BBB Accredited Business since

Eagle Tax and Accounting, LLC

Phone: (303) 337-6992 3131 S Vaughn Way Ste 203, Aurora, CO 80014 http://www.eagletaxplus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eagle Tax and Accounting, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eagle Tax and Accounting, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eagle Tax and Accounting, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 2013 Business started: 04/28/2011 Business started locally: 04/28/2011 Business incorporated 04/28/2011 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Peister, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Peister, Owner
Business Category

Accounting Services Tax Return Preparation


Additional Locations

  • 3131 S Vaughn Way Ste 203

    Aurora, CO 80014 (303) 337-6992

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Un-filed tax returns for 3 years resulting in late penalties/fees, promised to be paid by business but never were. Among many complaints about general customer service (lost emails, last minute filing of quarterly reports, un-returned correspondence, mistakes in filings, etc, I am submitting a formal complaint about *************'s lack of response/accountability for Denver OPT/Use taxes. I paid him for small business quarterly reporting from Sept 2011 until Dec 2013. For Q4 2013, he generated a return for Denver OPT/Use tax, stating I owed nothing. I filed with the state; a few weeks later I was informed that I did owe for that quarter, and every quarter since my business was formed. ***** had not filed the OPT and Use tax since Sept 2011, which resulted in late fees and interest for literally years of un-filed returns. I sent him an email on Jan 5, 2014, informing him. He responded on Jan 11, 2014 that he was sorry and he would reimburse me for the late fees/penalties. I emailed him (using the same email chain/address), five more times after that, resulting in a total of six emails over the course of three months (Jan 5 through March 14), two emails of which I cc'd his assistant, *****, who was typically very responsive and enjoyable to work with. I have yet, as of April 17, not only NOT received the reimbursement which he had promised (for his mistake spanning years of unfiled reports), I have not even been acknowledged. I have placed three phone calls to his office over the past few weeks, none of which were returned. As I stated, this is my main complaint. He also made mistakes in electronically filing my 2013 year end business W-2/W-3, and when I called his office to inform him of this, I was told it was not possible, and I must have done it incorrectly. Which I didn't understand, since he/his company,was the one who electronically filed my W-2/W-3s, and I hadn't touched them. They were not corrected until after the deadline. As a consumer I also find it important to know that his firm or himself personally are not registered with the state Dept of Regulatory Agencies under their Accounting division. Because he set up my small business LLC, I am now concerned about other mistakes he could have made or overlooked over the past few years, and I am constantly nervous that my business setup or past few years of taxes will contain issues that come to haunt me later.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $265.84 to be reimbursed to me, as he promised. I would like the public to be informed of his lack of business professionalism and commonplace mistakes that ended up costing me time, energy, and ultimately, money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ In response to this complaint, I am copying an e-mail I sent to the Complainant on Apri 18, 2014. ****, I appreciate your frustration at waiting for a reimbursement from eagle tax and accounting llc for the Occupational Privilege tax, penalties and interest. I am placing a check for $265.84 to Reformation Counseling in the mail today, even though I am unclear as to why you would owe a Use tax to the City or how the amount of the reimbursement requested would increase by $50 after you had paid the City of Denver. There are a couple of reasons for the delay. You caught us in the middle of a very busy tax season. The amount you were requesting changed a couple of times, requiring us to review the matter again. Best wishes, In addition, I would add that the Complainant had already severed her business relationship with my firm before the issue of OPT tax was raised. Our first responsibility is to existing clients and then we address other issues, especially in the middle of income tax filing season. I am not aware of any late filing of quarterly reports for the Complainant by my firm. I will restate that during the course of corresponding with the Complainant, I received at least 4 different amounts that were supposedly owed to her, so it was difficult to know how much we should actually send her. Nor do I yet have any evidence that the Complainant's business was subject to the Denver Use tax. Nevertheless, she has received the compensation she requested. The electronic filing of the 2013 W-2 was initially rejected by the Social Security website, but was refiled and accepted. This is not an unusual event. Regarding registration with DORA, "The Board does not regulate accountants, public accountants, tax preparers, or enrolled agents. Accountants and public accountants are not regulated by any federal or state agency; however, there are professional associations who may be able to assist you, the Public Accountants Society at www.coloradoaccountant.org and the other is the Colorado Society of CPAs at www.cocpa.org." eagle tax and accounting is a member in good standing of the Public Accountant's Society of Colorado, as well as the National Association of Tax Professionals. I am sorry that the Complainant is "nervous" about other mistakes we somehow might have made, but I stand behind the work we have done for her and all our other clients and do not anticipate that she will suffer any damage due to any work we performed for her and her company. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did receive the reimbursement promptly, and appreciate it. To note, the OPT amount changed a few times (2) because I was trying, on my own, to figure out how to file a tax return with penalties and late fees, for years 2011-2013. I'm not an accountant, so it wasn't something I knew how to do. The third time it changed was when I realized that my business was also required to file a use tax return, which also was never filed by *****, so there were more late fees. The funny thing is I don't ever owe Use tax, just have to file it, so those fees could have easily been avoided. Every time I emailed him regarding the OPT/Use tax, my emails went unanswered- not even acknowledged that they were waiting for a final number. In fact, the only time he did respond was when I filed this complaint. Interestingly too, when he did finally respond to the request for reimbursement, which he copied above, he also sent me 4 "unpaid" invoices from 2011-2012, totaling $350, that I supposedly owed him (note he left that part of the email out in his response above). Not only had the invoices been paid on time, (I sent him proof in response- one receipt even had his signature and date stamp on it, from 201)), but he didn't choose to send me to me until after I had severed my business with him and he had essentially started ignoring me. I did sever my business with him at the end of 2013, finishing up my quarterly reports and year end filing with his company. I ended our relationship professionally, and brought up the OPT and Use tax with him at that time because that was the first time he had me file an (incorrect) OPT return and the state contacted me with my previously unfiled returns. All in all, I'm not trying to do anything more than inform the public about his business practices. Unfiled returns, misfiled/mistakes on filed returns, horrible record keeping, and unanswered emails and phone messages are not only unprofessional, but costly for a small business owner as myself.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eagle Tax and Accounting, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)