BBB Accredited Business since

WSFS Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 792-6000 View Additional Phone Numbers 500 Delaware Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19801 http://www.wsfsbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WSFS Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WSFS Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on WSFS Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1832 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sharon Croft, Assistant to the Chairman Ms. Susan Garson, Vice President Mr. David Hargarten Mr. Douglas Quaintance, Sr. Vice President Mr. Mark Turner, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Croft, Assistant to the Chairman
Principal: Ms. Susan Garson, Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathy Quinn
Business Category

BANKS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN COMPANIES SAVINGS & LOAN ASSOCATIONS FINANCIAL SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Cash Connect ATM Solutions by WSFS Bank Wilmington Savings Fund Society, FSB WSFS Financial Corporation
Industry Tips
Credit- How to Establish It

Additional Locations

  • 500 Delaware Avenue

    Wilmington, DE 19801 (302) 792-6000

  • 838 Market Street

    Wilmington, DE 19801 (302) 792-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am completely and utterly disgusted with the service I have received from this financial institution!!! On Saturday, January 30, 2016, I went to a branch to deposit a check for $121.05 dollars. On Tuesday, February 2, 2016, check my acct and everything was great. On Wednesday, February 3, 2016 I check my acct and I noticed I am overdrawn $96 dollars. I looked at my charges and noticed I was hit with 4 overdraft fees. I completely lost my mind. When I called the customer service line I was told that checks do not process until that Monday/Tuesday I wasn’t told that at the branch and if I had known this information I would have cashed the check and deposited cash. I must have spoken to 4 different people on the February 3rd. I asked for a manager each time and each time I was told no manager is available. I finally speak to the branch manager and the conversation took 2 mins. Shawn never asked me for my information, I explained my situation and asked for a refund he flat out said no. I begin to tell him I am going to have to escalate the complaint and he said go ahead as if it were nothing. I called corporate and corporate referred me back to the branch manager and was told I would probably not receive a refund. So I'm basically throwing away money. I check my bank acct today February 4th and now I'm overdrawn 175.97 and now have 6 overdraft fees. This is disgusting and I cannot believe the lack of customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: The responsibility is to make the customer happy and refund my overdraft fees.

Business Response: Please see the attached response that was sent to the customer today (2/16/16)

1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to take $20 out at the Delaware City WSFS branch ATM this morning but the transaction failed as it seemed the machine somehow malfunctioned. Regardless I got a receipt that said the money had been withdrawn even though I received no cash. I immediately went into the bank that the ATM is outside of to let them know and everyone there was aware that there was a problem with the machine. I was told it was a system wide problem. Terri took my information and said she would check into it and return the $20 into my account if, in fact, it showed as being withdrawn. A little while later I received a call from Terri stating that the money had been debited from my account and that she would file some kind of dispute form on my behalf. When I asked when they money would be credited back to my account, she said "maybe in a day". It is now after 3pm and I just checked my account online and the only thing it's showing is the pending withdrawal of $20. I have no way of knowing when/if that money will be credited back to my account. I realize that $20 is not a lot of money but it is the principle of the matter and the cavalier manner this situation is being handled. I never got the $20 but my account is less $20 and I'm being told with just a vague answer of "it shouldn't take that long" when I inquired about my money being recredited to my account...all of this through no fault of my own. This is not acceptable. I should not be made to wait at all to get back my own money because their machine malfunctioned.

Desired Settlement: The immediate credit of $20 back into my bank account.

Business Response:

Attached is a copy of our response letter that was faxed to the BBB (I was on vacation) on January 12.

Enjoy your day!

12/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WSFS Bank is gauging fees. I had 5 checks clear in a day, and made a deposit that same day. My deposit did not clear until the next day. In the mean time, only 1 of my five check put my balance overlimit. However, they processed my largest check first which put made the other four go over limit. And they actually charged 5 overdraft fees - for some reason (maybe, collectively, all 5 checks put me over limit?). I called the bank and the person that I spoke with was rude and unhelpful. All she kept telling me was that they have always done it that way. I have been with this bank for maybe 5 years or so and I have not over drawn this account that I can remember. I also told them that I would rather have them decline the checks than over draw my account. they told me that I do not get to make that decision - only they can decide. This is clearly designed to increase penalty fee income.

Desired Settlement: I would like my fees reversed (except perhaps for the fee for the one largest check). I would also like for this policy to be changed..

Business Response:

Attached is the response to the ******** complaint.

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing concerning the 16 overdraft fees at $35 each I occurred . I am very disappointed with service I received I have reached out to many banking representatives and managers at WSFS bank with no resolution. I am currently a full time police officer and currently active duty in the Air National Guard and currently deployed for our country. I am very frustrated with the practices of the bank and this was not my error. My family and I can not afford this I am asking fees be refunded. The service provided was terrible and unsatisfactory

Desired Settlement: Refund of all fees incurred $35 -- 16 times.

Business Response:

Please see the attached response.

 

10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I use WSFS for my personal checking account. On 9/11/15 I realized that my mortgage payment was coming up and I was short the necessary funds. I wrote myself a check from an account at another bank and deposited the funds via ATM the same day. On Monday 9/15 I checked my account and realized I was charged 7 overdraft fees for a total of $245 despite my deposit which had cleared on 9/14! Customer service was not helpful in resolving this issue. At the time WSFS charged my account the first overdraft charge it had a balance of $151.78. I have a statement showing my balance never went negative until they started charging these excessive overdraft fees! This is not the first and probably won't be the last complaint against this bank for re-ordering transactions.

Desired Settlement: I would like a debit of $245 to my account.

Business Response:

Please see the attached response from WSFS Bank to the **** BBB Complaint.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of wsfs bank since 2010. I feel that I was unfairly charged excessive overdraft fees by this bank due to an error on the part of the teller, unethical reordering, and misleading information provided by employees of the company. I opened two savings accounts with WSFS bank early this year. One account was linked to the checking account I opened in 2010 and the other was not. On 06/16/2015 I deposited a government issued tax return check into my checking account and I asked the teller at the drive through to cash the check and deposit it. I remember this day distinctly because the attendant at the window was not available when I pulled up and there was a guy in a black truck behind me rudely beeping his horn. I ended up having to use the deposit slips that came with my chek book because there was no one inside to request a deposit slip from. I told the teller verbally to cash and deposit the check. She said "ok" and completed the transaction. When I got the deposit slip from the teller it falsely stated that I had $178 in my account. There was no negative balance on the deposit slip. I made some purchases that day thinking there was money available in my account because the teller agreed to cash and deposit the check and at the time of deposit I had $240 in my savings account to back up the $190 check which I deposited that day. On the 18th I checked my account balance to find that I had been charged 4 overdraft fees. I called the customer assistance line to explain what had happened and they explained that they could not help me because they had refunded some overdraft fees a few months ago. Said overdraft fees were a result of their employee named ***** at the Dover branch not properly linking my account after I expressly explained to her that the new savings account was for the purpose of better money management and overdraft coverage. I spoke to a nice young man named **** on 06/18/2015 who told me that I could not have my overdrafts refunded because of the previous charges that had been refunded as a result of the error of the employee. On another occasion just recently I was misinformed by an employee who told me that as long as I transfer money into my account before the transactions were fully processed I would not be charged an over draft fee but failed to mention that I could not transfer my money via mobile app or computer more than 6 times or I would be charged $10 per transaction. After speaking to the young man at the customer service center he suggested that I call the Dover branch who had made the error and address the matter with them. I called the bank and explained the issue to ***** who said she would advise the manager when she arrived and have her call back. I was confident that the problem would be resolved being as though it was an error on the tellers part and I had money in another account to cover the amount of the checks. I received a call back from a woman named ****** who said she was the branch manager and she stated that she would not be refunding my money. She proceeded to say that she had spoken to the teller who made the error and it wont happen again but because it was my word of mouth and I did not fill out the deposit slip properly she would not be refunding my money. I explained that I used a deposit slip with a different format because the teller was not available when I pulled up and when I asked the teller to cash then deposit the money she did not advise me that I needed to fill out another deposit slip or correct the one I gave her. The woman ****** proceeded to condescendingly explain to me how the deposit slip was supposed to be filled out, offered to link my other savings account to my checking and when I refused and explained that I wasn't carelessly spending so there was no need ****** again said it was my word of mouth with no proof and they would not be refunding my money. I asked ****** if there were anyone else I could speak to or if I could speak to her manager because she was calling me a liar, she stated she was the manager and I could call customer service again and speak to them. By this time I was in tears. I had explained that I had money in another account that I have with that bank which they could see, I'm a single mother trying to save up some extra money for a Disney trip that I am taking my three kids on in 18 days, that I was not properly informed and the teller agreed to my request and this woman ****** continued to insinuate that I was telling a lie. So I called back to the customer service line and spoke to **** again as directed by ****** and I told him what she had said and done and he stated that he could not help but would transfer me to the manager. I told him that I had already spoken to the manager named ****** and that's when he told me that ****** was not the manager and he would send the manager an email to explain the issue and have her give me a call. The actual manager called me a short time later stating that she had heard ******s side of the story and is going to back her up. Later on that day I checked my account again because I had transferred some money to cover the over draft fees and two transactions which were still pending that morning as soon as I recognized the problem. When I logged back in later I found that there were two new overdraft charges. I called the bank again explaining that I had just spent the entire morning (6 hours to be exact) going back and forth with the bank and those overdrafts were not mentioned to me, nor were they showing on my account just a few hours earlier. This new rep at the customer service center explained that even if I deposit the money when the transactions are still pending (which is something I have done in the past without incurring overdraft charges) I am still charged an overdraft fee. I explained that this is unacceptable and I want to speak to the manager, she stated she would leave a message to have the manager contact me when she is available. I checked my account today and my transactions have once again been reordered and they have charged 2 more overdraft fees. In total I have been charged 8 overdraft fees within the last 3 days totaling in $280 in overdraft fees. Money that I was saving to take my children on vacation. I feel that my account has been deliberately tampered with because I dared to argue with the bank reps. I also feel that this bank is using unfair and unethical tactics to charge me unnecessary overdraft fees similar to the tactic that caused the larger bank excessive overdraft lawsuits in 2010. If this issue is not resolved I will contact an attorney because I have been mistreated, taken advantage of, mislead by employees and advertising, and robbed of my hard earned money.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bank to do the right thing and reverse the overdraft fees that were unfairly assessed to my account.

Business Response:

Please see the attached response.

***** ***** **** **** ************

5/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Was Told Someone Call Me Back But I Had To Call aGain And Was Noone GaveThe Supervisor The Masege. PluS They Did Not Solve M Issue. I Was Given Another Number To Call And I Left A Voice Mail.

Desired Settlement: I Woul Like The Fees Back They Incorrectly Charge me.

Business Response:

Please see the attached reponse.  I apoligize for the delay, I was out sick yesterday.

***** ***** ************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


 

The Offered Me 70 Dollar Out Of 315  I Did Not Accept There Offer But They Put The Money Jn My Account Anyway. I Still Like The Rest Back.

Business Response: This message is in response to additional concerns shared regarding Customer Concern ID ********* For the reasons set forth in our previous response dated March 9, 2015, we are unwilling to refund any additional fees at this time.

10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bank with Wsfs and they reported a delinquency to my credit report that is not accurate. They automatically debited from my account and the funds are always available. Now my score is being effected for someone not paying attention to payments.

Desired Settlement: I would like this to be repaired on my credit and a apology letter from the company, with a settlement dollar amount.

Business Response: This letter is in response to a customer complaint that WSFS Bank received from the BBB on September 8, 2014 regarding Mr***** **** ******.

Mr. ******'s complaint concerns a late payment for his auto loan with WSFS Bank. On June 13, 2014, Mr. ****** did in fact set up autopay so that his loan payment would be automatically deducted from his checking account. But at that time, the June 1, 2014 payment for his auto loan was overdue. Since autopay was set up after the due date for the June 2014 payment, Mr. ****** should have paid his June payment manually. As a courtesy WSFS Bank did waive the late fee for the June 2014 payment, but the delinquency report to the credit bureaus is accurate.

If additional Information is needed regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me. 

Consumer Response:


The response from WSFS is far from the truth. When I opened this account I instructed the banker to have the payment automatically deducted from my account. She did not do so, I know this because my loan officer ***** called me and when we spoke she advised me that she set set up my account so payment can automatically be pulled from the account. That was before payment was due. I also spoke with another representative and he said the late payment was for july and the response says for June. I have the monthly stayment I receive in the mail showing where the payment was taken out as scheduled  not delinquent. If you look at the payment history a late payment has never been an issue until now. Someone wasn't paying attention to their job and I'm am dealing with the consequences. I have tried to resolve this over the phone multiple times and even request the branch managers, manager give me a called and nothing. My credit has been effected and lines of credit I once had access to are now bring closed. This is a serious matter and I was advised by a attorney this is referred to as unjist enrichment. Wsfs needs to take responsibility for their error. 







 

 

Business Response: We have reviewed your second letter to the BBB regarding the June 2014 loan payment on your loan account ending in 1813. As you know, the monthly payment for this loan is $245.55. Enclosed Is your May 2014 bank statement for your checking account ending in 4546. The May 1, 2014 payment of
$245.55 was deducted from this account. Also enclosed Is your June 2014 statement for this account. As you can see, no loan payment for $245.55 was deducted from this account on June 2,2014 (June 1,
2014 was a Sunday) . On June 2,2014, the balance in your account was negative as reflected under your dally balances; therefore, the auto pay system could not automatically deduct the loan payment. Although It appears upon review that the charges causing the negative balance were disputed and refunded to you, no loan payment was ever made for the payment due June 1, 2014 as evidenced by your statement.

On June 6, 2014, you closed the checking account ending In 4546 and opened a new checking account ending in 4143. The June 2014 statement for that account is also enclosed. As you can see, there was no loan payment for $245.55 deducted from this account either. On June 13, 2014, you changed the auto pay on your loan from checking account ending in 4546 to the new account ending in 4143, enabling future loan payments to be automatically deducted monthly. The July 2014 statement for account ending in 4143 shows the $245.55 loan payment being deducted as planned.  However,the June Installment remains outstanding.

In order to resolve your concerns regarding the negative credit reporting, as of today, WSFS Bank has removed any late fees  and delinquency reporting with the credit reporting agencies related to this outstanding balance.  Enclosed is a copy of the form sent to the credit reporting agencies updating your account to reflect no past due amount. Although WSFS Bank has removed any negative reporting with the credit reporting agencies, your loan payment for June 2014 of $245.55 is overdue . Please contact John Beal. Collections Manager, at 302-283-4657 or jbeal@wsfsbank.com to make arrangements for the June 2014 payment.

Itrust that this resolves your concerns. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me or John Beal.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My debit card was stolen and the fraud investigation case was handled improperly as a result my reimbursement was denied. There was miscommunication from my local branch to the fraud department resulting in them not knowing I filed a police report. They never contacted the police thus never pulling any surveillance video before denying my claim. I had called multiple times with no response. The person I dealt with in the fraud department was rude and unhelpful. They did not complete a full investigation of my fraudulent claims.

Desired Settlement: My fraudulent charges of $ 2,834.26 over draft fees of $100 and overdraft charges of $280 coming to a total of $ 3,214.26 reimbursed to my account.

Business Response: This letter Is In response to a customer complaint that WSFS Bank received from the BBB on July 25, 2014 regarding *** ***** ****** **********.


On May 27, 2014, *** ********** visited the WSFS Bank West Newark branch and completed a fraud dispute claim form, Indicating that his WSFS Bank debit card and possibly his PIN were stolen. The dispute form is attached. *** ********** highlighted transactions on this form to Indicate which ones were fraudulent.

As part of our standard practice, the dispute form was forwarded to our fraud investigation team for further investigation. Latisha Scott, an electronic fraud analyst, contacted *** ********** and spoke to him on several occasions. His description about what occurred the night his card was stolen changed several times,and the details also did not match the information he provided to the police (see attached police report). In addition, several of the transactions he initially disputed In the branch, he later indicated to ******** were valid. These transactions included an ATM withdrawal of $105.99 and a Wail Mart charge of $113.98. The Wal-Mart charge took place during a time when he indicated that hrs card was not in his possession.

Due to the conflicting information surrounding *** **********'s loss of his debit card, WSFS Bank denied his dispute.

If additional information is needed regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10143789, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

The description about what occurred the night the card was stolen had differed because I didn’t know when or where the card was stolen at the casino or at the residence in *******. The last place I used the card was at the casino.  I was told by the ******** **** police that if I thought the card was stolen at the residence I had to contact the Local ******* police department, which I promptly did.  So I told the police what happened at the residence and they would follow up with the other departments to investigate.   When I initially met with ***** ****** at the west Newark branch about the fraudulent charges I told her I wasn’t sure about the charge of $105.99.  She said that I should put it in the report anyway and that the fraud department would investigate. After I had time to look over the transaction history I realized it was valid.   The ******** charge of $113.98 was never indicated as valid to her or Latisha Scott.   After I first met with ***** ****** she contacted me to file a police report, which I did on May 28th.  While at the police station I called **** ****** and asked her to fax my fraudulent transaction history to the officer ***** at the ******* police department.  She said that she cannot do that and that the fraud department would get him all the pertinent information.  I emailed **** ****** the incident report number and the officer’s information on May 28th.  In the mean time ****** ***** contacted me but never left me with any return contact information.  I emailed **** ****** on June 3rd asking for **** ***** contact information but I never got a response back.  The next correspondence was a denial letter in the mail.  That was the first time I had **** *****’s information.  I promptly contacted her to see why the case was denied.  When I asked her about the police she had no idea that I filed a police report.  So the whole time officer ***** was waiting for the information from the bank to investigate my case and was never given the information.   He was more than willing to pull the surveillance videos when I first met with him.  He would contact me and all I could do was tell him that the fraud department would contact him. But little did I know that the police report information I sent to **** ****** at the branch never got to **** ***** who was supposed to be investigating my claims.  I asked **** ***** to pull the videos after the denial, which she said she was waiting on the police response.  The police were not responding because of the miscommunication within the bank not getting them the information in a timely manner.   These videos would support my claims of the fraudulent activities.   I have never been to a ******** in Mays Landing NJ.  I never indicated that the $113. 98 charge was valid.  This was one of many fraudulent charges at ******** at 4:25am.  There was a fraudulent charge of $14.48 at ******** at 4:24am then the fraudulent charge of $113.98 at 4:25am followed by other fraudulent charges at 4:35am, 4:37am, 4:41am, and 4:42 in addition to all the ***** *** fraudulent charges.   The ******** is in Mays Landing, which is 20 minutes north of the casino.  I had gone back to ******* from the casino, which is 20 Minutes south.  It doesn’t make sense or the timing of it for me to take a taxi back to ******* then take another taxi almost 45minutes north to a ******** in Mays Landing.  I was home sleeping at the time of these fraudulent activities.  There was also another person staying at the ******* residence who could testify to the fact that I was home during the fraudulent activities, never left and was nowhere near a ******** in Mays landing.  I am positive that the store surveillance videos would prove this claim. 

 

 

 

Business Response: This letter is in response to the additional concerns *** ********** flied with the BBB on August 26, 2014 regarding WSFS Bank's original response to his complaint of July 23, 2014.

In his most recent complaint to the BBB, *** ********** states his concerns about WSFS Bank not communicating with the•police department han l!ng the investigation of this matter. ******* ***** ,an electronic fraud analyst handling the investigation of *** **********'s case for WSFS Bank, spoke to ************* on three separate occasions before WSFS Bank denied his dispute . *** ********** did not mention during any of those calls that the police were involved. Once ************* received
the denial of his dispute, he contacted *** ***** and informed her about the police report.As soon as ******** was made aware that a police report was filed, she contacted the police (on or about June 16, 2014), and provided details of the matter.On June 17,2014, the police department faxed a copy of their report to ********.That report was Included in WSFS Bank's first response to the BBB. Subsequent to *** ***** receiving the police report, she sent information to the police concerning her investigation.

************* also expresses concerns about no one pulling the surveillance video from the store where he claims the fraudulent activity occurred. WSFS Bank has no authority to request surveillance video from a merchant, and WSFS Bank cannot control what the police choose to do in their Investigation.

As stated in WSFS Bank's previous response to the BBB,due to the conflicting Information surrounding *************'s loss of his debit card and inconsistency with the information contained in the police report, WSFS Bank denied his dispute.

If additional information is needed regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

8/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mailing address changed in 2009. The post office has been instructing all financial institutions about this change. This change was relayed to WSFS bank but the bank made a mistake in changing the address and started sending the statements to a NJ address and these were returned. Since that point they have not been sending any statements. When I called to close the account they informed me that they had imposed dormancy fees in the amount of $414.85. I think these fees are arbitrary and unannounced and are due to the mistake made by the bank. They are not willing to refund these fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like their arbitrary fees refunded.

Business Response: This letter is in response to a customer complaint that WSFS Bank received from the BBB on July 21, 2014 regarding Mr. ****** ******.

Mr. ****** states In his complaint that he changed his mailing address in 2009 with the post office, but WSFS Bank changed his address to an incorrect New Jersey address at that time,and statements were returned, resulting in subsequent return mail and dormancy fees being charged to his account. Mr. ****** also stated that these fees were "unannounced." After reviewing Mr. ******'s bank statements dating back to 2008, it appears that WSFS Bank never changed the mailing address to a New Jersey address. The address on record remained **** *** ***** ********* ********** until July 16, 2014 when Mr. ****** called WSFS Bank and updated his address to **** *** ***** ******* ** *****-
7156. In addition, all fees are disclosed to customers on our Fee Schedule provided at the time of account opening.

Sometime during February 2009, a statement mailed to Mr. ******'s ** *** **** was returned by the post office as being an Incorrect address. It is WSFS Bank's policy to update address records for a customer when a forwarding address is provided by the post office. Since no address update is recorded, it appears that no forwarding address was provided by the post office. On February 21, 2009, the first return mail charge of $5.00 was debited from Mr. ******'s account. The $5.00 return mail fee continued to be charged•monthly until July 2014 when Mr.****** called to update his address. The total return mail fees charged to the account during this period of time were $265.00.

In addition,dormancy fees are charged when there has been no activity on an account for two years or more and WSFS Bank has lost contact with the customer (in this case, the returned mall was Indication that contact had been lost).The first $5.00 dormancy fee was debited from Mr. ******'s account on January 21, 2012. This dormancy fee also continued to be charged monthly until Mr. ****** contacted WSFS Bank in July 2014 . The total dormancy fees charged to Mr.******'s account were $150.00. On July 16, 2014, WSFS Bank refunded $20.00 In dormancy fees. As a customer courtesy, WSFS Bank has now refunded the remainder of dormancy fees ($130.00) to Mr. ******'s account.

We attempted to speak to Mr. ****** regarding the action we are taking to resolve his complaint, but to date he has not returned our call. We believe that the above resolution is fair and that the above action will resolve his complaint

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Customer account and address confidentiality has always been a major issue with WSFS.

In 2001 they randomly changed my address to a ** *** ** *********** **. I have never lived in NJ and it is inconceivable that I would change my address there. They sent my statements to this address for months until I called them up to find what was going on.

I have the correspondence including the letters from WSFS acknowledging this fact. They could not explain why this happened.

I will be happy to provide these letters if required. I did not want to post them to this web site since it contains account numbers and other personal information.

This shows the level of substandard professionalism that pervades this company.

On 2009 the PO box I was using was moved to a new number because the Post Office that had the old box was closed. All financial institutions were notified by the post office. Again WSFS was the only one that could not manage to handle this.

Furthermore they have imposed hidden and unannounced dormancy fees. These were never announced or made public during the time that they were sending statements. In fact the account was unused for a couple of years before and no fees were imposed.

They have decided to help themselves to money from my account that I have entrusted in their bank in violation of banking and consumer laws.

I have deposited my money in a institution that I believed at a minimum would keep it intact and find myself taken advantage of. This is typical of the financial institution business where they have you at their mercy and will pilfer your money irrespective of whether you are the borrower or lender from/to them.

Since they have my money in their hands they think they can make up any rules and get away with it.

I have sent them a letter on July 27 demanding that they send me check for the balance in my account and close my account but have not heard from them. They are still holding my account hostage.

I have been a customer since 1988 but regret ever having anything to do with this bank.

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response: This letter is in response to the additional concerns submitted by Mr. ****** ****** to the BBB on August 27,2014.

As previously stated in WSFS Bank's response letter dated August 5, 2014, all fees are disclosed to customers on our Fee Schedule provided at the time of account opening.The fee schedule Includes fees for return mail as well as dormant accounts . All dormancy fees totaling $150.00 were refunded to Mr. ****** as a courtesy .

At the request of Mr. ******, his WSFS Bank account was closed on August 27,2014. The remaining funds ln the account were mailed to Mr.****** and received by him on September 3, 2014.

If additional information is needed,please do not hesitate to contact me. 

8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My checking account was used fraudulently from Arizona with charges totaling almost $245. I was surprised and upset to find out this information and my bank made me cover these charges from my savings account for which I don't think I should have had to do. I was told that it could take up to 5 business days to get my money back. I'm very upset that I had to put funds in to cover this fraudulent charge and would like my money back today. In addition my card had to be cancelled and I had to pay to get a new card for which I should not have had to do. I would like some assistance with this matter ASAP.

Desired Settlement: I would like this money refunded no later than the end of business day tomorrow.

Business Response: WSFS Bank Is In receipt of the customer complaint flied by **** *********** regarding the fraudulent use of her WSFS Bank debit card_ The fraudulent charge was made on July 1,2014 In the amount of $242.89, and posted to *** ***********'s account on July 3, 2014. WSFS Bank Card Services processed *** ***********'s dispute and credited her account for the full amount of the fraudulent charge on July 8, 2014-

In addition, although WSFS Bank does not have record of charging ************** a replacement card fee of $5.00, as a courtesy, on July 11,2014 WSFS Bank refunded $5.00 to her checking account.

We believe that the above actions resolve *** ***********'s .complaint. If additional Information Is needed, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I regularly make deposits to my account using WSFS mobile banking application. The ap allows customers to deposit checks to their account. WSFS just changed their business practices and began holding my deposit. Because of this they charged me 2 fees of $35 each for a total of $70. It's fine if they want to place holds, but they need to notify their customers of such changes. As of today, 5/14/14, the ap still says deposits made after 6 will be processed the next business day. I always made my deposits before 6 and they always made funds available for that day. Now they place a hold and don't make any deposit available regardless if it's before 6. It needs to clearly state what their hold policy is on the ap as well.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the fees charged and update your ap of the practice of the bank.

Business Response: WSFS Bank ("WSFS") is in receipt of the customer complaint filed by *** ******** related to the availability of funds from checks he deposited into his WSFS checking account using Snapshot Deposit, WSFS's mobile banking remote deposit capture service.We have had prior discussions with *** ******** concerning funds availability relating to mobile deposits, and *** ******** has also received written disclosures relating to such deposits (the notice is emailed with every deposit). Accordingly, we believe *** ******** has inaccurately reflected the facts in his complaint letter and has not fairly reported our efforts to address his disclosure concerns. This is described more fully below.

On April 23, 2014,*********** deposited $400.00 at 4:29 pm using Snapshot Deposit. WSFS then sent an email confirmation of this deposit to *** ******** (see attached), which stated, among other things, "During nightly processing, your deposits will appear in your current account activity but will not be available until the next business day." The funds from this deposit were made fully available to *** ******** on April 24,2014, the next business day, consistent with the language in the email confirmation. The availability of these funds is also consistent with the information provided on WSFS's 

 
Unfortunately, there were several debit transactions that cleared ***********'s account on April 23, 2014, causing his account to be overdrawn, since the funds from his April 23, 2014 deposit would not be available until April 24, 2014. As a result of his overdrawn account,two overdraft fees for $35 each were charged to *** ********'s account.

On April 25, 2014, at *** ********'s request and as a courtesy to him, WSFS refunded the $70 in overdraft fees. At that time our customer service center explained to *** ******** the funds availability policy related to Snapshot deposits as detailed above, and *** ******** acknowledged that he understood this policy.

On May 22, 2014, *** ******** again contacted WSFS requesting additional overdraft fees be refunded related to another Snapshot deposit he made on April 29, 2014. This deposit was made at 7:45am on April 29, 2014. In compliance with the WSFS funds availability policy detailed above, the funds from this deposit were made available to *** ******** on April 30, 2014. On April 28, 2014 and April 29, 2014, debit transactions were processed to *** ********'s account, causing it to be overdrawn and resulting in $70 in overdraft fees.

In our conversation with *** ******** on May 22, 2014, we reminded him of the previous month's conversation concerning funds availability for Snapshot deposits. He acknowledged that he knew that information, but still wanted the current fees to be refunded since he believed our disclosures concerning Snapshot deposits were not clear.

We do not agree-we do not believe there could have been any misunderstand ing concerning mobile deposit funds availability. Moreover, having given *** ******** the benefit of the doubt when he raised this issue initially, we issued a courtesy refund. At that time we explained funds availability to him, and the funds availability language on the receipt he received speaks for itself. In sum, we believe we have been fair to *** ******** and honorable in how we conducted our relationship with him
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** ***** is either being advised incorrect information or is purposefully trying to deceive the BBB.  I've attached the language as stated directly from WSFS Snapahot Deposit which completely differs with what myself and the BBB have been advised.   It states and I quote "checks deposited on weekends, holidays, or after 6:00PM will be processed the next business day."  This is only verbiage one gets during the deposit.  Also, he has eroniously stated dates that I called about this problem when in fact the last date he gave was due to the fact that WSFS charged me a $35 fee for an automated transfer from my checking to my savings using unavailable funds.  This practice is in direct violation of the Dodd Frank act, and the bank did satisfactorily return my $35 fee.  I've attached a screenshot of the exact verbiage for the BBB and *** *****'s review.  I would advise *** ***** to go ahead and make a snapshot deposit himself to see if he is properly disclosed of funds availability before drawing up documents from the banks legal department.  Also, during my first interactions with WSFS regarding this matter, they were advising me that I made my deposit after 6:00PM and that was the reason I was being charged.  They said ** ******** you made your deposit at 9:56PM, so it posted after 6.  When I said that was completely false the superviser finally said well we emailed you, would you be able to send me the email to verify the time.  I was like "oh great well this will prove I made my deposit before 6" but I was completely unaware that they did indeed email me confirmation.  So I go to my email account and nothing, the kind representative said check your spam, and there it was, sure enough a receipt of deposit that was indeed made prior to the 6:00pm cut off.  Once I emailed the email back to them that they sent me they waived the fee.  This was the first go round.  Then came the second when I was finally advised no Mr. Sturgeon "we hold your deposit for 1 day". I said I just went through this several weeks ago and they said it was because of the time, and I proved made it in time and you did waive the fees.  Then another supervisor got on the line and began screaming at me "** ******** we've been over and over this with you I'm documenting your account, you will NEVER have another refund from this bank do you hear me". I was taken aback to say the least and decided at that time I would pursue a different line of communication which is when I contacted the BBB.  I believe that because of this sup this situation has really just made WSFS on the defensive.  I've banked there for years and had $70 refunded due to Snapahot and it truly is not clear and says nothing except what I've attached when you make a deposit with your smartphone.  Any disclosures should be on the same screen where it say deposits made after 6:00 will be processed the next business day.  That means to me and I believe anyone that reads it that deposits made before 6:00PM will be processed that day.

5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WSFS bank rearranges my transactions to ensure maximum overdraft fees. If I have $300 in the morning in my checking account, and spend $290, I should have $10 left in my account. If I then withdraw $200, I would expect to incur one overdraft fee. Instead, WSFS back rearranges my transations from chronological order. They place my $200 withdrawal first, and then charge fees on the rest of the transactions that I made that day, prior to actually being overdrawn. This is unethical and immoral, and this practice should be illegal. It should definitely be explained to the customer. This practice takes advantage of those who can least afford it.

Desired Settlement: I would like all overdraft fees incurred in the last 12 months to be refunded to my account.

Business Response: This letter Is In response to a customer complaint that WSFS Bank received from the 888 via e-mail on May 2, 2014 regarding *** ****** ******* .

We have researched *** *******'s deposit account relationship with WSFS and noted that on October 10, 2010, he chose to opt In to our courtesy overdraft service program, which allows him to make purchases or withdraw cash using his debit card when there are not enough available funds to cover these transactions.  Contrary to what *** ******* alleges, *** *******'s account was overdrawn by
$316.39 at the end of the day on April 24, 2014. In reviewing the overdraft fees referenced In *** *******'s complaint, we note that there were six (6) $35 overdraft fees related to the April 24, 2014 overdrafts . In order to resolve his concerns, we have refunded half of these overdraft fees, for a total refund of $105.00.

In addition, based on **********'s concerns and comments regarding the overdraft service and the fees related to being in the program, we have opted him out of our courtesy overdraft program.  As a result, if he does not have sufficient funds to pay debit card transactions and ATM withdrawals in the future, these transactions will be declined at the point of sale, thus avoiding future overdraft fees.

We have attempted to speak to *** ******* regarding the actions we are taking to resolve his complaint, but to date he has not returned our voice messages. We believe that the above resolution Is fair and that the above actions will resolve his complaint 

 

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son and I went to the WSFS on Union Street, Wilmington, DE February 28, 2014. My sons account should have been set up as a student account by ***** ******. However, fees were incurred due to no activity. I strongly believe *** ****** needs to be retrained for leadership skills. She called me a rude customer. She never introduced herself and had a nasty attitude. I have worked at Chase for over 20 years and have never encountered such A NEGATIVE PERSON with poor customer service skills. I have been A CUSTOMER with WSFS for many years. *** ****** was telling her coworkers that I was rude and I heard the entire conversation. She kept talking about a Delaware law for fees. I felt discriminated by her and embarrassed. I no longer want to deal with WSFS. *** ****** needs to apologize for her negative attitude. My son is still owed $8.00.

Desired Settlement: *** ****** needs to apologize and WSFS still owes my sons $8.00. This is about the principal. A Manager should not argue with a customer when *** ****** caused the error.

Business Response: Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us *** ******'s complaint and experience at our Union Street Branch. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration this may have caused *** ******.

According to my research, her son opened an account on 7/24/2013 with $100.00. Unfortunately,
there was no activity in this account since it was opened and caused him to accrue a total of
$100.00  in $8.00 inactivity fees. These  fees are standard  and  disclosed  in the  fee disclosure given
to her son when the account was opened.  In addition, these fees were disclosed in every monthly
 
bank statement mailed to the address on file. On February 28th, *** ***** ****** agreed to
 
refund $92.00 out of the $100.00. Per *** *******' son's request, the account was closed on 2/28/2014.

Given that her son has already received a generous refund of $92.00 and the fees were disclosed various times throughout his tenure with WSFS, no additional refunds will be honored at this time.

*** ******'s concerns with the manner in which she and her son were treated have been discussed with the Associate at the Union Street branch.

3/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This bank has the worst customer service. They are very un accommodating and leave you with the impression that they are just trying to collect as many fees from you as possible. I have had an account with them for almost 3 years. On numerous accounts they have charged me fees for errors on there end and when brought to their attention no correction has been made. In this particular instance I was incorrectly charged by a business and when I disputed the charges nothing was done except to continue to charge me over draft fees and return check fees for the purchases all stemming from the disputed charges. I was threatened by an employee named Lindsay that if I didn't pay what they said I owed, they would be making derogatory marks on my credit. I now have 155.00 just in overdraft charges and daily fees that were of no fault of my own. And when I asked to closet the account so all charges would stop until the situation was resolved I was told no. The terms of my bank account were also recently changed from free checking to a monthly maintenance fee without any notice or option the opt out and close the account. I want all to know that this bank is nothing but thieves and that this is an example of a bank charging you fees because they feel they can because I have no real recourse.

Desired Settlement: I would like all fees returned to me and refunds for all fees that were previously charged. I was charged fees for return statement when the address was entered incorrectly by their rep. I was charged over draft fees for charges. I was specifically asked when the account was opened if I want them to pay or not and I said absolutely NO. And they do not deny that I told them not to pay transactions that the fund are not available for.

Business Response: This letter is in response to a customer  complaint that WSFS Bank received from you via e-mail on
February 25, 2014.

*** ****t makes reference in his letter regarding overdraft fees he was assessed on transactions he had disputed. Our review of his account reflects the following :

On January 15, *** ***** contacted our customer service area and did closed his debit card account and was going to file a dispute for the transactions he said were in error. No dispute was received from *** *****.
On February 19, *** ***** contacted our Lewes branch, where he again indicated he was going to file a dispute for transactions that he said were in error and the teller noted this on the system . No dispute was received from *** *****.
On February 19, *** ***** was contacted by overdraft service area regarding his overdrawn account. *** ***** again indicated that he was going to file a dispute for transactions he said were in error . Our service associate asked him to fax a letter to us and he indicated he could not fax the letter. Our service associate then  recommended  two other options  to  get  the  dispute letter to us; by mailing the letter by USPS or by taking a picture of the letter by a smartphone and emailing it to us. No dispute was received from *** *****.

As of today, we have not received any information regarding his dispute and based on the date of the transaction(s) , we may no longer have the ability to act on his behalf to recoup these disputed funds .


The checking and savings accounts are both closed and have zero balances. If we can be of further assistance, please contact use at **************

10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on WSFS Bank
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart