BBB Accredited Business since

Service Energy, LLC.

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 734-7433 Fax: (302) 734-7439 View Additional Phone Numbers 3799 N. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 http://www.serviceenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Service Energy, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Service Energy, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Service Energy, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Steiner, Owner Mr. Don Steiner, Vice President Mr. Ed Steiner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Steiner, Owner
Related Businesses
Service Energy, LLC. Poore's Propane Inc.
Business Category

OILS-FUEL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS CONTRACTORS & DEALERS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GAS-PROPANE GAS-PROPANE-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
Service Oil
Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling Your Home

Additional Locations

  • 33852 Clay Road

    Lewes, DE 19958 (302) 734-7433

  • 3799 N. DuPont Highway

    Dover, DE 19901 (302) 734-7433

  • P.O. Box 1000

    Cheswold, DE 19936

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The propane co. used my $75 deposit to pay a portion of my bill. When I questioned it, they said someone moved out of another bldg. and they said they thought it was me. I have not moved and I have always paid this propane co. without incidence. Now they are telling me that a balance of $110. is due or they will terminate my service and this balance includes $75. This is wrong. They are difficult to work with.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to credit my acct. $75. Once this is done, I will pay accordingly.

Business Response:

We have taken the money from her security deposit and applied it to her balance which is what she asked for.

The customer was going to move out of her apartment; and we refunded her security deposit.  She ended up not moving out and returned the money.

We applied back against the security deposit wich we believed she knew.   Now she say that is wrong.   It is not worth the effort fighting over.  If she had just

called and requested it; we would not have had to go though this.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAD SERVICE WITH ****** ******* OVER 20 YRS. THIS WAS BEFORE SERVICE ENERGY PURCHASED IT. I HAD BEEN VERY SATISFIED WITH ******. MANY THINGS BEGAN TO CHANGE WITH SERVICE ENERGY. CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTIVES MANY WERE RUDE. IF YOU HAD TO CALL ON AN ISSUE ,MORE THAN ONCE,CONFLICTING STATEMENTS OR,YOU WOULDN'T GET 2 ANSWERS BEING THE SAME. I COMPLETELY PAID MY ACCOUNT OFF JULY 16,2014. I WAS REALLY DISSATISFIED WITH THEM .DURING OUR PREVIOUS WINTER OF 2013-2014. I HAD REMANING $337.69 OF PROPANE LEFT IN TANK,WHEN I REQUESTED I WANTED TO END MY SERVICE WITH THEM,THIS WAS PAID FOR IN FULL IN JULY, THEY HAD CHARGED ME WITH 2 PICKUP TANK FEES,ONE IN AMOUNT OF $125.00, AND ANOTHER OF $99.00. I WAS GRANDFATHERED IN UNDER ****** BEFORE SERVICE ENERGY TOOK OVER, AFTER MUCH COMPLAINING, THEY SENT ME A REFUND CHECK FOR $238.69 KEEPING $99.00 AS TANK PICKUP FEE. I HAVE NEVER SIGNED OR AGREED TO THESE FEES OR WAS NEVER TOLD OF THIS, DURING MY SERVICE TIME WITH THEM.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE TOTAL AMOUNT OF $99.00 WHICH WAS KEPT THAT WAS APART OF MY REFUND, THEY KEPT, AND WE HAD NO ORAL, OR WRITTEN AGREEMENT THAT CHARGE WOULD BE LEVIED TO ACCOUNT, ALSO THEY RETURN PROPANE TO THEIR TANKS AND RESELL TO OTHER CUSTOMERS. ****** HAVE NEVER DONE ANY ROUTINE MAINTEANCE ON MY TANKS,NO CLEANING OF TANKS ,OR COMING OUT AFTER WINTER SEASON TO CHECK FOR LEAKS OR OTHER DAMAGE TO TANKS OR PROPANE LINES AFTER PREVIOUS WINTER SEASONS.

Business Response:

On an annual basis we send out the companies’ terms and conditions as well as safety information.  In addition our terms and conditions are available on our web site.  There is also a section that describes the fees and charges by the company.  Both discuss the process of getting credit back for propane left in the tanks and the charges associated with the process.  Section 11 of our terms and conditions is where you find our process.   A couple of points; first of all the company policy is to refund the customers the lower of the price the customer paid or the wholesale price.   Because *** ******** was a long term customer; we refunded her the price she paid for the propane not the current wholesale price which is substantially lower.  We did this as a courtesy to her.   The tank at her house was full as such it weights over 200 extra pounds each.  The company not only has to pick the tank up but also as our web site explains we need to go through the process of draining the tank before we are allowed to put it back in service.    Because we gave *** ******** full price for the propane; she got a significant refund. The company also reversed the drain charge which would have been $125.  In the end the only charge that was made was a $99 tank pick up charge.  She still received a refund of $239.   The company already reversed two policies for *** ********.   Nothing prevented *** ******** from using the propane in her tanks before she had them picked up.

 

           As a company I do not know how we can do more to disclose our policies.  The customers are notified when they become a customer; they receive annual reminders with any updates, and all the information is always available on line with additional section explaining charges and fees that could be confusing.   It this case we gave **** ******** more credit then was required.   I am sorry she is unhappy about the situation; but do not know how we can operate in a more open and transparent fashion.

We have compromised all ready.  The only thing that will make *** ******** happy is if she gets everything she wants even if she is not entitled to up which is not reasonable


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Service Energy, LLC.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart