BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Delaware Serving New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mack Mall Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 669-9070 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 428, New Castle, DE 19720 http://www.mackmallco.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mack Mall Company include:

  • BBB concerns with the industry in which this business operates
  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating
  • 7 complaints filed against business
  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

Several consumers have indicated they are invited to participate in Mystery Shopping, but the check provided them does not clear their banks. On September 17, 2013, BBB attempted to contact this business, but mail sent to the PO Box 428 was returned as Attempted Not Known, Unable to Forward.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mack Mall Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 07, 2013
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Business Category

WORK-AT-HOME COMPANIES SECRET SHOPPER

Alternate Business Names
Mack Trucks USA MTC Volvo Group Inc.
Industry Tips
Secret Shopping

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 428

    New Castle, DE 19720 (302) 669-9070 (302) 613-1222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 429

    New Castle , DE 19720 (302) 613-1232

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (302) 613-1222(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.mtcvolvoinc.com
  • http://www.macktrucksusa.com
  • http://www.mtcvolvogroupinc.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i received a acceptance letter with a check from volvo group inc on citi bank went to citi bank and was told the check was good but it needed time to clear so since it was a good check i deposit in my account turns out check was fraudelent and i had already did the retail shopping assignment which told me to go to western union to evaluation the person handling the money sent so i sent 965. to some one in spain and the next secret shopper assignment was to go to walmart and spent 78.00 on anything to evaluation a worker in the lane and the next evaluation was for money gram to evaluate the worker in the money gram store to send 494. to some one in atlanta georgia the check was no good not the bank is asking me to come up with the 2,000 dollars

Desired Settlement: would be to see if we can get the money back which look slim to nothing

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

9/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company that also goes under the name mtc volvo group has sent me a check for secret shopper it explained in detail what my salary would be and to just deposit my check in the bank wait for it to clear deduct my pay and go online to generate the job. I id deposit the check and while i waited for the check to clear took my pay to pay some bills. i went to the bank today 9/23 to find that the check was a fake or altered item. now i am out my 350.00 and the check has been returned from the bank. i am not sure what this company would have to gain except any information on the returned check.

Desired Settlement: probably impossible but i think this company should return my money. if anything i hope others do not fall fo this great oppertunity to work from home as a secret shopper, what if i withdrew the entire amount nearly 2000.00. i would also like to know what MTC Volvo group gains from people depositing this check to find its a fake.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WAS HIRED AS PERSONAL SHOPPER BY MACK MALL COMPANY.RECEIVED A CHECK FOR$1,992.00.SEND MONEY TO MADRID, SPAIN FOR $1,070.00 FEE 68.00 THOUGH WESTERN UNION, SECOND WIRE MONEY GRAM ,ATLANTA,GA $487.00 FEE 37.00I DEPOSITED THIS CHECK IN PERSONAL ACCOUNT WAS HAS CAUSED A CHARGE BACKOF FULL AMOUNT OF $ 1,992.00 . I CHECK THE COMPANY OUT ON YOUR SITENO COMPLAINTS.I APPRECIATE THE RETURN OF MY MONIES .I AM RETIRED THANK YOU

Desired Settlement: PLEASE REFUND MY MONIES ONLY

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from the Mack Mall Company. The letter came to my home address. The letter looks very professional. Along with the letter, was a check for $1992. The letter was addressed to me, ******* ******** The letter states this is an Acceptance Letter to become a Mystery Shopper for the Mack Mall Company. It notes that based on a previous survey by their affiliate Consumer Survey Specialist that I indicated that I was interested in making money from home parttime, and that I had been selected to participate in the Mystery Shoppers Program. It instructed me to complete two assignments once the check they sent cleared my bank. After the check cleared I withdrew the amount instructed in the letter and performed the two mystery shopper assignments. At the end of each assignment, I scanned the receipts from the Mystery Shopper assignment and emailed it to the email address provided. I deposited the check they gave me on Monday, September 9, 2013. The check cleared on Tuesday, September 10, 2013. I withdrew $1642.00 on Tuesday, September 10, 2013 and started performing the assigned Mystery Shopper jobs. Everything seemed fine, I actually thought I was a true Mystery Shopper, until Friday, September 13, 2013. That morning when I checked my bank account the check from the Mack Mall Company had been returned from my bank as fictious. My payroll check which was direct deposited into my account on Friday, September 13, 2013, was automatically taken by my bank to cover a portion of the check that I deposited from the Mack Mall Company. But my bank account is overdrawn, because there’s no way I could cover the fictious check they sent me for $1992. I have no idea how I’m going to pay my bills now, that are due today or how I’m going to buy groceries to feed my children. I’m really freaked out right now, and don’t want this to happen to anyone else.

Desired Settlement: That not only do they refund my cash but that they take care of the overdraft charges that their fictious check caused when it was returned on my bank account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company is sending out conterfeit checks.

Desired Settlement: replace money lost and notice to my bank

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied online for a secret shopper job. Then mack mall company sends me a check and information regarding their secret shopping job being offered to me. They told me to deposit their check into my **** ** ******* checking account. When it cleared, then take the money and go shopping for particular items and write reports on the stores customer service. To my great embarrasment, the check was returned because it was fake! I owe tons of money $1992.92 to **** ** ******* and I do not know how I am going to pay it back. I tried calling them, leaving them messages, and emailing them. No response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have $2250.00 to cover all the bank fee's and the fake check.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfortunately, and to say totally embarrassing, I fell victim to a scam from this "company" as a secret shopper. I have actually won a very large monetary prize years ago and the paperwork, website and everything associated with this secret shopper scam looked to be official. I do online surveys a lot and the letter sent (along with a check) asking me to become a secret shopper said I was picked to become a shopper for their company from information they had gathered from a survey I had done. Fortunately, I was hesitant enough to open a new banking account at a bank I had never used to deposit the check I was given so therefore, none of my banking information from my current bank was released. Today I received a letter from the new bank where I deposited the check saying the check was COUNTERFEIT. My concern is can this place do any damage to me? The only place that received ALL of my information was the bank. I did not provide any information online. Also, a concern to me is how can I help to stop these people from doing this to someone else? If there is anything I can do, please inform as to not have anybody else fall victim to this. Your response is greatly appreciated. Thank you, ***** ****

Desired Settlement: Do whatever is possible to stop this from happening to someone else.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

1