BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/2013

Reptiles by Mack, LLC

(888) 372-957037 S. Detroit St., XeniaOH 45385

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Reptiles by Mack is the leading breeder, wholesale and retail supplier of quality reptiles for sale in the reptile industry

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/2013

BBB has determined that Reptiles by Mack, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Reptiles by Mack, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Reptiles by Mack, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 2 leopard geckos on 11/21/2015 they were scheduled to be shipped 11/23/2015 they are now they will not work with me.
I purchased 2 leopard geckos on 11/21/2015 and Ireceived two emails statin that the geckos where ready to be shipped out. now before shipping i received an email that one is not available now and I tried to exchange it for one that is available but they would not make and exchange.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive a Raptor red eyed female and a Mack snow super snow albino female or a Diablo blanco female.

Business Response
Dear BBB,
We did receive an order for two leopard geckos from this customer and the order was due to be sent out on 11/23 however, one of the leopard geckos did not pass our quality control. We did then promptly contact the customer, apologized and proceeded to offer another similar alternative.

Our email:
"My apologies for having to contact you. I am sorry to report that we do not have the female Mack Super Snow Albino available. She did not pass our quality check and feel it is best to keep her here at this time. We do have a male MSSA or is there another gecko you are interested in? My sincerest apologies again."

The customer did reply later that day and requested one of our most expensive leopard geckos "with no additional cost".

The price difference for the customer's request was $50 as the price for the gecko that was originally ordered was $35.99 and the customers requested replacement was listed at $89.99.

We then promptly replied to the customer's request and apologized again and communicated that we could not make an exchange for a higher priced gecko as requested but did again provide a similar gecko alternative that has similar markings and was a similar price to what the customer was willing to pay.

The customer then requested another gecko that was this time, some $40 more, and we again stated that we could not exchange the customer's original selection with a gecko that was over double the price.
The customer then requested that we cancel the entire order and we promptly cancelled the order and the preauthorization on the customer's credit card.

Additionally, the customer did place another similar order on 11/28 and requested it to be cancelled again on 11/30.

We strive to provide all of our customers with good service and believe that we have been very fair, responsive and courteous with this customer and we disagree with the statement that we will not work with the customer.

From time to time we will have animals that are unavailable and that is clearly stated in our terms and conditions (http://www.reptilesbymack.com/termsandconditions.aspx) that all online customers must
select and agree with prior to placing their order.

Sincerely,
**** *******
Marketing Manager
Reptiles by Mack

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue that is being disputed is that there are geckos being labeled as available when there not. When mistakes like these are made they should be rectified by making other geckos available regardless of the price difference. also I canceled my order because after reading over your site I found that the genetics of your geckos are unknown making them the same as geckos from petco or petsmart.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Reptiles, Pet Shops

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/2012Business started: 01/01/1985
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. John Mack (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Barclay (Sales Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Laura Humphrey (Director of Operations)
Number of Employees

55

Business Category

Reptiles, Pet Shops

Products & Services

This company provides a large variety of captive bred reptiles for sale to retailers and consumers.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Reptiles by Mack stands behind every animal we sell.
If you are not 100% happy with the quality of your purchase please call us at 937-372-9570.
We offer a live arrival guarantee as well as a 72 hour health guarantee.
Issues need to be addressed ASAP so we can resolve the problem.
If you want to file a claim after hours you can either fax us at 937-372-9580 or email us at sales@reptilesbymack.com

Service Area

We ship overnight Nationwide and International


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Reptiles by Mack, LLC has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Reptiles by Mack, LLC

37 S. Detroit St.

Xenia, OH 45385

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 37 S. Detroit St. 

    Xenia, OH 45385(888) 372-9570

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Reptiles by Mack, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Reptiles

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.