This business is not BBB accredited.

Townsend Bros. Chevrolet

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 674-0100 Fax: (302) 674-8131 View Additional Phone Numbers 1450 South DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901 http://www.townsendchevy.com ! There is an alert on Townsend Bros. Chevrolet !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Townsend Bros. Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1930 in DE Business incorporated 10/24/1960 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffery S. Townsend, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffery S. Townsend, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Townsend Brothers, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1450 South DuPont Highway

    Dover, DE 19901 (302) 674-0100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P. O. Drawer J

    Dover, DE 19903 (302) 674-0100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 6th I called Townsend Brothers to ask if my quote I had gotten for my tires was still valid. I spoke with **** she asked who gave it me so I told her I got on December 23rd when I had my oil changed. She put me on a brief hold and came back and said yes. I told her I had a buldge on one of the tires she said "oh my it's ready to blow" I said yes and it's our only car right now she then said "I will get these asap latest next Monday I will call you as soon as I find out when there are coming in". Well on Wednesday January 13th I called back to check on status of things. The gentleman I spoke with pulled up my "quote " and said "oh you wanted them ordered" I said yes. He said he was printing it and leaving it for **** she was on lunch. By the time my other half got off work he asked if I heard anything I said no. He then called her back she said she would have them by the next afternoon. He asked her if we would have tires on by Friday she said yes. I dropped my car off Friday morning and picked it up went back to work less then a mile away. When I left work noticed the tires didn't look new so I took pictures and found my rim had been chipped! The service department was closed so I drove home and noticed my car pulls to the right! They also did an alignment and it never pulled before they did the alignment!! I am convinced that they pulled tires of another car because **** forgot to order them. I am LIVID this car is our baby. We have always trusted them with our car now it makes us question ALL the services we have had done there. We really thought they were different!! I did contact them by email on January 16th my other half received a call from *** ****** saying he would check into it and call him back Monday 18th. So here we are a week later no one has contacted us!! This is ridiculous what happened to customer service?

Desired Settlement: They should contact us and resolve this issue. I would say new tires (like I paid for) alignment and my rim fixed but now I just don't trust them!

Business Response: I am writing you concerning the issue with the tires for **** * **********. I am sorry for not responding sooner but we are still trying to address the issue with ****. We have been in contact with her twice by phone and have tried to schedule a time for **** to come and see us. We have told her if we have done something wrong, broke,or tore something up we will make it good. We initially thought she was going to come right in after the first contact February 1 but she has incurred some personal issues which needed to be taken care of. When we had not heard from her we re-contacted her again on February 9th and she told us about her issues and she said she would be in as soon as she could. So at present we are just in a holding pattern waiting for her to come but I thought I needed to let you know where we stood so you could update your records

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in the process of purchasing a vehicle. I told the salesperson that I have already obtained credit with my credit union. He proceeded to ask me questions about the rate and the length of time of the loan. I said I do not wish to deal with anyone other than my credit union because I can have payment taken directly out of my paycheck. He told me that he could pull my application up in their system because they have direct contact with the lenders and I would be able to take the vehicle home that day. I asked, does that involve you running my credit because I've already obtained credit and I do not want my credit ran again. He said they would not run my credit; they would just pull up my application from their system because they have a direct link with the lender. I said as long as my credit is not run again because I do not want another inquiry on my credit record. He assured me that that was not the case, my credit would not be ran. I said okay. As I was waiting to finalize the sell, I get an an email alert from credit karma that a new inquiry had just posted to my credit profile. It was from Townsend Brothers. When I approached the salesmen with the information, he denied running my credit and I told him that yes you did; I just received an alert that you did and he continued to deny it even though I had the information in front of him. I tried calling to speak to the sales manager and have not received a return call back. I want this inquiry removed from my credit record and a record of the unfair practices on file.

Desired Settlement: Credit Inquiry removed from my credit report.

Business Response: We have contacted ***** **** and apologized for running her credit information even though
we  had  a signed  credit application.  Somehow there was a breakdown in communication
between our salesperson and the finance office. The finance office had a signed application and ran it without knowing that they were not to run it. It was run to try and determine where the best place to get financing for *****. It was not run for any other reason. We have talked to ***** and have sent an email outlining what needs to be done for us to get this inquiry off her report. Unfortunately we have not heard back from her since the first contact so if you talk to her please ask her to call and ask for *** ****** who will be glad to work with to handle this situation. He can be reached at *************

Again we apologize for the problem,


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 19 my wife started our cobalt by the remote starter and took our daughter to daycare. She then took our Chevrolet Cobalt to Townsend Brothers for the ignition switch recall by Chevrolet. My wife dropped off the car and current keys. They told her it would be fixed in 1 1/2 to 2 hours. 5 hours later we got a call stating that the car was finished. We picked up the car and drove it home. We did not need the car the next two days so it sat in our driveway. On the 3rd day she went to start the car using the remote starter and it clicked then set off the alarm. The car needed to be jumped to start. The following day she again tried using the remote starter and once again it clicked, set off the alarm and needed to be jumped. On Tuesday my wife called Townsend Brothers who told us that the remote starter had NOTHING to do with changing the ignition switch and was hung up on. She then contacted Chevrolet as myself and my father contacted Townsend Brothers. On Friday she called them back and spoke to ***, he stated he left messages on our phones but we did not have any messages from them. He asked her to bring it in that afternoon and she agreed and said she would bring it in on her lunch break. She left work at 12:15 p.m. to go there and was told service closes from 12-1 p.m. So I took the car back up there and spoke to the service manager. He looked at my remote and said Oh yes thats an aftermarket remote starter and when we disconnect the battery it resets the alarm and makes it unusable (something we were not told!) but that if we could find out who the starter is made by they could recode it. So we came home and went through the car and found the box so I called them back. Once again I was told that there was nothing they were going to do about it and they would not fix it. Friday, July 4th I went to use the car and it was TOTALLY dead! The battery was totally fried because the remote starter kept trying to come on. So on Saturday we once again contacted Townsend Brothers who told us that we could pay to have the car towed there and they would bill us when it was fixed!!! I went up there to speak to the sales manager and was told he was not there and that they did not have time to talk to me so I would just have to deal with the issues of the car! The issues that were not there when we took it in for a supposed simple recall. Sunday I had to go buy a new battery ($130.00) to at least get the car working so that my wife could go to work and get our 2 small children to daycare. I have spoken to a local place that deals with remote starters and was told they can diagnose the car ($70.00) and if they could find the codes they would reset it ($60.00). We rely heavily on the remote starter because of the two small children. But to be told they will do nothing and in the end I will be out at least $260.00 is ridiculous!! A warning would have been nice!!

Desired Settlement: I want this resolved and to be reimbursed for the money that I will be out to fix this problem!!

Business Response: I have read the complaint and agree with the customer to refund them $260.00 for the problem. have attached a copy of the letter and the check for your records. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Townsend Bros. Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)