BBB Honors 5 Businesses and 2 Students with Ethics Awards

April 19, 2013

Four local companies were honored at the Better Business Bureau’s 48th Annual Dinner on April 9, 2013 at the Chase Center on the Riverfront. This year the BBB proudly welcomed Major General Francis Vavala as our featured presenter.

The four local companies awarded the Better Business Bureau’s Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics were selected, by a panel, based on criteria that shows a company exhibits high ethical standards of behavior toward customers, suppliers, shareholders, and employees. The 2013 award recipients were:

  • Delaware Modern Dental
  • Dr. Energy Saver, Delmarva
  • Atlantic Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
  • PJ Fitzpatrick

A common characteristic of all the 2013 winners is that they never lose sight of who made them what they are today—their employees, families, the community and their relationships with their customers. These are all essential components of a successful organization.

In addition, the BBB announced the winner of the Annual Edward M. Rush, Sr. Memorial Award. In 1993, the family of Edward M. Rush, Sr., established this award honoring Mr. Rush’s memory for setting high standards for family-owned businesses. The award is given to an outstanding family-owned and operated BBB Accredited Business who also exemplifies the ideals of community and civic service. The award, not announced until the moment it is given, was awarded to Delmarva Broadcasting Company owners, the Steinman Family. The Steinman family got into the newspaper business in the late 1800’s in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Today, the family owns Lancaster Newspapers, Inc, which publishes daily, weekly and specialty publications in the region. Delmarva Broadcasting is still 100% owned by the Steinman family and operates 12 radio stations and a rapidly growing Interactive division.

Finally, the Better Business Bureau Education Foundation awarded 2, $2500 scholarships to graduating Delaware high school seniors. The recipients were: Zachary Boulden from St. Marks High School in Newark and Rebecca Lusk from Cape Henlopen High School in Lewes.