BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Delaware Serving New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SchagrinGAS Co. has been family owned and operated since 1932.

SchagrinGAS offers much more then just propane. We have a full service HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning) department. We are a Lennox Premier dealer, and also carry Trane. SchagrinGAS has a generator department, that is equipped with certified Generac Generator technicians. Schagrin Water Systems is a division of SchagrinGAS. They can address your water concerns and needs with our top of the line Hague equipment. SchagrinGAS also installs the following; fireplaces by Regency and Mendota, water heaters by Navien, Rinnai, and Bradford White. We also carry grills by Lynx, Weber, and Broilmaster.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SchagrinGAS Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SchagrinGAS Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SchagrinGAS Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1932 in DE Business incorporated: 01/01/1932 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew C Levinson Sr., President Mr. Andrew C Levinson, Vice President Mr. Rick Levinson, President Mrs. Jillian L Shields Jr., Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew C Levinson Sr., President
Business Category

GAS-PROPANE GAS-PROPANE-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WATER HEATERS-DEALERS WATER SOFT & CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT SERVICE & SUPPLIES WATER TREATMENT EQUIPMENT, SERVICE & SUPPLIES AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT WATER HEATERS-PARTS & SUPPLIES AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS VENTILATING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GENERATORS-STEAM APPLIANCES-MAJOR-DEALERS FIREPLACES

Products & Services

SchagrinGAS Company sells the following brand(s): Bradford White, Broilmaster, Generac, Hague, Lennox, Lynx, Mendota, Navien, Regency, Rinnai, Trane, Weber

SchagrinGAS Company offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Fireplaces, Furnaces, Gas Grills, Generators, Grills, HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and A/C), Propane, Tankless Water Heaters, Water Conditioning, Water Heaters, Water Treatment

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Mastercard, Visa & Discover
Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling Your Home

Additional Locations

  • 1000 N. Broad Street

    Middletown, DE 19709 (302) 378-2000 (800) 341-4022

  • 18675 Coastal Highway  Unit #6

    Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971

  • P.O Box 427

    Middletown, DE 19709

  • Shoppes of Hockessin

    Hockessin, DE 19707 (302) 239-9665

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (302) 653-9100(Phone)
  • (302) 658-2000(Phone)
  • (410) 398-3400(Phone)
  • (610) 869-0139(Phone)
  • (800) 341-4022(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schagrin is billing me for the removal of gas tank on a property that I have not owned since 4/2014. Likewise, I did not request the removal of said tank. It was removed at the request of the new owners of *** ***** **** *** ****** **** **. There position is that they have a contract that states if the contract was terminated by myself or the company then I would be responsible for the removed/return of the equipment owned by Schagrin and located on said property. My position, other than it is ridiculous to think that a prior owner is responsible for the actions of of the new owner, is that I did not cancel or terminate my contract and neither did Schagrin according to the verbiage in our contract. The contract does mention that selling the home would be viewed as a cancellation; however, I did not sell my home. The bank that held the note foreclosed on said property and they subsequently sold the property. Furthermore, under the contract, if Schagrin decided to cancel, they were required to notify me via letter. I did not receive a termination/cancellation letter from Schagrin. I feel I am being billed because they first attempted to obtain the funds from the new owner and he declined to pay for the service he requested.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I do not owe said company for the removal of a tank when I did not request the removal, and on a property that I do not have an ownership interest in. Therefore, I expect Scagrin to cease and desist all collection attempts to myself.

Business Response: I responded to this complaint on 9-25-14. On August 2, 2005 ***** ******* entered into a Underground Tank LP Gas Service Agreement  with SchagrinGAS Co. SchagrinGAS Co. supplied ***** ******* with propane as outlined in the signed agreement. On June 20, 2012 ***** ******* called office requested information for a delivery stated will be selling house soon. *** ******* stated that she would keep us posted. On November 12, 2013 ***** ******* called in requested a delivery- she was out of propane. She paid the amount needed and SchagrinGAS Co. made a delivery. *** ******* did not provide any additional updates about selling the home. On March 8, 2013 *** ******* called in requesting a delivery possible short sale and only wanted a
partial. SchagrinGAS Co. agreed to a partial and the delivery was made. *** ******* advised our representative that she would keep us updated on the status of the home.On January 29, 2014 we received a call from a gentleman stated he is possibly purchasing the home not sure wanted information about our company. On February 6, 2014 *** ******* contacted our office about a delivery. She stated settlement might occur in 20 days. *** ******* did not take the delivery.On February 17, 2014 *** ****** contacted our office stated the owner ( *** *******) is still in the property and he was not sure when or if he would be taking possession. On February 17, 2014 a removal letter was sent to *** ******* via registered and first class mail. Due to no repsonse from  *** *******, SchagrinGAS Co. scheduled the removal. The removal was scheduled around weather conditions. SchagrinGAS Co. was refused access to the property by *** ****** - stated we needed to deal with his lawyer. SchagrinGAS Co. was granted access on June 27, 2014 to remove our company owned tank and equipment. SchagrinGAS Co. billed the removal fees as outlined in our signed agreement with ***** *******. Attached you will find a copy of the agreement and a copy of the removal letter. If you need any additional information,please contact me.

Best regards,
***** **** ****** *******

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The DE PSC advised me that they does not have jurisdiction over Schagrin Gas. They are not regulated by the state and therefore I cannot file a complaint against them through the PSC. A PSC worker, ********* ** *******, Investigator, gave me this number in hopes to file a complaint. My name is ****** *********, I reside at ** ***** **** ******* ** and my can be reached number is ************* ***** ******** ****************** My account number for Schagrin gas company is *****. I spoke to both a ******** ********* (office manager) and ***** ***** (collections manager). Here is my story: I established service with this company in 2005 and have paid my bills every time I have received them. They have been late but never a suspension of service until 12/2013. I have fallen on hard times and receive assistance from catholic charities (C.C.) to help pay the bill. I've been receiving this support for the last 2 years, since I was laid off from my job, but this year the C.C. funds took a little longer to come in. I struggled with paying a $700. bill within 2 weeks. I called and spoke with the credit manager ***** ***** who began to belittle and chastise me for not having the remaining balance, although she was informed that I was approved for assistance but the exact amount& date C.C. could not be provided. ***** and I had an argument in which I had to hang up on *** **** and call back and speak with the office manager ******** who was able to assist me. I am now on a C.O.D. delivery only and will call which means I cannot get a delivery with having all the charges paid for up front & I have to read the meter myself and schedule a delivery. I have complained before about the meter being broken and someone was supposed to come out in the summer of 2013 to fix it, which they have never done. How can I read a broken meter to call them to deliver before my gas goes out with 2 small children & the coldest temps, in decades now approaching. When I asked why I was put on this type of payment schedule, the other rude collections clerk named ***** cut me off & said ***** is in charge of that she has placed that on your account and it is solely based on our determination. How did you determine that when in 8 years of service I HAVE ONLY BEEN SUSPENDED one time! Now they are threatening to cut off my gas supply if I don't pay the difference of $31.85. The 31.85 is the difference of what C.C. funds were sent on my behalf minus to fill the tank up completely. When I requested to not fill the tank up completely so that I am not responsible for the $31.85 they refused. In addition to that on they delivered the propane gas outside of the home but never had a technician come back out & relight the pilot as promised by office manager ******** *********. So my children & I were left without heat on Tuesday Jan. 07,2013, on one of the coldest days in decades where temperatures were well below the freezing mark.-left to heat my house with an oven to prevent frostbite for a 4 & 7 year old. I am stuck between a rock and a hard place dealing with this small family owned business who I also believe is overcharging, misusing funds, as well as, practicing unfair work principles and practices. I am asking for your help for myself and other customers that they are throwing under the rug. If I have contacted your department in error I apologize and ask that you please refer me to some agency that I can send a complaint to and it be addressed.

Business Response: Hello,

Attached is our response.

If you have any questions please lt me know.

Thank you.

*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Only 1 payment arrangement was not meet in 8 years of service, not several which is a falsehood. Ask *** ***** to provide proof of the "several" payment arrangement that I was given and did not keep.  I have paid all balances in full before any service interruptions were ever made. 12-06-2013 was the first service interruption for my address under my name since 2005. Every delivery before 12-6-2013 was not will call & I have advised them on numerous occasions that I have never received that certified letter. Lastly, ***** *****, is the only employee that I have had a disagreement with at Schargrin Gas Co. and it is so convenient that she is the one to respond. This small family owned business that is a utility and needs to be governed by a federal committee and not just the better business bureau. 

 

 

 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: excessive delay in repair of generator

Desired Settlement: under warranty. fix it.

Business Response: Hello,

Please see the attached response to the complaint that was received.

Thank you.



2/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2012 Delivery Issues
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service