BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Colorado, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Colorado, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAA Colorado, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1973 Business started: 07/01/1922 Business started locally: 07/01/1922
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Insurance
1560 Broadway Ste 850, Denver CO 80202
www.dora.state.co.us/insurance/
Phone Number: (303) 894-7499
insurance@dora.state.co.us

Business Management
Ms. Linda Cavanagh, Interim President & CEO Ms. Emily Frazzini, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Cavanagh, Interim President & CEO
Business Category

Associations Travel Agencies & Bureaus Insurance Companies

Alternate Business Names
AAA Auto Club of Colorado AAA Travel Agency American Automobile Association Rocky Mountain Motorists, Inc.
Industry Tips
Insurance

Additional Locations

  • 1010 W. 104th Ave.

    Northglenn, CO 80234

  • 1096 S. Sable

    Aurora, CO 80012

  • 1933 28th St., Ste. 200

    Boulder, CO 80301

  • 4100 E Arkansas Ave

    Denver, CO 80222 (303) 753-8800

  • 7400 S. University Blvd.

    Centennial, CO 80122

  • 7770 W. 44th Ave.

    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033

  • 8601 W. Cross Dr.

    Littleton, CO 80123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
12/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called AAA at 3:15pm to have car towed. I called 6-7 times it was finally towed at 8:03 pm. I called AA 11/2/2015 to have my car towed at 3:15pm it was not picked up until 8:03 PM. My Mechanic left the shop because he couldn't wait any longer. I missed work because it took so long (I work swing shift). I spoke to a manager named ***** who told me to leave key under mat but that they would not assume any damage to car. I had to ask for a comp. tow as the service was horrific. They did comp the tow however they made it seem like they were doing me a favor, I have been a member for 7 years and PAY my dues for good quality service. I kept being lied to as they kept telling me there on the way and should be there shortly; until my 5th called when they just flat out said we don't know who will be going and we have no estimated time of arrival. In other wards your plumb straight out of luck.

Desired Settlement: I am disappointed to see this business has an A+ grade with all the complaints it has against it. I'd like to see grade drop from the BBB. Don't know what else can repair situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2015/12/11) */ Upon investigation we regret to confirm that the incident Mr. ****** describes took place. Service was delayed for several hours. Two days prior to the incident AAA Colorado had implemented a new operating system and unfortunately Mr. ******'s service request was delayed as a result of an error in the new system. Our Member Service Specialist, ****** ***** has attempted to contact Mr. ****** by phone to discuss/rectify the situation. Mr. ****** called for service on November 22, 2015 and was provided service with no issues.

9/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA sold me an RV membership to tow my new Vespa 50cc scooter when needed and assured me it would be covered. When I needed service it was denied. A couple of years ago I bought a new Vespa LX50cc Scooter and called AAA of Colorado to make sure it was covered under my membership. I was told I would have to have an RV membership in order for it to be covered so I purchased that membership and paid whatever price they asked. I have been riding my scooter for two years and have felt secure in knowing I have roadside assistance if needed, just like on my car. On September 3rd 2015 I went to ******** on ***** & ****** ***** in ********** to buy dog food, when I came out the scooter would not start. I tried and tried but to no avail. I then called AAA and told them of my problem and asked for service because I was stranded. The woman on the phone told me I was not covered because they did not tow scooters. I told her I have an RV membership and should be covered under that. We went back and forth about this for a good twenty minuites and she kept putting be on hold to talk to someone else and finely she told me they would not tow my scooter because It was not street legal, I told her it certainly was and she said no. I asked to speak to someone else and was put on hold so long I finely hung up. I had to call another tow company and am now waiting for it to come. AAA of Colorado should pay whatever this tow cost me and give back whatever money I've paid for this RV membership thing. I never in a million year thought AAA would treat me this way

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for this tow. Whatever it is.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/10) */ I spoke with Mr. ****** and first off sincerely apologized for the inconveniences that occurred for him on that day. In researching AAA policy on covering Scooters they must meet two requirements. 1) The Scooter must be 50 CCs 2) The Scooter is registered and has a License Plate. Our members Scooter did not meet requirement #2 ultimately leading to AAA not being able to cover the service he requested that day. However, that being said the member was advised when he first called in to get coverage on his Scooter in June of 2014 that he would be covered. The telephone representative did not clearly understand the policy. We will make it a high priority to retrain our current staff and correctly train future staff on the requirements that must be met for covering a scooter under AAA. Being that Mr. ****** paid for service that he would never be able to use we did put a credit on his membership account for the amount he paid into the extra coverage. He is overall very satisfied with AAA and appreciated the response and clarity on the coverage. His scooter ultimately started to work that day so he did not need to have it towed by another company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) It was fair

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Forgery/Auto Damages-My car was malfunctioning when I left work on 2/24 for lunch. It had been sitting in melting ice runoff & some of it got into my engine. Multiple coworkers viewed my car from a foot away right before I left for home & there was NO damage to my car at that time(per witnesses). I called AAA right away to see if I could buy a membership that would be effective immediately. I bought the membership on the phone & was going to have my vehicle towed at my apartment. My car was running but going a max of 5-10 mph. When I got home I ended the 1st call & called AAA's other # to come out & tow my car. They were 2 hours late & I called back again to request a new driver. The driver for AAA's fleet showed up & at that point it was dark outside. He said he wouldn't be able to tow my car unless I pulled it out of the parking spot(?) which I did and it was running fine at that point but let him take it to the dealership anyway just in case. He seemed a bit socially awkward but in hindsight I think he may have been intoxicated. He was complaining loudly about a lady who was waiting on him/his tow truck so she could have room to get into her parking garage. He asked to borrow a pen from me & we walked around my car to assess any previous damage, he had me initial a form showing previous damage/scratches & at that time there was NO damage on my front right bumper & he also did not mark off any damage on the form, but AAA doesn't give clients a copy(no carbon copies).He towed my car to Nissan w/out me because the lady from AAA said I didn't need to go with him. When I got my car back from Nissan I had major damage to my front right bumper. Nissan said the dent/collision caused my radiator to crack. They pulled their security cameras showing him towing my car in with the damage on the bumper. The driver forged the document, added information on the form I signed AFTER I signed it(no copy of the form was given to me)showing damage on my bumper,used a different pen w/darker ink & signed in my spot

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund For AAA to pay for the following:1. Body damage done to my front right bumper (caused by the tow truck driver-not fixed)2. The radiator (bought online) part and labor costs that I already paid for at Nissan. Nissan said the collision caused my radiator to break.3. Rental car costs (about 1 week) *I saved receipts for all of the above & can provide that to AAA. They tried to deny my claim based on a FORGED document. I should have been offered a copy. I have witnesses/documentation/time stamps

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/22) */ Please see attached PDF file for our response.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used AAA Travel Services as travel agents for a Hawaii vacation. The goods and services detailed on the travel itinerary/invoice were not provided. In arranging a July, 2014 family vacation to Hawaii, we used **** Henninger with AAA Travel in Centennial, Colorado as our travel agent. We had several conversations about the specific details of the trip and resolved all the details into an itinerary that was finalized in February, 2014. The total cost of the trip which included hotel, airfare and car rental was $8,381.00 As requested, we made the first payment in February and the final payment in June. Specific to this complaint, the hotel accommodations detailed in the itinerary/invoice indicated that while in Maui for 6 days, we would be staying in an Ocean view room with two queen beds. The Ocean view room is a significant upgrade over other rooms available in the hotel. The room rate chart shows this room valued at $270 more/night than the lowest valued "mountain view" room. When we arrived at the Westin Maui, they did not provide this type of room to us. Instead, we received an Ocean view room with one bed. This was a problem because there were 3 in my party. The hotel informed us that the travel agency had not provided the request for two queen beds and that they did not have any available. Thus, they squeezed a cot into our room for our 15 year old daughter to sleep on. When we asked them if we could get a two bed room with an ocean view as we had paid for in the next day or before the end of our stay, they said none were available. They did offer us a lower valued room with two double beds but with no compensation for the value difference. We declined because of the value of the view we expected. In the end, our daughter slept on a cot for all 6 nights. On the first day of our stay, July 26th, we reached out to AAA Travel in Colorado as well as the on-site AAA Travel service representative in the Westin Maui to provide resolution. Neither of these organizations were capable of resolving the situation. Also, the itinerary showed a car rental with Thrifty on July 31, 2014 for one day. Thrifty stated that they did not receive payment for that car rental and I had to pay for it out of my pocket. The car rentals on the Big Island and Maui did not have this problem.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund for the car rental in Honolulu for July 31, 2014 indicated on Itinerary/Invoice but not paid by travel agency to Thrifty = $52.17 I am seeking a refund for the difference in accommodations provided at Westin Maui between Itinerary/Invoice and room offered during stay = $780.00 This represents the difference from the Maui Westin 2014 room rates schedule for an Ocean view room against a Garden Room view = $130/night X 6 nights. Total = $832.17

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/20) */ On August 15, 2014 AAA Colorado reached out to the Uptons with a suggested remedy. Thus far we have not heard back from them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As of today, August 29th, 2014, we have not received the travel voucher from Pleasant Holidays. In their response of August 15th to our initial complaint, they committed to sending us a travel voucher but we have yet to receive it. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/22) */ Mr. ***** received the voucher from Pleasant Holidays the week of September 1, 2014. The Uptons have now received all promised remedies from AAA Colorado and Pleasant Holidays. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) AAA/Pleasant Holidays has not explained how they will prevent this same problem from occuring again. I would like to hear what they have changed in their work processes or business protocols that will prevent this sort of inconvenience from happening to other customers in the future.

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA did not provide gift card as reward for purchasing a gift membership. Renewed annual AAA membership for myself their website online 05/28/2014. A $15 gift card was offered as an enticement for purchasing a gift membership upon renewal of annual membership. No mention as to what companybusiness this gift card was to be from. I purchased the gift membership for my daughter. Annual membership cards arrived in the mail shortly thereafter. But, I never received the gift card. Consequently after several calls to AAA concerning this matter, many who did not have any idea of what I was referring about, and then being told "it was in the mail" and waiting for it to arrive. It never did, and now I have been given the opportunity to chose in the business/company category the gift card I want. Now, I have to wait for it to arrive thru the mail service for another eight to ten weeks.

Desired Settlement: I want them to be held accountable to what they advertise as enticements for membership purchases. As my experience with this company indicates that they do not have the intent to provide what they stated they would.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ This issue has been resolved with the consumer as of today, Wednesday, August 13, 2014. A new gift card has been issued. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Received immediate phone call vm and email from Tasha at AAA informing that the merchant gift card would be sent out the following day and she also applied a credit to my annual membership fee. This was most generous of her and it was appreciated.

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 18, 2014 **** ****** called AAA to have my vehicle towed. He is not the owner of the vehcile nor did he have permission or authorazation On May 18 2014 **** ****** called AAA to have my vehicle towed (AAA nor APT Towing will give me any information as to why the vehicle was towed) **** ****** is a frends soon to be ex husband who she has a crimnal protection order against. All I know is The vehicle was towed without any verifaction of the owner of the vehicle Or who was having vehicle towed and it was done without my permission or authorization. The vehicle was locked They didnt even have a key to the vehicle. They left the vehicle facing against traffic unlocked with 2 flats tires and alot of other damange. They refuse to talk to me or give me photos of the vehicle or even talk to me. They say AAA is handling it. AAA isnt doing anything. **** ***** told me a week ago that an insurance adjuster was going to call me. This never happned and **** has not returned my phone calls. I have viedo of the the vehicle being dropped off. It was violently shaken off the flat bed tow truck.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehcile returned to its previous condition before the damange was done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/06) */ On 18 May 2014 AAA Colorado received a call from member ******* ****** requesting to have a vehicle towed. At no time during the phone conversation did Mr. ****** mention or lead the call representative to believe that the vehicle did not belong to him. The call was handled and dispatched normally to the AAA contractor APT. Upon arrival on scene the APT driver (********) noticed the vehicle in Mr. ******'s garage with significant damage to the vehicle (see drivers comments below). The driver proceeded to take pictures of the vehicle damages, including missing door panels (see images in attachment). As Mr. ****** did not have keys to the vehicle APT driver ******** requested permission from Mr. ****** to pull the vehicle out of the garage to allow it to be loaded for transport to the secondary location. Once APT driver ******** arrived at the secondary location (********* Page's residence), the driver knocked on the door of the residence to attempt to ask for keys or direction on where to leave the vehicle. With nobody present and without keys the driver was forced to unload the vehicle using standard towing procedures. Following the tow AAA Colorado received a call from ********* Page that the vehicle belonged to him and was towed without his permission or knowledge. AAA Colorado staff investigated with Mr. ******, Mr. Page, and Deputy Kingsley from ****'s County Sherriff's department. While AAA Colorado cannot verify when or how damage was caused to the vehicle photographic and statement evidence demonstrate that the damage occurred prior to the vehicle being transported by the APT driver on behalf of AAA. Following AAA Colorado's investigation the AAA Membership of Mr. ****** was cancelled and refunded to Mr. ******.

4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA sent tow truck service to pick up my van..it was damaged ...they have done nothing to male my van right again AAA was contacted 3/11/14..they said it would service would arrive at my location to tow my 00 ******** vsn within an hour...after 1 hour 20 minutes i had to leave..i contacted AAA at this time it was confirmed i would not be there and not to start my van because power steering fluid would go every where..the tow driver drove van up the ramp...it rolled back down and hit my 99 chevy pu..he completed the tow but told no one of the accident..my neighbor told me on 3/13 that he saw it happen and had it on tape...i called AAA showed ****** pics and gave her the tape showing the event..i was contacted by Plueco towing ...promises were made to help mje open the door so i could get tools out...but they no-showed the next day he said he was there but had to come back with differnt tools..if he had really come he would have seen i had it open already..the bext day i spoke to ******* of plueco towing,,i told him which junkyard would have a door...he said he called that one and that they had no vans...i called the junkyard and was told they had 29 vans...so i went and put a door on (this is my work vehicle, and i need it ) the door was $66.00 and fees(85.00) i still need to have my truck appraised for damage costs..AAA has has left me in the hands of plueco towing...when they are the ones that sent them.

Desired Settlement: i want compensation for the cost of the door and installation(i had to employ help to install it)as well as 2 quarts of power steering fluid lost in front of my driveway and its clean up ..and repair of my 99 chevy truck cost of which has not been estimated yet.i also had to buy VHS tapes and drive them to AAA after transfering the taped event for their viewing

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/31) */ BBB Case #: 75217243 March 25, 2014 - Damage Complaint personnel contacted Plueco Towing following receipt of the BBB Complaint. The owner of Plueco Towing reported that resolution to Mr. ***** ******'s concern had been reached. Plueco Towing agreed to pay Mr. ****** $250.00 for the damage to his 2000 Chrysler Grand Voyager and the 1999 Chevy Pick-up. AAA Member ***** ****** was contacted by AAA Colorado Damage Complaint personnel and reported that the issue had been resolved between him and Plueco Towing as reported by the owner of Plueco Towing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/04/01) */ the situation was finally resolved by the tow truck company...i received a check for $250.00

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my account but received a charge for another year of service on my credit card in January. I have been a member of AAA for several years but finally got fed up with all the junk mail and called in December 2013. The woman I talked to said I could cancel immediately or just let my membership expire in January when my annual membership ended. I said I would let it expire in January. On January 31, 2014 I received a renewal charge on my credit card. I called AAA on 2/4/14 to ask to have it removed. The woman I talked to said there was no record of me cancelling my membership, but she would credit my account. As of 2/7/14, the credit has still not been applied.

Desired Settlement: Credit my credit card $57 and never contact me again in any way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/11) */ As requested, the members credit card was credited with the dues refund on 2/11/14, depending on her credit card company's process it should show up on her statement as early as 2/12/14. No further contact with Ms. ******** will be made as outlined in desired resolution. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/02/13) */ I disputed the charge on my credit card and the credit card company has removed the $57 charge from AAA.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service