BBB Accredited Business since

Delaware Propane

Phone: (302) 653-2009 Fax: (302) 653-4418 1 Big Oak Road, Smyrna, DE 19977 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.delpropane.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Delaware Propane meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Delaware Propane include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Delaware Propane
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 2012 Business started: 12/01/2010 in DE Business incorporated 12/01/2011 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Davison, Owner Miss Lisa M. Stubbs, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Miss Lisa M. Stubbs, Office Manager
Business Category

GAS-PROPANE FIREPLACES

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Delaware Propane LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Delaware Propane has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 Big Oak Road

    Smyrna, DE 19977 (302) 653-2009

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/8/14 at 9:05 AM I had Delaware Propane come out to my residence to deliver and set up a propane tank with 100 gallons of propane. The serviceman performed a pressure test and system check to dtermine that the furnace gas valve is leaking through and the furnace was redflagged with the gas supply shut off. The serviceman contacted me to inform of the problem and states that the gas valve needs to be replaced before the system can be turned on at the residence. My brother was at the residence while I was at work while the serviceman performed the delivery and set up of the propane tanks. After the serviceman left my residence he shut off the electric to my residence and left the gas line open near the stove. My pipes could have been frozen due to no electric to my electric space heaters keeping the residence warm and an explosion could have occured by leaving the gas line on at the stove with the stove being currently off. I contacted Horizon Services to schedule an appointment to have the system checked. The evening of 12/8/14 at around 6 PM the system was checked by **** ******* (HVAC Specialist) with Horizon Services. Mr. ******* performed a pressure test and system check which resulted in the no leaks or problems with the gas valve and the system is in good condition for the furnace to being running at this time. The bill for the service call for Horizon Services was $89. Later in the evening on 12/8/14 at around 7:30 PM the system was also checked by the Fire Chief Steve from Hartly Fire Department. Steve completed a system check with a gas detector and states that no leaks are evident in the furnace and the system is in good working conditon at this time. Worker contacted Delaware Propane on 12/9/14 at around 8:30 AM to voice my concerns regarding the problems with the service through their company. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was informed that she was not in the office at this time. I informed the receptionist at Delaware Propane that I will be filing a small claims court case and reporting them to the Delaware Better Business Bureau. The receptionist stated that she would relay the message to the supervisor and the supervisor would get back to me later in the day. I received a call from Delaware Propane at about 12:15 PM stating that they were going to send a new serviceman out to the residence to perform a new pressure check and system check to get the red flag lifted on the furnace. I met the serviceman from Delaware Propane at my residence on 12/9/14 at 1:00 PM. The serviceman inquired why the gas lines were on at the stove and informed him that the previous serviceman from Delaware Propane must have left them on after I requested to have the gas to the stove off due to not using it after the previous serviceman lit the pilot lights. The new serviceman opened the top and bottom doors to the funace to inform me that the system is now not up to code due to not having a setiment trap installed in the unit. I informed the serviceman that the previous serviceman never indicated that their was a problem of this nature and only said there was a leak in the gas valve in the furnace. I informed the serviceman that I wanted to speak to the supervisor, have the tanks removed from the residence, and request a refund.. I also informed the serviceman that I will be filing a small claims court case for the cost of the service performed by Horizon Services and my wasted time dealing with the issues they say are wrong wit hte furnace The serviceman informed me to contact the supervisor at Delaware Propane. On 12/9/14 at around 1:20 PM I spoke with a female supervisor at Delaware Propane. I informed her of my concerns and told her to remove the tanks along with indication that a small claims court case will be filed for the cost of the service call/monetary reward for my time wasted with a complaint to the Delaware Better Business Bureau.The supervisor states that her serviceman are trained in this area and discredited the findings of the HVAC Specialist from Horizon Services along with the Hartly Fire Department Fire Chief. The supervisor informed me to go ahead and file the smal claims court case/complaint to the DE BBB and states that my account was never charged by Delaware Propane as of this date. I checked my account with TD Bank and no charged were made to my account by Delaware Propane. I contacted **** ******* (HVAC Speciallist) with Horizon Services to inform about the new discrepancies by Delaware Propane. Mr. ******* states that the furnace has a sediment trap underneath the unit in the crawl space area underneath the house. Mr. ******* states that the gas detection devices that the fire department have are top of the line equipment and if a leak was there the devices would have picked it up. Mr. ******* again confirmed that the unit is in proper working order in good condition to provide heating services to the residence.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome that would like is the following: -refund for the service fee that I needed to pay Horizon Services to look at my funace -monetary compensation for about six hours of my time to deal with this issue along with wasted vacation time at work -monetary compensation for emotional distress imposed by Delaware Propane dealing with this issue -written apology fromn the owner of Delaware Propane

Business Response:

Re: Complaint **********

 

On December 8th, 2014, Delaware Propane delivered, and set a propane tank at the residence of *** *****. The residence had not had gas service for 2 years. As part of our customer service, we conduct a no charge, safety review of the gas system, which includes a 10 minute leak test of the gas system, from the propane tank to the end gas appliance.

The leak test would not hold, and showed a leak at the furnace. Further checking determined that the gas control valve on the furnace was leaking internally. Some people may not consider this a safety issue, because the gas is leaking into the firing chamber, but any gas leak is a potential disaster, waiting to happen, and Delaware Propane will not activate a gas system with a leak. Our fully trained and certified service tech ran this leak test 3 times, with no change in the results. The furnace was Red Flagged, and *** ***** was informed.

We have no explanation, why the representative from Horizon Services would obtain different results, and claim the system has no leaks. We have never seen a gas leak, fix itself, or magically go away. Perhaps our testing equipment, which is dedicated to the gas business, is more sophisticated, but regardless of the reason, the gas safety codes we operate under, do not allow us to put a gas system into service with a leak. The gas detector, or sniffer, used by Fire Companies, would not have detected this type of internal gas leak in the furnace.

We sent another serviceman to *** *****’s residence on December 9th, to do another check on the system. The serviceman happened to notice that there was no sediment trap installed at the gas input line on the furnace. A sediment trap catches particles and dirt in the gas line that can damage a gas valve. When this was mentioned to *** *****, he became very angry, and stated that he wanted Delaware Propane to remove the propane tank, and refund any monies he had paid. Our service tech complied, and removed the tank and related install equipment. His account was never charged for anything.

Although Delaware Propane does not charge to install a propane tank used for heating purposes, we do normally charge if we are involved with any service work, on the customer owned part of a gas system. We made multiple visits to *** *****’s residence, checking his part of the gas system, never charging for time or travel, all in the name of getting his gas system safe. If our strict attention to gas safety codes caused *** ***** any emotional distress, we apologize.

On a separate note, I saw at the beginning of the notice we received, that ****** ***** is the contact. I don’t know how that happened as he used to be a technician with our company and has moved. We kept his email open in case of any straggling emails and we check it periodically, that is the only way we knew about this complaint. Please send any further correspondence to me: **** ****** ** ******************** or at the above address.

 

Kind Regards,

 

**** ** ****** ****** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Delaware Propane only made two visits to my residence: Once to install the tanks on 12/8/14 and then on 12/9/14 when I called up to complain after the HVAC Specialist (**** *******) at Horizon Services and Chief ***** from the ****** **** ********** stated that the system has no leaks and is in proper operating condition. I have documentation from the HVAC Specialist at Horizon Services stating that my system has no leaks and is in proper working condition. Furthermore the HVAC Specialist at Horizon Services states that the sediment trap for my furnace is located underneath the floor board of the unit and the tech at Delaware Propane never performed an adequate check to see if the unit had a sediment trap. All he did was glance at the unit and then inform me about the unit having no sediment trap. My unit has not been used for a year and the HVAC Specialist from Horizon Services and serv ice technician (**** ****) from ***** ****** states that the unit not being used for a year has nothing to do with the furnace not working properly. Delaware Propanes response to my complaint is full of lies and deceptions in an attempt to show that they had no fault in trying to blantantly trying to deceive a customer. Any person who had to indure the missed time off of work (about 10 hours) to get gas services properly installed at his residence and emotional stress that was caused by the deception that Delaware Propane attempted to endure on me would be outraged. They would do the same thing in my position and respond to the business in the same way. On 12/19/14 a service tech from ***** ****** (**** ****) came out to install two 120 gallon propane tanks on my property and to perform a residential gas appliance system check on the furnace. There were no problems with the unit and no gas leaks detected as previously stated by Delaware Propane. System leak test had a start pressure of 8.7" and a end pressure of 8.7" with time held of 10 minutes with the system being rated as ok with no problems. I have paper work from ***** ****** to confirm these results. Since the date of the install from ***** ****** I have not had any problems with the furnace. Unless Delaware Propane does the right thing and refunds me the cost of the service call from the Horizon Services visit I will be filing a small claims court action against Delaware Propane. The small claims court action will consist for the cost of the service call, missed time from work, and compensation for my emotional distress for being without fuel oil for eleven days until ***** ****** was able to properly/professionally assist me with servicing me with Propane to heat my home. I have all of the documentation from Horizon Services and ***** ****** along with a written statement that can be obtained by Chief ***** at ****** **** ********** to back up my claim that Delaware Propane was negligent in this matter. If you think that I am bluffing just try me. I will not stand for being mistreated in any circumstance by a business and my actions will assist others in not having to deal with what I endured from Delaware Propane. I can furnish any and all information to the BBB if requested.

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response:  Delaware Propane had nothing but the customers safety in mind, when we recommended the furnace be checked, when the gas system would not hold pressure. There was no financial gain on our part. By not placing the system in service on our 1st visit, meant we had to make another trip back, at no charge to the customer.
We disagree with *** *****’s statements that we set out to deceive and cause him distress. We deliver and set tanks at no charge for heating customers, and having to go back multiple times cost us time and money.
We wish *** ***** the best, with his decision to go with another propane gas provider. In the interest of moving forward, we will refund to *** *****, the cost of the HVAC service call, made by Horizon Services. A check will be mailed within 7 days.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Delaware Propane
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart