BBB Accredited Business since

E. Earle Downing, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 656-9908 Fax: (302) 656-1290 1221 Bowers Street, Unit 6, Wilmington, DE 19802 http://downingpaving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers paving services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that E. Earle Downing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for E. Earle Downing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on E. Earle Downing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1968 Business started: 01/01/1938
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce E. Downing, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce E. Downing, President
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS GENERAL CONTRACTORS EXCAVATING CONTRACTORS


Additional Locations

  • 1221 Bowers Street, Unit 6

    Wilmington, DE 19802 (302) 656-9908

  • P.O. Box 1151

    Wilmington, DE 19899

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improperly Installed Asphalt DrivewayMy old driveway was installed 1993. Drainage was excellent for 31 years. Most water went to the gutter, no significant puddling or standing water. Eventually, cracks developed & there was some disintegration. I contracted with Downing for replacement. The contract called for removing old asphalt, grading and compacting the existing stone base for "proper water flow". During and after the pre-contract survey, I emphasized I wanted no standing water. I did not get specified performance nor did the contractor warn me he was unable to provide that performance.Total driveway area is approximately 1,400 square feet. In addition, a down-spout that drains approximately 400 square feet of roof discharges onto the driveway. Downing installed a drainage break approximately half way along the driveway. The break is a crown or hump that divides water flow to above and to below its peak. On my driveway, the area above the break is approximately 900 square feet and includes the down-spout discharge, an additional 400 square feet. The area above the break drains not to the gutter but to a small segment of my back yard but mostly to my neighbors. A total area of some 1,300 square feet drains to a small area of grass. One inch of rain on 1,300 square feet is equivalent to between 800 and 900 gallons of water. In a heavy rain storm, Downings proper water flow will present my neighbor with a thousand gallons of run-off. After a modest rain on 10/22, a 60+ square foot pool approximately 1" in depth formed. This is in stark contrast to the grading of my old driveway where downspout discharge flowed directly to the gutter and there was no pooling. Standing water leads to asphalt cracking and I also fear the formation of a dangerous skating rink in winter. I can visualize a muddy backyard mess after a rainy month. Contractor refuses to address other issues including damage to the sidewalk. Contractor does not respond to phone or email.

Desired Settlement: Non-pooling drainage, mainly to the gutter.

Business Response: ******* *** contracted with *** ******* on September 4, 2014  to remove the driveway asphalt surface at *** ******* ** , install a concrete apron at the garage door and pave the existing stone base with 2 1/2" Type "C" wearing course hot mix after the stone base was graded and compacted.   After completion of the concrete apron. per the contract, *** ******* was to remit $3,500.00 which he did not do. After the stone base was graded and compacted but before it was paved, we had a substantial rainfall. *** ******* pointed out to ******* that water was laying on the stone base at the edge of the driveway. ******* pointed out that the 2 1/2" paving layer would raise the elevation causing the water to flow onto the lawn. ******* noted  to *** ******* that if water flow off the driveway was obstructed by the lawn that the lawn could be graded down, raked and seeded for proper flow onto the lawn. Upon completion of the paving water does lay on the edge by the lawn. The lawn prevents the flow off the driveway. ******* offered to grade the lawn area down and install sod at no charge to *** *******. As of this writing, *** ******* has not granted permission for ******* to do this remedial work. 
It should be noted that ******* encountered several areas on the stone base that were unstable and had to be removed and replaced with a new stone base. Our contract clearly states that ******* will not be responsible for unstable areas. That the sidewalk broke under the weight of the paving equipment is reflective of the unstable earth in that area. Additionally, our proposal excludes standing water on pavements that have less than 2% flow. 609 Kilburn has less that 1% flow.
******* feels confident that we can remedy this situation but we need cooperation from *** *******. We also need *** ******* to remit 80% of the balance due which is $8,470.00, 80% is  $6,776.00 A retainage of $1,694.00 until the problem is resolved is adequate.