BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2012

Builders Appliance Center, LLC

Find a Location

(303) 789-9945PO Box 1485, EnglewoodCO 80150-1485Twitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2012

BBB has determined that Builders Appliance Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Builders Appliance Center, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Builders Appliance Center, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Review of BAC I prefer to shop locally rather than the big box stores where customer service is hit or miss. BAC has a large, well designed showroom off of Santa Fe and Oxford. It's a little out of the way for me but I was referred there by my designer and then my contractor, who warned me that the BAC salesman assigned to his account could come off as being aloof. Fortunately I found ***** to be friendly but he definitely did not have the affable and relaxed demeanor I would usually expect to find in a high end showroom. Perhaps it was because he was relatively young.My husband and I are downsizing and my project involved a total renovation of a 3400 Sq ft. townhome. We hired an architect because we wanted to maximize the space and efficiency of our home. I was looking to buy appliances for the kitchen and a small kitchenette that was located in the walk out basement, 10 in all. The size and configuration of the appliances was critical because space was so limited. For example, our laundry room was 4'10" by 11' and, in order to have two cabinets, the stacked washer/dryer was in the corner. I made sure to explain this to *****. He showed me a GE combo that was on special. I described the tightness of the laundry room corner, how the doors had to open in a certain direction to make the clothes accessible. He said the doors could be mounted on either side. I was surprised that such a thing was possible--I hadn't bought a washer and dryer in 30 years. ***** knew his stuff. As I ticked off each item I needed, we walked the showroom. Although he wasn't able to show me an exact replica of each piece because I was shopping on the lower end of their inventory, he made print outs of each appliance from catalogs. I was glad I didn't have to do any of the feature research I usually do when I make a major purchase. He also gave me an estimate on each appliance. I compared their prices to ****** and ********** and was pleasantly surprised they were either lower or extremely competitive.I ordered a month later after I first met with ***** and had finalized the design of the cabinetry. There was one material change: the kitchenette microwave would sit on a shelf rather than be built in. My cabinet person told me it was important for ***** to know this so I told him when the order was placed. ***** told me a piece of bad news: the undercounter refrigerator for the kitchenette was backordered for 8-10 weeks. But it wasn't a big deal: our contractor wasn't due to be finished for 3 months. I paid half then, half on delivery.Two months went by. When it became apparent that our contractor was behind schedule, I called ***** to let him know. I hadn't spoken to him since the order was placed and he said the change in the delivery date was fine since I gave him plenty of notice. Most of my appliances had arrived and they could keep them in the warehouse. He said he would check on the small refrigerator and get back to me to see if it would arrive in time to be included in the delivery.Two weeks later, I had to push back the delivery date another week. When I called again, ***** didn't know about the refrigerator...he wasn't sure if it had come in.The day before the delivery, I was called by BAC customer service and told I had to pay the balance before delivery, which I did. The small refrigerator wasn't there yet. The installers arrived on time and were great-- **** and his helper were clearly efficient and well-trained. Everything in the kitchen was installed without incident. But the washer door and dryer door did not open on the same side, and since only the dryer door could be switched to the other side, the configuration would not work. **** told me very few washers were made with reversible doors, with Electrolux being the brand they carried. Also, the kitchenette microwave was too big. I called BAC. It was *****'s day off so I spoke to ***, another salesman who covered *****'s customers when he wasn't there. *** told me to refuse the delivery of the appliances that I didn't want, which I did. **** was sympathetic and uninstalled them.I didn't hear from anyone from BAC for 4 days. On the fifth day, I went into the showroom, unsure if I wanted to give ***** another chance. But I wanted to see the Electrolux and brought my tape measure to make sure it would fit if I decided to buy it. Also I needed to see what my options were as far as the microwave went. And I was still waiting on the small refrigerator.I told ***** straight out that I was an unhappy customer. He apologized and said that he had only found out about the problem the night before. I asked him why he had sold me on a washer/dryer that wouldn't work in my space. He said he knew the Electrolux made the only washing machine BAC carried that reversed doors and that I must not have described the space right. Since I had a clear recollection of doing just that, I described again what I had told him before. The problem with the microwave he blamed on the kitchen designer. At her request, ***** had provided her with specs of all the appliances to insure that this kind of thing wouldn't happen. He showed me my options with the electrolux machines. They were more expensive and had less features than the GEs but we were planning to move in 2 weeks. ***** checked on availablity. The rep told him the machine couldn't be delivered for 3 to 4 weeks. I decided to hold off on making a decision until I had a chance to check on the availability of Electrolux from other sources. In this day and age, it doesn't make sense that an appliance would take that long to get to Denver, CO unless it was in China. ***** showed me some microwaves. My contractor texted me the size of the shelf opening and for the first time I saw that it was larger than the microwave ***** had previously sold me. Confused, I asked to see
Product_Or_Service: undercounter frig, microwave, washer and dryer, st
Order_Number: *******
Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement
I would like to cancel any outstanding orders and receive a full refund, including tax and installation fees, for the appliances I returned.

Business Response
We strive to make sure that we communicate clearly with each customer about the situation in their home. In this case it may have been advisable to ask more questions about the door swing on the washer and dryer. They can swing on direction and the dryer door swing can be changed. The washer door, however can't be changed. In this case we can see how the customer may have understood differently. In regard to the microwave, the specifications fit the size of the cabinets, so we are not sure why it didn't fit. Additionally, we understand that it was frustrating to hear that the other option for the Electrolux was on backorder for 5-6 weeks. Unfortunately, we are under the restrictions of availability from the manufacturer. We shared the date that was given to us from our manufacturer representative. We didn't want to promise anything that we couldn't deliver. In this case, the exact model that was requested may not have been in production at the Electrolux plant at that time, so the lead time was longer that the customer felt was realistic. We wanted to make sure that the customer was satisfied, so we were willing to refund her money. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I appreciate that BAC waived the restocking fees for the appliances I returned and gave me my money back. In their response, they did not address the confusion about the additional problems I had with the undercounter refrigerator or why it was called left hand when the door is opened with the right hand, but this is easily solved by changing the way the refrigerator is described in the contract. I am puzzled by Electrolux's rep saying the washer/dryer was backordered for 5-6 weeks--the first two vendors I contacted (********** and *********) in order to buy the identical machines promised and produced them in one week. But overall I am satisfied with what they had to say.

12/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged twice for same services. Tried twice to resolve issue. Partial credit issued. Remaining charges are duplicates and are not resolved.
Charged $160 for delivery. Charged $15 to move the existing oven to garage. These two charges were included in the original sales order. ($175)
When installer came, he charged the same charges of $160 and $15 again. My husband did not realize that we were already charged for the $175. I called the owner, **** ******** and left message of overcharge. He left me a message acknowledging mistake and promised a credit of $100. I called again stating we were overcharged $175 and were still due $75.00. He would not return my call or submit an additional credit for the remaining $75 that we were charged twice.

In addition, everything about this transaction demonstrated extremely poor customer service. The wrong items were ordered. The charges were duplicated. Efforts to coorect mistakes were met with resistance. This store provided poor customer service and then overcharged me and won't resolve it.

Desired Settlement
I'm requesting a refund check for the remaining $75 dollars overcharged.

Business Response
Customer signed the quote #QXXXXXXX to pay for additional modifications in order for the appliances to be installed. The contractor went to customers house and preview the job to provide a cost. THe pricing that was submitted to the client was $575. The cuustomer was charged $500 for the quote. After the install was completed we refunded the customer $100 netting the install to $400. Our contractor billed us $500. Customer only paid $400 for extra modifications. They submitted a claim to their charge card company that was also denied by the credit card company. The contractor performed the additional work in good faith. We paid the contractor per our agreement and subsequently have written off the $100 difference. We have on file signed paperwork, bills and proof of credit back to the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** & *** ****
**** ***** **** *****
********** CO XXXXX
Better Business Bureau
Denver Office
******* ******
Trade Practices Specialist
Complaint Number #XXXXXXXX
Business Name: Builder's Appliance Center, LLC
Friday, September 27, 2013
Dear *******,
I am writing in response to your email of 9/20/13 in which the business, Builder's Appliance Center, LLC, hereinafter referred to as BAC, submitted a response to my complaint of 8/26/13. I'm also attaching a file of six documents that represent three sales orders and three paid receipts. This represents all payments made to BAC by us. I will refer to the various pages of the file during this letter.
Page 1 represents the Sales Order for the installer to make a home visit and assess additional cost to install downdraft system. (The $160 Delivery/Install listed is for standard delivery and installation without the downdraft system.)
Page 2 represents payment made on 7/5/13 to BAC for installer estimate.
Home inspection/Estimate was conducted and price for install was set at $575.
After estimate, I paid a visit to BAC and spoke to owner **** ******** He set up conference call with the installer. During conference call, it was determined that the installer misinterpreted final disposition for the existing oven. The installer stated that $75 of the $575 was to take the existing oven to the basement. When told the oven was to go to the garage, a few feet away and down three steps, the price for the installation was set for $500.
Page 3 represents the sales order for the range, fill kit, standard delivery and installation, wall cap and extraction and movement of old range to garage.
Page 4 represents the $2845.21 paid on 7/13/13 to BAC to purchase range, 2 accessories and standard installation/delivery.
Of note, the Delivery/Install price of $160 listed above covers basic delivery, gas and electrical hookups. The additional install charge involves the downdraft system where ductwork was installed in the basement.
On 7/26/13 the range was delivered and installed. We were charged $500. We paid this fee in good faith. Upon review of the receipt for $500, it was noticed that we were charged for the following:
Delivery/Install 160.00
Extract & Move old Range to Garage 15.00
Additional charge for downdraft 325.00
TOTAL 500.00
Page 5 is the receipt from the installer with hand written notes listed above for three items totaling $500.
Page 6 is the receipt for $500 for payment to BAC made to installer.
7/29/13 I called BAC and left **** ******* a phone message stating that we were charged twice for both the $15 to extract & move the existing range to the garage and the $160 for the basic delivery and installation. This was a double charge of $175 as we paid both charges on 7/13/13 and again on /26/13. He called back in a day or two with a voice massage saying there had been an overcharge and he was crediting back $100. I called him back twice that week and left phone messages stating that the overcharge was for $175 not $100. I asked him to call me to discuss this. He did not return either phone call.
We're requesting a check for $75.00 for the remaining balance of the overcharge.
Thank you for your assistance with this matter.
Sincerely,
**** & *** ****
**** ***** **** *****
********** CO XXXXX
THERE IS AN ATTACHMENT TO THIS LETTER.
This letter and attachment with supporting documents was emailed to ******* ****** today.
I am not able to attach the supporting documents to this response. Please see email that I sent to ******* today. Thanks, **** ****


Final Business Response
On October 10th we responded to this complaint. We informed you that we were going to issue a refund for $75 to this customer, which we did and the customer has cashed the check. We disagree with the customers claims but to satisfy the customer we refunded this. Please close this case.

08/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances-Major-Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/27/1993Business started: 05/05/1993New Owner Date: 02/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Jensen (Owner)Ms. Jennifer Wood
Business Category

Appliances-Major-Dealers

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1880 W Oxford Ave Ste A 

    Englewood, CO 80110-8644

  • PO Box 1485 

    Englewood, CO 80150-1485

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Builders Appliance Center, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances-Major-Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.