BBB Accredited Business since

Wertz & Company Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 658-5186 Fax: (302) 658-2123 View Additional Phone Numbers 116 Valley Road, Wilmington, DE 19804 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.wertzandco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wertz & Company Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Wertz & Company Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wertz & Company Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 1973 Business started: 02/26/1926 in DE Business incorporated 05/14/1998 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Becker, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Becker, Operations Manager
Business Category

ROOFING & SIDING CONTRACTORS STONE POINTING FIREPLACES CHIMNEY CLEANING VENTILATING SYSTEMS-CLEANING CHIMNEY LINING MATERIALS CHIMNEY BUILDERS & REPAIR GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS

Industry Tips
Home Improvements Home Remodeling Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 116 Valley Road

    Wilmington, DE 19804 (302) 658-5186

  • 20845 Coastal Highway

    Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971 (302) 727-5643

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Wertz to diagnose and repair a leaking roof. They removed a roof deck and replaced the roof and the deck with new products. Their work was satisfactory. We paid their invoice. We then discovered that Wertz had misdiagnosed the problem, and there is still rotting wood they should have repaired. We asked them to come back and look at the problem, which they did. After numerous phone calls, we were informed that they determined they were not at fault. We asked them to provide a proposal for fixing the new problem. They have refused to do so. We paid Wertz $10,000 to fix a problem. We do not think we should pay again for them to do it right.

Desired Settlement: Timely and effective repair at no cost.

Business Response: We were contracted to put a new roof on. The issue you had was rotted wood on your facia.wich is covered by soffit. There is no excuse for you not to get a return phone call, the contract is under a different name. When I heard of the problem I called the same day and met with you both and explained that we would not of seen the wood without removing the gutters and facia. I quoted a price for the facia replacement and scheduled it. I don't know if you agreed weather we should of seen it or not, but when we do a new roof and railings we do not remove the gutters and soffit. I told you I would do it at my cost, for the problem of someone not getting back to your call. The job has been completed and I hope this is satisfactory for you.  We appreciate your business and again I apologize for someone not getting back to you in a timely matter.  Thank you, ****** ****** Operations Mgr. Wertz and co.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We agreed to a repair , but the repair was not done properly. (The job supervisor dropped off a team and never returned to check their work.) I tried to call *** ****** and left a message on his number.  When I did not hear back, I called the company headquarters and asked to speak to the owner.  I was informed that Mr. ****** was one of the owners and that he was on vacation out of the country.  His outgoing message did not mention that he was unavailable.  I spoke to ***** who visited us with a repair crew and finished the job satisfactorily.  The invoice arrived by email that same day.  As stated earlier, this company actually does good work once you hound them.  They do not seem to understand the importance of timely communication.  They do seem to know how to send a bill quickly, though.

Regards,

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wertz & Company Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)