BBB Accredited Business since

Jetset Travel American Express Travel Representative

Phone: (302) 678-5050 Fax: (302) 678-5556 View Additional Phone Numbers 222 S. DuPont Highway, Suite 102, Dover, DE 19901 http://www.jetsettravel.biz


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jetset Travel American Express Travel Representative meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jetset Travel American Express Travel Representative include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jetset Travel American Express Travel Representative
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 18, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mithat Armutcu, President Ms. Angela Armutcu, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mithat Armutcu, President
Business Category

TRAVEL AGENCIES & BUREAUS

Industry Tips
Travel Advice

Additional Locations

  • 222 S. DuPont Highway, Suite 102

    Dover, DE 19901 (302) 678-5050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting assistance in retreiving a copy of my deposit disclosure with my corresponding signature from Jet Set Travel. I have on several occasions asked ****** ******* for a copy, however have only been verbally told after my inquiry about the cancellation policy that my deposit would be forfeited in the event of a cancellation. I would like to physically see the contract between myself and Jetset Travel which outlines these terms of my payments being non-refundable.

Desired Settlement: To be supplied a copy of the contract with appropriate disclosures and signatures. In addition, to have the option of being fully reimbursed for all of our payments in the event of my cancellation should the documents not include the terms non-refundable.

Business Response:

Ms. ******** booked reservations with Jetset Travel on Jan 12, 2016.  Her brother-in-law had booked his trip with Jetset Travel, and she contacted us to join him.

Upon receipt of her deposit, we provided an invoice which contained the specific components of the package, the price, and the details of her payment.  There is no contract.  Jetset Travel is an agent for the tour operator and the airlines.  As for her signature, she booked this trip and gave her credit card over the phone.

Airline tickets are typically non-refundable.  Published fares that are available to the consumer must be paid in full at the time of booking reservations.  As a travel agency, Jetset Travel was able to offer these clients a bulk, or wholesale, airfare which enabled them to reserve tickets with only a deposit.  This is one of the benefits of using our services.

The tour operator issued the tickets.  Several weeks later, Ms. ******** contacted us indicating that she was perusing websites and had found the same package for less.  These packages required full payment at the time of booking.  She has been demanding that we get her the lower price, which we simply cannot do.  The tickets are issued and the airlines charge a penalty for cancelling.  Had she purchased the tickets herself she would have paid the full price up front. 

Cancellation penalties exist in the travel industry because space has been held.  Hotel rooms have been reserved, airline seats have been confirmed. 

Jetset is the agent for the tour operator and the airlines.

American Airlines Cancellation Policy:

 

NON-REFUNDABLE TICKETS

We do not refund non-refundable American Airlines tickets except when we make a schedule change that results in a change of 61 minutes or more, upon the death of a passenger or passenger's travelling companion or because of military orders. Supporting documentation is required.

?  Death of the passenger/traveling companion - refund to original form of payment

?  Schedule change 61 minutes or more - refund to original form of payment

?  Military orders/change in duty – refund to original form of payment

NON-REFUNDABLE TICKETS CAN BE USED FOR FUTURE TRAVEL

Depending on fare rules, you can apply the unused value of your American Airlines ticket toward a future trip as long as:

?  Your new trip begins no later than one year from the ticket's original issue date

?  You canceled the original ticket before the departure of the first flight (or the ticket loses any remaining value and cannot be used for future travel

 

Travel Impressions, the tour operator, imposes a $50.00 per person penalty.  The airlines and the tour operator are the recipients of the fees, not Jetset Travel.

The other travelers have applauded our services.  We pride ourselves on our industry knowledge,  our honesty, and our customer service.  We are unable to supply a contract because we do not have one.  We are unable to reimburse payments that we do not have.  If Ms. ******** had come to us with this request, we would have supplied this same explanation.  We are disappointed that she chose this route instead.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I have attempted on multiple a occasions to speak with ******, however as a consumer I should not have to be subjected to ******'s short, rude, and unprofessional standards. In my initial complaint, I wished to remain humble and not speak on ******'s customer service, however since she would like to speak on her disappointment... I would like to as well. ****** has breached my vacation confidentiality several times; as she would call my brother vs. contacting me when I would inquire about the policies. We booked separately..so all responses should have been directly with me.  I had to ask ****** to not over speak me while on the phone when she became upset about my questions about airfare amounts. The most disheartening thing was hearing ****** making comments about me after she thought she hung up the phone. I was making a payment and before I could hang up...I heard her speak with the other agents stating "I see she has changed her tune".

I contacted Travel Impressions, the wholesalers and they do have a price match guarantee where ****** could have called to have my rate adjusted.

****** consistently brings up the fact that a perk of booking with her is the deposit. In this case, where deposits are not necessary and trips can be paid in full at the time of booking; It is expected that the person that I choose as an agent also be a liaison...a person that you can trust to see you through the end of your trip. He/She should have connections that you otherwise would not be exposes to. ****** is not that person...and I am disappointed that we decided to give her a try. This company is nothing like it mentions on its website:

Welcome to Jetset Travel

Jetset Travel, an American Express Travel Representative, is a name that you can trust for all your travel needs. Whether you are looking for a weekend getaway, a honeymoon or destination wedding, a world cruise, or a luxury vacation; we will provide you with reliable and professional service.-From their site.

Our experience, expertise, and knowledge of destinations and the Travel business enable us to bring you the best product at the best price. In reality, the best bargain is to use a travel agent who knows where and how to get the most for your travel dollar. Our agents aggressively seek the BEST DEALS for you.-From their site.

All in all...I will continue my booking with Jet Set Travel because this vacation is to celebrate my brother and sisters wedding...however I would like to make the future consumers aware of ******'s subpar customer service and professionalism. I am also in customer service and know how important it is to inform other of poor quality experiences.

Please contact me should you require any other details.

Regards,

 

 

 

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A friend and I booked a trip to Italy in Sept.2014 for 5/6/2015 at a cost of $4,925 to me and $200 less to my friend "because she was a previous customer."I paid $550. deposit that was put on my Visa and requested travel insurance as I always do, since I am in my seventies now. Ms. ******* said the insursnce cost of $404. could be added at the final payment. Never was I informed that the deposit was non-refundable.Unfortunately, medical problems required me to cancel my trip before the final payment. Ms.******* said I could get a $250. refund if I submitted a doctor's letter. I did submit the letter verifying that my current medical issue was not a pre-existing condition.Next, Ms.******* explained to me that I would have to get any possible refund from my friend since my refund was credited to my friend's account because my friend booked a new trip for herself and her husband.She said the doctor's letter was denied. This is unacceptable business practice. My friend paid less initially and received my refund money also?

Desired Settlement: I feel the deposit of $550. should be refunded from the travel agent and should not have to get any refund from my friend.I provided the travel agent with the letter they asked for from my doctor that the agent later said was rejected. On 2/5/2015 I was given a check for $200. from my friend because she booked another trip and received s credit from my deposit that I lost.This whole thing is just not right in my eyes.

Business Response: We were surprised and disappointed to receive this complaint from ***** *** *****.  Jetset Travel American Express has been in business since 2005.  This is the first and only complaint ever submitted to the BBB.  Much of our success is due to what we perceive as our exemplary customer service.  We are sorry that Ms ***** is dissatisfied.  We have attempted numerous times to address these issues with her personally.

When we booked this trip with the tour operator, the "friend" was offered a 200.00 disount as a past customer of the tour company.  It is their policy to reward repeat business.  Jetset Travel has nothing to do with determining the tour company's pricing for their products.  This tour operator required a non refundable deposit to confirm the reservation. This included a $350.00 deposit for the airline tickets and $200.00 for the land portion.



 Ms ***** cancelled her reservation before the final payment date, and thus did not purchase the insurance.

Technically she should have lost 550.00.  However, based upon our good relationship with the tour company, and our extra efforts to serve our clients, we were able to negotiate an agreement where in the "friend" and her husband rebook a different tour with the tour company utilizing the deposit, and "friend" could then reimburse Ms. ***** for her portion of $200.00. The additional $350.00 for the air is never refundable.  Airline tickets are always non refundable and non transferable.  Ms ***** has received this money.

Had Ms ***** purchased the insurance for 404.00, which is non refundable at purchase regardless of a claim or not, and then filed a claim for 550.00, which may or may not have been denied, she would have seen only a return of 146.00.  Instead, we were able to get her 200.00. 

Jetset Travel does not have the deposit money, the tour operator does.  
We regret that we cannot offer further compensation. 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

 

 %3


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jetset Travel American Express Travel Representative
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)