BBB Accredited Business since

Union Park Automotive Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 658-7245 Fax: (302) 573-5201 View Additional Phone Numbers 1704 Pennsylvania Avenue, Wilmington, DE 19806 http://www.unionpark.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Retail automobile dealer, sales, service, parts, collision center, and auto spa


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Union Park Automotive Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Union Park Automotive Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Union Park Automotive Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1965 Business started: 08/01/1955 in DE Business incorporated 09/01/1955 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Frank A. Ursomarso Jr., Vice President Mr. Jim Ursomarso Mr. Jerry Husbands Mr. John J. Patterson, Secretary/Treasureer Mr. Frank A. Ursomarso Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank A. Ursomarso Jr., Vice President
Principal: Mr. Jim Ursomarso
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Products & Services

Union Park Automotive Group, Inc. sells the following brand(s): BMW, Buick GMC, Fisker, Honda, Jaguar, Used cars, Volvo

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, visa, and master card
Alternate Business Names
Union Park BMW Union Park Buick GMC Union Park Honda Union Park Jaguar Union Park Volvo
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1704 Pennsylvania Avenue

    Wilmington, DE 19806 (302) 658-7245 (302) 778-9919

  • PO Box 2508

    Wilmington, DE 19805

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 16, 2015, I brought my 2008 BMW 550 into Union Park service for a slow oil leak situation that had probably been occurring for several years. Another auto service provider, where I was having a tire repaired, brought it to my attention; and also looked up and found a 2009 engine oil leak recall for my car (It is attached). My car had been using, what I considered to be, excess oil for some time. I brought this to the BMW service advisor’s attention more than three years ago and was assured that since my car’s engine is considered high-performance, it is normal oil usage (even though I communicated that I had 3 other 5 series BMWs before that never used this amount of oil). Now, the diagnosis of the problem, as you can read in the attached service record, warranted repairs costing almost $5000.00. They argued with me that the recall notice from 2009 did not apply to my car because of some technicality that they could not clearly articulate. I therefore conceded and asked them if the repair was worth doing. Since my car was over 7 years old, with over 90K miles (and always serviced at Union Park), I asked ****** if it was worth putting this kind of money into the car given its age and miles; and I also asked if the repairs were guaranteed and he indicated repairs were guaranteed for 1 year. Given this information, I was assured that my electing to pursue these repairs would correct the problem. The car was delivered back to me on February 19th and I was told that everything was fixed and the service tech test drove the car and topped off the oil. As soon as I started the car, the engine light was illuminated. The service tech immediately took the car around to the shop again and after 20 minutes or so, he indicated he needed to keep the car again overnight to diagnose the problem. I never really got a straight answer as to what the engine light issue was all about. The next day, Friday, February 20th, the car was returned to me again. This time, as I was driving home, the engine oil indicator warned that the engine oil was overfilled and in a danger situation. I immediately called ****** at Union Park as I was driving and he told me that it was not a problem and that I had nothing to worry about. Over the weekend, I consulted with another mechanic and I looked on many BMW posts and other blogs that all concurred 100% that overfilling the engine oil is a very dangerous situation as it can cause excess pressure in the engine causing a myriad of other issues- including damaging the valves- particularly with a high performance engine. I called ****** again but had to leave a message. Immediately Monday morning, February 23rd, I called ****** (who indicated he had not received my message) and I reiterated what I had discovered about the dangerous oil overfill situation and that the situation should be corrected. I drove to Union Park and waited over an hour for them to correct the oil level. A few days later, I noticed blue smoke exhaust after idling a few minutes. I called service and was told it was probably excess oil that was just burning off and it would go away. Within about 4 weeks, the blue smoke (on idle) situation did not go away, but had gotten worse. I returned the car to Union Park service only to be presented with another estimate for repairs requiring me to pay an additional $6000.00 (third page of the attached). I spoke with many folks at Union Park including *********, ****** and the shop manager all of whom stated that this is a known problem that when some oil seals are corrected, it can cause more pressure in the engine and other valve seals can go bad. I immediately questioned each of them as to why this “known possible result” was omitted from my previous conversations and not communicated to me BEFORE I spent $5000.00 to fix the car. I NEVER would have spent 5K to fix the leaks had I known that it would not completely correct the problem, or if it could cause additional “known possible” problems. As it stood, the two repairs would require a total of $11,000.00 to fix a 2008 car with over 90K miles. I would not have fixed the car, but would have gotten a new car, and it would have been another BMW. I know it has been several months since this issue first arose, but I am not willing to let it go unresolved. At this point I feel that the “experts” at BMW service should have either corrected all the problems in the first visit, or should have communicated the “known” possible issues that could result from the first visit. I feel they are covering up their own mistake of not diagnosing the problem and/or not correctly doing the service in the first place. They should have done the second service at no cost to me as part of the warranty for the first service, but they refused. I also talked with them about the leaking oil recall that was never communicated to me. I have had 6 BMWs since 1997 (1997 528, 1998 Z3, 2005 545, 2006 550, and at the time, I had the 2008 550 and a 2006 M Roadster.) I have gone around and around with BMW America for several months to correct the issue. They finally would only offer me $1000.00 toward a new car. They would not refund my initial service amount of $4,787.36, nor would they do the second service ($6,084.00) as part of the warranty of the first service. I am not happy with their resolution. I believe that $4,787.36 should be refunded to me because of any one or more of these issues: 1. Not acknowledging the oil leak recall. 2. Not fixing the oil leak situation in the first place. 3. Not honoring the warranty for the first oil leak service that created the blue smoke situation. 4. Not communicating the “known possibilities” that could result from the first service. 5. Overfilling the oil creating a dangerous situation that could blow internal seals or gaskets within the engine. Since I no longer have the car, a refund from BMW in the amount $4,787.36 would close this issue. Thank you, ***** ******* P.S. I have reference attachments in this text and I am hoping that in filling out this form, there will be an opportunity to attach documents. If not, please contact me on email and I will send the supporting documents. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $4,787.36

Business Response: Mr. ******* had numerous  discussions with Union Park earlier this year regarding this issue. In a nutshell, his vehicle exhibited multiple exterior oil leaks. He decided to have these leaks repaired and picked up his vehicle on 2/19/15. He returned on 3/30/15 with another concern, caused by internal engine leakage and damage, which is a completely different condition than the one originally repaired by Union Park. He was upset that we did not identify this different problem during his previous visit. However it is impossible to foresee all future issues, especially when they occur inside an engine. Mr. ******* contacted BMW of North America on multiple occasions and asked for their assistance.  BMW eventually agreed to provide him with $1000 towards a new vehicle as a goodwill gesture, but even they agreed the dealership was not responsible for his current concern.  It has been 7 months since this issue was addressed, and since Mr. ******* does not even own the affected vehicle, I believe the situation is actually moot. If you have any question, please feel free to contact me. Thank you. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 Union Park, in their response, have eliminated a number of facts.  First they are failing to acknowledge the multiple conversations between the service dates in which they communicated to me that the internal engine problems are a KNOWN possible complication of actually performing external engine seals.  They omitted this information in my discussions with them about the efficacy of the first service of external engine sealing.  Had I been informed of the possible internal problem that could possibly result, I would not have agreed to the very expensive first services.  The second engine issue is a DIRECT cause of the first engine seal repair, and Union Park is refusing to acknowledge it.  Any mechanic can confirm that the two issues are related.  When the internal problems started with exhibiting blue exhaust smoke within a few days of the first service, I immediately called them and they told me that it was engine oil burning off and to wait to see if it would subside.  Although it did subside to happening only on idle, I thought it would eventually go away.  It did not go away.  Union Park is also not acknowledging that they know about these BMW 550 engine problems since there was a recall in 2009 that they indicate doesn't apply to my car because of some technicality they can't clearly articulate.  The recall and the service records are attached.   The issue is not mute since I no longer have the vehicle.  I would like reimbursement for the first service since Union Park had an ethical responsibility to communicate the fact that sealing the external portions of the engine could cause pressure changes within the internal engine that could cause additional problems.   Again, upon researching this issue after the problems occurred, it is a known fact that these internal problems can occur. Union Park had a business ethical obligation to communicate that to me prior to their performing the first service.   Therefore, I am requesting the refund.

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response: Mr. ******* sent in a copy of BMW service bulletin SIB11-08-09 pertaining to oil leaks on certain BMW 5 series models. This bulletin applies to all vehicles with a N51, N52 and N52K engine only, which is a 6 cylinder engine. Mr. ******* has a V8 in his vehicle, a completely different engine, so this bulletin is not applicable to his car and is irrelevant.  The "known issues" Mr. ******* keeps mentioning do not apply to his particular car. I assume he is reading information about 5 series BMW's in general, not his specific model. Again, this was all discussed previously in March and April and there has been no issue since then. BMW of  North America looked into Mr. *******'s concern and determined the current issue is not related to the repairs already performed. Although Union Park is not responsible for the concerns on Mr. *******'s BMW, our warranty is for 12 months 12000 miles and we would have honored it by repairing the customer's vehicle, not by giving the customer his money back. Selling his vehicle has effectively removed this option. Unfortunately, Union Park cannot assist at this point in time.

10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have my Honda Camery serviced at this location all the time since I bought it. I paid extra attention asking them about checking the brake pad each time. My most recent service was in mid August, and they told me the pad was still OK. However, toward the end of September I started noticing a noise. Finally I went to another auto shop and the technician told me that not only the pad was out, the rotor was damaged as well. It's obvious that the Union Park Honda service didn't check carefully. Replacing the pads alone cost about $200, but with rotor damaged, the cost is over $1000. I called Union Park but got their voicemail. I left a message, but it's more than a day, no one has returned my call.

Desired Settlement: They need to cover the avoidable cost on the rotor replacement. Parts and labor together, $800.

Business Response: I am responding to BBB customer concern ******** that was opened by Ms. ****** *** pertaining to a customer concern with Union Park Honda.

I am sorry that Ms. *** has an issue with her brakes; however I do not believe Union Park is responsible for her current situation.  I have enclosed copies of Ms. ***'s last 2 service visits.  She came to Union Park Honda on 3/ 12115 at 114082 miles and requested
a "B" service. A "B" service includes oil and filter change, tire rotation, brake inspection, topping off fluids, and a battery inspection.  We performed that service and provided brake information on both the customer's invoice and the customer's Multi-point inspection sheet.  The customer was informed that her front brakes were at 4-5  millimeters, and the recommended replacement level was 3 millimeters. You will also note that the middle column on the Multi-point inspection sheet is checked for her right front brake. The left column indicates a satisfactory situation, the middle column
indicates may require fu1iher attention and the right column indicates an issue requiring immediate action.  This was noted and provid ed to Ms. *** in writing after her service.

She next returned to the dealership on 8/14/ 15 at 122890 miles. She had traveled 8808 miles since her last service. She requested an "A" service which consists of an oil and filter change, topping off of certain fluids and a battery inspection.  Note that there is not a tire rotation or a brake inspection included with this less expensive maintenance service. Her receipt does not provide any brake measurements, and we informed the customer in writing on her Multi-point inspection form that brakes were not inspected on this visit.  If you look on the form on the right side the box is checked that no brake inspection was done.  If the customer had asked about the brakes we would have entered a line on our repair order instructing the technician to address hr concern.  Further, she signed the invoice acknowledging what services were performed and not performed on her vehicle.
Union Park Honda has not inspected Ms. ***'s brakes since 3/ 12/ 15, with her traveling a minimum of 8808 miles since then. I do not know how many miles are currentl y on the vehicle as it has been over 2 months since we have seen it. I do not know what is needed to repair her brakes, as she did not return the vehicle to Union park to inspect. I do know that $1000 for brakes pads and rotors is much more than we would charge to repair. As a side note, as brakes wear, there is a sensor that causes a high pitched squeal to emanate from them when applied. This squeal is a warning to the driver that the brakes are low and they should address thi s issue soon, otherwise there may be residual damage to the rotors, which appears to be what happened in this case. The customer is responsible for maintaining their vehicle and to address issues, like a squealing brake, in a timely
manner.  If they fail to do so, situations like this may occur.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at *************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The dealership argues that they inspected the brakes in Mar'15 but not in Aug'15, since the August visit was plan A which doesn't include brake.  Therefore, they should not be responsible. That's ill grounded argument.  As customers, we rely on their expert opinions on what needs to be serviced/updated. They check what needs to be done even if it's not included in the service plan.  That's called their courtesy mult-ipoint check-up, I believe.  It's common sense that you leave your car there and you'll expect a call from them discussing what work needs to be done, even if it is out of the plan as you walked in.  That's the normal way of dealership service.  What's more, we did ask how the brakes were doing specifically!  No warning was issued.  I wonder whether they feel they can tell all their customers that don't do such precaution checkup, and their customers are responsible of knowing what needs to be fixed/updated.

As soon as I heard the big noise when stepping on the brakes, we did take the car to the auto shop.  Please note it was only 4 weeks after the August visit.  When we took it to the service department of AutoSport Honda, the mechanic told us that brake pads should have been replaced months ago.

It's interesting that Union Park Honda challenges the cost of our repair.  I'm attaching the invoice for your information. 

We believe we are being good customers by trying to talk to Union Park Honda, and asking them to be only responsible for the rotors, which should have been avoided had they done their checkup job properly.  First, they did not return my calls regarding this issue. As a matter of fact, they never called me, even after seeing the BBB complaint. Second, they throw out arguments that don't pass common sense.  If they cannot solve this appropriately, we are ready to see it judged by the court.

 

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response:

Ms. *** states that the dealership should "check what needs to be done even if it's not included in the service plan, it's called the courtesy multi-point inspection". I must point out that we did perform a courtesy multi-point inspection on Ms. ***'s vehicle. We do not remove the wheels and check the tires and brakes on every multi-point inspection. That service is a separate stand alone procedure that we do charge for unless it is included in a larger maintenance service.  Ms. *** was asked to sign the work order and the final invoice, and neither had any mention of inspecting her brakes.  She either did not ask for this service, or declined to pay the cost of performing it. The multi-point inspction report she received clearly states we did not inspect brakes on this visit. I am truly sorry Ms. *** has had this issue with her car, but the customer is responsible for the maintenance and condition of her vehicle, not the dealership.

5/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached by the dealership to come out of my Buick lease early to negotiate a deal because of some national promotions. I was quoted a payment of $390 by the Finance Manager on a new Regal. This deal was satisfactory to me. Later the salesperson asked what color combination I wanted, and other features as they began to locate a car to match my quoted deal. The salesperson quoted the $390 payment and emailed me the quote 2 times before I drove to the dealership to take delivery of the new Regal. After we did a walk around with me wife and 14 year old son,we were excited to get the new car and leave our trade at the dealership. I went to the salesman desk to begin to finalize the deal. He told me the deal was now $419 per month. My family was disappointment. This was $30 more dollars that the agreement. The sales manager did not honor our original deal and was hoping I would take delivery at the new price. I expect the dealership to act in integrity and honor the $390 quoted payment by 2 of its sales people. I want integrity. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I simply want to take delivery of a Regal as promised. The deal was to take my Enclave in trade, pay it off and to take delivery of a new Regal with $500 as a down payment on a lease. Honesty and integrity are important!

Business Response: we have resolved issue. customer took delivery of a new Buick yesterday.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my car for adjustment to the headlights. The dealer determined that they could not adjust the headlights. When I pickup my car I noticed that the hood ornament is missing. I mention it to the service advisor who informs me that it must have fallen off when they washed the car (which I did not ask for). However, they refuse to replace the hood ornament, which by their own admission fell off while they had the car, and as a result of them washing the car. The loss of this part is direct result of their actions, but they refuse to rectify the situation by replacing the part.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of the the hood ornament and an apology.

Business Response: Tell us why here...I read *** ******'s account of what occurred on March 16, 2015 when he brought his BMW into our service department. After reading his account, I pulled the paper copy of his visit and discussed it with our service technician that actually worked onhis vehicle.  He informed me that there was no emblem on the front of the vehicle when he first received it for diagnosis, and before it was sent to the car wash. I am confident that Union Park was not in any way responsible for this emblem missingon the front of *** ******'s car. Irregardless, since the emblem is $35.00, I would be willing to provided this amount to the customer by company check for him to purchase a replacement emblem for his vehicle if the customer informs you that this will satisfy him. If he indicates that this is not sufficient, I reserve the right to rescind this goodwill offer. Please let me know his response. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased certified a pre-owned vechicle from Union Park Automotive Group on 31-May-2014. I noticed a noise the first week that I drove the car on the right side. On 20-Jun-2014, I took the car to be repaired. I was told by the Service Representative the noise on the right side of the car was due to a right rear disc brake dust shield that needed to be repositioned to increase clearance with the rotor. Less than 5 minutes after I left the service department, I heard the same noise and immediately called the service department to let the representative know the issue still persists. On 15-Jul-2014, I took the vehicle to the dealer ship to be serviced. I asked that a technician ride with me to observe the ride of the car and noise. both the mechanic and shop foreman test drove my vehicle and heard the noise, but but neither was able to diagnose the source of the noise I complained about. I was told to bring the car back if the noise worsened. I called the sales manager on or near 18-Jul-2014 to explain the issue; he indicated that he would contact me after he spoke with the Manager of the Service Department. I received an appointment for 18-Aug-2014.That afternoon at approximately 4:30 pm the service representative called to tell me that my car had been inspected and the noise I hear is “normal operating noise in the 2012 Volvo S60 and nothing can be done to eliminate it.” I asked if other 2012 Volvo S60s had been driven to confirm this to be true and was told yes.This was a problematic explanation because no one communicated this to me during the service appointment on 15-Jul-2014. Rather I was told the source of the noise could not be reproduced outside of the car, technical journals on concern were checked but nothing was found and the breather box was OK. On Saturday 23-Aug-2014 I went to the Union Park Volvo showroom explained my issue to the salesman and requested to test drive the same model 2012 Volvo S60 that I purchased. During the ride with saleman, I did not hear the same noise that I hear when driving my car. The Saleman explained my issue/complaint to the Sales Manager who stated“I will make this right and would like to offer to put you in another vehicle same year/make/model.” When you purchase a Kia, you expect to hear noise; you do not expect to hear noise when you purchase a Volvo.” The Salesmanager never follwed up with me and put me off when I was able to reach him. On 6-Sep-2014, i followed up with a letter to the owner of the Union Park Automotive Group ***** ********* **. We spoke a few times but we have not reached a resolution. The Volvo Field Service Engineer inspected my vehicle on 26-Sep-2014 and reported "this is a tonal resonance noise that occurs from many moving parts and is considered by Volvo to be a normal characteristic of the vehicle." However, the lead mechanic at union Park Volvo Service could not find the origin and never heard of the noise I complained about prior to servicing my car. There was no mention of this normal characteristic “low resonance” noise in the owner’s manual, or from the sales agent at the time of purchase. Also, the noise is not consistently heard in all Volvo S60 models. I spoke with *** ********* on 24-Oct-2014 and went to the dealership on 25-Oct-2014 to look at another car for a possible trade. The vehicle that was offered was not comprable to my car. I sent another letter to *** ********* dated 30-Oct-2014 explaining my dissatifaction with the lack luster response to resolving my complaint. *** ********* responded to me via email on 4-Nov-2014 stating that he will try to come up with a scenario that will work for me but he can't but a time on it. There has been no further communication with or from *** *********.

Desired Settlement: It has been 6 months since i purchased the car and filed a complaint with the dealership; there does not appear to be any urgency to resolve my complaint. I thought I was purchasing a certified pre-owned car without any defects. The dealer states the car is not defective however, I have concerns about the safety of the vehicle. I drive 100 miles round-trip daily to and from work and do not feel safe in the car I purchased from the Union Park Automotive Group. Additionally, the nocie I hear in my car is not heard in all Volvo S60 models. I want a replacement vehicle - same year, make and model of what I initally purchased minus the noise.

Business Response: The original complaint was evaluated by a Volvo Cars North America field technician. The audible operation of the vehicle was determined to be normal. We understand that **** ********** is not satisfied with that determination. We are actively looking for a "like" vehicle for **** ********** to consider trading in to. 

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2009 BMW in for service( wheel change from winter wheels to summer wheels). I brought car in around 8:15. When I picked the car up later in the afternoon, the very first thing I noticed was there was a distortion on the windshield. This distortion did not exist prior. This distortion causes the car to be a danger to drive. Immediately upon seeing this distortion, I alerted the service manager ********* ********* who did absolutely nothing except say" oh that's cosmetic, not dangerous to drive", and brushed off my complaint. The dealer refused to help and kept on insisting this existed prior. I explained that if it was there before I would have brought the car in for derive, I couldn't drive the car like that. They would not listen though and refused to take responsibility. I contacted the owner of the dealer who just referred me to Jerry Husbands who refused to help. I was treated so badly here and forced to drive my car in this dangerous state. I escalated my case to BMWNA and they pretty much stay uninvolved and just assign a low level customer rep to the case. This low level person calls the dealer, dealer denies any wrong doing, case is closed. I have no hope of a resolution. This dealer worsted something on my windshield it appears, this distortion did not exist before. This dealer has refused responsibility and now I am faced with having to pay for this repair myself because every day I am taking my life in my hands driving it. I am a long tern BMW customer, spent well over $100,000 on cars with them, never ever had a complaint, never late with my okay menus, yet I m treated this way. I want BMW union park or North America to replace my windshield because they ruined it. I've tried contacting everyone about this and keep getting shifted from person to person with no resolution.

Business Response:

*** ***** brought her car to Union Park BMW on 5/12/14 to have her wheels swapped.  When she came to pick up her vehicle, she informed our employee that there was a "distortion" in her windshield glass.  Although our employee did not see this, we sent her car to our Auto Spa to have the glass cleaned.  After inspection, we determiined that there is some sort of very fine chemical fallout or residue that was adhering to a part of her windshield.  We did attempt to clean it off for her, but whatever it is, it is very hard and appears to have been there for some time.  *** ***** called me and accused Union Park of spraying something on her windshield glass while it was at our dealership for service.  I explained to her that was impossible, as the chemical residue pattern appears to have been applied by driving down the road behind another vehicle that was leaking/spewing this substance behind it.  I advised her to contact her insurance company and have her windshield replaced under her comprehensive coverage.

I am truly sorry that *** ***** has this issue with her vehicle.  We did attempt to help her by trying to clean this substance off of her windshield.  However, faced with the evidence we have, there is no way this chemical/residue was acquired while at our dealership. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.  Thank you


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have my car now with an independent BMW collision specialist and they believe something was sprayed WHILE car was being serviced, and the spray was not properly rinsed. the car was then left to bake in the sun thus causing the problem. I am not an aggressive driver nor do i drive anywhere near other cars ever, so the dealerships view is inaccurate and presumptuous. The windshield was fine when i brought it in, it was not fine when i picked it up. Simple as that. 

 

 

 

 

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our Volvo used from Union Park Volvo. The car died last week. It was still under the warranty we purchased from Volvo. We sent it to Union Street Volvo Service Dept. for repairs. It turned out to be a faulty alternator. The faulty alternator destroyed the battery. Volvo called the warranty company they sold us. They said the alternator would be covered. However, the warranty company would not cover the cost of replacing the battery that needed to be replaced because of the faulty alternator. The warranty company would also not cover the cost of the services Volvo charges to put the new alternator in the car or the new battery. Furthermore, they would not reimburse us for towing eventhough it says directly in our contract that they will pay $75 reimbursement per tow and $100 per tow back to Volvo, as our selling dealer. In short, we paid for a $2000 warranty by Master TEch from Union Park Volvo. We were told at the time Master Tech was great and that if there were any problems, Volvo was used to dealing with them and would take care of anything that would go wrong w/ the car during our first two years of dealership. Hence, we paid the huge cost of purchasing the warranty. Now, under two years later, we come to find that not only does the warranty fail to include the costs affiliated with parts dying in the Volvo (because Volvo representative Pete tells us Volvo charges insane rates and the warranty company refuses to deal with rates that high), but that they will also not cover the cost of the battery which was damaged as a direct result of the alternator dying. Tomorrow, Volvo will have had our car for 7 days. Today (day 6) I called to see the status of the vehicle. noon: I was told the vehicle was being worked on currently and should be ready by the end of the day. 3:00 told the vehicle had not been looked at yet and first rep had lied and at best would be done by tomorrow. End costs to us: $580 Volvo/ $260 towing. not happy. bad business practices. unfair pricing. dishonesty.

Desired Settlement: Volvo to honor contract they sold to us for $2000.00. towing should be covered 100%, battery that died as result of faulty alternator should be covered absolutely, we should not be charged several hundreds of dollars for putting in new alternator on top of what warranty is covering because they wont pay Volvo's insane prices; car should not have sat for 7 days; if Volvo sells bad policies, they should stand behind them. we paid several thousands of dollars for complete coverge.

Business Response:

Customer purchased vehicle used on 12/31/12. At the same time, the customer purchased an extended warranty administered by MasterTech, signed the warranty acceptance form and was provided a copy of the policy and all items covered and not covered. The part that failed on the vehicle is the alternator, which is a covered component.  The battery also tests faulty, but is not a covered component as stated in the extended warranty.  The extended warranty additionally states it will cover towing expenses up to $75. 

Union Park has agreed to replace the alternator according to MasterTech's time allowance, therefore *** ****** does not have to pay any additional fee for this repair.  She has agreed to pay for a new battery ($256.14 installed) and a required $50 repair deductible, for a total of $306.14.  Union Park has supplied MasterTech with copies of the customer's tow bills, and they will reimburse the customer $75 directly to them.   

These actions are all in direct line with the extended warrranty that the customer purchased. Copies of the customer's extended warranty are available upon request.

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: so many problems, from onappropriate comments, to refusal of repairs, to refusal to swap out vehicle as direscted by BBB. I now cannot recieve a response from the sales manager nor the owner to confirm transfer of title of my traded in vehicle.

Desired Settlement: not sure what settlement should be. i definitely need confirmation oh titile transfer as i am getting emails from the DMV regarding registration. if i could make them pay me for all the time, travel , inconvienience and aggrievation they have caused me for a year now, i so would !

Business Response: Shortly after *** ******* traded in her vehicle, we provided to DMV notice that *** ******* no longer owned the vehicle.  DMV may have a delay in updating their system.  Thank you. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my BMW to Union Park Collision Center to be fixed. When i picked up my car 3 days later, my gift cards which were worth $200 were stolen. I immediately informed the business, however the response that i got was things get stolen all the time, i should have removed the items beforehand. They were in the center console and the technician and cleaning person had no reason to go in there.

Desired Settlement: I just want to get my losses back. I provide them with the business and they steal my belongings. This is not fair!

Business Response:

I am very sorry that this situation exists with *** ***** regarding  his gift cards.  We have been in business for over 55 years, and Union Park has a very strict policy we follow when customers bring their cars in for repair work.  We have all customers sign a document when they drop off their vehicle.  This document states "I authorize the repair work to be done by you, and you are not responsible for loss or damage to the above vehicle, or articles left therein, in case of fire or theft or other cause beyond your control." This document is for the protection of both the customer and the dealership.  *** ***** dropped off his vehicle at our collision center and he did sign this document.  

We want the customer to remove anything of value to eliminate any question of missing items.  I have worked here since 1982, and there are many times when a customer has accussed the dealership of taking something, only to find out it was simply misplaced and was found later.  There is also an unsavory element that blatently attempts to profit from false accusations of theft in the hopes Union Park will simply agree to reimburse them in the interest of customer satisfaction.  We investigated the situation surrounding *** ******* vehicle and found no evidence that anyone searched or removed any items from it. This is always an unpleasant and unfortunate situation when it occurs, and very difficult to settle, as we simply do not know what items were or were not present.  However, based on all facts before us, including *** ******* acceptance of Union Park's repair policy, we are unable to refund him for the alleged gift cards.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Thank you for your 55 years of service in the industry. I can see Union Park has incredible HR in place that can select people for the appropriate positions so those employee can accuse the customers of committing fraud. I do not need your service and i do not need the $200 worth of stolen items. However, i need better business in place. You showed me one more time that the customer means nothing to you. I would like to wish you another 55 years in the business but it is really hard with this customer service. I know the paper that i signed and you are a really good customer representative to tell me that i really want to squeeze $200 out of Union Park when i leave my $20,ooo worth of car to your hands. You have really good judgement on that matter. Thank you for putting your best in class customer service in words here as a proof to show that what kind of service people should expect from Union Park when they want to take their cars in for service.

I appreciate your time and wish you take "101 How to treat customers"  class  somewhere.


 

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I drop my car off at Union Park Jaguar for servicing issues on 08/19/2013. Per ***** ********, the cost of my repair would exceed the value of my car so he decided not to fix the car. On 08/20/13, ***** approve for my car to be towed to B and F towing as an abandon car without my knowledge. My car has been with B and F since 08/20/13 and I was not aware of such action taken by Union Park Jaguar until I received a notice from B and F Towing 09/27/13. I returned back to Union Park Jaguar to get the detail of my car and was advised to speak to *** ********* *** ******** attempted to brush me off as if I didnt pay for my car and like I didn't have any concerns at all. I advised ** ******** no one from his office contacted back after I dropped my car off to be serviced. I asked to speak to ** ******** manager and he advised me that he is the boss of the office and he is the one that pay his employees and he also has the final say so on all issues. He advised me that no one else in Union Park Jaguar would be able to address my issue but him. My car is still not fixed and now I have over $2000 worth of storage fee because ** ******* decided not to fix my car and approved for my car to be towed away. ** ******** advised that some from his office attempted to contact me, but he had no records of file with time and date the contact was attempted. I love my car, this car has been in our family for years. It was a car given to me from my dad a couple months before he passed away so it's near and dear to my heart.

Desired Settlement: I was not contacted by a member of Union Park Jaguar regarding ** ******** decision not to fix my car like I intended. I feel it's Union Park Jaguar reponsiblity to pay B and F towing fees and storage fee.

Business Response:

*** ******* called Union Park on 8/11/13 stating he was having his 2001 Jaguar towed in, stating it simply shut off while driving.  It arrived at Union Park Jaguar service on 8/12/13.  Our technician opened the hood and discovered a large hole in the side of the engine.
The engine was unrepairable. The service manager, ***** ********* called *** ******* that day and explained to him that the engine was destroyed, and the vehicle was unrepairable, as it would require at minimum a new engine and we were not going to work on the car, as it had essentially no value.  We did not even open a repair order on the car, as we declined to perform any work on it.  He was advised to have the vehicle removed from our dealership.  ***** attemped to call him every day on his cell phone, and after the second day he kept getting messages that the customer's voicemail was full.  After sitting on our lot for over a week, with no contact at all from *** *******, no response to our phone calls, no signed authorization to do anything to the vehicle, taking up a customer parking area, and presenting Union Park with a potential liability issue, we determined that *** ******* had abandoned his vehicle.  We called B&F Towing and had them removed *** ********* Jaguar.  They apparently sen* *** ******* a registered letter which he refused to sign and accept.  According to the owner of B&F, ***** ********** *** ******* visited B&F's location in an attempt to find out what the letter said.  Finally, he signed for the letter and realized his car had been towed to their location and they were attempting to collect their fees as well as storage charges.  *** ******* visited the dealership and met with myself to discuss his situation. Our position is clear - no contact from customer ever after the inital call from our service manager, therefore the car was abandoned.  *** ******* admitted to me that he had not attempted to contact Union Park in over 6 weeks, and the only reason he did at this point was the receipt of the letter from B&F Towing.

Nevertheless, I contacted ***** at B&F today, and he agreed to release *** ********* vehicle without him paying the $2000 storage fee. *** ******* merely has to pay the tow bill plus the legal processing charges (totalling $186.00) and he can tow his vehicle from their storage lot.  Since they stored his car there for over 5 weeks, this was a very kind gesture on their part.  I have attempted to contact *** ******** but have not been able to do so.  I did leave him a voicemail asking him to call me.  In lieu of the circumstances, I believe that this opportunity to pay $186 to retrieve his car is a tremendous discount from the original $2000 charge.  Either way, Union Park has made a fair and honest gesture to help the customer with his current situation.  If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me * *************  *Thank you.

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please be advise that I was referred to Union park BMW dealership by my daughter in July of 2012. I then purchase a BMW X3 2005 which at this timeI brought the BMW X at 53,728 Miles. Now it a 58,885 Miles I bearly drive it. so, a Month later I started having leakage problems in the front and the back of the truck. They really didn't know where the leakage was coming from at the time. so they check the sun roof, but I was still having the same problem from day one of service. I was advise ** *** the salesmen after I advised him of the problem that I should park my car a certain way to avoid problems, what could of advise is that to tell your customer for a car thats worth $22,418.00. all I want is justice for themto correct the problem that was never corrected. now that trying to say that it is another problem and that I have to pay for the problem. Are they for real. it should of not be leaking in the first place from allthe time, I took it back for service over 4 times and nothing was corrected. so how could this be another problem from the leakage. Pleasehelp..your support is needed dearly. Wrong is Wrong!! it do not take a blind man to see what the problem was. I look forward to your response.greatfully, 

Desired Settlement: sense the repair was never corrected from day one. due to the fact the Union Park could never fine out where the water was coming from and had advise me that they had check everything over entirely. but the problemkept on proceeding. so, therefore, they was not sure where the leakage wascoming from. this was and on going situation from the being of my service.so you see, how could they say that this is a new problem. I just want thiscorrect, sense they never corrected in the first place.

Business Response:

*** ***** purchased a used 2005 BMW X3 from Union Park BMW on 8/2/12.  She returned to Union Park one month later on 9/6/12 stating there was water on the R/F passenger floor.  We determined that the drains for the water around the sunroof were clogged with tree droppings (leaves, twigs, seeds) that were keeping the water from draining.  Although this is not a defect in the vehicle, Union park cleaned the drains at no charge.  We also noticed that the sunroof gasket was not fitting properly as the customer pointed out.  We ordered a new gasket and *** ***** returned on 9/14/12 and we installed the new gasket, also at no charge.  *** ***** then returned on 9/25/12 stating there was water on the right front floor again.  We water tested the vehicle multiple times and checked the sunroof gasket and drains; we found no leaks anywhere.  We returned her vehicle to her.

*** ***** then came to Union Park on 6/12/13 stating there was water in the R/R floor area.  We water tested the vehicle and found that the water barriers in the right rear and left front door behind the door panels were worn and allowing water to pass into the vehicle.  At this point these barriers are not covered by the extended warranty that the customer purchased.   We provided an estimate to replace the faulty barriers of approximately $590.00 but the customer declined the repair. 

I am sorry that *** ***** has a current problem with her vehicle.  However, the leak she is experiencing now (2 vapor barriers leaking) is completely different than the original leak (sunroof drains and gasket).  Union Park originally offered a 30 day/1000 mile limited warranty on *** ******* vehicle which is now expired.  Although part of the original concern was not defect related (debris in sunroof drains), we covered all costs when the problem originated.  At this point, after owning the vehicle for 10 months, there is no longer any Union Park warranty on her vehicle and she would be responsible for the repairs.  As a side note, we did attempt in good faith to discuss and explain this issue in greater detail with *** *****, but frankly she was extremely unhappy and expressed her feelings to us both verbally and in a letter.  She also contacted *** ** ***** ******* and informed them that we were not being forthright with her and stated she would never return to our dealership and would be usiing another BMW dealership in New Jersey that is much closer to her.  Again, I am sorry she has this issue, but at this point the repairs would be her responsibility.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you.

 

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Union Park Automotive Group, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)