BBB Accredited Business since

Sheridan Auto Body

Phone: (302) 998-2911 Fax: (302) 998-9969 10 S. DuPont Road, Wilmington, DE 19805 http://www.sheridanautogroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheridan Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheridan Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sheridan Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Sheridan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Sheridan, President
Business Category

AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 10 S. DuPont Road

    Wilmington, DE 19805 (302) 998-2911

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was hit on March 16, 2015. I chose Sheridan Auto Body to fix the car which everyone said was a 30-day fix. After hearing that some of the parts had been on back-order, I didn't start calling to ask about the car until May 1st. I was told then that my car "should be finished by Monday, in paint by Wednesday and you should have it on Friday." That Friday, I called and got the exact same story for the following week. That next Thursday, I was told I'd have it the following Tuesday. That Tuesday I was told the following Tuesday. That Tuesday, I was told after the holiday, Wednesday or Thursday. That Thursday, I was told "It's day by day, Mrs. Young." It is now June. They are 14 days away from three months for a one-month fix. They did offer a rent-a-car, but kept me thinking it would only be a few more days, so I chose to juggle cars and work instead. I've now lost hope that they ever intend to give me my car back and have accepted the rental. I can't get an honest answer and am feeling helpless. I'm paying a loan on a new car that I haven't seen since mid-March! If I had accepted the rental from the beginning, they would have paid $437 for it up until I finally had to accept.

Desired Settlement: Although Nationwide will ultimately be paying for the repairs because they've accepted full liability, we will still be getting a bill for a piece that had nothing to do with the accident. I'd like that $437 that I've saved them from a rental to be deducted from the cost of that piece. If they had been honest all along, I would still be frustrated, but not nearly as angry as I am from being lead on and lied to.

Business Response:

Ms. *****'s Ford Fusion was involved in a major accident on 3-16-14. The vehicle was towed to our facilty on 3-19-15. ***** **** (her insurance company) was out to write an estimate and evaluate the damages on 3-23-15. The repairs were agreed to by all parties for us to pursue the repair and parts were ordered on 3-24-25. There were many internal structural parts that were necassary to perform the repairs on her vehicle. The rear floor came up on backorder and was not received until 4-20-15. Ms. ***** was notified of the part situation. We did were not even able to start repairs on he vehicle until it was here for 5 weeks already. This was a $17000.00 + repair. Ms. ***** was told in the begining that it would take 4-6 weeks to complete after the parts are received. The resolution that Ms. ***** wants, for us to buy her $437 dollar unrelated damaged part is not reasonable. We have paid for multiple weeks worth of Ms. *****s rental in order to show her good faith as OUR customer and to prevent her from taking on any more personal expenses. Ms. ***** was NEVER lied to and we understand that a huge repair like this is very frustrating, but it takes time to make sure the vehicle is repaired correctly and safely. ********** Insurance company is the claimant company and will be refunding Ms. ***** and ***** **** for all expenses due to their insured causing the damages.

Sent on: 6/11/2015 12:16:09 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Now BBB is being lied to.  NEVER was I told "4 to 6 weeks" by anyone, including the auto body shop.  When I was told, in the beginning of May, that he thought it would be done by Monday, in paint by Wednesday, etc...even if it was followed up with "that's my hope", that is still leading me on.  And that was done the entire month of May.  It wasn't until June that I started getting the more honest answer of "It's day by day, Mrs. *****."

The car drives well and looks good, but the trunk is messed up.  The door no longer wants to stay open and it takes a few tries to get it to shut.  However, without trust for the body shop, I can't bring myself to return it to get it fixed.  If nothing else, I want them to learn how better to deal with their customers so no one else has to spend an entire month as angry as I did.  I find it sad that they don't understand.

 

Regards,