BBB Accredited Business since

Capstone Homes, LLC.

Phone: (302) 644-0300 Fax: (888) 717-3541 18334 Coastal Highway, Lewes, DE 19958 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.capstone-homes.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Capstone Homes builds new homes at the Delaware beaches, both in exclusive Capstone communities or on customers' lots throughout Delaware. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capstone Homes, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capstone Homes, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capstone Homes, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2006 in DE Business incorporated 01/01/2006 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Kathy, Office Manager Mr. Jake Booth, President Don Conant, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Jake Booth, President
Business Category

HOME BUILDERS REAL ESTATE DEVELOPERS CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT

Products & Services

Capstone Homes, LLC. sells the following brand(s): Aristokraft Cabinets, Certainteed Siding, Daltile, GAF shingles, Moen Faucets, Mohawk Flooring, Plygem Windows, Seagull Lighting, Shaw flooring, Weyerhauser Lumber

Capstone Homes, LLC. offers the following product(s): Custom Homes, Lot/Home Packages, New Homes

Alternate Business Names
Capstone Homes, L.L.C.

Additional Locations

  • 18334 Coastal Highway

    Lewes, DE 19958 (302) 644-0300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Builder unwilling to act professionally... repair porch cracks and complete job installing final asphalt driveway

Desired Settlement: Repair frontporch poor workmanship cracks, fix screened in sloppy job cracks finish driveway asphalt final coating

Business Response: I sent this email to the customer today:
Mr. ********-

Attached is a photo taken yesterday of the crack on your front porch.

Also attached is a copy of the warranty book that was supplied to you at the time of
contract.  As you know,  it is the Capstone limited warranty that
guides what who does what after settlement on the home.

Page 12 of this document indicates that a cosmetic crack needs to be greater than ¼” to be a
warrantable item.  This crack on your porch
is clearly within tolerances, and it is therefore not covered by the warranty.

There is no action required on the above from Capstone Homes, and none will be taken.  It is my understanding that our concrete
contractor informed you of this when he was on sight.

 

The top coat of the driveway is absolutely our responsibility, and we apologize for the
delay.  We have had a breakdown in communication
with our paving contractor.  As of
yesterday, that was resolved.  We will
perform this work in a timely fashion.

 

I will be supplying this email and the attached information to the Better Business Bureau
in response to your complaint.  I am
sorry that we have not been as attentive to your needs as you require.  Enjoy your new home.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 
  
Problem:
We had a home built by Capstone last year 8/14 Our screened in rear porch and front porch cement has cracked. The rear screened in porch has a sever three sided perimeter crack. Capstone tried to simply repair it by applying a cement coating troweled over the entire porch. It lasted 4 months. The crack has returned in the entire length as before. I alerted Capstone Pres. Jake. He now claims the crack is within contractural "acceptable" guidelines. My wife & I are bewildered by this recent reply. This crack has returned in the same fashion as originally. It clearly determines the cause is still active. It was originally deemed "within guidelines when it was repaired,however it now is not? Capstone now finds this repair requires more than a simple cement coiating to revctify this shoddy job.They are trying to shirk their responsibilities. This is a brand new home,it should be a concrete slab devoid of any cracking.

 

  
Desired Outcome:
A deck w/o cracking done correctly,obviously the cement contractor erred in some fashion in this concrete install.


Business Response:

BBB, 

 

Our team again reviewed the porch and are waiting on additional information. 

 

Thank you for your patience.

 

Capstone Homes

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

How can I cancel this complaint. The builder has completed these issues.thanks again.

 

12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capstone built my home 4 or so years ago. They incorrectly built the rear deck. Last Nov. I noticed it was pulling away from the wall. We took pictures and sent them to ***** ******. No response.....I did not push it since the winter was pretty bad. I have since sent quite a few emails and in August when I said my attorney would be contacting Capstone, ***** ****** responded that he would check with his service dept. That was my only response since Nov, 2014. Needless to say that was my only response!!! No more contact. I am afraid that the deck will pull completely away from the wall (no braces were used) and injuries may occur.4

Desired Settlement: The home is still under warranty. I want them to come out and install the rear deck properly and replace the siding that has come away from the wall.

Business Response:

BBB,

 

We have contacted the customer and our service tech *** and production manager *** reviewed the concern. I spoke to the customer and apologized for the poor communication. She now has our direct line to the service tech and he will make sure to address her concerns. *** and *** have scheduled the repair and with our porch contractor to address the concern. It should be a very quick and simple fix.

 

Thanks,

 

**** ***** ******** ***** **************

 

12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had a home built through capstone homes, there are things they put in wrong that i did not agree too, tile,granite,sink,yard work, carpet. they installed different materials that i did not choose i tried to resolve this issue but nothing has been resolved

Desired Settlement: to come and replace each and every thing with the right material that i have chosen

Business Response:

BBB,

 

We have tried to reach out to the customer but have not received a response. Our service group recently has been in touch with the a real estate who has listed and re-sold the home. We found out that the customer passed away. This week we spoke with the real estate agent and offered a copy of the warranty book for the new owners since there is still a structural warranty on the home.

 

Thanks,

 

**** ***** ******** ***** **************

12/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased my home 10/12/12., built by Capstone. My Hvac system was never registered with Rheem by Capstone so when the coil failed the labor charges of $650.00 were not covered by Rheem as they would have been if the unit had been properly registered by Capstone when installed. I am asking to be reimbursed for theses charges. In addition the brick front steps going into the house in the front are falling apart due to mortar that was either mixed in correctly or mixed in temps too cold. I sent a letter in the beginning of August and two follow up emails with no response. Letter was sent to Mr ***** *******

Desired Settlement: Refund for labor charges associated with Hvac repair. Repairs to front steps

Business Response: Our HVAC warranty is for two years.   This is not a warrantable issue with Capstone.  This home was built for another client in 2010.  We are very sorry for the problems encountered with the HVAC system, but this is not an builder issue.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Regards,

 

In response to Capstone Homes:

 

Regardless of when the home was built and for whom the home was built originally, I purchased the home at 314 Valley Rd as NEW.  The records from closing in Oct. 2012 will show that.  There was no certificate of occupancy issued until the day before my closing.

 

As to the request for reimbursement for the labor to replace the air conditioning coil, I was not referring to the builder's warranty.  I was referring to Rheem's warranty that was made void  for the labor by Capstone Homes not registering the unit when it was installed. If Capstone Homes had done their job I would have been given a whole new unit, at no cost to me, instead of a coil and the bill for the labor.  I have a copy of Rheem's warranty stating that

 

You never addressed the problem with the front steps falling apart because the mortar was eith not mixed correctly or it was set in very cold temps.  I understand that the first attempt to build the steps was unsuccessful and they collapsed because of the cold temps and I have a witness that will give you all the details.  

 

 

Business Response:

It is unfortunate that you had an issue with the HVAC system. Capstone Homes has a two year mechanical warranty and we stand by that warranty.

I attached the warranty information for Rheem. They offer a conditional warranty and a limited warranty. The conditional warranty must be registered for within 60 days of installation and is NOT transferrable. Subsequent owners do have the balance of the original base Limited Parts warranty. 

Rheem did stand by the warranty and replaced the parts. You are correct the conditional warranty is not something that was ever signed up for by Capstone. I am not sure if the client we built the house for signed up for the warranty but in either case the conditional manufacturer warranty does not transfer. 

We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the HVAC but glad that you had a limited warranty through Rheem to help address the issue for you.

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 10, 2013, I moved into my home in the development of *** ****** which I purchased from Capstone Homes. The home is located at ***** ******* **** **** *****. Almost immediately, I noticed a problem with the drainage on the property. There is standing water in the back and side of my house. When it rains, I have a stream of water that is like a small creek. I have spoken with representatives of Capstone Homes and have sent numerous e-mails to them. They acknowledge that there is a problem, and have taken photos of the standing water, and they have assured me that it will be corrected. I have lived in my home for over a year now, and the problem is ongoing, and I feel like Capstone seems to be ignoring any immediate resolution to the problem. My fear is that Capstone Homes will leave this development without correcting my drainage problems.

Desired Settlement: Capstone Homes needs to hire professional engineers to assess what needs to be done to correct the drainage problems. Perhaps some re-grading of the property and a French drain put in to remove the standing water. I am sure if they hired knowledgeable engineers, these drainage issues can be corrected.

Business Response: The issue with *** *******'s side yard has been repaired.  The issue with the back of his yard is related to a community drainage problem that is not something Capstone Homes can address.  Capstone met with the Sussex Conservation District at *** *******'s home yesterday.  Sussex Conservation District monitors stormwater management in Sussex County, Delaware.
The attached letter is written to the developer to correct the problem.  As the letter states, the corrective action needs to be done in the common area behing *** *******'s lot.

*** *******'s lot receives stormwater run off from lots that are further up the street and higher in elevation.  There is an excess of water flowing through his yard during rain events, but the solution is a modification to the community drainage plan.  This solution requires action by the developer not the builder.  It is Capstone's position that we have addressed all of the issues that we are able to address in this situation.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beginning with the initial involvement with Capstone Homes we have been misled and did not realize it until settlement. Some examples would be the size of counters, number of lights, electrical outlets, and other things. The main reason for this complaint is that since the initial walk through in April, 2013, the 30 day list which we e-mailed to the office and other issues that needed repairing, we have been ignored by *** ***** ****** (Managing Partner), the office staff and contractors who were assigned to handle these repairs. Many of the repairs we were told were cosmetic since settlement date had passed. Even cracked woodwork that was only seen after moving in. It has now been almost 6 months since we settled and many of these concerns have not been addressed. We have issues with water in our crawl space well not draining and afraid of seeping into the crawl space, hollow ground around foundation, cracked siding and other things that Capstone is aware of. We were told at settlement not to call the office but to e-mail whatever problems we had. Since August all of our e-mails have been ignored by the office and *** ****** and we are still waiting for a response. This company does not deliver what it says it will and we are very disappointed as we know many in our neighborhood are. Hopefully you can be of assistance and help us have our new home in better shape. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Would like for all the concerns we have with our new house repaired or replaced as promised.

Business Response: Capstone Homes freely admits that our communication was poor from the end of August until this complaint was filed. We have made contact with the ********** and we are addressing their concerns.

We have attached two emails that discuss the idea that the customer has been misled.  This BBB system does not allow enough attachments, but Capstone's documentation will show that the home that the T********* contracted to build with Capstone Homes is the home that was built by Capstone Homes.  Prior to settlement, there was an issue with the availability of water service in the ******* ***** community, and this issue was related to a dispute between the developer of ******* ***** *** ******** *****.  It led to a delay in settlement for the *********, and Capstone Homes was neither the cause of this delay nor was Capstone any party to the dispute.  We simply could not connect to the water system in the community.  This caused a hardship for the ********** and Capstone Homes agreed to allow the ********* to store their belongings in the house prior to settlement so that they would not incur additional expenses for storage.  This is a significant liability issue for Capstone as a builder, but it was done as a courtesy for the **********

Capstone Homes strongly denies that anyone has EVER been misled about how we do business and what we represent to our customers.  We argue the exact opposite- that our building process is open, honest, and informative, and that we deliver the home that we promise to our customers.  We are an honest company.  We will own communication failures with the ********** but it is offensive to accuse Capstone Homes of misleading anyone.  There is substantial written evidence that Capstone Homes built what we said we would build, and we have gone beyond the requirements of our limited warranty to satisfy this customer.

The ********* have minor repairs that are necessary to make to the home.  We do have photographic evidence that the lot does not have "hollow ground" around the foundation, but the lot is graded properly and is draining properly.  Any water that is left in the crawlspace access may remain after a rain event, but this access is exposed to the outside.  The conditioned crawlspace is dry and performing as designed.

We have gone to great lengths to correct issues that the ********* have raised, and we will continue to honor our warranty obligations that we promised to keep when the ********* contracted to purchase their home with us.

Capstone Homes has much more documentation that it can provide in its response, but the BBB system does not allow more attachments.

10/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having problems with the sales brochure and the blueprints not matching. Now the house is being build and it a combination of both. They admitted the bedroom was the wrong size. The sales brochure stated 16' x 14', the room was built 14' x 12'. They would like to replace a half wall with an open railing for a 7.5' open area on the second floor overlooking the first floor. The sales brochure also states of fake dormers which our house was a first of new revisions. The blue prints also changed that show the floor extending to the window in the dormers. Now all we are getting is sorry.

Desired Settlement: The house cost is $248,000 with 1790 square feet, we lost 58 square feet in the bedroom. It comes to $138 per square foot, at 58 square feet $8035. Now with the dormers I will have to have someone open up the frame work and make them useable if I would like. I tried making a fair offer of the railing and a french door refrigerator. I shopped around at lowes and can pick on up for around $2500. I know the railing they are offering can't cost over $1000. I feel the railing and the fridge is a fair offer to meet. They said a regular fridge or the railing. I feel I am being taken advantage of. And want both for it to be fair.

Business Response: *** *** is correct that there was an error on the floorplan sheet that was initialed by the **** at the time of contract.  That document is attached.  The dimensions in the owner's bedroom are not correct as listed. The room, however, is drawn to scale with the rest of the house.

The "Greenville" plan is listed at 1793 square feet on that initial page.  The house that is being constructed on the lot for the **** shows a square footage of 1791.  The difference in 2 square feet is related to the thickness of the drywall.  There is absolutely NO missing square footage in the house.  The full plans are attached.  While Capstone acknowledged the error on the floor plan, the **** were also shown completed Greenville homes that had a Owner's suite that was the size of what was built rather than what is shown on the floorplan sheet.

Because of this error, we offered to give the Mays a railing (instead of a knee wall) at no charge.

Regarding the dormers, Capstone Homes has never represented that the dormers located on the front of the house would be functional.  The attached floorplan that was initialed by the **** does not show the dormers to be functional. The second floor shows and area that is listed as "unfinished storage/Opt. Bonus room".  There are no window represented on the plan (either standard or optional).  All other windows are represented on the prints. Older versions of this house did have a single dormer that was functional, but the two dormer elevation chosen by the **** has never been built.  When our draftsman originally drew the prints for this house, the draftsman used an older version of the home as the basis for creating the **** home which was presented to the client.  This earlier version featured functional dormers, which was not a part of their original contract. This error was corrected prior to the start of construction or the preconstruction meeting with the *****

In summary, Capstone Homes understands our mistake with the incorrect dimensions for the owner's suite, and we have offered to compensate the **** for our mistake.  The issue of the dormers was not a mistake, as we are building the home we promised in the contract.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Capstone Homes, LLC.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)