BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/20/2009

The Dayton Woman's Club

Phone: (937) 228-1124Fax: (937) 228-8486225 N Ludlow St, DaytonOH 45402

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The DWC holds weddings, banquets, dances, meetings, and many other social events. The DWC began in 1916
Goals:
-Preserve the Victorian mansion and its history
-Provide an elegant setting for social and private events

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/20/2009

BBB has determined that The Dayton Woman's Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Dayton Woman's Club's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Dayton Woman's Club

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing this letter regarding a service with the Dayton Womans ClubMy account number with the DWC is XXXXXAn "Event Contract," signed 26 March 2015 for Mrs. ***** Dance and Dinner, 26 September 2015... Contract specified a 20% gratuity... Billing was for a 22% gratuity... The bill was paid without noticing the change and now DWC will not respond to calls or messages!!! Another charge was thrown in that was not in contract was a Room Set Up Fee... This is not considered creditable and certainly not a creditable way to do business... These things should have been caught before paying the bill; but, trusting that the bill was in accordance with contract; no attention was paid to details until later...I paid $181.40 for this service. Payment was made with my Citi Master Credit card.I contacted my credit card company concerning this matter and spoke with a representative. The credit card representative was given the over charge of $81.40, 22% vs. 20% contracted... Credit card representative was given the over charge of $81.40, 22% vs. 20% contracted... Representative indicated the $81.40 would be reimbursed pending investigation... No mention was made of the additional $100.00 charged for room set-up...
Product_Or_Service: Birthday Celebration for Mrs. *****
Account_Number: Invoice # XXXXX

Desired Settlement
This matter can be resolved with an apology and reimbursement for the over charge of 81.40. I'm not requesting reimbursement for the $100 room set-up charge that wasn't included in the contract...

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** *****
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
The Dayton Woman's Club has contacted Mrs. ****** for whom the event was held, after realizing the mistake. In my phone conversation with Mrs. ***** she was delighted with the event and the food. I in fact mailed her a copy of our newsletter for future events that might interest her. In regards to the unfortunate mistake with the difference in gratuity and sales tax I asked Mrs. ***** if I could send her a check for the 2% difference in gratuity and the .25% difference in the sales tax to which I was told that Mr. ***** had already done so through his credit card merchant. I again told Mrs. ***** that if there was still a problem we would have no problem mailing the check for the difference if she would contact me.
I will be mailing Mrs. ***** a check today, October 13th in the amount of $79.80 gratuity refund & $9.98 sales tax refund to total $89.78 (Food purchased=$3,990.00 erroneously charged 22% gratuity charged was $877.80; 20% gratuity would have been $798.00.)Sales tax charged was $289.28 (7.25% Montgomery County) and 7% would have been $279.30, a difference of $9.98. The Dayton Woman's Club is extremely apologetic for the misfortune.

Our former Events Manager, Mrs. ****** used a 2013 event contract (signed on 5/26/14) which only specified 20% gratuity and 7% sales tax. Also it only specified 25% food deposit two weeks prior to the event which was never The Dayton Woman's Club policy (always been 50%). I accepted only 25% food deposit from Mr. *****. The Dayton Woman's Club Executive Board has, in response to this, removed Mrs. ***** from the Events Manager position and may continue with further disciplinary action up to and including termination as a result of this and other issues.
At The Dayton Woman's Club we strive to provide the best venue, best service and quality food to our guests.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Wedding Supplies & Services, Restaurants, Clubs, Banquet Facilities

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2006Business started: 11/01/1916
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1916, OH

Business Management
Principal: Arelene Akerman (President)
Contact Information
Mr Paul Heras (Financial Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Wedding Supplies & Services, Restaurants, Clubs, Banquet Facilities

Products & Services

This company offers a private social organization with a venue for weddings, rehearsal dinners, business and organization meetings & receptions.

Hours of Operation

Lunch: M-F 11:30am-2:30pm House open until 4pm...Open a various other times for events

Service Area

Dayton and the surrounding areas. However, weddings and other events come from all around!

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Dayton Woman's Club

225 N Ludlow St

Dayton, OH 45402

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 225 N Ludlow St 

    Dayton, OH 45402(937) 228-1124
    Fax: (937) 228-8486

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Dayton Woman's Club is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Wedding Supplies & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.