BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Choice Roofing

(937) 938-1202107 N Smithville Rd, DaytonOH 45403

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

American Choice Roofing is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Choice Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Choice Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
COMPANY INSTALLED DOWNSPOUTS AND GUTTERS ON MY HOUSE. AFTER COMPLETION, I NOTICED THAT THE FRONT GUTTER LEAKS BETWEEN THE GUTTER AND FASCIA BOARD.
ON FEBRUARY 26, 2013, *** FROM AMERICAN CHOICE ROOFING CAME OUT AND GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE FOR THE JOB OF PUTTING SPOUTING, DOWNSPOUTS, GUTTER GUARD AND NEW FASCIA BOARDS ON HOUSE. I PUT HALF DOWN AND THE REST WAS PAID AT THE TIME OF COMPLETION. THE TOTAL PRICE WAS $1600.00. THEY DID NOT REPLACE THE BOARDS ON THE FRONT (STATED THAT IT DID NOT NEED IT) NOR DID THEY REFUND ANY MONEY. WHEN THEY WERE FINISHED WITH THE JOB, THE NEXT DAY OR TWO THEY HAD TO COME BACK OUT AND FIX THE DOWNSPOUT IN THE FRONT DUE TO WATER LEAKING INTO THE BASEMENT AFTER A RAIN.DURING THE MONTH OF APRIL AROUND THE 22 I NOTICED THAT RAINWATER WAS DRIPPING BETWEEN THE FASCIA BOARD AND GUTTER. AFTER NUMEROUS CALLS TO COMPANY,*** FINALLY CAME OUT AND LOOKED AT PROBLEM AND WANTED TO WAIT UNTIL IT RAINS TO SEE WHERE IT LEAKS. I INDICATED THAT IT LEAKS THE WHOLE WAY DOWN THE GUTTER. AFTER A COUPLE MORE WEEKS AND PHONE CALLS, *** CAME OUT AGAIN, HAD HIS CREW CLIMB ON THE ROOF AND INDICATED THAT IT WAS LEAKING, HOWEVER,THEY DID NOT HAVE TIME TO FIX IT THEN AND WOULD BE OUT IN ABOUT A WEEK TO ADD YET ANOTHER PIECE OF ALUMINUM BETWEEN THE BOARD AND GUTTER (THAT WOULD MAKE A TOTAL OF THREE PIECES OF ALUMINUM BETWEEN FASCIA BOARD AND GUTTER. THIS WAS DONE INSTEAD OF REPLACING THE BOARD). THAT WAS AT LEAST NINE WEEKS AGO AND I HAVE HEARD ABSOUTELY NOTHING FROM THEM. I MAILED A LETTER LAST WEEK AND ASKED THEM TO RESPOND TO ME AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING.

Desired Settlement
I WANT THE PROBLEM FIXED AND/OR I WANT A REFUND OF THE MONEY I PAID. I WANT ONLY ONE PIECE OF ALUMINUM OVER THE FASCIA BOARD. IF THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO FIX THE PROBLEM, THEN I WANT A REFUND OF THE MONEY SO I CAN HIRE SOMEONE ELSE TO FINISH THE JOB.

Business' Initial Response
From: *** <***********************>
Date: Tue, Jul 30, 2013 at 9:03 AM
Subject: Fwd: American Choice Roofing
To: info@dayton.bbb.org

This was in response to the customer's complaint....

Begin forwarded message:

Date: July 30, 2013, 8:30:48 AM EDT
Subject: FW:

Dear ******,

I am writing in response to the letter we received from you. I would have preferred that you would have called so that we could have spoken and worked together on this instead of having to allow time for mailing back in forth. We have always returned your phone calls and never once meant to make you feel like we were disregarding your concern. We would have checked in with you, but I was not able to locate your phone number.
The last time we communicated, you were describing a minor issue that I believed to be cosmetic - A small area in the metal with what is known as a "fish mouth" (A spot in the metal that has gapped from the other materials).
We installed the down spout on the left side of the house as you wanted (Facing the house from the street). However, as stated, it seems as though the house is "uneven". Therefore, in efforts to cause the water to drain to the left and not overflow at the right onto your sidewalk, the gutter also has to have a small slant to it. This is what we believe caused the "fish mouthing". We did use more materials/metal to try to help correct this at our expense (Above what was estimated). We truly wanted to help you and try to think of a way to fix this for you without a great deal of effort or expense on your part, since the cost for the issue at hand was not included in the estimate.
Though we do guarantee our workmanship for a reasonable amount of time, we not do not feel that the issue you have is a direct result of our work. We cannot be responsible for whatever reason the house is not even. We did adjust the gutter to try to compensate, but it seems that this is not working out for you as we hoped.
We did remove the previous gutter and installed the new as promised. We even came back several times going beyond what was promised, at our expense to try to assist you - a good example of this is as follows: We ran the down spouting the way that you requested against our better judgment. As soon as you realized that this way wasn't going to work, you called and left more than 1 "unkind" voice mail message. But as soon as we received your messages, we called you and set up a time to take care of it. We came back out, at our expense, to correct this for you and we reran the spouting in a more appropriate manner.
The last time we were there and you were told that we would come back within a tentative time frame, the main focus on the date was "after the new job we had started" was completed. Normally, taking care of something for a previous customer really doesn't have anything to do with an upcoming job - in most cases the previous customer would even come first. But the reason you were given this specific information and time frame was because it was our full intent to buy extra materials ourselves to try to take care of this issue for you. Again, this was not referenced in your original estimate, but because of all the conversations we had about you losing your husband and the personal family issues you were facing that you shared with us, we truly just wanted to be of help. (We are a very religious company/family and were always taught to respect elders and help people whenever possible, especially widows... The KJV Bible references this many times.) Because we are such a small/new company, we would have needed to depend on some of the profit from the new job to assist you further.

The other job (The one after yours, that we were referring to) still to date has not been paid in full. Since you are no longer willing to wait, these are the options that we are able to offer you:

You can purchase new down spouting and we can add it to the gutter on the right side, by the sidewalk
You can purchase a new piece of gutter and we can install the existing down spout on the right

If you would like to choose one of the above options, there will not be a labor charge.
Please let us know what you decide within the next week so that we can block out the time we would need to complete this for you.


God Bless,
American Choice Roofing
(937) 312-5179






*** *****

***********************************************************
******************************************************************
************************************
(937) ********
*****************

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes you did return my phone calls, that is not what is in question. You just did not follow through. You would say to give you a week and you would be back to fix the problem. I got tired of waiting that week.

In response to the house being uneven, that is so not true. If the house were uneven, this problem would exist on every gutter on the house. IT IS NOT. The water is NOT draining from one one particular spot of the gutter. As I explained,. the water is draining BETWEEN the gutter and fascia board and it is draining the WHOLE LENGTH of the board. There are two pieces of aluminum on the fascia board that was placed by your company. One of the pieces has ridges and one is plain. The reason for two pieces, is because your company did not measure to see how wide the fascia board was, picked up a piece of aluminum, it was too short and then you had to buy another piece of wider aluminum. Once again, not my problem.

The way the downspout was run was the exact same way it was run when we bought the house, and there NEVER was a problem with the spouting leaking behind the fascia board. You had to come back and fix the downspout because you had it draining beside the porch instead of away from the porch and I had an enormous amount of water enter my basement. Your company told me it was a foundation problem, but why did this problem not happen prior to you putting up the spouting.

You keep indicating that you had to do this and that at your expense. Everything I wanted you to do was indicated on the first contact i had with your company, so why you had to keep doing everything over and over is not clear.

I am not sure how talking about my husband dying, etc interfered with your company doing your job. I contacted your company to install new spouting, gutters and fascia board. That was upfront and at the beginning. I was always taught to never let personal problems interfere with business.

How you handle the affairs of your company,once again does not concern me. I contracted you to do a job, finish the job to my satisfaction and honor your guarantee for one year on any problem the gutter/spouting presents. I presented my problem less than six months.

If i have to have another company come in and fix this problem, it is going to cost me. If you are unable or unwilling to fix the problem, then I would like money back from this job. I did pay in full when the job was finished and honored my part of the contract, why can't you honor yours.



Business' Final Response
From: *** <***********************>
Date: Tue, Jul 30, 2013 at 10:07 AM
Subject: Fwd: concerning American Choice Roofing
To: info@dayton.bbb.org

Now that I have been able to read her complaint, I wonder if she sent this a day or two before she got my letter.
I mailed a response to the letter she sent me within 4 business days!

Please advice...

***

Document Attached

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/02/2012Business started: 01/01/2012
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Kimberly S. Brown (Owner)Mr. Joseph Keeton (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Siding Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpenters

Products & Services

This company provides roofing services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Choice Roofing

107 N Smithville Rd

Dayton, OH 45403

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 107 N Smithville Rd 

    Dayton, OH 45403(937) 938-1202

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Choice Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.