BBB Accredited Business since

Builders Appliance Center, LLC

Phone: (303) 789-9945 1880 W Oxford Ave Ste A, Englewood, CO 80110 http://www.4bac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Builders Appliance Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Builders Appliance Center, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Builders Appliance Center, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 27, 1993 Business started: 05/05/1993 Business started locally: 05/05/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ken Jensen, Owner Ms. Jennifer Wood
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Jensen, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Builders Appliance Center, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1880 W Oxford Ave Ste A

    Englewood, CO 80110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Review of BAC I prefer to shop locally rather than the big box stores where customer service is hit or miss. BAC has a large, well designed showroom off of Santa Fe and Oxford. It's a little out of the way for me but I was referred there by my designer and then my contractor, who warned me that the BAC salesman assigned to his account could come off as being aloof. Fortunately I found ***** to be friendly but he definitely did not have the affable and relaxed demeanor I would usually expect to find in a high end showroom. Perhaps it was because he was relatively young.My husband and I are downsizing and my project involved a total renovation of a 3400 Sq ft. townhome. We hired an architect because we wanted to maximize the space and efficiency of our home. I was looking to buy appliances for the kitchen and a small kitchenette that was located in the walk out basement, 10 in all. The size and configuration of the appliances was critical because space was so limited. For example, our laundry room was 4'10" by 11' and, in order to have two cabinets, the stacked washer/dryer was in the corner. I made sure to explain this to *****. He showed me a GE combo that was on special. I described the tightness of the laundry room corner, how the doors had to open in a certain direction to make the clothes accessible. He said the doors could be mounted on either side. I was surprised that such a thing was possible--I hadn't bought a washer and dryer in 30 years. ***** knew his stuff. As I ticked off each item I needed, we walked the showroom. Although he wasn't able to show me an exact replica of each piece because I was shopping on the lower end of their inventory, he made print outs of each appliance from catalogs. I was glad I didn't have to do any of the feature research I usually do when I make a major purchase. He also gave me an estimate on each appliance. I compared their prices to ****** and ********** and was pleasantly surprised they were either lower or extremely competitive.I ordered a month later after I first met with ***** and had finalized the design of the cabinetry. There was one material change: the kitchenette microwave would sit on a shelf rather than be built in. My cabinet person told me it was important for ***** to know this so I told him when the order was placed. ***** told me a piece of bad news: the undercounter refrigerator for the kitchenette was backordered for 8-10 weeks. But it wasn't a big deal: our contractor wasn't due to be finished for 3 months. I paid half then, half on delivery.Two months went by. When it became apparent that our contractor was behind schedule, I called ***** to let him know. I hadn't spoken to him since the order was placed and he said the change in the delivery date was fine since I gave him plenty of notice. Most of my appliances had arrived and they could keep them in the warehouse. He said he would check on the small refrigerator and get back to me to see if it would arrive in time to be included in the delivery.Two weeks later, I had to push back the delivery date another week. When I called again, ***** didn't know about the refrigerator...he wasn't sure if it had come in.The day before the delivery, I was called by BAC customer service and told I had to pay the balance before delivery, which I did. The small refrigerator wasn't there yet. The installers arrived on time and were great-- **** and his helper were clearly efficient and well-trained. Everything in the kitchen was installed without incident. But the washer door and dryer door did not open on the same side, and since only the dryer door could be switched to the other side, the configuration would not work. **** told me very few washers were made with reversible doors, with Electrolux being the brand they carried. Also, the kitchenette microwave was too big. I called BAC. It was *****'s day off so I spoke to ***, another salesman who covered *****'s customers when he wasn't there. *** told me to refuse the delivery of the appliances that I didn't want, which I did. **** was sympathetic and uninstalled them.I didn't hear from anyone from BAC for 4 days. On the fifth day, I went into the showroom, unsure if I wanted to give ***** another chance. But I wanted to see the Electrolux and brought my tape measure to make sure it would fit if I decided to buy it. Also I needed to see what my options were as far as the microwave went. And I was still waiting on the small refrigerator.I told ***** straight out that I was an unhappy customer. He apologized and said that he had only found out about the problem the night before. I asked him why he had sold me on a washer/dryer that wouldn't work in my space. He said he knew the Electrolux made the only washing machine BAC carried that reversed doors and that I must not have described the space right. Since I had a clear recollection of doing just that, I described again what I had told him before. The problem with the microwave he blamed on the kitchen designer. At her request, ***** had provided her with specs of all the appliances to insure that this kind of thing wouldn't happen. He showed me my options with the electrolux machines. They were more expensive and had less features than the GEs but we were planning to move in 2 weeks. ***** checked on availablity. The rep told him the machine couldn't be delivered for 3 to 4 weeks. I decided to hold off on making a decision until I had a chance to check on the availability of Electrolux from other sources. In this day and age, it doesn't make sense that an appliance would take that long to get to Denver, CO unless it was in China. ***** showed me some microwaves. My contractor texted me the size of the shelf opening and for the first time I saw that it was larger than the microwave ***** had previously sold me. Confused, I asked to see Product_Or_Service: undercounter frig, microwave, washer and dryer, st Order_Number: ******* Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to cancel any outstanding orders and receive a full refund, including tax and installation fees, for the appliances I returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/03/10) */ We strive to make sure that we communicate clearly with each customer about the situation in their home. In this case it may have been advisable to ask more questions about the door swing on the washer and dryer. They can swing on direction and the dryer door swing can be changed. The washer door, however can't be changed. In this case we can see how the customer may have understood differently. In regard to the microwave, the specifications fit the size of the cabinets, so we are not sure why it didn't fit. Additionally, we understand that it was frustrating to hear that the other option for the Electrolux was on backorder for 5-6 weeks. Unfortunately, we are under the restrictions of availability from the manufacturer. We shared the date that was given to us from our manufacturer representative. We didn't want to promise anything that we couldn't deliver. In this case, the exact model that was requested may not have been in production at the Electrolux plant at that time, so the lead time was longer that the customer felt was realistic. We wanted to make sure that the customer was satisfied, so we were willing to refund her money. We apologize for any inconvenience. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate that BAC waived the restocking fees for the appliances I returned and gave me my money back. In their response, they did not address the confusion about the additional problems I had with the undercounter refrigerator or why it was called left hand when the door is opened with the right hand, but this is easily solved by changing the way the refrigerator is described in the contract. I am puzzled by Electrolux's rep saying the washer/dryer was backordered for 5-6 weeks--the first two vendors I contacted (********** and *********) in order to buy the identical machines promised and produced them in one week. But overall I am satisfied with what they had to say.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Builders Appliance Center, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart