BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1957

Dayton Water Systems

Phone: (937) 859-2010Fax: (937) 866-4197

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello, I'm faxing you a copy of the letter that I sent to Dayton Soft Water Co.

I called on April 21, 2016 and asked a lady name ******* to please have the owner or president call me. Five minutes after hanging up with her *** from Dayton Soft Water called me. This is the associate who has been very unproffessional and rude with me. I told her I didn't ask to speak with her and that I was still trying to resolve the situation. she told me she had gotten my letter and check but had sent them back to me on March 30. She said the matter is resolved and I needed to contact the collection agency and then she hung up.

The resolution I am asking is that we agree on a time and date to come pick up my softener system. I had sent a check for the total owed of $165.20 and its not been deposited. I would like to have it picked up and I will pay the $165.20 in full by check.

The enclosed letter had been sent to both the Dayton Soft Water Company and the collection agency. Please help me resolve this matter. Dayton Soft Water had turned me for collections over $1500.00. What should have been an easy process as a consumer, has really become a huge dissapointment.

Desired Settlement
The resolution I am asking is that we agree on a time and date to come pick up my softener system.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** Controller
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@daytonwatersystems.com
May 03, 2016

Response to Case # XXXXXXXX

I (*** ****, Controller @ Dayton Water Systems) have worked with the customer on her account with Dayton Sofwater for several years. The rent on her softener was 23.54 until September of 2013 then it was increased to 23.60 per month due to sales tax. The Customer would go several months without paying on her account (invoices are mailed out monthly and marked past due if there is a prior balance), if we called her about the account she had an excuse as to why the rent wasn't paid or she would give us a credit card to charge it to. This went on for quite awhile, early 2015 the customer was informed that the account needs to be brought current. (See payment history worksheet)
Dec. 01, 2015, the account was 6 months behind again and the attached letter was sent to the customer, on January 07,2016, the customer called about her account and decided to have the unit disconnected, the disconnect was scheduled for 01/14/16, she was advised the technician would call between 8:00-8:30 the morning of the scheduled date to give her a 2 hour time frame, there was no answer so the technician left a voice message, when he arrived at the residence to remove the softener no one was home. The technician tagged the door to state he had been there. Later that afternoon the customer called to say she was home now, but at that she had to be rescheduled for the 19th. On the 19th the technician called again to give the 2 hour time frame, when he arrives at the residence there is no answer when he knocks on the door, but he can clearly see someone inside the house. The technician tags the door as no further attempts would be made.
On January 26, we wrote off the account and sent the account to collections for the past due rent, the value of the unit & collection fees total $ 1,491.30
The customer called me several times and wanted to discuss her account, but I told her it had been sent to a collection agency and she needed to talk with them. One of the calls she wanted to speak with my boss, (the president) to have me fired, he told her this was my department and he would stand by my decision especially after we had made two trips to remove the softener.
On March 29, we received the attached registered letter from the customer with a check for 165.20, I made copies of everything and sent it all back to her.
I feel I have been professional and have treated the customer very fair as I do all customers.
Sincerely,
*** ****
Payment History
Date Invoice # Invoice Amt Payment Amount Balance
8/19/2009 XXXXXX 57.61 57.61
8/19/2009 XXXXXX 37.18 94.79
8/19/2006 94.71 0.08
9/1/2009 XXXXXX 23.54 23.62
10/1/2009 XXXXXX 23.54 47.16
10/16/2009 23.62 23.54
11/1/2009 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
12/1/2009 XXXXXX 23.54 70.62
12/9/2009 47.08 23.54
1/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
2/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 70.62
2/4/2010 25.00 45.62
3/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 69.16
3/31/2010 69.16 -
4/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 23.54
5/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
5/24/2010 47.08 -
6/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 23.54
7/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
8/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 70.62
9/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 94.16
9/23/2010 47.08 47.08
10/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 70.62
11/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 94.16
11/15/2010 48.00 46.16
12/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 69.70
1/1/2010 XXXXXX 23.54 93.24
1/31/2011 53.24 40.00
2/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 63.54
3/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 87.08
4/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 110.62
4/13/2011 87.08 23.54
5/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
5/31/2011 47.08 -
6/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 23.54
6/16/2011 23.54 -
7/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 23.54
8/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
8/11/2011 23.54 23.54
9/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
10/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 70.62
11/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 94.16
11/18/2011 94.16 -
12/1/2011 XXXXXX 23.54 23.54
1/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 47.08
2/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 70.62
3/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 94.16
4/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 117.70
4/26/2012 118.00 (0.30)
5/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 23.24
6/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 46.78
7/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 70.32
8/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 93.86
9/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 117.40
10/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 140.94
11/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 164.48
11/15/2012 47.08 117.40
12/1/2012 XXXXXX 23.54 140.94
1/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 164.48
2/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 188.02
2/21/2013 40.00 148.02
3/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 171.56
4/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 195.10
4/11/2013 20.00 175.10
5/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 198.64
5/20/2013 100.00 98.64
6/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 122.18
7/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 145.72
7/15/2013 51.56 94.16
8/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.54 117.70
8/30/2013 75.00 42.70
9/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.60 66.30
10/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.60 89.90
11/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.60 113.50
12/1/2013 XXXXXX 23.60 137.10
1/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 160.70
1/10/2014 25.00 135.70
1/21/2014 25.70 110.00
2/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 133.60
2/12/2014 50.00 83.60
3/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 107.20
4/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 130.80
5/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 154.40
5/5/2014 25.00 129.40
6/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 153.00
6/5/2014 53.00 100.00
7/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 123.60
7/10/2014 100.00 23.60
8/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 47.20
9/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 70.80
10/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 94.40
11/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 118.00
11/7/2014 23.60 94.40
12/1/2014 XXXXXX 23.60 118.00
1/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 141.60
1/15/2015 70.80 70.80
70.80
2/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 94.40
3/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 118.00
4/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 141.60
4/29/2016 118.00 23.60
5/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 47.20
6/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 70.80
6/5/2015 47.20 23.60
7/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 47.20
8/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 70.80
9/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 94.40
10/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 118.00
11/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 141.60
12/1/2015 XXXXXX 23.60 165.20


This is a copy of the inhouse collection letter she was sent

DSW COLLECTIONS:
An In-House Division of R.D. Baker Enterprises
Name Name removed Account# XXXXXX
Address Balance : $141.60
City, State & Zip Date 12/01/15



We are contacting you because:
Your account is past due. Our records indicate your debt to Dayton Sofwater Company has not been satisfied and is seriously past due.
At this time your account has not been placed with a Third Party Collection Agency.
Failure to pay the past due amount will result in referral to a Third Party Collection Agency and potentially affect your credit score
Dayton Sofwater Company reserves the right to refuse service for failure to pay past due balances.

Please Note:
This bill is for past due rental balances and/or other services provided by Dayton Sofwater Co.
This past due balance reflects all charges from your past due invoice(s)
If immediate action is not taken, the collection will be the amount of past due plus the value of the softener and collection fees. This will be in excess of $1,000.00.
If immediate action is not taken and you are referred to a Third Party Collections Agency, funds cannot be paid to Dayton Sofwater Company and must be paid via Third Party Collection Agency.


To pay or if you have questions about this bill:
Call Dayton Sofwater Company Customer Service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
(Between 8am 4:30 pm Mon-Fri)
We accept checks and the following credit cards:





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not accepting the matter with Dayton soft water as resolved. It's unfair for the loyalty and professionalism to stop once I no longer want service from a business. A lot of the response from *** is not the truth. After all , I am still needing the equipment picked up . Please advise me on what action I need to take next.
Thanks so much

Final Consumer Response
(BBB note: This complaint was also filed with the office of the Ohio Attorney General. Please open attachment to view their complaint form.)

Description:
The consumer is filing a complaint against Dayton Soft water. The consumer was renting a water
softener from the supplier. The consumer decided she didn't want to rent the water softener anymore and the supplier became nasty with the consumer. The consumer wanted the supplier to come and pick up the water softener and take her final payment. The supplier claimed they tried to come and pick it up twice but the consumer states this is not the case. The supplier is now trying to bill the consumer approximately $1500.

No atty

Satisfactory Solution:
The consumer wants the supplier to come and pick the product up.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies, Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk, Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.