BBB Accredited Business since

Poore's Propane Inc.

Phone: (302) 422-4281 Fax: (302) 734-7439 View Additional Phone Numbers 3799 N. duPont Hwy., Dover, DE 19901 http://www.poorespropane.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poore's Propane Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poore's Propane Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Poore's Propane Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 31, 1996 Business started: 04/11/1983 in DE Business incorporated 04/11/1983 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Stein, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Stein, Owner
Business Category

GAS-PROPANE GAS-PROPANE-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • 3799 N. duPont Hwy.

    Dover, DE 19901 (302) 422-4281

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ever since signing up for Poores Propane (which we are under contract for due to our HOA having a contract, thus, we do not have a choice of carrier,) we have been billed inconsistently. Sometimes we may not get a bill for several months at a time. We have never actually been billed monthly. We received bills and paid them in full in November and January. On Wednesday, March 18, a service technician came to my house. I was not at home, but my husband and small child were. The technician told my husband he had a shut off notice. This came as a shock to us, since we were current on all bills and have never so much as had a late payment with the company. At the same time, I received a phone call on my cell phone. A women began screaming at me and treating me very rudely. She was explaining that they were about to shut off my propane. I asked her to please calm down and speak kindly to me. I explained that I was not sure how this had happened, that obviously it was some kind of mix up, and that I was not at home, therefore, had no access to my checkbook and also I urged her to contact my husband, who would be happy to straighten the situation out, pay any amount past due (if there was any, at this time, the bills had been so sporadic and we had paid at the end of January, so I was doubtful we could possibly be that past due.) She continued speaking to me rudely and said if my husband did not answer on the first try, she would be having our propane shut off. Additionally, at this time, my husband explained to the technician at my home that I am pregnant and we have a small child. I am able to provide medical documentation indicating my condition. Under those circumstances, it is actually ILLEGAL to shut of heating oils or propane. Also, the forecast was calling for snow and VERY COLD TEMPERATURES of about 15 degrees that evening (a mere 5 hours after our heat was cut off.) I also know that when it is colder than 32 degrees, as well as between November and April, it is also illegal to turn off heat or electricity. I tried calling back several times, including the emergency number. No one answered and we were without propane or answers until the next day. I called in the morning and explained that I wanted them to come out ASAP. I demanded an apology (which I was not provided with at any time by anyone.) They reported something which I believe has been fabricated, and offered no explanations of why we did not get the bills EXCEPT that they had allegedly been emailing my husband. I asked them if they had ever gotten a disclosure from us, allowing them permission to send private billing info to a third party. Again, they offered no explanation and had no proof that these emails occurred. At the time, they told my husband they were emailing a ************************ which is actually his name, but not his email address. I have tried reaching out to the person with this email but have not received a response. They said we owed over 400 dollars past due and we going to charge a $95 reconnect fee. They also told us the day before they were charging $70 to not turn it off- but when we tried to make payment, they refused to take it. This change in pricing means they do not have transparency with their consumers. They have also shown that they are unscrupulous and engaged in several illegal behaviors. I also feel it was extremely deliberate and inappropriate that they did not come to turn on my propane until very late in the day.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology in writing and on the phone. In addition, I requested a detailed receipt of the charges they made. I would like copies of my meter readings for the last year, and an explanation of the correlation to readings and cost. I would like an explanation for why I was never made aware of this so called lateness on payment. Most companies will CALL to let a customer know if they are in danger of having their services cut off, especially good customers who have never paid. I would also like to have my meter read EVERY MONTH and a paper bill received.

Business Response:

I will let you know where are today... and circle back to the story.

The company never charged the ********'s a recconect fee.    We waived it for them.   The day that she called complaining (the day of the recconect); the CFO of our company made a phone call and left a number and the ********'s never called back.  The day we received this complaint he called two more times;  apoligized on the message and we have not gotten a return call.   From our perspective until she contacts us again; this case is closed.

Disconnecting our customers in a hard part of the job.  Besided the notices that go out; the day of the disconnection we knock on the door to try and collect payment.  In this case the husband was there.  He said he had not recieved a bill since November, which was not true because they had paid November and December's bill.   My service man waited for him.  They called the office and called the wife; she then told us to call the husband back which we did.  He did not answer.  We take payments.  We stood and watied while the back and forth when between the husband and wife.   Unfortantely, our employees receive massive amounts of abuse on the phone when it comes to disconnections.  I ask them to hang in there as long as they can because people are emotional.  When verbally attacked they have every right to be firm back.    To think that we would make up an email address is just silly. 

We waived the fee that day and apoligized for any confusion.   We have made sure they will get paper bills not email.   If they call back we will work with them any way we can.

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered seventy gallons of propane from this establishment, which totaled $211.45. After the delivery driver left, I checked the tank, and noticed there had been one-hundred gallons of propane delivered, instead of the seventy I had initially paid for. Concerned by this error, I immediately contacted poore's, and told them about the extra thirty gallons in my tank. The lady I spoke to, '****' was very polite, and assured me that "IT WAS THEIR MISTAKE", and "THEY COULD JUST WRITE IT OFF". I questioned '****' several times about "THEIR MISTAKE", and she was quite clear/positive, that I would NOT be responsible for the amount of the extra thirty gallons of propane. A few days later, another employee of poore's contacted me via telephone, and said," I CAN DO ONE OF TWO THINGS"! I questioned what these "TWO THINGS" were, and was told that, I could either pay the "balance" for the extra thirty gallons, or, they would have someone come to pick up the tank with one-hundred gallons, and replace it with a tank with seventy gallons. At this point, I began getting upset due to the fact of what '****' had told me previously, regarding "THEIR MISTAKE"(poore's), and how "THEY"(poore's) could just "WRITE IT OFF"(the balance from the extra thirty gallons), leaving ME with nothing left as a balance. I agreed to have a tank delivered with seventy gallons of propane. When the new tank with seventy gallons was delivered, I checked the meter on the tank, noticing thirty-five gallons of propane was in the tank, NOT the seventy that should've been in the tank. I called poore's right away, and spoke to '****' once again. I explained how the new tank only had thirty-five gallons of propane, instead of seventy. This took place on a Friday morning. '****' then told me, "A DRIVER WILL BE OUT ON MONDAY TO DELIVER THE REMAINING THIRTY-FIVE GALLONS". I found this a bit odd. I mean, I was told a tank with SEVENTY gallons would be delivered, NOT thirty-five gallons! When questioning '****' about this, her response was, "I KNEW YOU NEEDED SOME"! Very strange, indeed! Monday rolls around, and NO driver arrives with the remaining thirty-five gallons of propane. Once again, I call and speak to '****'. This time, she used the weather as the reason for the driver not being out on Monday. When I asked when the driver WOULD be here, she said she didn't know for sure. At this time, I let '****' know about a problem I was having with my furnace, and how I needed a refund for the $211.45, due to the fact that, my furnace is currently inoperable. She said, that would definitely NOT be a problem, and that, they'd have to pick-up the tank with the thirty-five gallons, before I receive my refund. After a few more calls to poore's, and speaking with various people, I was told a driver would be out to pick-up the tank TODAY Friday Jan 8, 2015. Guess what???? NO driver AGAIN! And, more importantly to me, STILL NO REFUND! Each time I call poore's, I get excuse after excuse, after excuse. They won't pick-up their tank, and they act as if they don't want to issue my full refund. It's extremely urgent that I get my refund back, due to an immediate furnace repair needing to be done. Poore's has cooperated with me in the least! This NEVER should've escalated to this stage. They DEMANED they get back "THEIR MISTAKE" of the extra thirty-gallons of propane, and THEY got it! Even in 'bad weather'! All I want now, is my $211.45 refund back! By the way, each time I call and speak to someone at poore's, they're extremely rude.

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund in the amount of $211.45 credited back to the card I used to purchase the propane. I was told, this "WOULD NOT BE A PROBLEM" by someone named '*****', in the propane credit dept.

Business Response: The refund was credited back to the customers credit card last week as requested...

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poore's provided propane for our summer home. When we sold the property we requested Poore's to pick up the propane tank which was their property, and reimburse us for the remaining gas. The tank was almost full. When I called to request the pick up I was told the company would mail us a check for the unused gas. After several weeks I called to check on the reimbursement and the amount. I was then told we would be charged $125.00 service charge to pick up the tank and our reimbursement amount would be $25.95. When we made the initial call we were not told about the $125.00 service charge. Also the company charged a fee if you didn't use half of a tank of propane during the year.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of the $125.00 service charge and the company should inform their customers about any service charges.

Business Response:  
 
When customers first sign up with the company; as well as on an annual basis we send out the companies’ terms and conditions as well as safety information.  In addition our terms and conditions are available on our web site.  There is also a section that describes the fees and charges by the company.  Both discuss the process of getting credit back for propane left in the tanks and the charges associated with the process.   Section 11 of our terms and conditions is where you find our process.   A couple of points; first of all the company policy is to refund the customers the lower of the price the customer paid or the wholesale price.   Because *** ******* was a long term customer; we refunded him the price he paid for the propane not the current wholesale price which is substantially lower.  We did this as a courtesy to him.   The tank at his house was full as such it weights over 250 pounds.  The company not only has to pick the tank up but also as our web site explains we need to go through the process of draining the tank before we are allowed to put it back in service.    Because we gave *** ******* full price for the propane; he got a little refund and did not owe for any charges.
 
            As a company I do not know how we can do more to disclose our policies.  The customers are notified when they become a customer; they receive annual reminders with any updates, and all the information is always available on line with additional section explaining charges and fees that could be confusing.   It this case we gave *** **** credit then was required.   I am sorry he is unhappy about the situation; but do not know how we can operate in a more open and transparent fashion.   

5/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Five years ago, I moved to ******** ******** with my family. The community has a Central Propane System which is supplied by Poores Propane. I have had numerous billing problems in the past, as have other members of the community. We would like to have an option on our Propane company, but Poore's Propane has a contract with the ******** ******** Home Owner's Association. On 05/01/14, I returned home and found that my gas had been turned off. I called the company to ascertain the reason for the termination. I am on the budget plan and my last payment to go out was scheduled for May, 2014. According to the company, their records showed that I was delinquent in payments as of January 2013, and they removed me from the budget plan. I was still making my budget payments because I was unaware of the development. As of 05/01/2014, Poore's Propane had me owing the company approximatley $700.00. I checked with other members in the community and apparently Poore's Propane went through the development and stopped at several houses, telling the homeowner that they were behind and had to pay money at that moment or have their gas turned off. Due to the fact I was at work, I was not home and had my gas turned off. When I contacted the company and finally was able to talk to somebody about the problem (four phone calls and it was now after hours) she was very unpleasant and began talking over me and even yelling at me, which resulted with me also raising my voice. At the end of the conversation, we voiced our displeasure with the company and informed her that we did not have $700.00 sitting around to pay. She told me then I could not have my gas turned back on. I feel the practice of the company is unethical and it borders on a Monopoly. There are several other Propane companies in the area that offer their product for less, but we are unable to utilize them due to the contact that the HOA had made years ago with Poores Propane.

Desired Settlement: I would like a change in the policy with Poore's Propane with the way they contact and deal with the public. They realize that we are at their whim and treat the community with distaste(my opinion). If Poore's Propane had to worry about competition from other Propane Companies, then I feel the outcome would be fair.

Business Response: Attached is the log made on our computer after our credit manager had talked to him:



SPOKE WITH **** * *******-OFFERED TO GIVE TEL#'S FOR HELP-I TOLD HIM WE TOOK OFF BUDGET FEB 25TH & SENT LETTER-HE ASK WHAT WE HAD BEEN DOING WITH THE MONEY HE HAD BEEN SENDING US-TOLD HIM IT HAS BEEN POSTED TO HIS ACCOUNT GOING TOWARD HIS BALANCE-HE SAID DID NOT GET BUT ADMITTED HE HAD NOT BEEN OPENING OUR MAIL? TOLD HIM WE SENT NUMEROUS NOTICES BEFORE THAT EACH MONTH-TOLD HIM WOULD WAIVE REC FEE OF $95 SINCE HE HAD NOT BEEN DISCONNECTED BEFORE-HE WAS SOOOO ANGRY-I TOLD HIM I STAYED AFTER HOURS TO CALL HIM BACK & I WAS NOT GOING TO LET HIM BLAME ME BECAUSE HE DID NOT PAY HIS BILL OR CALL US TO MAKE ARRANGMENTS-HE PUT HIS WIFE ON THE PHONE-SHE STATED NEVER REC ANY NOTICES--TOLD HER HER HUSBAND HAD ALREADY ADMITTED HE DOES NOT OPEN HIS MAIL FROM US? OFFERED TO GIVE HER TEL#'S FOR HELP-SHE STATED KARMA A BITCH & HUNG UP

I am not sure what the conversation was; but I do know that we did not charge them a re-connect fee which would have cost them $95.   I looked at the account and they were sent out notices about being behind on the budget plan starting in November.  More followed until they were removed.   We solicit out customers to be on the budget plan at least four times a year in the off season.  Once we get them on, we do all we can to keep them on.  If they do not make their payments; we have no choice but to take them off.   The customer currently has a credit balance on their account.   We are under the jurisdiction of the Maryland Public Service Commision.  We have never received a complaint from them.  Our price are more the competitive;  we price that development cheaper then customers that have individual tanks.

I talked to my credit manager; she relayed the story that she noted on her screen.  Despite being yelled at; she still waiver the disconnection fee.  I understand people get upset about their heat.   I fell she handled them the best she could with the anger they called with.  If customers are screaming and using abusive language; our employees are told they do not have to be abused.  I believe we handled the call the best we could.   They were angry and there was nothing that we were going to do to change it.  We credited the fee.   They paid the balance. 

2/20/2013 Delivery Issues