. After our car was involved in an accident it was taken to the*********** Collision center which is also a USAA certified repair facility. After 5 weeks of waiting I drove the car home and I almost didn't make it home. It was smoking and the transmission was not working properly. In addition lots of road noise was coming through the impacted doors that were supposedly fixed. I dropped it off at Auto Nation dealership in Golden close to my house and they were kind enough to sort it our with the collision center. A few days after my car was "ready". I picked it up on a Friday and as I was driving home the transmission still felt really choppy and the noise was still there. I noticed moisture in the right tail light that was not there before the accident. The next day (Saturday) I drove with my kids to the mall and on the way home the car almost died going back up the hill to my house. We called USAA and organized a tow for the Monday. The car was taken back to*********** collision to repair all of the issues. This is the third time around that the car has visited the Auto Nation Collision center and none of my concern have been addressed!!!! So I pick up the car on Friday (past Friday 3/14 and the accident happened 1/19) and am overjoyed and optimistic that all issues are fixed it. I have not had time to drive it all weekend but I drive it to work on Monday and the right door rattles and the and the road noise is loud! There is an additional rattle in the roof. Is seems to drive okay this time around. I am becoming very skeptical about the quality of the work that has been done to my car at this time and I want someone else to look at the car so that I have a piece of mind (and I also need to protect my investment). I have been asking around about a reputable independent Subaru shop and I found one. I dropped it off yesterday to get looked over and when I came back this morning to get the report I was mortified!!!! Clamps are missing all over the place and laying around in the interior of the car. The seals for both car door that were replaced have clamps missing and and hanging loosly off the door, the transmission is leaking, a bare wire was found under the seat that could cause a fire. Plastic pieces are falling off all over the place including body panels. Missing clamps everywhere. A huge dent on the roof was discovered (perhaps from the towing for the impact) that was never addressed--the frame could be bent. The past of the body that were replaced and then painted don't have the matching red paint. and when painted none of the other parts were covered so when looking under the car there is just a bunch of red paint everywhere. Hoses under the hood were not put back in their original place. I don't have the report yet in my hands but this was just the beginning of a long list of issues. This car is an 09 Subaru in was in perfect working condition prior to the accident. My husband is a car fanatic and keeps our cars in perfect working and physical condition. This car was wrecked and then had a botch repair job. *********** Collsion should be ashamed of themselves. In addition, our new trustworthy mechanic told us that*********** should have declared the car totaled. We think they needed the job and kept the cost at the price point where USAA was still willing to fix it. No one at*********** has ever addressed our concerns in their entirety. We feel blown off. In addition, no one ever sat down with us a review the work. They just said "would you like to see the car?" and then handed us the paperwork. You'd think after $14,000 worth of work someone could take the time and tell us what was done. It's all a big paperwork mystery. I feel scammed. We are thinking of seeking legal advise with USAA. The issues are still unresolved after 2 months. I'm spreading the word on social media about my experiences with***********.

Desired Settlement: Refund USAA for repairs so we can get it done properly by an honest and good repair shop or have USAA total our vehicle. Also, I need a rental while the car is being fixed properly, or in the event that it is totaled have a all wheel drive rental vehicle until i is declared so.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/04) */ It may be important to note that the consumer authoring this complaint is not the consumer we served. The complaining party may be an advocate or relative. To avoid complicating the complaint we will refer to the complaining party as the consumer in our response but our service experience was delivered to someone else. The consumer's account of her experience and our workmanship is incredible. It is difficult to offer a credible response. We can provide the details of our actions following the complaint. We spoke to the professional, choosen by the complaining party, whom conducted the post repair inspection with a professional from the insurance carrier. Both professionals agreed that the repairs were well done over all and the issues discovered were minor and easy to resolve. Neither professional was able to understand the disproportionate reaction by the consumer. Both Professionals explained to us that they recommended we be given the opportunity to correct the issues but the consumer refused. The insurance professional explained that the consumer insists the resolutions be performed at another independant facility. We agreed to concede to the consumer's condition and agreed to compensate the insurance carrier directly for the expense of the corrections. We believe this to be a very high road response to a very low road reaction and complaint delivery by the consumer (or advocate). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unacceptable response from AutoNation lawyer. First of all: this is MY car (2009 Subaru Forester...check the registration if you like) and my husband is the primary insurance carrier for our vehicles. I am on the insurance as well. I have the most reason to be concerned as does my husband but this is my vehicle that I get from point A to point B in and therefore I took it upon myself to file this complains. I represent my husband's (***** ******'S ) opinion as well. He read my complaint before I submitted it. We gave the car back to AutoNation Collision 2x after the first repair (IT WAS THERE A TOTAL OF THREE TIMES). After not having addressed our concerns about my vehicle we asked friends and colleagues for a recommended Subaru repair shop. We would be ignorant to go back a 4th time...it would be wasting our time and energy. After we took it to another party and expressed our concerns about the car they did their investigation and found an appalling number of things wrong which we have partially addressed with my complaint to the BBB. As a side note: it is concerning to me also that a USAA rep cleared the car, as AutoNation noted, fixed each time it was at AutoNation Collision. We've addressed our displeasure with USAA too and I'm not sure how the relationship between USAA and AutoNation works. Attached is the receipt of the things of items fixed after it was at AutoNation Collision's Repair shop 3 times. The most shocking thing found (the rattle in the roof panel) is that the seat belts were not properly attached (loose and not working properly) This is absolutely unacceptable especially since this is the primary vehicle that our children ride in. I'd like to refute some more points from the AutoNation lawyer above: 1. If the issues were minor and easy to fix, why were they not fixed to begin with? These were not minor fixes as it has taken 3 weeks for another Auto Repair Body shop to fix what AutoNation botched and repair some things they missed! This is my no means minor. 2. You consider this "to be a very high road response to a very low road reaction"? AutoNation did not install the seat belts to working order. I work in an industry where safety is first. Something like this in my industry is unacceptable. Someone is always held accountable. I'd like to hear AutoNation say that proper installation of seatbelts in minor. I will stop with this complaint process one I get a written apology and a action items on how AutoNation will fix it and restore people's faith in their work. Sincerely, ****** ******** and ***** ****** Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/11) */ I was surprised to learn that this complaint was still active. We assumed that the corrections performed by the consumer's shop of choice would offer resolution. I understand the the issues have been resolved. Regarding the consumer refuting that the issues were minor I can only respond by stating that the signigicance of the issues were described to me as being 'minor' by the technician from her shop of choice and inspectors for the insurance. We accepted the assessment by these industry professionals representing the consumer. It is embarassing to ever fail at any level (minor or not) and we sincerely regret when we fail to deliver exceptional service and craftsmanship. When failure does happen a person/company can only respond to correct and recover. We belive our response described in the prior explanation was the right one. The consumer's account, comments and conclusions are penned with out an ounce of grace, considertaion or even common courtesy. We beleive anyone should expect these simple graces to be an essential foundation to resovle differences and right wrongs. We can go no further with out them.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Collision Center Denver
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart