This business is not BBB accredited.

Pleasanton Chimney, Inc.

Phone: (302) 299-9718 Fax: (302) 376-6744 View Additional Phone Numbers 606 Old Summit Bridge Road, Middletown, DE 19709 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pleasantonchimneyinc.com ! There is an alert on Pleasanton Chimney, Inc. !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

In Fall 2015, the Better Business Bureau serving Delaware contacted this company about violating the BBB name and logo policy.  Pleasant Chimney has falsely stated BBB accreditation (or membership) or referenced the BBB name in an unauthorized manner, despite BBBs efforts to get the business to cease using the BBB trademark on their website.  This use of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pleasanton Chimney, Inc. include:

  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for Pleasanton Chimney, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pleasanton Chimney, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2007 Business started: 12/01/2005 in DE Business incorporated 12/20/2005 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Zachery Pleasanton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Zachery Pleasanton, President
Business Category

CHIMNEY BUILDERS & REPAIR FIREPLACES STOVES-WOOD, COAL CHIMNEY CLEANING DUCT CLEANING AIR DUCT CLEANING


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    606 Old Summit Bridge Road

    Middletown, DE 19709 (302) 299-9718

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally hired him to do a standard chimney and fireplace insert cleaning. When he came he took apart the upper area of the inside of the insert to get a better cleaning but then could not get it back together. He said it was because the pieces were old and warped and I needed to order new pieces. He said the he would put it back together after I ordered the new parts for free since I payed him for the cleaning. I ordered the new pieces and scheduled him to come out to fix it as well as do some work on the chimney. The day he was supposed to come it rained so he rescheduled. The next time he was supposed to come he never showed and said he forgot or never wrote it down so we rescheduled again. This time it snowed but he came to do the inside work. He could not get the insert back together again with the new pieces. He said he needed the manual and I told him where to find it online but he said he couldn't find it. He then left without finishing. I was not home at this time and he told the person who was home he would call me and try to resolve this. I have not heard back from him since. I have called numerous times and left messages but he will not return my calls. I even called one time when I could tell he was on the other line and still no return call. So now I am left having to pay someone else to come fix what he said he would take care of and was already paid to do.

Desired Settlement: Either he come finish the job promptly, before I have someone else do it or he pay the charge that I will now have to pay someone else to do it.

Business Response: Sorry I have not gotten back to you, I have been dealing with a very tragic  family occurance and thing have been kind of shut down here for the past 2 weeks. However, the deal for me to come back and fix your stove was also built Into the 4$400 crown repair we had discussed and had on paper. I don't fix things for free. The first two times we had scheduled it rained and you cannot do masonry work In the rain, then I just offered to come out n fix the stove because now there was snow on the roof and again I was not able to do the masonry work. The manual for the stove was not there and neither were you, so that ended up being a wasted trip. Being that your filing complaints about me to the BBB AND NOT INCLUDING THE WHOLE TRUTH. I'd just rather not work for you. As you can see I have not one other.complaint on here. Thanks Call someone else.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** ********** is right, I’m sorry I didn’t specify but he did say he would put the upper inside of the stove back together for free if I had the crown on the chimney done. I knew before he even came out that the crown would need to be done so I didn’t think anything of it when he said that. Had I not needed the crown done I would not have payed (for the chimney cleaning that I originally hired him for) until the job was done. It is my opinion that when you take something apart you should put it back together. The stove was never broken so when you say you don’t fix things for free that doesn’t really apply here.  The stove worked fine before he took it apart, the part he took down was rusty and warped but still functional. I agreed with him when he recommended I replace it because I think its a good idea to take care of your equipment but had I been a little more frugal I would have tried harder to use the older parts. I have since compared the old part with the brand new replacement and despite the old one being rusty and a little bent downward in the middle, it had the same measurements as the new one and should have fit back in just fine.

 

Im sorry about his tragic family occurrence but it seems to me that when you run a business you can’t just forget about all your clients for 2 weeks. I’m lumping the rest of your clients in with me because I’m assuming if you’re using that for an excuse then you didn’t respond to any other calls either. Im guessing you probable go on maybe 3 calls a day, 5 days a week for 2 weeks, which comes out to 30 people you completely ignored. If you were as busy as you told me you were before all this than maybe that number is higher.  Especially in mid-December when people like me are relying on the fireplace to heat their home.  If thats the truth than that just seems like bad business.  Im sympathetic to the family death you told me about in your phone message but as the owner of the company I think you need to be more responsible than that.  Especially when I called numerous times and left numerous messages, what was I supposed to think? After the last “wasted trip” as you called it, I would think it would be a priority to get back in touch with me. Instead I heard nothing from you. My mother in law was at the house the last day you were and I had to get the details of your visit from her. So I think that after all that and the time that you just completely missed an appointment 2 weeks prior to all this (not the one you missed for rain) I had a right to assume that you were irresponsible and had given up.

 

I have since repaired the stove on my own without the manual but with help from a distributor over the phone. It was fairly straightforward, I feel like this is something you should have known to try? As a professional chimney sweep and after 3 missed appointments in the winter when I told you I used the stove as my main means of heating the home I would have thought you might put a little bit of effort into the job.