BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/2007

B.C. Sims Roofing & Home Improvement

(937) 603-4300View Additional Phone Numbers5348 Birdland Ave, DaytonOH 45417

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/20/2007

BBB has determined that B.C. Sims Roofing & Home Improvement meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised B.C. Sims Roofing & Home Improvement's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on B.C. Sims Roofing & Home Improvement

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Been waiting since April 2014. for repairs bathroom due to a leak from the installed roof and repair to my gutters which have been leaking. (Put off)
Replace roof 2013 had leak still not fixed.

Desired Settlement
Fix my ***** house!

Business Response
BBB manager spoke to company owner by phone who indicated this customer concerns had been resolved. He indicated they had fixed the gutter and the leak. He also provided customer funds for painting.

08/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have a five-year warranty on the full roof replacement completed in May 2011, but we can't get in touch with Mr. **** to complete needed repairs.
We LOVE the work that B.C. Sims Roofing has done on our house, but this year we're having trouble getting warranty repairs completed. This winter we noticed a leak in an upstairs bedroom and significant bowing on the back porch roof. We called Mr. **** in February to schedule service; however, the rough winter weather did not allow for repair at that time. We began calling again in April and have left messages, but have not received any call backs. We did get in touch with a foreman, ******* a few times, and in May he came out to look at the damage. (This was after he failed to show up for two previously scheduled appointments, and he did not call to cancel either one.) He said he would be back the following Saturday (June 7) to complete the work, but he did not show up and did not call to cancel. We got in touch with ****** again last weekend, and he said he would come after lunch on Monday, July 7, but he did not show up or call to cancel. We have left messages again since then and have had no response.

The damage in the upstairs bedroom is getting worse each time it rains and the roof over the back porch is bowing more.

We would really appreciate BBB's help in getting in touch with Mr. **** and getting our roof issues repaired. Mr. **** has done many jobs for us in the past and we have always been pleased with the work. We just hope to get on his schedule ASAP before more damage occurs!

Desired Settlement
Repair of the leak over the upstairs bedroom and repair of the bowing roof by the end of July. Full roof inspection by the end of July to ensure that no other issues are present.

Business Response
BC Sims Roofing has been in contact with the customer. The roof repair has been completed to the customer's satisfaction as of 8/7/2014.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today, we are happy to report that one of the two issues has been completed! :)

The back porch roof was torn off and re-roofed on Saturday, August 2. It looks much, much better than before! The roof appears to be slightly concave in the center (not along the seam with the house, but about halfway vertically and horizontally). We'll keep an eye on it and see if it settles out. Perhaps Mr. **** could take a look at it and see what he thinks?

To our knowledge, the issue on the main roof of the house has not been addressed. The roof above an upstairs bedroom is leaking. (The exact location is on the south side of the house, just above and to the east of the western-most window. The leak extends about 3 feet into the room from the south wall.)

Thank you very much!

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The job performed was not acceptable. First I ask for repairs be made, after a period of time I ask for a refund.
I accepted a proposal from B.C Sims to put a new roof on my house. The job was started late October after paying half of the proposed amount, after 1/4 of the job was completed I noticed the wrong color of material was being used,i was worried about the weather conditions and the roofers had already torn the old material off I informed them that the color was wrong but fearing bad weather I let them complete the job and paid the rest of the amount in full. I then contacted the ****************** told him I was not happy with the job, that there was poor workman ship and damage to my gutter and siding. He said he would come out and go over the issues with me an have them resolved.I contacted my son (***)to help me with the issues. When the sales manager showed up he an my son went aroung the house.The damaged gutter was repaired by piecing some of the old gutter with a piece of new they had and it looked terrible.The drip edges were not cut in,The valleys were not correct,The roof caps were uneven and several other flaws and then ****** said he would have the repairs done after his crew finished on some other jobs they were committed to,The weather turned bad and the repairs were never completed after several attempts at calling them They finally came back out in late March At which time I wanted the whole roof redone in the color I had selected.They returned and they agreed to do the roof but said it would be 3 to 4 months because they had no money. I agreed and contacted them in July and Mr **** said he would be out with color samples on August 10.I had decided by then to ask for a refund, Mr.**** said he was sorry and nothing like this had ever happened and ask me for a few weeks to refund And he and his Son ****** took the remaining shingles that were left over from the Job and left.On August 24th I called Mr.**** to inquire about my money and he said he did not have it and that I should contact a lawyer because I would have to take him to court.I paid Half up front by check and the other half by check when the job was completed, There was no contract nor did a sign any type of contract for this job only a proposal I had asked for an itemized list of cost for materials and labor and was told that they don't do that. I would just like some help in resolving this matter asap so I can have my roof done before the bad weather comes in.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the full amount refunded for the job.

Business Response
We attempted without success to respond to the complaint on-line. The following is ***** ****' response:

We were doing a tear off and installing shingles on the roof when Mr. **** said 'that's not the right
shingle'. We were halfway done. He told my employee ****** ******* to go ahead and keep that
color, so we did the whole roof. Later on his son came past and started arguing with us. I came back and
we all talked with the father and son. The father did admit about finishing the roof and said it looked good.
The son got mad and said we were trying to take advantage of his dad. He asked us to come back to
fix some things. When we came back he told us his dad wanted a new roof. I told him we will come
back and do the roof. When we came back his son said his father wanted his money back.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response,the fact that the roof is not leaking is irrelevant, the old roof never leaked, that's not what the complaints are about. A proposal is an estimate that the contractor said they can do the job and is not a CONTRACT...no proposal,estimate or contract was signed by the consumer,i have a copy of the "proposal" that only shows where I paid by check in two installments.In the previous complaints that I have filed, the timeline speaks for itself. Sims was never denied access to my property to repair or replace the roof. The time he kept giving me was unacceptable. It is and was not my fault or problem that Sims Home IMprovement did not have the operating money to correct this issue. There was never an offer of 450.00 dollars to have the repairs done by another contractor.The complait to his business was made 3 days after installation of the roof to make repairs.They never made the effort to do them do to their schedule. In March of this year we were told Mr. **** was out of town and would contact us as soon as possible..When ask about the color selection Mr. **** said he loaned the samples to a friend and never got them back. He then came back to the property and said to give him 3-4 months to come up with the money to re do the roof in the correct color selected. In August10ththis year Mr. **** along with his son and a employee showed up with a different color sample board and that's when I asked for a full refund. He apologized several times and said he would need 2 weeks to refund the money. When I called him on August 24th he told me I wasn't getting a refund and to contact a lawyer. I never changed my mind to the fact that they put the wrong color shingle on the house, the fact that the quality of work in my opinion is poor and looks terrible, And the timeline it has taken them to make this wrong a right. Whatever happen to the saying "the customer is always right" ? We asked repeatedly for a itemized bill of sale for the job and never received one, I was told they don't do business that way. Now once again Sims Home Improvement has caused me stress by dragging these issues out and now the weather is turning bad again before I can get my roof done right.IN the correct color and quality of work.In my opinion Mr. **** has admitted that he made a mistake by the supposed offers he has made in the responses to my complaints...Once again for the record the only offer he made back on August 10thwas to redo the roof in the correct color and I simply asked for a refund to have another contractor do the job.

Final Business Response
The customer is being unreasonable, in my opinion, in his demands for a new roof or a refund. He has a new roof. In the time elapsed since this incident (over 8 months) he has never mentioned that his new roof was leaking. That is because the workmanship was good and the roof tear off was done as proposed and agreed upon. The customer signed the proposal that serves as a contract to perform the job as stated. My technician was refused access to the property when we offered to return to do the minor modifications to the job such as repair a gutter, vent, and drip edge. Since the customer did not allow us access to make the final repairs, my offer is to give him $450.00 to pay another licensed and bonded contractor to repair the drip edge, vent, and gutters. In my 10 years of roofing I have never had a color selection error. I believe the customer changed his mind after he saw the color he selected on his roof and did not like it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Drywall Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Home Improvements, Painting Contractors, Siding Contractors, Doors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2007Business started: 01/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State
30 E. Broad Street,state Office Tower,14th Floor
Columbus, OH43266
(614) 466-3910

Bureau of Workman's Compensation
3401 Park Center Dr
Dayton, OH45414
(937) 264-5000

BBB records show a license number of 1537223 for this company, issued by Secretary of State.

Type: unknown

BBB records show a license number of 1465207-0 for this company, issued by Bureau of Workman's Compensation.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brice Sims (President/Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Drywall Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Home Improvements, Painting Contractors, Siding Contractors, Doors

Products & Services

This company offers roofing, remodeling, painting, drywall, siding, doors, gutters and downspouts.

Alternate Business Names
Sims & Elder Roofing & Home Improvement, B. C. Sims Roofing
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B.C. Sims Roofing & Home Improvement

5348 Birdland Ave

Dayton, OH 45417

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5348 Birdland Ave 

    Dayton, OH 45417(937) 263-7693
    (937) 718-6459
    (937) 603-4300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B.C. Sims Roofing & Home Improvement is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 263-7693
  • (937) 718-6459
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.