BBB Accredited Business since

Baker Petroleum, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 856-2895 Fax: (302) 856-3471 View Additional Phone Numbers 25056 Shortly Road, Georgetown, DE 19947 http://www.bakerpetroleumde.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baker Petroleum, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baker Petroleum, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Baker Petroleum, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1948 in DE Business incorporated: 07/29/1965 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Allan Baker, President Ms. Holly Baker, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allan Baker, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Holly Baker, Office Manager
Business Category

GAS-PROPANE OILS-FUEL OILS-PETROLEUM PETROLEUM CONVENIENCE STORES

Alternate Business Names
Wilson Baker, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 15046 Gravel Hill Road

    Milton, DE 19968

  • 25056 Shortly Road

    Georgetown, DE 19947 (302) 856-2895

  • PO Box 250

    Milton, DE 19968

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (302) 684-8569(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday, November 27, 2013, I contacted Baker Petroleum as a new customer. My husband and I recently purchased a property in Delaware and are planning on spending the Thanksgiving Holiday there with our daughter. I wanted to ask some basic questions about the company, about purchasing propane, and about reading the gauge. I also wanted to make sure that (based on the reading) we didn’t run out of propane over the weekend and I wanted to schedule a delivery for today or Friday. The woman was very rude and short. When I explained to her that she was upsetting me and that I didn’t appreciate her rudeness, she said “it is Wednesday, you should have called on Monday”. She made no attempt to accommodate me or to remedy the situation. I have never experienced such poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my propane tank filled today, November 27, 2013 or Friday, November 29, 2013.

Business Response:


I did receive a phone call from **** ****** on 11/27/2013. She is a will call customer meaning she refused automatic delivery (we keep an eye on her tank) it is her responsibility to track her fuel. She wanted a fuel delivery that day or Friday, I asked her how much she had in her tank and she didn't know which was odd. She got very upset with me on a hpothetical situation and that that she didn't plan ahead of time. I told her that the earliest we could get to her would be Monday. She got very upset and started insulting me. We have certain routes that we do on certain days and for someone that had no idea how much they had in their tank that was what I could do for her. I told her if she was out when she got to her summer home that there would be an after hours delivery charge and the price of the fuel. I am sorry that I didn't accomodate her needs but she needs to understand that she needs to plan accordingly also.

Sent on: 12/4/2013 12:19:33 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There was no offer made to remedy the situation.  And, the information reported is not accurate.  I explained that we reside out of State and that the last visit we made to the home was in early November and that at that time, the gauge read 60.  Having been unfamiliar with purchasing propane, I was not sure if this meant that we had 60 pounds, 60 gallons, or 60 percent.  As I provider of propane, I asked the representative at Baker for a little help in reading the gauge.  I was met with rudeness and very poor customer service.  In addition and as I mentioned, we are new owners of the property.  Therefore, in addition to not visiting the property in 30 days, there is nothing strange about our lack of familiarity.  One would expect the provider of a service for a new customer to offer some guidance and accommodation.  Overall, we had a very poor experience with Baker Petroleum and will not recommend their service to friends, neighbors, or anyone. 

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

I am sorry if my response does not resolve your complaint. I even tried to call you after we spoke and had no response. When we originally spoke you did not tell me how much you had in your tank you said you had no idea, you said in your second response to BBB that you told me you had 60% that is incorrect. I would have told you that you were in good shape and that you did not require fuel that day and all this could have been alleviated. As for my customer service, I am sorry if you feel that I treated you poorly that was not my intentions. If you would like to discuss your account further, please call the office and someone will be happy to help you. Thank you.

Sent on: 3/14/2014 12:10:39 PM