BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/1993

Watson's of Dayton

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 436-9600Fax: (937) 436-79722590 E. Whipp Rd., DaytonOH 45440View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/1993

BBB has determined that Watson's of Dayton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Watson's of Dayton's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Watson's of Dayton

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
01/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective product
On October 14, 2014 we purchased an insert from Watson's on Whipp Rd for approx. $1,600.Immediately we had to make a service call to have the knob fixed because the installers broke it off. We also, at that time, made a complaint about it not blowing air out. A service tech came out, said he couldn't do anything until the knob was fixed. He left. A call was made to management to schedule another tech. He came out, fixed the knob, replaced the thermostat and said it was fixed. I asked him why it still wasn't blowing air. He stated it would when it got hot enough and the thermostat would kick on the blower. We built a raging hot fire, nothing happened. Another call was placed to management. Yet another tech came out 2 days later. This tech stated the thermostat was routed wrong and wasn't even a good thermostat, it was dead. He replaced the thermostat and said to build a fire and if it wasn't working call back. So, we built another fire. Thermostat kicked on the blower but, barely any air comes out. You physically have to put your hand on the vent to feel air. This has been a month at this point. We called management again. They offered no refund because we had already burned in it but,that's what we were told to do. The manager did offer to upgrade the insert, for more money. We declined that offer. We contacted the manufacturer and were told it should be blowing like a beast. It doesn't. We offered to build a fire and have management, a tech and a Rep from the manufacturer come to our home and see what it's NOT DOING. Due to schedule conflicts all around, no one has shown up. We continue to make calls to management, he has made every excuse possible like, we have high ceilings, we have single pane windows, our house is too open... even though he's never been out to check it personally and none of those things however, untrue, have nothing to do with the fact the insert we were sold DOES NOT BLOW AIR.

Desired Settlement
We were willing to take a replacement product but, at this point we just want a refund so we never have to deal with this company again.

Business Response
I am not directly involved in this situation but what I have been told is that my service department has been giving this gentleman updates on the stove. The blower was bad and we have one on order from the manufacturer but they are behind due to the holiday season in shipping us parts. We do not make the parts so I am at the mercy of the manufacturer on this. We are prepared to replace the blower as soon as it comes in to stock.

Thank you,
****** **********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This unit was purchased in October of 2014, since it was installed it has NOT worked properly at ALL! It is now well into the cold season and I do NOT have a operational unit to subsidize the cost of heating. IM FED UP! I WANT MY MONEY BACK! So I can attempt to find another "working unit". This is only fair to me and my family.

Final Business Response
We are going to come and pick up the stove and refund you the price you paid for the stove.

Thank you.
****** **********

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 4-17-14, I bought and paid for a pool with an estimate of three weeks to install. It has been seven weeks and I still do not have it installed.
On 4-17-14, I bought and paid for a pool with an estimate of three weeks to install.
Three weeks passed and the salesman called and stated that I wasn't on the installation list. He reportedly corrected the mistake and stated that the pool would be installed in another week.
At six weeks I called and expressed concern. The manager told me that he would check into it and call me back. He never did. I went to the store the next day and spoke with the manager, he again reported that he would resolve the issue and call me. He never called. I e-mailed Watson's and finally got a call and was told to buy sand and it would make it easier for the installer to complete it.
Another week has passed and I have six tons of sand in my driveway and no installation date.
I don't know why I was told it would take three weeks to install a pool, but that time has more than doubled. I've now waited almost two months since my purchase and I still do not have an installation date.

Desired Settlement
I want my pool installed. It was not my fault that I was not placed on the installation list. When it was discovered, I should have been placed at the top of the list.

Business Response
Our installer was at Mr. ****** house on Friday June 6th and the pool area was extremely wet and the installer was not able to install the pool. We understand his frustration on the delay of the installation and the installer will install him as soon as the weather drys the whole area and the pool can be put up in good solid ground. With this type of on and off heavy rains, we can not schedule more than 3-4 for days out so we can go back to customers like Mr. ****** and get them installed as soon as possible.

09/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesman sold us Guardsman protection plan on our couch and told us that anything and everything was covered for 5 years. So we called Guardsman to have scratches and one side of our couch leans. Once we followed all the steps for Guardsman they called us and said that nothing is covered as a warrenty we purchased. I'm really upset about this. We paid a pretty penny for our couch and never buy protection plans because we think they are scams and the salesman said no everything is covered in the protection plan. I feel I should get my protection plan money back.

Desired Settlement
I think I should get the 200.00 I paid for the protection plan.

Business' Initial Response
I contacted guardian to find out why Mrs. ***** claim was denied. They informed me that the issues of the frame and scraps are not covered under the protection plan policy. After talking to ******, I believe she she wanted to purchase an extended warranty plan. The policy my sales person sold her is a protection plan and it only covers the leather for punctures, tears and rips. I apoligized to her for the miscommunication and that it was not our intent to sell her something that would not meet her needs. Watson's is refunding the $200 for the protection plan. ****** stated that she is satified with this outcome.

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/25/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought insert with delivery date of 9/15/2014. As of 10/20/2014 still not delivered.
On 8/23, I purchased a fireplace insert from this Watson's store. The model I wanted was not in the store; salesman *** ******* checked to assure the model was available, he said it was. I pd the full amount/$2304.81 up front and was told it would be delivered to me/home on 9/15 and if anything came up, he would call me. No call came, neither did the insert. I've phoned **** and/or ***** the 'General Sales Manager', at least once a week since 9/15; each time I'm assured (ie) the insert will be in next Monday, next Tuesday, next week, we're personally sending a driver to Cincinnati to pick it up. Other times I hear (ie) we're contacting the manufacturer, the glass to make it isn't in, the 2 in Cincinnati went to persons who bought them well before you, we'll knock some money off. I pd for a product that was 'available for a 9/15 delivery date' and do not have it, period. Watson's is full of excuses/reasons/run-arounds, in the meantime, I do not have heat in my house, nor am I collecting interest on the $2304.81 I pd out.

Desired Settlement
I want the TRUTH from Watson's, I want what I paid for, my insert (am again told 'next week will be delivered) and I want it in my house now. I certainly don't want others to have to experience this type of poor service.

Business Response
The truth is that Watson's does not manufacture stoves and we rely on our manufacturers to supply us with quality products. The manufacturer is telling us they are having shortages including catalyst, doors/glass, and leg kits and cannot send until the material is ready. Unfortunately they did not notify us of this problem until our first expected date came up and we had no stoves. The manufacturing agent keeps telling us dates that we have been passing on to you, but outside of that information we are relying on their word that they will deliver. Watson's is doing everything in our power to try and get you installed. We have offered to upgrade you at n/c, but you did not like the look of the other unit. We have given you free install and delivery, and a discount off the stove. We have also offered you a full refund which you are now saying you would accept plus interest which is not company policy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Watson's has not told the whole story. I was told that there were two stoves received in the Cincinnati store but were sent to other customers who have been waiting longer. If other customers have been waiting longer then Watson's should have known about the shortages but continued to advertise a product that the could not provide.

06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a pool on 4/26/14 and was told the pool would be installed in 2-3 weeks. To date no pool installed and no one seems to care at watson's.
Call numerous times and still no pool installed

Desired Settlement
Call me with an install date

Business Response
We contacted the installer and he has stated that Mr. ***** has been installed. As with the majority of the pool installs this season, He has be delayed constantly by rain and heavy winds. We do apologize for any delay. If there is any other concerns, please feel free to contact us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No contact was ever made to me by phone or email. I felt they had my money and didn't care as to when my pool would be installed. I received a call by watsons and assured me the pool would be installed on Sunday and nobody showed up. No calls or emails. The contractor called me on Monday and said he was on his way eta 30 min and didn't show until 11:30 am when he had called me it was 9:30 and the weather has not been that bad to delay the installation by 2 more weeks The only contact ever made to me was the day the pool was install purchase pool on 4/26 and installed 6/2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Tanning Salons Equipment & Supplies, Wicker Products, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Furniture - Outdoor, Fireplace Equipment - Retail, Billiard Equipment & Supplies, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies, Playground Equipment, Bar - Fixtures, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Outdoor Kitchens

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/30/1993Business started: 05/01/1992
Type of Entity

S-Corporation

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew Hazenfield (Store Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Hazenfield (President)Mr. Donald Haunert (Manager)Mr. Mike Singleton (Manager)Ms. Christine Webb (Controller)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Tanning Salons Equipment & Supplies, Wicker Products, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Furniture - Outdoor, Fireplace Equipment - Retail, Billiard Equipment & Supplies, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies, Playground Equipment, Bar - Fixtures, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service, Outdoor Kitchens

Products & Services

This company offers pools, spas, pool supplies, patio furniture, grills, play gyms, pool tables, bars, bar stools, game tables, tanning beds, gas logs, fireplaces, and wood stoves at the Whipp Rd. location. Other locations offer pool supplies only.

Alternate Business Names
Split Decision Enterprises, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Watson's of Dayton has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Watson's of Dayton

2590 E. Whipp Rd.

Dayton, OH 45440

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 3525 Main St 

    Richmond, IN 47374

  • 2590 E. Whipp Rd. 

    Dayton, OH 45440(937) 436-9600
    Fax: (937) 436-7972

  • 7811 Waynetowne Blvd. 

    Huber Heights, OH 45424(937) 281-0854

  • 1540 Upper Valley Pk Unit 12 

    Springfield, OH 45504(937) 346-2005

  • 1737
    W Main St 

    Troy, OH 45373

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Watson's of Dayton is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.