BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Delaware Serving New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that i.g. Burton Chrysler Dodge Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for i.g. Burton Chrysler Dodge Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on i.g. Burton Chrysler Dodge Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 23, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1908 in DE Business incorporated: 01/04/1965 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Burton, President Mr. Pete Renzi, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Burton, President
Principal: Mr. Pete Renzi, Director of Operations
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS


Additional Locations

  • 605 Bay Road

    Milford, DE 19963 (302) 424-3041

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (302) 839-0077 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
  • - Mobile Phone SMS
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my brakes, rotors, and a rear caliper replaced in 7/2013 @ ig burton (almost $1100). I continued to have problem with the brakes sticking and burning. I made repeated calls regarding the problem. I received no response. I had Holden Dodge look at the brakes and was told that it was the caliper and that IG Burton had put new brakes/rotors on badly worn calipers. Since the brakes/rotors were still under warranty, I went back to IG Burton. IG Burton then stated after seeing the note from Holden Dodge that my caliper was causing the problem. I stated to them that when I originally brought my vehicle in for the repair that something was causing the brakes to wear down quickly and that I was told that whoever put the brakes on did not know what they were doing. I stated to them that the caliper should have been replaced initially instead of having repeat work done. IG Burton wanted to again charge me for brakes/rotors. Finally, it was agreed that I would pay for the caliper. I did not feel that I should have had to pay for the full amount of labor because the work should have been a part of the original order. I was told that the part would be there later that day and I left my vehicle. Steve also told me that I needed tires. I told him that I could afford that tires at that time because I had had a major flood in my home (1st and 2nd floor plumbing issue). I told him that the plumber was coming the following day and I was not sure of the price. I told him that he could check on the prices and I would inform him the following day if I could afford the tires. I called IG Burton (Steve) later that day (while at work) and inquired if my vehicle was ready for pickup. He stated no, he thought we were stretching out the time. I ask him for what purpose, and he stated the repair was not completed. He called the next day and told me that my total repair was over $1700. I stated to him that I only authorized the caliper repair. He stated that he put 4 new tires on my vehicle. I informed him that he would have to remove the tires because I was did not authorize. I went to pick up my vehicle around 11 am and he once again told me I needed to pay $1700 and that an alignment was also done on my truck. He refused to remove the tires and refused to adjust my bill for unauthorized services. Another servce writer (Linda Hammond) intervened and told him to take the tires off. Since an alignment was already done, I paid to leave the 2 front tires on because it would have cause a safety issue to put the other tires back on. The dealer gave me a courtesy vehicle because I had to leave my vehicle in order to take the tires off. I came back after work around 5pm and picked up my vehicle. It was making a loud roaring noise. I had to pick up my grandson. I called IG Burton back and told them about the problem. I did not have this problem prior to taking my vehicle there, nor did Holden Dodge indicate this problem. IG Burton informs me that it is a wheel bearing, I had to pay almost $400 to fix this problem. My vehicle is still making the roaring noise. I have to again leave work and take my vehicle back today (5/9/14) to see what is causing the problem. So far I have spent $1100 plus the original $1100 to fix my vehicle. I believe the new problems are a direct result of my refusal to pay for authorized services and goods. I can not afford to go to Holden Dodge because even though the goods are warranteed with IG Burton, I will have to pay for good and labor again with Holden Dodge. I do not want to continue to go to IG Burton. I need my vehicle for work. I work for the State of Delaware and am expected to be at work everyday.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the money spent so that I may go to Holden Dodge and have my vehicle repaired correctly. Holden Dodge has always been the dealer to service my vehicle and I never had any problems with repairs. The only reason I initially went to IG Burton was because I live close to Milford and the brakes were in terrible shape because they were sticking.

Business Response: We meet with customer on Friday 5/9 prior to this complaint. .  She went thru repairs , we gave full explanation. .Her complaint is of a road noise. .. We showed her it is the tires that are completly worn out and unsafe. . She said okay and left. .

In July 2013 Customer brought vehicle in for brake issues. .  She said LEFT REAR Wheel was smoking. .  We replaced brake pads and rotors on the rear axle and The left rear caliper on the rear axle. .  We also replaced the front brake pads and rotors due to they were worn. .

Customer returned 13,000 miles and 9 months later..  complaining that another dealer said the Front Brake caliber was bad and brakes worn. .  We replace the front brake at NO CHARGE to customer. . Customer only paid for Left Front Brake caliper. .. it was functioning properly 13,000 miles and 9 months ago.. 

There is some disagreement on customer authorizing tires. . She said she did not , so we removed two of the 4 tires did not charge customer for mountin and balancing tires, did not charge customer for alignment,  Only charge customer paid for was 2 tires only .. All 4 tires were extremely worn out and unsafe at the time. .

Customer returned with a noise in the front of the vehicle. .  We diagnosed the Left front Wheel bearing was bad. . This was more than like due to the Left Front Caliber had caused the excessive heat build up and damaged the wheel bearings. . Customer paid for these repairs. .

Customer returned again this past Friday 5/9 and complained of road noise. .   We were able to determine that the two remaining tires that are worn out with cords showing need to be replaced. ..  This is causign the noise. .

At this time we have refunded all monies due to customer. .  No further refund is due to customer. .

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

In response to IG Burton. I went to IG Burton again on 5/9/14 and informed them of the noise from the front end. When driving or braking.  Eric (service manager) said they did a test run and could not hear the noise.  I was asked to ride with the technician who said he could not hear the noise.  The technician asked me where I drove my vehicle and I stated mostly in Dover or Camden, he then replied that Dover has alot of asphalt and that could be the noise that I am hearing.  He stated it could be the tires that I am hearing on the road.  I was so frustrated because it should not matter if the road is paved or asphalt, I should not hear the roaring noise.  This is the same as the other noise (when the wheel bearing suddenly when bad) but not as loud. 

 

In IG Burton's response they indicated bad tires were causing the noise, which is ironic since I was forced to purchase new tires on the front where the noise is coming from.

 

IG Burton also stated that "At this time we have refunded all monies due to customer. . No further refund is due to customer. ."  I have not received any monies from IG Burton.

 

Thanks for your time,

 

Business Response:

We have left multiple messages and emails for customer to contact us to try to resolve. .No response from customer.  Further action will require customer to speak to me in attempt to resolve. .

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 27, 2013, my Son, ********* ** ******* and I purchased a 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier from i.g. Burton, Milford, DE. It was a used vehicle and sold in "as is" condition; however, we just found out on Wednesday, November 27, 2013, that is was sold to us with safety hazards. The car is used mainly for my Son to go to local stores and/or Church. It is not used for work and had been used very little in the four months since we purchased the car. The car had been maintained for several years at Meineke in Lewes, we were shown a check list that everything was inspected and repaired for sale and also a good car Fax. We took the car to Meineke for an oil change and tire rotation on November 27 and asked for the brakes to be checked because there was a grinding noise. Upon checking brakes, the mechanic at Meineke told us that the front brakes were new, however, the back brakes were bare and the drums were so worn also they needed to be replaced. They also found that the Serpentine (main) belt was cracked in several places. We were totally shocked as the mechanic confirmed that this could not have happened in four months and agreed that the car was sold to us with these defects. We would like to have our $400.00 refunded to us that we paid for the brakes, drums and belt. I did call the salesman at Burton Monday, December 2, to let him know that the car was sold to us with safety hazards. He asked since we had it fixed, why was I calling him. He further said I should have called from Meineke and i.g. Burton would have towed the car and fixed it and loaned us a car for our trip if necessary. Since it was sold "as is" and we had been told upon purchase that nothing would be covered, we felt we had no option but to have Meineke fix the car. We would not drive it all the way back to Millsboro, DE in an unsafe condition. We do feel that the brakes, drums and belt should have been replaced before selling us the car (as the checklist showed all was done and safe) and not in an unsafe condition.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have the $400.00 we paid for the back brakes, drums and Serpentine belt refunded to us.

Business Response:

I contacted the customer and offered to pay half of her bill. .> She has accpeted the offer. . 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pre-owned 2008 Jeep Compass from I. G. Burton of Milford, DE in July, 2013. At the first heavy rain, my sun roof started to leak causing puddles of water to fill my dome lights and leaked into the interior of my Jeep. I took the Jeep to the service department for repair within my warranty period and they said they fixed it. The next heavy rain it happened again so I contacted the service department once more. The service manager told me they had fixed the problem and that I am now responsible for the costs to fix the problem. When I strongly disagreed, they offered to contact the manufacturer, Chrysler, who agreed to pay 1/2 of the cost of the repair. The service manager said that the other 1/2 would be my responsibility to pay since it was out of warranty now and they had fixed it, which clearly they did not as it continues to happen. I asked the service manager if Chrysler is willing to pay 1/2 to the dealership then why isn't the dealership willing to pay 1/2 to the consumer. Their response was it isn't their burden. Today, I received a voicemail from the service manager stating that the dealership would pay 1/2 of the 1/2 that Chrysler isn't paying and that 1/2 of the 1/2 is my responsibility. I called the service manager back to request he sent me via email what his voicemail stated and there was a long silence. He then said he would get back to me whether they would or would not provide me written explanation. I explained that I have rights and I'm trying to protect them. He said he will call me in a day or two. There is also a problem with a loud noise when the brakes are applied backing up and trouble with the vehicle hesitating when taking off from a stopped position (this is intermittment) both of these the dealership has said doesn't occur when they test it.

Desired Settlement: I either want these items to be repaired to satisfactory condition or I want the dealer to take this vehicle back and release me from my contract. Some of the dates may be incorrect as I don't have the paperwork in front of me.

Business Response:     Contacted Customer on 11/5/2103..  reviewed her complaint. ..  Customer vehicle 2008 Jeep is not under any manufactures warranty. .It has expired a long time ago.. Vehicle has 57,000 mile on it..   Vehicle is out of any warranty thru Dealership. .   NO warranty.. .  Dealership contacted Chrysler/Jeep manufacture and they offered GOOD WILL in form of paying 50% of the repairs. . with the customer participation of the other 50% ,.. Total repairs estimate approx $800.. .. customer portion $400.. >Customer refused offer. ..  Dealership then offered to pay half of customers portion leaving customer to pay $200 on an $800 repair...  Customer still refused offer..    I gave customer options yesterday. ..   1.  We will pay for repair and no cost to customer  or customer can pay her portion of repairs ...  2. Customer asked about vehicle returned and recieve money back..    I offered to Trade customer out of vehicle on another vehicle. .  

Up to customer to decide. .  We have dealt with customer in good faith and have given multiple options to resolve. .

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

 

Vehicle was purchased at the end of July, 2013 and the problem wasn’t obvious until the first big rain thereafter.  Took vehicle in for repair and dealer service stated they corrected the problem but did not as the next big rain the problem was still there.
 
I still don’t understand why the manufacturer (clearly having no warranty) agreed in GOOD WILL to cut the cost by ½ but the Dealer refused to do the same, thus, causing this complaint and dissatisfaction with the dealer.  Now, after the complaint has been filed will the Dealer pay ½ of the costs but stated to the Consumer “Don’t come back to see us”.  Really?  I didn’t refuse to pay ½ of the ½, I said I couldn’t afford it.
 
I stand firm on my complaint that this Dealer doesn’t offer good Consumer Service as I, the Consumer had to go to the dealership to retrieve my tags on the day the temporary tags expired.  I wasn’t notified that they were in.  When I first took the vehicle in for repair, I was treated less than favorable by their rep at the service counter.  I explained that I had pictures of the problem but was rudely dismissed.  When I agreed to leave my Jeep there for evaluation and repair(s), NO ONE ever called me to say how it was going or when I could pick it up.  It was there for two days and I, the Consumer had to call the Dealer to say I was coming to pick up my Jeep as I didn’t have other means of transportation.
 
With regard to getting into another vehicle, I was told by the Dealer that I could trade this one in, that it had already depreciated and I put miles on it; I bought the vehicle with 57,000 miles on it as the Dealer states and have only put 3,000 miles on it since date of purchase.  Dealer also stated I would need to apply again for credit on another vehicle which will have an effect on my credit.  I requested to be let out of the contract; not for the Dealer to reimburse me any money.
 
I’m currently reviewing my options with my attorney and will advise the Dealer of my decision once made.
 


 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1