BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Delaware Serving New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties

This Business is not BBB accredited

Amish Mill Inc.

Phone: (302) 995-6060 Fax: (302) 995-6060 View Additional Phone Numbers 101 Greenbank Road, Wilmington, DE 19808 ! There is an alert on Amish Mill Inc. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Amish Mill Inc. include:

  • 27 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 17 complaints filed against business
  • 6 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • Government action(s) against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 11
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 27

Additional Complaint Information

Consumers are encouraged to contact the Delaware Attorney General's office to file a complaint. consumer.protection@state.de.us or 302-577-8600 or http://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/consumers/protection/complaint.shtml

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amish Mill Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 11, 2009 Business started: 06/09/2008 in DE Business incorporated: 11/01/2008 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Wharton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Wharton, President
Business Category

FURNITURE MEAT-RETAIL CRAFT SUPPLIES

Industry Tips
What Should You Do When a Business Closes?

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 Greenbank Road

    Wilmington, DE 19808 (302) 995-6060 (302) 420-4739

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (302) 420-4739(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

The business has indicated that it will not work to resolve customer disputes through BBB. You may continue to file a complaint so that others may be aware of your experience.

BBB has learned that as of May, 2014, the business has closed it's Greenhill Avenue store. We do not currently have any additional contact information for this business. If you have information on a new location, or you are the business owner, and wish to update this review, please contact us at info@delaware.bbb.org


Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Met ******* ******* at business address in summer of 2013. Called cellphone number on back of business card to order shed in May of 2014. Met ******* at my home on May 24,2014. Order for shed and wood frame/stone foundation written up at that time. Received receipt on business address letterhead. May 30, 2014, deposit of approximately half the total paid for the project by check. Shed delivered at approximately June 25,2014. Damage observed at two locations at that time. Trouble with materials and level of foundation also observed at this time. These were brought to the attention of *** *******. Damage at two locations on shed taken care of June 27,2014. *** ******* stated that issues with the material of the wood frame and stone would be taken care of at another time. Paid second half of total by check. Approximately six weeks pass with no sign of ******* *******. Several phone call attempts made to contact him with no return calls. Reached by phone on August 5,2014. Claimed being busy and would call back in a week to take care of the problem. Have not heard from since. Have made several attempts to contact by cell phone but had to leave messages. Foundation of wood frame and stone is not adequate to accommodate shed. The wood frame foundation should be of adequate material sizes and lengths and anchored properly in the ground. It should be built to adequately contain and hold the correct amount of stone needed to level the shed properly. *** ******* has made no attempt to make contact or correct the problems indicated in this complaint. He has been paid in full and has disregarded attempts by me to contact him. He may also be in violation of a Cease and Desist Order action that went into effect on February 26, 2014. I Have no other means of contact for *** *******. Pictures were taken to confirm inadequate work done by ** *******. ** ******* always came to the sight alone.

Desired Settlement: Would like the foundation for the shed corrected and built properly. Would like proper and adequate materials of wood framing used. Foundation should be positioned in and on the ground site and anchored properly. Foundation should be of adequate dimensions including proper depths, width's, heights and lengths. Work should be backed by some type of warranty or guarantee. The grading and slope of the site should be considered when constructing the foundation for proper leverage.

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a shed from this vendor approx 3 years ago (May 2010). He had the wrong phone number for our house on the invoice and never called the cell phone to arrange delivery. He tried to deliver the shed to us when we weren't home (he did call my cell phone when he was in the driveway) but I refused (we were out of town and our cars were blocking the driveway) and then he CHARGED us $75 to redeliver it . When we complained he said that we should have expected him to deliver the shed around that time (and taken our cars out of the driveway) and he took no responsibility for not calling the cell phone to make arrangements and since he couldn't get to our backyard, he was charging us for redelivery OR he won't deliver it at all. After several phone calls to him (most of those he did not respond to) and after speaking with his employees ("Oh, that's the way ******* is.") we simply paid him and had the shed redelivered.

Desired Settlement: I know this is an old complaint, but I saw in the paper that this company was being investigated and I had to report this. I'm sorry I didn't report this when it happened but quite frankly ******* scares me. I would appreciate the $75 refund, but if that's not possible at least add this to the list of charges against him. In the future I will not hesitate to report an incident like this.

10/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May I order an out side house number sign for my front wall. After lots of calls and stopping into the business the sign came in around July. I went to pick it up and it was the wrong colors, as the owner order it on line with the manufacture wrong. He said he will reorder and have it made correct. I never heard from him again and it is September 27, 2013. I just stopped into the store and the guy told me that because the sign was order wrong, it was my fault and they never reorder the sign. I did not process the on line order the owner did, as this how it is done. We paid them half of the money to get this product, as that is the requirement. They require payment in full when completed. The owner said we have to pay no matter what. If he dose not reorder the corrected sign (due to how long it is taking) than we have to pay for it in full. At this time we still do not have a house number sign.

Desired Settlement: We just want the produce correct how it was to be order. And we will pay him the balance due as it is only 51.00. But, we do not want the sign should it take another 3 -6 months. This is a strange way of doing business.

10/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Bakers Rack from Amish Mill on 9/8/12. I gave them a check for half the price as a deposit on that date for $215.00. The owner cashed the check on 9/12/12. I was told it would take about 6-12 weeks to receive this item. I have returned to the store numerous times to inquire about the furniture I ordered and have not received a satisfactory expalnation as to why a year later I do not have my piece of furniture. But he has my money-will not issue a refund. He has many excuses-he only has one truck, gas is expensive to and from Ohio, he has no way to contact the furniture makers as they are Amish, he can only make limited trips, on and on.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer the piece of furniture I ordered bur at this point I would be happy to get my money back.

10/11/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/09/2013 I ordered a shelf with the Amish Mill owner and paid in full. He informed me that it would take 3-5 weeks. As of today, 09/05/2013, we still do not have the shelf. Since the phone number to the business is disconnected, I've had to visit in person. During the three occasions that I did go check on shelf. I was given various responses, "it's shipping next week", "the truck hasn't gone yet", "I never told you 3-5 weeks". My check has been cashed. It has been 12 weeks + and still have not received the item I've purchased.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money and the state should shut the business down based on the laundry list of complaints that are issued against this company.

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint filed first in Office of Attorney Generals office Jan-12 2010,then told to file with Delaware Consumer Protection Unit; which I did . ** *******(owner of Amish Mill) disregarded any attempts from that office to settle complaint filed. Long story short Amish mill cashed a Check for for $3023.50 for a bedroom set and to date I have not recieved,absolutely not a piece of furniture , no refund, just hateful degrading phone calls from *** *******,during that time when, I filed with The Delaware BBB/Consumer Protection Unit. I salute the agencies efforts in this matter, but obviously ** ******* has no respect for this office . ** ******* has disregarded any and all attempts to come to a solution of any kind with either the Attorney Generals Consumer Protection Unit or myself. There were many solutions proposed of which he opted to just keep my money and deliver nothing. Referance; Complaint ID # *******

Desired Settlement: My money back

9/20/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 5 dining room chairs in February 2013. It is now August 2013. *** ******* assured us that our chairs would take no longer than 4 weeks to complete. After several attempts to contact him regarding our purchase he kept telling us that he would call when they arrived. I tried to call the Amish mill this morning and the phone number was disconnected. My family has been eating on the couch for 6 months waiting for these chairs. When we went to the Amish mill I spent over 11,000.00 in Furnature which we bought right off the floor. The chairs went to a dining room set and cannot be reproduced. I need the chairs that match the set. Being that his phone is disconnected and he has failed to produce a product in which we payed for, I am now seeking an attorney to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I am not looking for anything other than my chairs that I ordered and paid for

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered 2 barstools from the Amish Mill on 7/28/2012. We left a deposit of $321.00. When we placed the order we were under the impression that it would be 6-8 weeks for delivery. We have spoken to *** ******* on several occasions and get different stories. For the last 6 months, he has been saying that the stools are in the Finishing Shop. He has yet to deliver the stools and refuses to refund our deposit. At this point, I would like to cancel the order and have my money returned. Is there anything you can do to assist us with this matter?

Desired Settlement: Refund of $321.00 deposit.

7/21/2013 Delivery Issues
7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2013 Delivery Issues
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2013 Delivery Issues
5/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/28/2013 Delivery Issues
3/1/2013 Delivery Issues
10/24/2012 Delivery Issues
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Delivery Issues
8/2/2012 Delivery Issues
4/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service