BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Delaware Serving New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

Horizon Services Pennsylvania

Phone: (610) 491-8800 Fax: (610) 728-6325 View Additional Phone Numbers 900 Adams Avenue, Audubon, PA 19403 http://www.horizonservicesinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This type of business offers residential plumbing, heating, air conditioning and drain cleaning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Horizon Services Pennsylvania meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Horizon Services Pennsylvania include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Horizon Services Pennsylvania
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 31, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1985 in 0
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Business Management
Mr. Mark Aitken, President Mr. Mark Ellis, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Aitken, President
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING WATER HEATERS-DEALERS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR PURIFYING & CLEANING SYSTEMS & EQUIPMENT AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT WATER HEATERS-PARTS & SUPPLIES AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING VENTILATING CONTRACTORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING

Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling Your Home

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    900 Adams Avenue

    Audubon, PA 19403 (610) 444-6332 (610) 491-8800 (610) 572-4300 (610) 643-4226 (215) 392-0934 (267) 991-0075

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (215) 392-0934(Phone)
  • (267) 991-0075(Phone)
  • (610) 363-3601(Phone)
  • (610) 444-6332(Phone)
  • (610) 458-9164(Phone)
  • (610) 572-4300(Phone)
  • (610) 643-4226(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horizon Services installed our new air conditioning system. The system works well. The installation was great. But don’t believe that their 100% customer satisfaction guarantee actually means something. We had inquired of the salesman about having our ducts cleaned. He said that they don’t do that. That we should have it done after the new system is installed. So we took his advice. That advice cost us an extra $560 to have the ducts cleaned. The ducts were very dirty and had mold. The duct cleaning company said that the installers should have seen how bad the ducts were, but they never said anything to us during or after the installation. Since we used the new system before the ducts were cleaned, we ended up with mold spores in the new air handling equipment. We wrote to Horizon Services expressing our dissatisfaction. No response. We wrote a second time a month later. No response. I called on the phone. There was no record of either letter in our file. I was promised that someone would call me within 24 hours. No phone call. Two days later I called a second time and was told someone would get right back to me. It has now been three weeks, and we are still waiting for that call.

Desired Settlement: At the very least I would like a phone call. At best I would like them to cover the $560 their bad advice and failure to give advice cost me.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
MTD Transactions: 8,380
YTD Transactions: 70,595

Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. As you know, our Sales Manager has called and spoken with you regarding you situation. We apologize for the amount of time it took for us to back to you as we understand your point of view and how important this was.

You have expressed satisfaction with the resolution our Sales Manager has discussed with you, and we believe that both parties are happy with the outcome. We thank you for your business, and are always available if you have further questions.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Customer Service to get a breakdown of the charges so I could file a claim with my homeowners Insurance. I have spoke to a few people in that office and they told me that it could not be done. When I explained why I need that paperwork I was told that it would be mail to me within a few days. I never got the paperwork so I called back, again I was told it was not a problem that it would be sent to me in a few days. The Paper that they sent me was a price of the total job and I could not use that. Again I call the company and they are telling me that they couldn't break it down and the only paperwork that they can give me is the paperwork that they sent to me. I got this work done on 11/15/13 and I took out a loan to pay for the job in full. I feel that it not fair that they will not give me a breakdown of the charges for the job.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to give me a price breakdown of the charges of what was the price to replace all of the pipes in the basement, the cost to dig up the front yard. I need this breakdown to submit it to my homeowners Insurance so I can be reimbursed for the 8,600.00 loan I had to take out. I am on a fixed income and I can not afford this bill.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
YTD Transactions: 18,350

We understand that you have spoken with our Customer Relations team in order to have price breakdown of your recent installation mailed to you for use with your homeowners insurance. With that said, we have mailed out a scope of work document along with a description of the 70/30 split of the type of work you had done. All of our prices are flat rate prices. We have broken down the prices as far as we could but are unable to itemize individual parts, equipment, or service because our jobs are billed at one single rate based on the installation package the homeowner selects. At this time we have provided every piece of information we have available. Thank you again for reaching out.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday 2-7-14 my heater ceased working, I Called horizon to come out and troubleshoot my heating unit. The tech came out and determined the transformer to be bad in my heating unit. After he replaced the transformer the unit appeared to work. The tech also pointed out that the breaker on the heater board needed to be replaced but I declined that service as they wanted too much and couldnt do it that day. The unit worked for 2 days but then I came home from work and the heater was not working again. I Went down to check the breaker on the transformer and it was fine, so I checked the main breaker and found that it was loose and was able to correct it enough to get the heat running again. This got me to thinking to that the transformer wasnt bad at all, luckily they left the original part behind. I tested it with my volt meter and appeared to be fine. I consulted my local HVAC tech and he said the transformer is fine, I then asked a local electrician and he agreed that the transformer is fine. So I hooked up the old transformer and my heater is working fine. So Horizon charged me almost $600 to mis-diagnose the problem and then to replace the wrong part and not even fix the problem. I have called Horizon but have not heard back from a manager from my call on Monday 2-10. I called again on 2-14 to follow up but was told managers do not work at night or on the weekends.

Desired Settlement: At this point Horizon should refund me my money as they failed to fix the problem. They can come reclaim their part anytime.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
YTD Transactions: 18,350

Our Customer Relations Manager spoke to *** ***** over the telephone on 10/2/14. She addressed his concerns and explained to him our pricing policy as well as a breakdown of the warranties he had received with his repair.
 
At that time, *** ***** also stated that the service technician had taken a screwdriver from his residence during the service visit. Without hesitation we offered to replace the tool or reimburse *** ***** for the cost of tool once he could provide documentation of its price. *** ***** was uncooperative and did not provide the documentation.

After our initial interactions, *** ***** continued to provide harsh negative feedback to us via various platforms including email messages, live chat on our website, social media posts, and voice calls during which he threatened to take legal actions. To reinforce our dedication of working with *** ***** to find a resolution to his concerns our Customer Services managers spoke with him in detail.

At this time we have reached an agreement with *** ***** regarding the cost of his recent repairs and are unable to provide any additional assistance. At Horizon Services, we are dedicated to providing the highest level of service possible and will always do so when a homeowner is cooperative.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 2, 2014 I called Horizon Services for an "annual deep brush soot cleaning and dripping water from an expansion relieve down pipe. I waited four hours for a large man with his pants past his butt. Unscrewed the flue ant told me "We can't touch this heater, because it has soot".I told the service man that I have the Thermatron 2 heater serviced every January, and now it is time. He tapped the expansion tank on the wall and told me that I need a new one, He let out some air. He took the lid of the heater off and said that it had soot and couldn't touch it. He took off the cap to a relief valve, and did not replace it. He told me that I had to call somebody else that does deep cleanings and that will open the heater. He screwed the flue back on a 30degree angle and left the lid off of the heater. I said "Aren't you going to straighten the flue and screw it on correctly and put the heater lid back on". He said , "Oh, I forgot". He left, no charge, did not do their 21 point check and the heater started leaking to a steady flow that needed a bucket after he left. Called Affordable HVAC Servces, who took apart the heater, used fiberoptic scope up the flue, into the heater. He cleaned the heater, Said it did not need a deep brush clean. Said expansion tank was brand new and tech did not tighten the valve on top.He examined the heat exchangers, the heating element, the nozzle (cleaned all), put water into the boiler and adjusted the pressures, were at 4o and should have been 15. He explained everything that he did and gave me an education on my boiler. He showed me every area of the boiler, along with the camera. Nice tech, clean, educated, fair price, and most of all BOILER NO LONGER LEAKS AND IS CLEAN. I BELIEVE HORIZON TECH IS UNEDUCATED, UNPREPARED TO CLEAN BOILERS, AND TRYING TO SELL ME PARTS WITHOUT TOTALLY INSPECTING THE BOILER. NEEDS TO COVER HIS PLUMBERS CRACK AS WELL.AFTER THE PHONE ASSIST ARGUED THAT I DID NOT ASK FOR A DEEP BRUSH CLEANING FOR SOOT AND DID NOT MENTION LEAK.

Desired Settlement: I would like Horizon Services to replace the pressure relief cap that the tech removed and lost.I would never recommend this company to anyone. They have over 4 pages and 52 similar customer complaints with BBB in regard to customer service, telling people that they need parts and selling heaters, when they don't need one. The tech was uneducated and not prepared to do the job. He wasted my time and had to call a qualified HVAC service due to the Horizon tech making the leak 3 times worse.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
YTD Transactions: 113,068

Thank you for voicing your concern, as you know our Customer Relations Manager promptly reached out to you to learn more about your service call, your overall concerns, and to help you find a resolution. At this time, we have not heard back from you and thus are unable to further our service until we do. Please review the information our Customer Service Manager has provided to you and contact us at your earliest convenience.

Please also be aware that we follow a strict policy that does not allow us to work on systems that have a soot condition. For liability, health, and other reasons, we always suggest that you reach out to your oil company to have any soot thoroughly removed.

As your initial recorded call confirms, we were not informed or aware that you system was in this condition. Thus our technician was not able to perform any work. With that said, we have confirmed with both the technicians and his managers that he was indeed wearing his appropriate, clean, and required uniform during your service call.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us to discuss any additional concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called for electric heat pump to be fixed on 12/16 , tech arrived 12/17 (JOE) supposedly fixed the problem and called me telling me of the issue. Charged $600 Heater did not work properly, called again on 12/18, *** arrived and called me stating there is no problem with the system and the system could not be properly diagnosed due to its mis-installation in the attic. Heater does not work properly, HORIZON advertising states "A job done right the first time guaranteed" Talked to **** on the phone today for an invoice stating what work was done, wires were "redone" no parts were replaced for $600, one hour of labor Instead of attempting a repair for $600 and saying you could not properly diagnose the problem, DO NOT attempt the repair and say that you cannot properly diagnose it.

Desired Settlement: The problem is not fixed, it could not be fixed due to the location of the air handler, therefore a $600 repair should not have been attempted.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
YTD Transactions: 113,068

Thank you for reaching out to Horizon Services. We recently spoke to you about your recent Horizon Services’ experience and believe we found both a reasonable explanation and resolve to your concern.

To the best of his abilities, our service technician diagnosed your system having a wiring problem and re-wired your air handler. Upon learning and that the initial installation, performed by another company, was the real problem; we felt the need to provide you a partial refund for the work that we had performed.

As a company that takes the utmost pride on getting the job done right, we were sorry to learn that your initial system installation from another company was not done properly and caused the issues with the operation of your system. With that said, we will actually be integrating your situation into our continuous training programs to help our technicians better identify problems caused by outside companies.

Thank you for speaking with our Customer Relations Manager throughout this process and being forthright with the information regarding your initial installation. If you do ever need service in the future, we will be pleased to assist you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had one of their techs out to my home on 12/26/13. He walked in with a chip on his shoulder. He and I walked to the basement and I showed him the unit. The unit is a oil fired boiler/furnace. He looked at it and right away, mentioned several things that were incorrect. He then began to take it apart to service it. The exhaust pipe (flue) was a little stuck so he shook it so violently that he cracked and broke the mortar on the wall. He complained the entire time that it was rusty (the wing nuts are rusted, the unit is about 12 yrs old, to be expected). He looked inside the flu pipe and kept saying that he would have to quote a price to fix this. He went to get is "Blue Book" a/k/a price book and came back in to tell me that he had a abscessed tooth and was in a lot of pain, and that he called his Supv to tell him that he was not doing any other service calls today. He then went on to say that he was NOT going to service or work on my unit "Due to its condition". Wait... are you not the repair man here to service it??? He got real bothered by having to put it back in working order. He even admitted to me that “we don't really work on oil systems, just do cleans, you need to call someone that just fixes them" WHAT??? He was then TOLD to leave. He then had the nerve to ask if I wanted my other property, that he was supposed to service next completed. I nicely told him to go!!! I even called the office as he was still in my driveway, got a run around and was told that there was no supv to speak to and that someone from customer service will call me back within 24 hours. I bet if I needed to buy services, someone was there to sell it to me right then and there. WOW, was I shocked to be dealing with this; thank god he didn't pull this to my wife. Horizon is nothing more then bells and whistles. Lots of FLASH and then they BANG YOU OVER THE HEAD. This business is a scam. They offer routine cleaning/service and then right from the start, attempt to sell you things you truely do NOT need.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
YTD Transactions: 113,068

 
Thank you for bringing this to our concern. As you are aware, our Customer Relations Manager has since spoken to you directly about your system and your situation.

We do apologize for the approach of our technician; our HVAC Service Manager has had a direct conversation with him regarding your service call, his actions, and the outcome.

Due to the extent of the soot in your system, we are not in a position to service it. This is, and has always been our policy. Excess soot within a system can cause various liability issues on a job including safety concerns. During the visit our technician explained this to you and he was informed that additional service companies were also not able to work on the system for similar reasons.

Because we were unable to perform the work to your system we gladly recommended that you contact an oil company to rectify the problem.

We apologize again, however due to our strict policies regarding sooted systems, there was just nothing we could do besides recommend you directly call an oil company or have the option to upgrade the system.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Horizon to service/repair our gas furnace that wasn't working. The CS was prompt in informing us the arrival time of the technician and the service person showed up on time. He was courteous and seemed like a nice guy. He wore booties to protect our floors, which I appreciate. He then checked out the furnace and about half hour later told me that the pressure switch was bad and had to be replaced. As he was finishing up the service call, I looked up online and saw that these switches cost anywhere from $30-100. The guy gives me a quote of $494 to replace the pressure switch. I declined the service at that time, told him I had to check with my husband before committing. He told me that he performed a general service of the furnace, which meant he should have checked all vents/ exhausts for blockage and checked all other parts for proper working condition. After he left, I read a lot about how these furnaces work & watched a lot of you tube videos by professionals and I inferred that the pressure switch is one of the last things to go bad and blockage due to dust/debris is the most common cause of furnaces not igniting. I decided to troubleshoot some of the basic stuff on my own and found that some dust blocked in the inducer motor port was not generating enough vacuum to turn ON the pressure switch, which in turn was causing the furnace to NOT come on. The pressure switch was working just fine. As soon as I cleared the blockage, the furnace started up and running. If the service guy had checked all the ports / vents for blockage, which he should have as part of the general service that he reportedly performed and charged me $89 for, he would have found the problem. Instead, he decided that a part that was working just fine was broken and quoted an ridiculous fee of $500 to replace a $50 part. And replacing that part wouldn't have fixed the problem since it wasn't the cause in the first place. Who knows what else he would had us replace? I am sorry, but I call this looting.

Desired Settlement: Have their technicians follow the steps in trouble shooting a problem. Have them do their job properly and know what they are doing. Most appliances these days are so self explanatory that even a layman can trouble shoot it with a little common sense. Be fair and reasonable. How can you charge $500 to replace a part that costs 1/10th of that?????

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
MTD Transactions: 8,536
YTD Transactions: 91,803

We thank the homeowner for bringing this concern to our attention and have attempted multiple times to make direct contact with the customer to discuss in detail her situation. Since receiving her concern, our Customer Relations Manager has personally called the homeowner on three separate occasions leaving voice-mails with directions on how she may be reached. In addition, we have mailed a letter to the customer’s residence outlining our desire to speak with the homeowner and to work toward finding a resolution.

As of today we have yet to hear back from the homeowner in any form and thus are unable to make any progress. We hope to hear from the homeowner in a timely fashion so that we can not only better understand her situation but so we can also do everything in our power to work with her in finding a suitable resolution.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yes, the business tried to reach me last week via phone and I also received a letter dated Oct 29. I have since tried to contact the Customer Relations Manager twice and have left messages for her. I am yet to hear back.

 

 

 

 

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
MTD Transactions: 8,536
YTD Transactions: 91,803

Our Customer Relations Manager has been able to connect with the homeowner to discuss her concerns. While no repair work was performed after the homeowner’s initial appointment, we have issued a credit for the original $89 as she was not satisfied with her service call.

During our discussions we attempted to explain our flat-fee pricing policies as well the benefits that are included with those prices such as warranties and guarantees that may not be offered elsewhere. At this time, the homeowner has expressed an understanding of our policies but has chosen to move in a different direction.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 22, 2013, a Horizon Services crew arrived to perform a repair on my next-door neighbor's sewer line. Without permission, they tresspassed on my property with a large backhoe on treads, and destroyed a good bit of landscaping in order to get where they needed to go on my neighbor's property. I don't know what kind of company would allow their people to cause such OBVIOUS damage to a neighbor's property, but clearly demonstrated by their actions, these people are either completely clueless, or they simply do not care. They had the nerve to tell me that the area above the sewer pipe is considered an easement -- so that gives them the right to tear up my property??? I DONT THINK SO! Their actions addionally have altered the landscape in such a way that heavy rains will cause significant erosion.

Desired Settlement: Repair to my satisfaction

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
MTD Transactions:
8,536
YTD Transactions: 91,803

At Horizon Services, we make it point to leave our job sites cleaner than we found them and your situation is no exception.

We would like to apologize for the damage caused to your landscaping as a result of the service performed on your neighbor’s residence. We have already held internal discussions with the managers in charge of the aforementioned crew and our managers will address the situation immediately with not only the crew involved, but with the entire department to ensure this will not happen again.

We would like to assure you that we will take full responsibility for the harm done to your landscaping and will work with you to restore any and all landscaping that may have been affected at no cost to you.

Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a service to the public and in particular the elderly, I would like to report a gross fraudulent business practice of Horizon Services, Inc. For the sake of the general good, the elderly should not do business with Horizon Services. Inc. The unconscionable practices that Horizon Services, Inc has perpetrated with us include but are not limited to the following: price gouging the elderly, taking advantage of the elderly under duress, and committing outright fraud on their sales contracts. These are but three of the despicable actions you need to know about Horizon Services, Inc. Add to this their poor workmanship, non-conformity to township ordinances, gross negligence bordering on criminal negligence in regards to their workmanship, you have enough reasons to avoid this vendor like the plague. Here are the specific details on my experience: My 90 year old grandmother called Horizon to request an estimate on installing a gas furnace in my home. She wanted to provide me with a new furnace as a housewarming gift. On September 25th, 2013, **** ***** (Sales Representative for Horizon Services, Inc) met with my grandmother at my house. **** ***** told my grandmother that we needed a new furnace and as a result we were currently living in an "unsafe environment." He scared my grandmother into believing that she needed to order a new furnace immediately. His original quote was $10,500 dollars for a new gas furnace and removal of existing oil tank in basement. He told her he would give her a "1500 dollar discount" if and only if she agreed to buy it immediately and have it installed the next day. When she stated that she wanted to think about it overnight, he told her he would only give her the discount that same day and that she would no longer qualify for a discount the next day. Then he stated that in order to get the discount we needed to not only choose next day delivery but also sign a document waiving our "three day right to cancel". I examined the contract closely today. The contract clearly states that "State law requires that this waiver must be in the consumer's handwriting. It must be signed and dated and must describe the situation requiring immediate remedy." However, **** ***** wrote on the contract where only the consumer was allowed to write. He committed fraudulent misrepresentation on this sales contract by not only writing on it but also writing a bogus reason as to why the install needed to be completed on the next day. He wrote that the situation requiring immediate remedy was due to "Emergency Heat". The words "emergency heat" are in ****** handwriting on the contract exactly where the consumer was supposed to write their understanding of why they thought they needed to waive their right to cancel. **** *llegally wrote a false statement-Emergency Heat couldn't be farther from the truth- we are currently experiencing 80 degree weather outside and we were certainly not in any rush to get a heater and were certainly not in an "emergency heat" situation. In short, **** ***** bamboozled us into waiving our right to cancel under false pretenses. The sales contract is null and void due to his fraudulent claim and also because the contract states that only the consumer's handwriting is allowed on the contract. We therefore did have a right to cancel. **** ***** also promised my grandmother that Horizon would hook up my gas dryer, yet he did not send a licensed plumber to do the job and instead had 3 young men who had no experience in hooking up this appliance fend for themselves as they tried to figure it out. My gas dryer is now poorly installed with 25 feet of vent hose going across my basement, connected to plastic, venting outside 25 feet away from the dryer itself. They could have chosen a 5 foot path to the nearest exterior wall but instead performed a faulty install. I have had three different professionals in the industry look at what was installed by Horizon and the price Horizon charged us. They noted that the workmanship was faulty: the vents have holes where air is escaping, holes in mortar have not been sealed properly, and Horizon did a poor job of hooking up the gas dryer. Every single professional in the industry was shocked and appalled by the price my grandmother paid. My 90 year old grandmother was bullied and scared into thinking she had to immediately replace the heater at an astronomical cost, and she wrote a check in the amount of 9,133.00 to Horizon on 9/25/13.

Desired Settlement: I am demanding a full refund of 9,133.00 in the form of a check made out to my grandmother and the removal of Horizon's installed items. Horizon's elder abuse, price gouging, misrepresentation of facts and their fraudulent sales practices and scare tactics forced my grandmother to waive her right to cancel under false pretenses. She deserves a complete refund and we deserve to have the faulty workmanship removed from our property. Horizon has until end of business day Monday. October 7th, to issue a full refund to my grandmother. If they do not refund my grandmother the full price of 9,133 dollars, I will continue my process of seeking recourse with small claims court, the state's Attorney General, the BBB, and reporting their fraudulent practices on every consumer awareness website imaginable and most importantly alerting the Area Agencies on Aging of Horizon's elder abuse.

Business Response: At Horizon Services we have a zero tolerance policy for any situation similar to this one. Our employees take pride in reflecting the values of our community and for this reason we have dealt with the parties involved by terminating their employment. 

Our managers and co-owners have had extensive discussions with the homeowner and she was even invited to visit our office to learn more about our culture and values. At this time she is completely satisfied with the way we resolved the situations and even wished to remove her previous comments.

We have also brought this to the attention of all of our employees and have used this as a learning tool to better ourselves. We apologize for the situation and genuinely do not condone any behavior such as this.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: Horizon Services Invoice ********, Order ********* had a condensate leak around my interior HVAC blower in my home, which I needed serviced in order to satisfy the terms of a home sale inspection. **** from Horizon came to look at the problem on August 8, 2013. He diagnosed the problem as follows: "Cracked evaporator drain pan, return box filled with water, also R-22 leak repair $2,960 - non repairable." After receiving this shocking news, **** called the Horizon sales office, to get me set up with an in-home estimate for replacing my system at 12 noon on August 9, 2013. He didn't even bother to vacuum out the water in the return box; I did that myself. Also, he cut the condensate drain line but didn't put it back together.The next morning (August 9) I called ******* ******* and Cooling Company in Downingtown. *** ******* did the following: "Removed covers from drain pan and plugged secondary opening and filled pan with water to test structural integrity of pan. Removed old trap and blew out drain line with co2 and repiped condensate line with new trap and new clean out tee so unit can be properly serviced. Filled pan with water and tested water flow from unit. Turned system on and checked system charge using superheat and subcooling methods, checked fan speed to ensure it was running at the correct speed. All working ok." The bill from Joe came to $229. According to Joe, the evaporator drain pan was NOT cracked, and there was NO refrigerant leak whatsoever. I have been running the unit since Joe left, and it is not leaking water.I believe I was being deliberately pressured by Horizon Services into purchasing a new air conditioner. I called them to cancel my "comfort advisor" appointment, to which all the rep on the telephone could say was "that's a shame." Furthermore, the technician made not one but THREE false diagnoses: (a) the fact that the drain pan was cracked, (b) the fact that there was a refrigerant leak and (c) the fact that this was non-repairable.

Desired Settlement: I am demanding a full unconditional refund of my check #367 for $79.50.

Business Response: Summary of Business Activity:
MTD Transactions: 7,199
YTD Transactions: 82,126


Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for our error in diagnosing the problem you recently had with your HVAC system and want you to know that at Horizon Services we take every opportunity to better ourselves very seriously. We are extremely proud of the quality of work we produce and understand that when a mistake does occur, that we need to make every effort to learn from it.

As soon as this issue was brought to our attention we thoroughly discussed it with the technician that came to your home, our in-house training managers, and our Sr. Technical Manager. At that time, we decided that it was very important to address this type of situation in our mandatory training sessions so that all of our technicians are aware of it and know how to properly handle it in the future.

At Horizon Services we always take responsibility for our technicians and the work that we do. We are able to provide the industry’s longest warranties because we stand behind our work and when a mistake is made will do whatever it takes to make it right. We believe it is our responsibility to deliver the best possible methods of system diagnosis and repair to all homeowners and are confident that our continuous improvement efforts allow us to do just that. We are never satisfied unless we are advancing the industry as a whole, and are never done learning.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you and are happy to refund you the amount requested.

After speaking with the homeowner we are confident that that we were able to resolve his concern and that our follow up discussions and course of action met all of his needs. We believe the homeowner is completely satisfied with the outcome.




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I got a call from Horizon's Customer Service, and got a refund check in the mail the other day. Thank you for your help.

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our water and sewage line replaced in November of 2012, today is July 2013 and the work is still not done. After digging up our basement in November, they left for the day stating they will be back to cement in the huge hole that was left. Before leaving that day we were also told a liner had to be put in and it could be done as soon as the weather broke. Finally in May 2013 after leaving many voice messages I got a call from a manger(who again had no idea what had to be done) saying they will schedule someone to come out to finish the cement work, which was done within a couple weeks of him calling. As the weather started to brake, I didn't hear anything from Horizon so I called and they scheduled me for the next day to have the work finished. They were 30 minutes late getting here and come to find out, they had no idea what had to be done and now have left without the work being done because they need to get another crew out here. This is absolutely ridiculous! There's no reason why this work needs to take 9 months or more to finish. They already got our huge payment therefore, it seems to me they could care less what needs to be done. The manger should have been calling me when the weather broke, not the other way around. I will never recommend this company to anyone!

Desired Settlement: I would like some of our money refunded

Business Response: At this time Horizon Services is scheduled to be on-site at the customer’s home on August 1, 2013. This visit is necessary to fully understand, assess, and determine the proper action needed to complete and resolve this job. 

We have dedicated the appropriate resources to the scheduled visit and are open to further discussion once we have a more comprehensive understanding of the concern, and are able to speak directly with the homeowner.




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I called company to perform an A/C tune-up, utilizing the company's $89 special. When the technician completed his inspection, he informed us of needed repairs: freon (tech stated we had a leak), evaporator repairs, and replacement of the blower capacitor (which we did not allow him to repair). He attached a Hard Start Kit to the outside A/C unit, which he stated would only last us for limited time. He also added that our system would only function for a short period of time until it would ultimately fail. When we asked him what it would cost to replace unit, he estimated around $8k. Finally, when we began to write the check for $89, the tech said it would cost $300.00 (we were being charged for freon). I pointed out that the "special" indicated that up to two (2) lbs. of freon were included. The tech then acknowledged that he was mistaken, and he accepted a check for $89.00. He then asked us to set up an appointment with one of company's salespersons, which we did. Horizon's salesperson showed up next morning and evaluated our needs, then gave us an estimate. When we said we were not ready to purchase, he became a bit pushy and tried to make us make a decision. We did not, and decided to get a second opinion...GOOD THING WE DID. We called another service company who came out and informed us that OUR SYSTEM IS JUST FINE. THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE FINED FOR TRYING TO RIP US OFF!

Desired Settlement: We would like our $89 back.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

We have reached out to Ms. Mola and resolved this complaint.

Thanks
******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9612120, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1