BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

i.g. Burton is a franchised Auto Dealership group selling and servicing Chevrolet, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Sprinter, and Blue Bird School buses.   Company facilities are located in Milford and Seaford, Delaware, with Bus operations also in Maryland.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that i.g. Burton BMW and Mercedes Benz meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for i.g. Burton BMW and Mercedes Benz include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on i.g. Burton BMW and Mercedes Benz
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1908 in DE Business incorporated 01/04/1965 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Burton, President Mr. Pete Renzi, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Burton, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Pete Renzi, Director of Operations
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Products & Services

i.g. Burton BMW and Mercedes Benz sells the following brand(s): Blue Bird, BMW, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Mercedes-Benz, Ram, Sprinter

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Certified Check, Most major credit cards.
Alternate Business Names
i.g. Burton Bus and Truck Milford i.g. Burton Chevrolet Milford i.g. Burton Chevrolet Seaford i.g. Burton Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram i.g. Burton Collision Center

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I bought my pre-owned vehicle from IG Burton it was advertised as "Certified Pre-Owned'. I had asked if the vehicle had been in any accidents or any history of damage or problems. I was told that it was a well kept vehicle from one owner that they had a good relationship with and there were no issues with the vehicle. About a month after purchasing the vehicle I took it in for service because I could feel it veering to the right when I would drive. Their response to that was that it was fine and that the tires/alignment were in order. So I continue to drive my vehicle for the next few months. Service time was due again and the same issues I said it was veering to the right so they came back and gave me an estimate of $2300.00 because I needed to have the tires replaced. Plus another $1,000. and some odd change to replace a gasket where oil was leaking. I declined to get the service that day because I had bought a warranty that was to cover any gasket issues like that and my tires clearly were not bald at that time. They still charged me around $300 because 'they needed to pay the hourly rate to the laborers" The service guy told me I didn't have a warranty and when I showed him proof that I did he then tells me, " Oh I doesn't show in our computers when you buy an extended service warranty" So they're the Service Department, but they don't have service warranties on file ??? Two months go by and I decide that I want to trade it in....I take it in and they decide they want to only give me $16k because it was showing odometer issues and a front end collision. I clearly had no collision and I was told there were no prior accidents to buying this vehicle. The sales manager told me well "it showed up on Car Fax a month after you purchased it, so there's nothing we can do about it." Now that explains where the front end veering issures that I kept complaining about came from. I asked for all of my service paperwork of where it says what the owner wants done, but again he had no history of that in his computer. So my next thing was I asked him if I were to trade it at his dealership could he do any better. He came up to $17,500 because "he felt bad they put me through the trouble" I still was not satisfied with that outcome since I still owed $24k on the vehicle. Another month goes by and I get a hold of someone with Carfax they tell me that the odometer issues were a mistake and removed that from the vehicles history, but the accident was true. I call the sales manager at BMW and ask him again what he could do for me to get me out of this vehicle into something that wasn't having issues around the same car payment his response was "Miss I told you once before it's not my problem. You need to take it up with Carfax"

Desired Settlement: So they sold me a car that they advertised as "certified" with no accident history and since that was false I expect them to buy back this car for what they sold it to me for minus the miles that I put on the vehicle. I have bought two other cars with them...one from Mercedes and one from the BMW plus the car that I am having issues with. They need to make it right.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******** purchased a pre owned 2011 BMW X5 on 3/31/14.  At the time it had 72873 miles on it.

It was NEVER advertised or market as a Certified Pre Owned vehicle.  This vehicle was ineligible for certification due to miles.  Attached is documentation from the deal paperwork where Mrs. ******** signed it was sold “AS-IS” NO warranty. .  This was fully disclosed and Mrs. ******** signed acknowledging the fact. 

We had no knowledge of the vehicle Mrs. ******** purchased was involved in an accident.  Carfax is a third party company that provides vehicle history reports.  We have no control on what they report or corrections.

Last time we looked at the vehicle it had excess of 90,000 miles.  Considering the vehicle has now been owned by customer for almost 2 years and 20,000 miles later there would be considerable depreciation in value from the purchase price.   The market determines the trade value. In October 2015 we met with Mrs. ******** and offered to purchase her X5 for $17500.   Attached is copy of Kelly Blue Book Value for her vehicle for a range on the value of the vehicle today. This gives a range of trade in values. Accident history is not a factor in this evaluation.

The values and determination that previous accidents hurt the value on her car where not the opinions or words of IG Burton and Company. Mrs ******** was at another dealership who made those statements.

To resolve the matter we would be willing to appraise Mrs ********’s BMW and offer a fair market value trade or purchase.  Amount owed on the X5 has no correlation with appraisal. Mrs. ******** may owe more than the vehicle is worth.  


Let us know if this is agreeable and I will make arrangements for appraisal of the vehicle .

Sincerely

**** *****

Director Operations

IG Burton and Company, Inc.

12/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on i.g. Burton BMW and Mercedes Benz
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart