This business is not BBB accredited.

Universal Concepts

Additional Locations

Phone: (855) 385-6016 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 N. West St., Suite 1200, Wilmington, DE 19801 http://www.a2zvacations.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Universal Concepts include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Universal Concepts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has received multiple complaints that indicate difficulties with cancellation and refund policies. In July of 2013, BBB reached out to the company to update and modify it's disclosures, but to date, has not received a response. After further BBB investigation (by review of marketing materials and company letterhead) the company appears to do business under multiple names (A2Z Vacations (the name marketed to consumers); Universal Concepts (the name that appears to show up on consumers' credit card statements). BBB requested the business clarify the relationship between their various business names, but has not received a response. In addition, through a google and bing search it was found that the location of this business is that of a virtual office/mail forwarding address, and not a physical location. The business has not disclosed its physical location to the BBB after requested.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Concepts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Business Management
Mr. Jack Bently
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Bently
Business Category

VACATION TIME SHARE

Alternate Business Names
A 2 Z Vacations LLC A2Z Vacations Cascade Sunsets Powered by Universal Concepts
Industry Tips
Timeshare Scams Can Bilk the Unsuspecting Timeshares: Don’t Get Duped When Selling Your Timeshare Vacation Certificates

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 N. West St., Suite 1200

    Wilmington, DE 19801 (855) 385-6016 (877) 211-8738 (855) 831-9282 (855) 796-1633 (855) 757-8036

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1915 NW Amber Glen 4th Floor

    Beaverton, OR 97006 (855) 688-8690

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6241 NE 15th Ave.

    Portland, OR 97211 (503) 281-6563

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased membership in the travel club Member Choice Services and were supposed to be able to get 50% discounts on hotels, airfare etc. along with two condo rentals a year at a rate of $500 for a week long rental. When I sent in a request for condos to use this coupon feature of our plan - no one at Member Choice knew what we were talking about, and referred us back to the retail company that sold us the contract, Universal Concepts, Inc. The condo quotes I was getting were anywhere from $1500 -$1800 for a week rental, not the stated $500. I have only gotten 1 hotel discount to date as the online Hotels.com rates have beat the quotes from Member Choice. This was sold with a total misrepresentation of the product and I have tried several times to contact the seller, Universal Concepts,Inc. to no avail. My message just goes into a voice mail...no one ever ever answers the phone, and I get NO return calls. The cost of this travel service was $3643.00 and supposedly for lifetime - but if I can not get the discounts advertised upon selling this to me I will never ever see any benefit from this plan. This company needs to be investigated please !!!

Desired Settlement: Please have them place the full refund back onto our credit card as this is a misrepresented product and service.

Business Response: We are in receipt of your letter dated July 25, 2014 notifying us of ***** *** *****' compliant filed with your organization . We do have record of ***** *** ***** and ***** *****'s enrollment. Upon review of the services provided to consumers, we find services to be consistent with the contractual agreement between consumer and service provider.


Our records show that Mr. and Mrs. ***** have been in contact wit h the service provider and have requested multiple travel quotes. Service provider has supplied travel quotes to each of consumer's requests, each quote consistent with the contractual agreement.Further, our records indicate that Mr. and Mrs. ***** requested a hotel quote, received a hotel quote,book the hotel thru the service provider for travel in February 2014, traveled to and stayed at the hotel booked thru the service provider. Services have bee n provided to consumers and consumers have rendered the services provided.


We respectfully ask that this case be closed satisfactorily. Your office is welcome to contact us at **** ******** with a ny questions

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10146358, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I response to the Travel Services we have received, I did use 1 hotel quote/reservation, but still no one has ever returned my phone calls about using our 2 times a year priviledge for a condo stay at a rate of $500  a wk as quoted to us. This was one of our benefits and the quotes I got were all well over $1200/wk.  The only thing under the $500/wk are the hot weeks units and they are very limited.  The man that sold this package said, we would be able to get the 2 condo weeks whenever we wanted with no problem and that they would be $500/wk for 2 stays a yr.  No one at the reservation center knows anything about this. 

I would like a call from the office to discuss my membership further.

Thank you,

 

 

6/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 13, 2013, my wife and I went to a presentation at a local hotel in Toms River, NJ where a salesman presented a form of vacation membership. We paid $3,995 on our credit card for membership along with our deed to our ******** **** *****. Within 24 hours of the purchase, we called the representative on the cell phone number that was given, and it went and always has, gone right to voice mail with no return call. Now, ******** is confident that the sale will never go through. We knew we made a big mistake that night, but since we paid the money, sent him our signed deed to consummate the deal. We want this whole thing reversed where the representative at ******** says that there will be no 'sale' of our vacation time share, so we want our money back.

Desired Settlement: We would like $3,995 returned as a refund as nothing has been done. It's been 7 months and the representatives at ******** are very positive that we were scammed $3,995. We are still the owners of our time share in good standing with ********.

1/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were invited by Traveler Supplier of America to listen to a speech on a wholesale retailer with the exchange of 2 free airline tickets. We bought into company only after we were given a quote on a specific all inclusive destination which was to include airfare. We called the company to start a reservation. We were told it took at least 3 days before we would hear from a representative.. After a week I called and pressed them for a quote. A quote was sent but for the wrong destination. I gave them the information again. The quote came back almost double to what was promised and did not include airfare. We entered a dispute with the credit card company in regards to the charge of close to 4700.00 with the credit card company favoring the company. We were aggravated because there was no one who could help us resolve the issue. We were sent from one person to the next with Travelers Supplier. The company that we paid was called Universal Concept, inc. Their only reply from Universal was that we had 3 days to cancel if we were not happy with their services. They said we used their services when we tried making reservations for the specific destination that we discussed with sales rep, Ryan. Funny that it takes 3 days before you would get a quote from the company before you could find out you are not happy with company. We signed because the representative from Traveler's said he got a quote for a specific resort with a specific price. After we were told we were not able to cancel, I tried 2 times more to see if they could get me a better quote for a hotel in NYC, which they were not. I was able to get a quote for close to a hundred dollars less. Right now, they are giving me outrageous quotes for a Caribbean all inclusive. They were supposed to be saving huge amounts of money for us. I have not seen it yet.

Desired Settlement: refund.

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY WIFE AND I ATTENDED A VACATION TIMESHARE EVENT IN FLORIDA ON 04-02-2013. WE PAID THEM $2,000 WITH THE RIGHT TO CANCELL WITHIN A 3 DAY PERIOD. I CALLED UNIVERSAL AND SPOKE TO ****** ON CANCELLING. SHE SAID I HAD TO TALK WITH THE SUPERVISOR***** *****. I DID AND HE TOLD ME I HAD TO SEND BACK THE KIT AND REQUEST TO *** ******* ***** ************** ***** ******************** *************** DID THIS AND HAVE PROOF THAT I SENT IT IN THAT TIME FRAM. I CALLED THEM BACK LATER AND SPOKE TO J*** ******* AND HE TOLD ME THAT ***** GAVE ME THE WRONG ADDRESS.I TRIED TO GET MY VISA CO. TO SETTLE BUT THEY COULD NOT. ***** ***** ****** ** **************** AND **** ******* ** ************. UNIVERSAL STILL KEEPS SAYING THEY DID NOT GET IT. THIS IS DEFINITLY A FRAUD CASE.

Desired Settlement: $2000.00

8/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Concepts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)