BBB Accredited Business since

Sharp Energy

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 742-7740 Fax: (302) 734-1509 View Additional Phone Numbers 5011 N. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 http://www.sharpenergy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sharp Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sharp Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sharp Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1947 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Business Management
Mr. Bob Zola, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Zola, President
Business Category

GAS-PROPANE


Additional Locations

  • 102 Central Ave.

    Ocean View, DE 19970

  • 22033 DuPont Highway

    Georgetown, DE 19947

  • 5011 N. DuPont Highway

    Dover, DE 19901 (888) 742-7740

  • Rt 113, 104 N. Dupont Hwy.

    Georgetown, DE 19947 (302) 856-6648

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sept. 19th, 2014 the homeowner purchased home and paid seller $1,330.00 for estimated propane left in buried 500 gal. tank on property. New owner contacted Sharp Energy next day to tell them they did not require their services and wanted them to either 1) Pump out propane paid for at settlement and remove their (rented) tank and fill hole or 2) Let new owner burn propane and then fill tank with sand or dirt. Customer service Rep. said "we will charge per gallon to pump out propane and you will not be reimbursed for said propane" and "tank is too old to remove just keep tank and burn the propane as needed". Owner informed that they removed old heating system and installed a hybrid heat pump and also installed a wood pellet stove. In May, 2015 two Sharp employees visited residence and wanted to check gage on tank. Mr. Homeowner was home and told them the gage read 85% full and they did not need any propane and also explained what Sharp employee had previously told him the day after settlement. The Sharp Rep. reiterated the same information. Burn the propane you paid for and let us know when it's gone. Six months later, fourteen months after purchasing the home there was a "Sorry We Missed You" notice left in the front door of said residence saying "Your gas service has been disconnected" Need application for service. There was NEVER any contact from Sharp Energy explaining the business requirements or intent. There have been several customer service calls to Sharp Energy by both Mr. & Mrs. Homeowner and each customer service representative has been unwilling to resolve issue and will barely speak until there is 1) an application fee and application be filled out 2) a re-connect fee be paid 3) tank rental fee be paid. Sharp Energy employee reported to Mrs. Homeowner on Friday, December 4, 2015 after she contacted the business yet again because another "Sorry We Missed You" slip was left in the door of the residence saying "contact sharp propane within 7 days to avoid propane disconnect" that there had recently been a propane delivery of 116 gal. approx. $385.00 due immediately from the homeowner even though there is no contract with Sharp Energy. There was never a slip left in front door indicating that there had been a delivery with any information of amount delivered, price per gallon, truck #, date delivered, driver name. Tank still and always has read 85%. The tank was ALREADY sabotaged by Sharp. This was all without a service contract between the homeowner and Sharp Energy. Sharp refuses to take the account out of the previous homeowners name until the new owner establishes an account.

Desired Settlement: Sharp Energy to allow the homeowner to burn $1,330.00 worth of propane paid for at settlement and first show proof of recent delivery of 116 gal. to be pumped out first and fill tank with sand or dirt WITHOUT application and all fees. Or, Sharp Energy to pump out propane and reimburse the homeowner their $1,330.00. Dig up propane tank and fill hole leaving property in good condition.

Business Response:

We would be able to reconnect the propane tank for the property buyer to use provided they fill out the proper paperwork so that we can set up an account for this and have a responsible party. We cannot leave the gas on under the old owners name as they do not have any ties to the property any longer. Any purchase of the propane by the property buyer was done at settlement between buyer and seller and did not involve Sharp Energy. As we told the property buyer in a previous conversation we would be glad to waive the gas check/reconnect fee. Each time we spoke with the new owners we did explain this business requirement to have the needed paperwork to set the account up so that they could continue to use the propane. The account was on stop delivery and a delivery was made there in error on 11/11/2015. We have no problem removing the charge for this as this was our mistake. In order to proceed with reconnect we would need the proper paperwork from the new owners. If they no longer wish to use the propane then we can remove the tank or abandon it as per code. Dates the office spoke to the property buyer. 09/17/2014, 11/25/2015, 12/02/2015 and 12/03/2015

Sent on: 1/25/2016 2:52:50 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is in response to **** ******* response to the original complaint brought by ******* ** * ***** ** *** to the BBB on 12/72015.1.     

 Ms. ***** said the purchase of original propane was between the seller, Mr. **** ***** and buyer Mr. & Mrs. *** and that Sharp Energy had nothing to do with it?  They most certainly did. Who determined the amount of propane that was left in the tank and who determined the monetary amount to be paid to sellers? They knew owners changed.2.      The last contact that the ***’s had with Sharp Energy was 12/4/2015.  Mrs. *** called Sharp and spoke with *****.  It was a lengthy conversation as Mrs. *** was trying to determine just how many “fees” there would be to have a “responsible party”.  ***** said that there is a $50 per year tank rental fee, $50 re-connect fee, $50 application fee and a fee to be put on a will call basis.  ***** said she would speak to her supervisor Mr. ***** ******.  Mr. ****** was not available on Friday, December 4th.  He was out of the office because his wife had had surgery and she would see if he would be willing to waive all said fee’s if the ***’s would fill out the application to become a “responsible party”.  ***** told Mrs. *** she would call her back on Monday which would have been December 7th.  The ***’s never heard back from Sharp Energy until this very response to the BBB Complaint! The response just and only speaks of waiving the gas check/re-connect fee.3.      The ***’s want to know what happens if Sharp “removes the tank”? Does Sharp reimburse the ***’s for the propane? Is there a fee for removal of the tank and do they leave the property the way they found it?4.      What specifically does “abandon per code” mean? Does Sharp pump out the propane and reimburse the ***’s and then take the top of the tank off like their employee Mr. Littleton explained to Mr. *** in May of 2014 and then fill it with sand? Is there a fee for this also?Sharp Energy has not been forthright and has been evasive since the very first contact Mr. & Mrs. *** has had with them.  We do not wish to do business with a company such as this.  After answering the questions that we have, we would have no problem filling out the sacred application as long as there are no hidden fees.  The only thing we want to do is use the propane we paid for in good confidence and be done with this company and their tank.  A speedy response would greatly be appreciated as this is going on sixteen months now. We would need everything in writing before filling out any application.Thank you,******* ** * ***** ** ***   

Business Response:

After a phone conversation with Mr. ***, Sharp Energy has agreed to put the 500 gallon tank back into service for Mr. *** to use up the remainder of his fuel. Sharp will also be out to pump out the gas that was delivered in November.


12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a new homeowner; my customer experience has been very disappointing. It'd be much easier if I had a utility provider that genuinely cared for the safety of myself and my kids. I called in on Sunday, November 15th concerned about a possible propane leak. I was told someone would come in the morning, so I took off from work. No one came by 11am, so I called the office I was told I would get a call to confirm. I didn't get a call until I was at a doctor's appt. This is completely unacceptable, an evening emergency call would be handled with more care. The president delegated my complaint, to the Dover, DE Operations Manager, which was handled even more poorly than all my previous interactions. The call follow-up call on Tuesday, November 24th, we haven't been able to stay at my residence. So, I really don't appreciate being blown off, especially after learning that the technician didn't communicate that there was a carbon monoxide leak identified. I am disgusted by his arrogance and lack of professionalism with handling my concern. Offering to perform a complimentary leak check, how does that help the situation?

Business Response: As she stated, we responded to the smell of propane.  We determined there was no leak, however we did determine there were minor traces of CO (carbon monoxide).  We shut off her furnace and her propane tanks and "red tagged" the system.  She was told this by our technician.

I have no idea why she is complaining. I have no idea what the $99.95 is for. We even credited the service call of $179.00

There is nothing more we are doing on this matter.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Its interesting that you even received an unprofessional response.  Perhaps it's lack of training or education in terms of customer service.  It's disappointing.  I would ask the company president if he approves of an ignorant response too.

Regards,

 

 

 

9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in reference to the Sharp Energy- Georgetown office. When I request a delivery of propane I am always overcharged. This is understandable given the nature of the business. What is not understandable is that the over payment is considered a credit. The credit, according to an individual I spoke to on the phone from the Georgetown office, stated it is never applied to my account. This amount will only accumulate as I order propane. I was told the money would be returned after I stopped being a customer, or if I write in and ask for it back. This overpayment should be applied to the account or returned automatically, not kept and have to ask in writing for it back. Every bill I have, if I overpay it is applied to my account or returned except for this company. I am in the process of writing my request to get my overpayment returned to me.

Desired Settlement: Change of policy to more mainstream practices. Apply any credits toward the next purchase or refund the credits to the name holder on the account.

Business Response:

Hi **********,

I reviewed this complaint that Mr. John Rodenbaugh had submitted and have found that the company sent a refund check to him back on September 24, 2015 for the amount of $150.30. 

Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.

Thank you,

**** *********

Customer Experience Manager

8/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a new gas range. I called Sharp Energy to ask for the charge for installation and was told $107.00. I called before the purchase and again after purchase to verify the charge and was told $107.00 each time. The range was installed by two techs from Sharp Energy on June 17, 2015. When I received the statement the charge was $273.16. Labor was $160.00 plus a trip charge of $49.50 and parts and accessories in the amount of $63.66. I called Sharp Energy at the Georgetown office and spoke with *****. When I asked about the increased amount she told me it was because they sent two techs as one tech would not be able to install the range. I told her I had called twice and explained the service I needed in detail and was told the price would be $107.00. ***** told me she understood my questions about the bill. I asked her if she knew it required two techs when I called prior to scheduling installation why did she tell me the cost would be $107.00 when the labor for two techs was $160.00 plus trip charge and she said again that she understood. I believe I was deliberately misled.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cost of labor and trip charge to total $107.00. I understand the possibility of additional charges for parts and accessories and do not have a problem paying the additional $63.66.

Business Response:

On 7/31/2015 Mrs. ********* received a refund of $102.50. Refunded was the cost of labor and trip charge.

Sent on: 1/19/2016 12:52:04 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We’re a small church with a regular attendance of about 15 people, including children. Sharp filled our 500-gallon above-ground tank on Oct 22, 2014. They were gracious to allow us to make monthly payments of $250 on the $721 bill. After making 2 payments, our 13-year old heating system broke. We spent $1,600 to fix it, but it wasn’t repairable and it wasn’t refundable. We spent another $1,800 to convert over to an all-electric system. In December, I called Sharp to let them know that we no longer needed the LP gas and tank. The tank read 65% full at that time. They told me to NOT pay the last payment on the bill and that they would schedule to have the tank picked up. I called Sharp at the end of January 2015 to inquire about our account because the only paperwork I had received was 3 late payment notices for the payment they told me NOT to pay. Sharp had closed the account, but never sent a final statement until I asked for one. The statement shows that they credited our account for 300 gallons of LP on Jan 12, 2015. It also shows a $705 service charge to remove the tank and close the account. That $705 is the difference between the gas credited and the amount they told us NOT to pay. Sharp then explained that it isn’t their policy to issue a refund for gas left in the tank. I asked what they did with our 300 gallons of LP? They replied that they resold it to their other customers. We planned to use the refund we didn’t get from Sharp to pay toward our other unexpected recent expenses.

Desired Settlement: Refund difference in the value of the gas picked up and the amount of the last payment that we were told NOT to pay.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint


*** ******* was contacted and was advise that he would be receiving a refund of $405.73. Mr. ******* is satisfied with the refund.

Sent on: 2/18/2015 9:12:54 AM

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

4/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a vacation home in Ocean View, De. The house is heated by electricity and has a supplemental propane tank. I have an automatic delivery system with Sharp Energy for the propane. When I am not in the home, which is most of the winter months, I set the heat to 50 degrees. This obviously saves me money and conserves energy. To my surprise, I received a bill for $120 from Sharp for "Tank Rental." When I called to inquire, I was told that I had not used enough propane in 2013, so they are charging me for the tank (please note that this tank is probably 10 years old.) As I mentioned above, I am on automatic delivery. When I asked why they did not delivery propane in December 2013, so I could avoid this charge, I was told that my tank was not at the "delivery level." With all the emphasis on energy conservation, and all the money that we know energy companies make, do they really have to charge customers for conserving energy?

Desired Settlement: I think that this practice should end and my money should be refunded.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,  

 

I received this complaint from *** **** and I contacted the customer on May 27, 2014 to let her know that after reviewing the  her account that she should not have been charged the $120.00 tank fee. 

 

**** ********* did receive a refund check of $120.00.    Please contact me with any questions or concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ********* ******** ********** ******* **** * ****** **** ****** **  ***** *******  ************ *****       ************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With the having 2 mild winters, being a 60+ year old conservative consumer on a limited income with health issues (fighting cancer), it appears that I did not use/purchase a sufficient amount of product. (yet to know what that is). I was given this extra large tank, which I did not want because of the cost to fill it, stating that there were NO smaller tanks available at that time. This year I was charged rent on the tank, with no communication (like a "just a reminder") from Sharp (expect a bill) calls to the office to find ways to resolve this, like smaller tank, payment arrangement, amount required to eliminate rental fee etc fell on unconcerned staff. They then came out and picked up their tank (Wintertime) which still had 130 gals of, paid for, propane in it. They then charged me 120.00 past due rent ( with no time frame on rental period),$139.00 pick up fee/propane removal fee and stated that they (******* do not refund propane. My Complaint 1) lack of communication with customers and unwillingness to provide customer service/needs 2) waiting until winter to take my heat source ( for rental fee) 3) refusing to refund balance of paid product after deduction of fees and/or sending me a paper statement with the break down, stating that this not company policy to do so

Desired Settlement: Refund of paid propane and partial rental fee Investigation of fair customer service practices and more transparent disclosures.

Business Response:

1/20/2014 Complaint # ******* *** ***** ***** ***** ******* ** ********** ** ***** *** ******* account was reviewed and the decision was made to give her a refund for the propane that was in the tank. *** ***** was contacted and was satisfied with the decision. Thank you, ********* ********* Customer Experience Manager Sharp Energy

Sent on: 1/20/2014 4:16:01 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

1/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We cancelled service in August 2013. Had already paid for procap price. Did not get any propane this season. We are on the budget plan and have made two payments thus far. We have a large balance due us and they will NOT give us our money until they receive tanks. Tanks are empty now and awaiting pickup. We called last Friday the 13th and was told they would be picked up on Monday the 16th. Thursday the 19th we just called again and was told it would be "next week" before they can be picked up. This is unethical, cavalier, uncaring, arbitrary, and just plain wrong for a company to do this to I believe only us. They also informed us it would be "about 4-6 weeks" for a refund to be issued. If I took 4-6 weeks to pay my bill, I would be in constant arrears and subject to financial penalty.

Desired Settlement: Refund delivered to house, its OK to give it to the driver who picks up the tanks.

Business Response:


*** ******* received a refund of $316.05.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sharp Energy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)