6/11/2016 Called Horizon out for a routine service and cleaning of my gas heater after getting a promotional flyer. After a couple min the tech told me he had bad news. He had to "red tag" my unit because it was dangerous to operate. He shut it down (in winter) and told me it required immediate replacement. He said I could try and replace the major dysfunctional parts for about $5500 but if I spent about $7000 I could get a new unit by the next day. To make me feel better he said there was another tech in the area that could come give a second opinion. And yet ANOTHER tech close by to come give me a better quote on replacement costs. He went so far as to offer to show me one of the major problems - He opened the inspection panel and told me to feel around inside for cracks in the heat exchanger. I called another company and explained what I needed. She actually asked me if it was Horizon who shut me off because they are known for those tactics and they get a lot of second opinion requests from concerned home owners. Once an honest company arrived they turned my heater back on and showed me how those "cracks" I felt were actually just seams from parts being attached to each other! Two seasons later and my heater/AC unit is working just fine.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by J. W. on 6/11/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
6/3/2016 In April we had a technician from Horizon Services out to install a new toilet. Three weeks later the hose to the wall let loose and the dry walls, floors and carpets were ruined. One of the repairs concerns carpeting. They hired a subcontractor out of Delaware. They were a couple of good ol yehaw boys. They said we got a better carpet than the one we had. Several weeks later the carpet is unraveling on the stairs. I called on 5/31 and again several times during the week to contact a rep in customer service. I was only able 2 times to speak with him. He even suggested I call the installer to remedy the problem. I did not feel this was my job. This person is either going to a meeting or not at his desk, so I am told. In the last half our I spoke with a girl and told her that my next step is the BBB ,since no one seems to care. Then when I got a voice mail to call them and ask for a person who was handling my case, someone else answered and it appeared she did not know who the name of the person was who left their name on my voice mail. .The company plays games, which I do not appreciate. This is my last doings with Horizon Services.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by Grandmom on 6/3/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3/30/2016 We were having trouble with our oil burner two days before a blizzard. We were going to be without heat and hot water. Horizon came out and within 30 minutes determined that we needed a brand new oil burner. They claimed that they could no longer obtain parts for our oil burner that was made in the 80's. Conveniently, they were able to get a salesman out to our house that night and could have a new $7,000 burner installed the next day. We declined. The next day (the day before the blizzard), we called another heating/cooling company. The mechanic came out and had our oil burner up and running in an hour and half. He said that it just needed routine maintenance. He also insured us that, although the oil burner is old and not very efficient, he could still get parts for it if we ever needed them.
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by T. D. on 3/30/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
3/5/2016 This company told me I needed a new heater when there was absolutely nothing wrong with my heater - and I had called them for my A/C, NOT my heater. Then on top of it, they told me that my A/C wouldn't work with the recommended heater so I needed a new A/C unit as well. I called them to do my annual preventative maintenance on my A/C. While the technician was there (in July on a very hot day), he decided to "do me a favor" and also check the heat exchanger on my gas furnace. Then he told me during this inspection, he found that rust had caused a crack and that if I turned it on, I risked getting carbon monoxide poisoning. I found this very surprising since my heater was 14 years old, inspected annually and never had any problem whatsoever. they offered to have another technician come out and confirm the problem. I took them up on this offer, and the 2nd technician confirmed that I had a crack in my heat exchanger due to rust. They then offered to send a sales rep out to give me an estimate for replacing my heater. The sales rep suggested a few options, and then also recommended I replace my A/C at the same time. The price was outrageous so I decided to get a second quote. The technician from the 2nd company told me it would be very unusual to have a cracked heat exchanger in a 14 year old Carrier furnace, but if I did, my heat exchanger was under warranty and it would cost $600 to install the free replacement. I had him come out expecting that he would replace the heat exchanger, but when he looked at my furnace he said all it had was a little bit of surface rust that he could easily scrape off (and he did) and that otherwise my furnace was clean and in excellent condition. He also said that Horizon was wrong when they told me I risked getting carbon monoxide if I turned my furnace on if it had a crack - my furnace has a safety switch and the heater would shut off if the heat exchanger was cracked. I think Horizon just didn't want me to figure out that my heater was working. I also wrote this up on angie's list and they did refund the cost of my preventative maintenance, which was appreciated, but doesn't change the fact that they tried to sell me a new heater when there was absolutely nothing wrong with mine. FYI - My heater was been working just fine all winter - 9 months after Horizon told me it would cause CO poisoning if I turned it on
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by bwalnut on 3/5/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
2/24/2016 We were without heat in January for 1 overnight and again without Heat for 6 days February 18-23, 2016. We originally called on Thursday 10am, told we could get service between 2-6pm Friday. Could not be repaired because had to order parts. The Parts were not ordered until Monday. I was told we would get a call Tues am. I called noon Tues, girl apologized for not calling sooner. Told repair in pm between 2-6. Question: why with a recurring OUTAGE in Winter did we not get a Thursday Appt when we called? the Parts could have been ordered & repair done Friday avoiding 4 additional days of misery for two Senior Citizens. These parts could have been overnighted Friday for a Saturday repair. I fume when I see Horizon's commercial featuring superb service. We have been loyal customers 15 years (August 2001) and never experienced negligent attention to our situation until now. This system replaced our old one in 2013...Technitians are great, but office staff needs awareness training for certain! Not sure what changed during the years, but we had 6 days to feel it. We actually recommended Horizon to two neighbors, not sure that will happen soon. ****** ******
This customer had a NEGATIVE experience with this business.
This customer WOULD NOT recommend the business to a friend, family member, neighbor or colleague.
by S. K. on 2/24/2016 | Submit a Customer Review
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo
1 person found this review helpful .
1 2 3 4 5