BBB Accredited Business since

Fred Drake Automotive

Phone: (302) 378-4877 Fax: (302) 378-8679 4195 DuPont Highway, Townsend, DE 19734

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fred Drake Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fred Drake Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1985 in DE Business incorporated 05/13/1986 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. R. Fred Drake Jr., President Mr. Kiel Drake, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kiel Drake, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. R. Fred Drake Jr., President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
D & G Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4195 DuPont Highway

    Townsend, DE 19734 (302) 378-4877


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company towed my Vehicle and they have a $45 day storage fee, they charged me for 3 days of storage even though the car wasn't there for a full day on the third day. The clerk (***) at the desk refused to correct the error stating to me it's not an hourly fee but daily. Also when I picked my car up my tire was flat. The clerk at the desk (***) was very rude, unwilling to negotiate, and explain fees.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $45 for the day the car was not there for the storage.

Business Response: Early Saturday morning at 01:03am the owners vehicle was impounded for DUI.  As stated on the Delaware State Police tow slip, the vehicle was not to be released for 8 to 12 hours.  **** ******* called my driver at least 3 times at 3:00am to demand that her vehicle be released.  It was explained that the vehicle was not able to be released and that she would be able to pick up her vehicle on Monday at 8:00am.  While the vehicle is at our facility, we are responsible if anything were to happen.  This is why there is a daily storage charge.  The charge is calculated by calendar day at 12:00, so the vehicle was charged storage for Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.  When **** ******* came to pick up her vehicle, ***, the counter man, tried to explain all of the charges, but was unable to do so because he was not able to speak for long enough without being interrupted by **** *******.  However, her invoice had a clear breakdown of the charges for the tow and storage.  Our rates are filed and approved annually with the Delaware State Police.  When **** ******* went to retrieve her vehicle, it did indeed have a flat tire.  The tire in question was so worn that the wire was showing through the tread.  We assisted her in getting back on the road at no charge and notified her that the tire was a safety issue and needed to be replaced.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


*** at Fred Drake auto assisted me once I arrived to pick my vehicle up.  I explained to him I was there to pick up my vehicle and needed to know the amount to retrieve the vehicle.  *** explained to me that I would have to pay $415 for the vehicle to be released to me.  So I questioned the amount, by asking him how much was the tow, and the daily storage fee.  *** answered these questions but the $45 daily storage fee, and the amount for the tow did not total the $415.  So I again asked *** to explain to me why I would have to pay the $415.  He said I will print you out a receipt to show you the break down.  Once the receipt was printed I questioned the fees on the receipt, he explained to me that he was still charging me for a full day storage even though the vehicle was not being stored that day.  Which I asked for it to be removed.  I also questioned a gate fee, which *** explains that is for the open and closing of the gate.  I asked *** how does that relate to my vehicle, because I wanted to understand why I would have to pay a fee for a gate of your choice to open and close.  This line of questioning seemed to frustrate ***.  Then he told me that I had something wrong in my head, that the legal matter was my fault, and I kept calling him and I deserve to pay these fees.  So I explained to *** that has nothing to do with him, I asked him a question about the gate fee, which he later explains that protects the vehicle from theft.  Which I told him that I completely understand, and all I asked for in the beginning.  I paid the fees without being disrespectful to him, even though he was shaking and seem to be upset.  He said my line of questioning confused him.  Once being bought out to my vehicle, I realized that my tire was flat, and went back in the office.  I asked *** why my tire was flat he said I don't know, I said it wasn't flat when it was picked up.  He shrugged his shoulders and said maybe a slow leak.  A nicer gentleman that worked there asked if he could take a look, and put air in the tire.  He explained the tire needed to be replaced, but when I asked *** if he had the tire in stock, of course he did not. 


   I was taken back the most by the lack of customer service.  Having agreements with Law Enforcement Agencies and using the matters against them when paying for the tow, shows the lack of confidentiality, and would not trust them as a business.  This was also explained to the lawyer handling the legal matter and will be requesting a copy of their agreement with that agency. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fred Drake Automotive
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)