BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/20/2008

Coverall's Total Home Improvement Co. (Headquarters)

(937) 293-5400View Additional Phone NumbersDaytonOH 45439

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/20/2008

BBB has determined that Coverall's Total Home Improvement Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Coverall's Total Home Improvement Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

54 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Coverall's Total Home Improvement Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 53
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 54 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Better Business Bureau
15 West 4th St.
Dayton, Ohio XXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We had the roof of our house installed by Coverall Roofers early in 2011, before all the big hail storms that occurred that year.

We have had numerous water spots on the ceiling - the first was not very long after the roof had been installed. We contacted Coverall and they did
come; they noted that area around the chimney needed repair and they repaired it. (The inspection done recently showed that it had not been done properly.) We have called them two other times after that and they always informed us that everything was repaired.

We called them last month because we again saw water spots in three different locations. Their inspection told them that condensation on a
water line in the attic was causing the problem and that we needed to have that pipe insulated. We learned that there were no water lines near the
leaks; it was a gas line.

At that point, we called Innovative Renovations, recommended by a friend. Enclosed is his report.

Thank you for helping us to resolve the problem.

Sincerely,

****** and ******** *****
**** ********** ***
********** **** XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Thank you for helping us to resolve the problem.

Business Response
Attn. BBB 1 of 4 pgs

This is in regard to *** and ******** *****. Coveralls has repeatability serviced the ****** whom has admitted our diligence. Both are not accurately relaying the facts !

Coveralls went into contract with the ****** on 1-18-11. We did an emergency install on 2-24-11 because they had prior leaks in valleys and chimney area.

Coverall did service resident , April 2011 for chimney leaking. We added a counter flash to the step
flashing.

May 2011 came the big hail storm. We have done multiple roofs on their street and area- insurance claims.

March 2014 service again, also using a water hose to check leaks. There was none.

April 2014 service again brought another roofing company with me for second opinion, Carter Roofing Co.
It was stated to home owner once that the metal gas pipes in attic 40< ft. were sweating causing stains on upper drywall above rooms in a perfect line. We pointed out that he should wrap and insulate metal pipes and to get a chimney expert to rebuild their wood framed rotted chimney.

Also it was noted he had a attic exhaust fan blowing during the winter causing warm air to meet cold air in attic.

To BBB 2 of 4 pgs

We told him he had ice damming because of the coldest winter on record. His roof was not breathing properly. The underneath deck of entire roof shows no water stains, only water stains on floor of attic below lines of metal attic pipes. In regard to the ****** inspector Innovative Renovations whom is a certified house inspector and a competitor as well. He is stating his findings to earn a job from the ****** for monetary gain. The ****** told me that they want Innovative to do their work.

Coveralls is certified such as Innovative. But you can't buy groceries with a piece of paper!

Innovative is NOT a licensed home engineer with a BA whose license is held by the State of Ohio. Also innovative thru my research with suppliers from year to year is lucky to do ten roofs compared to my three hundred roofs a year.

Now respectfully comes Coveralls.

The ****** inspector Innovative claims to be a member of BBB. Innovative is not a member. Innovative has a P.O. box address and works from a cell phone! Something is wrong with this picture !!

As for the shingle offset he quotes IKO's recommendations - not fact. I and my roofing suppliers has gone over this together and this all opinion !

BBB 3 of 4 pgs

My Amish team did a vertical stacking technique. Some roofer stagger in rows, some do vertical. Not everyone bakes a cake the same !

75% of Innovatives' inspection was opinion or unable to determine.

Coverall produced some nail heads that can be hammered down,

Exterior wood and soffit shows damage from prior 20 yrs of age.

Coveralls feels that a wrong full tort has been done to our company. It is Coveralls opinion that there has been interference with our contract pertaining to the *******

Coveralls opinion is that Innovative is trying to gain unjust enrichment and there is a conflict of interest.

BBB
4of 4 pgs
Coveralls opinion feels that there is an intent to induce my innocent customers to act by reason of unfounded statements.

Coveralls opinion is that the non licensed inspector and competitor is causing undue influence and infringement.

Under duress Coveralls has signed our rights away to Innovated Renovations.


*** ********

Consumer Response
Better Business Bureau
15 West Fourth Street, Suite 300
Dayton, Ohio 45402

Attn: ***** ******* Trade Practice Manager

We have signed an agreement with Coverall Home Improvement Co. **** *** ********). The terms of the agreement are scheduled to be completed by June 30, 2014. When the terms are met, we will inform BBB and the complaint will be completely resolved.

Thank you very much.

****** and ******** *****

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company roofed over bowed and damaged sheeting. The soffit was trimmed around the shutters and a facia board is bowed out;the vents are notworking
When I first engaged this company I explained them them my concerns about the sheeting on that side of the house and he said no problem, I have a whole barn full of wood and can take care of any problems. After contracting them to do the job and upon inspection of the job, I noticed that they just roofed over all of the damaged wood. I call and complained and received several threats about suits if I withheld payment and that it is the house's fault for the apperance of the roof. They did come back and resheet part of the roof but not all the damaged sheeting. I had it inspected by home a inspector and structural engineer and I can provide their findings. They installed new facia and soffit covering and one of the fascia boards is bowed and the hidden soffit vents are not working properly. Also they did not remove the shutters to install the soffit and trimmed around them.

Desired Settlement
That the remaining damaged and warped sheeting be replaced. The bowed area on the facia corrected and the soffit fixed where they trimmed around the shutters. Also they put hidden vent soffit cover on the soffits, but I do not believe they made any modifications to old soffit to improve the ventilation.

Business' Initial Response
Recieved complaint 6-8-13

A.
* Consumer gave out wrong address of jobsite. It is ** ***** *** *********** **
* Coverall's completed job 4/29/13
* This is a misleading complaint from the get-go
* Please look at contract and FTC (copy)

B.
* I notified customer 6-8-13 after recieving notice from BBB
* I asked him why he falsely reported to BBB that Coverall's threatened him legally - He had no comment.
* He did tell me that he did not want to call Coverall's for service because it was too much of an aggrivation and that it was his right to notify BBB.
* I then told him I will be on said property to take pictures. He and his wife were there.
* Please note pictures

C.
Respectfully now comes Coverall's
* We at Coverall's will not be bullied from consumer to do work that is not on contract; but will do extra work for extra charges far and beyond
* Consumer's roof is 3/8th decking with tresses not centered. Eg. ***** ***** home
* Consumer did not pay for roof to be redecked - which was offered
* We agreed to replace rotted wood only.
* His tresses are also warped
* You walk on the roof you will have more dips - which he did after the fact.

D.
* On contract it says nothing about shutters you don't take down shutters on a brick home when doing vinyl soffit. We trim around top of shutters with J channel
* Look at picture please
* He Consumer took down shutters later because he told me he did not like them now he wants us to redue soffit and trim around shutters stated to me 6-8-13 after the fact

E.
We replaced rotted fascia board (gutter board)
It is not on contract to replace his 1 ft warped fascia (gutter board) what old home doesn't have warped gutter board

F.
His soffit vents would work better if he cleaned out his attic from debris and moved his insulation away from eves.

G.
When I went out to see him 6-8-13 he admitted to me that no one has lived in home for a year and he had no prior vents on roof before we did the install
He also stated that this is why his sheeting bowed and tresses bowed

H.
If he needs more vents there will be an extra charge. Look at contract

I.
Coverall's will include corporate Att. if needed and hire an engineer firm if needed and get city of Springboro involved - mold issue - at consumers expense.

J.
Consumer's Engineer did not see contract and both did not note mold damage in attic on trusses, rafters, insulation eg. which on 4/29/13 I pointed out to so called consumer.
All of this was caused by improper ventilation from the past.

* Coverall's goes by contract - not hook & rook misleading exagerations from consumer
Coverall's wishes that this slanderous & hurtful false reporting not to be publicly posted

Consumer will not use BBB to make us do free work and to lose money that is not on contract and to cover up neglect caused by consumer with a ban-dade.

X Also consumer does not have a barn - he has a 6x10 shed - note picture -

*** ********

Documents Attached

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This has gone on long enough, the house is almost ready for sale; other than the roofing issue. If Coverall's request an attorney represent them that is fine with me, but putting this off until the end of July is an undue hardship.

Business' Final Response
Please allow response date to the end of July. All matters will be represented and protected from my corp. att. ******** **** & ******* *** firm.

*** ********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Tool & Utility Sheds, Awnings & Canopies, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Exterior Structures - Barn Construction, Siding Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Home Improvements, Contractors - General, Buildings - Pole & Post Frame, Building Restoration & Preservation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/14/2008Business started: 06/01/1995Business started locally: 09/01/2008New Owner Date: 06/01/1995
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth R. Harrison (Owner)
Number of Employees

32

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Tool & Utility Sheds, Awnings & Canopies, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Exterior Structures - Barn Construction, Siding Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Home Improvements, Contractors - General, Buildings - Pole & Post Frame, Building Restoration & Preservation

Products & Services

This company offers awnings, downspouts, roofing and siding services as well as installation of sheds, dutch & pole barns, gazebos, pergolas and other construction services with Amish & Patriot craftsmanship.

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Coverall's Total Home Improvement Co.

Dayton, OH 45439

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Coverall's Total Home Improvement Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 321-4426
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.