BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/03/2014

BMI Karts & Supplies

Phone: (937) 526-9544Fax: (937) 526-9545

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: My son bought a torque conveter for his mini bike. The Torque Converter was defective
My son purchased a torque converter for his mini bike. When the converter arrived we installed it on his mini bike. The mini bike had just been fitted with a brand new Predator engine. After about 5 minutes of riding the belt on the torque converter burnt to pieces. We ordered a new belt. Ww replaced the new Predator engine on his mini bike with the old engine. When the new belt arrived we once again tried it out on the new torque converter. Again after about 5 minutes the belt burnt to pieces. We called the company and were told to take pictures which we did. Upon taking piictures we could see that the torque converter itself was slightly bent. This is the problem. This is the way that the torque converter came to us. The company is trying to say that we bent the converter. There is no way that my son, myself, or the installation could have bent this solid metal converter. I sent the torque converter back to the company with pictures and a letter explaining what was wrong. No one bothered calling me back as I has I to make several calls to the company. They said that they would talk to the owner. He said he would not replace the converter because it was our fault. I asked for the owners name but they would not give me his name. The torque converer was purchased in early May. I have been trying to resolve this ever sense. We purchased this in goog faith. This company sent us a piece of crap.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@bmikarts.com
The torque converter was not correctly installed and abused. It has a 3/8 groove where the chain had ground away the backplate. Backplate was twisted. I was able bend it back but felt it was weakened too much so I offered to send them a backplate for shipping cost even though it was obvious it was operator error but by them continuing to run it they messed up the driven and would need to replace the spring and buttons they wanted whole unit free.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on line on December 25, 2013 to BMI Karts & Supplies for a carburetor for a four-wheeler and received it in January of 2014. When we received the carburetor we tried to put the part on the four-wheeler and we found it to be the wrong part.I contacted BMI and talked with ********. In speaking with ******** she stated, If the part is returned to them they would be able to refund our credit card that the payment was taken from. She also stated, There might be a restocking fee but she would not know until the merchandise was returned. I also asked to exchange the merchandise for the correct merchandise and she stated they did not carry the correct part that I was in need to repair the four-wheeler.After talking with ********, employee of BMI, I made sure the part was still in the original new status before repacking the merchandise and shipping it UPS to BMI. Three days from the day that I shipped the merchandise back to BMI, ******** called and said we cannot refund you for the merchandise because now the merchandise is considered used and they cannot sell used merchandise. I responded to ********, how can the merchandise be used if it did not fit onto the four-wheeler to be used. She stated that they were not going to refund my Credit One credit card for the purchase. Now, BMI has the merchandise in their possession and my credit card has been billed $91.00 for a purchase that I do not have the merchandise nor the funds back for the purchase.This is why I am requesting that Credit One dispute this charge on a one-sided transaction that BMI has profited from by their way of doing business. I would understand not getting a refund for the merchandise if I were told their company did not offer a non-refundable policy, but this was not the case. I also emailed BMI stating: It surprises myself that with today economic challenges that we are facing in our society that your business is functioning in this manner. I do hope that this was just a misunderstanding between your company and myself and it is being corrected without a further pursuit in this matter. I will await your response before mailing this letter of dispute to the BBB and to my credit card supplier in all fairness to make sure that this was just a misunderstanding. I look forwarding to your response today!
Product_Or_Service: 713.001 CARBURETOR
Order_Number: BMI-XXXXX

Initial Business Response
BBB Staff spoke with the owner of the company on the phone on 2/13/14. He stated that the consumer returned the carburetor and upon inspection of the return, that they found the carburetor had been used or mounted as it reeked of gasoline. He stated that they can refund the price of the item minus the restocking fee as cited on their website. Shipping and handling charges are non-refundable.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I ordered several parts two days ago. I received an email with the details of the parts. I have not received an email with the shipping info.
I ordered several parts two days ago, the 26. I received an email with the details of the parts the same day as the order. Yesterday the 27 I called them and they told me that my parts would ship by today the 28. I have checked my email's inbox and spam folders, and I have not received any email containing the shipping details. This leads me to believe that they have not shipped my parts yet, even though I placed the order two days ago and paid for the parts on the same day as the order was placed. My order number is *****.

Business' Initial Response
I have a real hard time understanding why someone would file a complaint to the BBB on this. We usually ship within a day or two you even commented about our fast shipping. The week you placed your order Monday and Tuesday was a Holiday (Christmas) Weds. we had a big snow storm level 3 nobody was here and UPS did not pick up. We had shipping work overtime Saturday to get caught up and we forwarded the tracking # to you. But because of the New Years Holiday UPS did not pick up the next Monday or Tuesday so your order was packaged Saturday and email with tracking was sent but you were unable to track package until UPS picked it up on Weds. So we got the order on 27th and packaged and processed it the 29th do you really think that's a reason to file a complaint with the BBB

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: took money for product product sent damaged been a month still have no product or the money back

i purchased a ultraflex body from them on March 4th i recieved it and it was damaged got pictures sent it back next day by ups called numerous times been given the run around about getting a new one sent back to me finally on March 27th they agreed to send me another body here it is April 3rd and i have no body and no money it was paid by credit card and the amount was for $218.59 i have all information from them including when the ups came and got it back everytime i call i ask to speak to the manager about resolving the problem and have even sent emails to him with no response from him.I also ordered another part from the place and instead of sending a $105.00 item thru ups they sent ut usps and charged me for ups

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@bmikarts.com
You order a body we shipped it and UPS damaged it. We filed a claim you sent it back. That was the only body we had in that color we could have refunded your money at anytime but you wanted the body. Since we were having a hard time getting a delivery date from the manufacturer we offer you a different color you agreed but when we went to pull the body it had some scuff marks on it so we contacted you and gave you the option of a refund or we could drop ship it from the factory but it would be about 2 weeks before you got it. You agreed to have it drop shipped and then called and complained a week later and at that I then informed Kelli to cancel the drop shipment and refund her the money. I never got any emails from you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The lady ***** tried to help me in any way she could i sent numerous emails and tried calling owner with no response i have it all coppied and where you had gotten your email in confidential where you had to access it. I should have not had to wait that long also ***** informed me that it would only take till the middle of the week to get the shipment when i went to call about tracking number you couldnt give me one I thank you for the waisted time you gave me and my racing family and for my money back

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Purchased 12V battery & when it was received battery was no good & would not hold a charge. Returned at BMI's request, no refund, no replacement.
8-30-2012 purchased online a 12V battery part #***** for $40 plus $17.77 shipping charges with my VISA card. Sales receipt ******

9-5-2012 I received the battery.

9-8-2012 I took the batter with my gokart to a local dealer to have it installed. The battery did not start the gokart. Dealer checked the charge on battery & it read 35%. Dealer tried "slow charging" the batter & it never would hold charge more than 50%.

9-8-2012 I contacted BMI & left voice message stating issue with battery.

9-10-2012 I contacted BMI again and spoke with ****. She instructed me to return battery & BMI would have to verify that it was indeed a defective battery. ***** stated in an email to me "we will have to wait & see what Piqua Battery determines. if they find it indeed is defective we will refund you for the amount of the battery."

9-17-2012 I shipped battery to Barhorst Mfg, 769 E. Main St, Versailles, OH 45380 via USPS & paid additional $10.13 shipping charges.

9-26-2012 I contacted ***** via email regarding status of their "verification" of defective battery. She had no record of my return.

10-5-2012 I contacted ******via email regarding status of their determination. She replied dealer still had not been in to pick up battery for testing.

10-6-2012 I reported transaction to VISA for their assistance in handling the dispute.

10-19-2012 I spoke with****** via telephone and she was extremely upset that I filed a dispute with VISA. She informed me that Piqua DID determine that it was a defective product and that BMI would have issued a full refund, however, since I involved VISA now she would no longer speak/communicate with me until the dispute was settled. ******** also stated that "either way...if VISA determined I was due a refund then I would get it that way...or if the dispute was closed I would still get a refund."

11-29-2012 VISA closed the dispute and I did not receive a refund.

12-10-2012 I contacted ******** at BMI via telephone to inquire the status of refund. Again, ************ was extremely irritated and said "this has been several months ago that it's been so long we can no longer help you or refund your money."

I tried explaining to ********* that as an online customer, I am at her mercy in hopes of receiving a good quality working product when I receive it, and that was not the case in this transaction. I also explained that BMI has $40 for the product, plus $17.77 for original shipping, plus additional $10.13 for return shipping charges. That's $67.90 for a product that is no longer in my possession. ***** was very uncooperative and stated "they have a no return policy for electrical parts." I again tried explaining to ***** that I did as she requested in trying to settle the dispute and now I feel as though I've been taken advantage of because I'm an "online" customer. ***** hung up the phone and has refused to take or return any of my phone calls since.

Business' Initial Response
Buyer called and said the battery was bad and demanded a refund.She told **** she did not want a replacement that she wanted refunded for the battery and all shipping cost. ***** informed her that we have a no return policy on electrical parts however we can contact the manufacturer to see what they can do. The manufacturer said to have the battery sent to them and they will test it and if it was indeed bad they would replace it.***** informed her that she needed to send the battery to them not to us. But it was sent here so she was informed that we would have to wait until they made another delivery here in order for them to pick this up. She then did a chargeback and during the process while the credit card company was reviewing everything she had called and was told that the manufacturer was going to give us a replacement but we needed to wait until we see what the Credit Card Company is going to do. After the Credit card company reviewed all emails they ruled in our favor. The manufacturer has agreed to send a replacement battery to her. But she didn't want that she wanted all the shipping and the price of the battery. She was very mean and demanding we went out of our way to work with her. I find it interesting that she says she understands shipping might not be refundable when she demanded a full refund or she would do a chargeback.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is not accurate. I returned the battery as they requested. After more than 2 months of no response, I did a charge back with my credit card company. When I spoke with ****, she informed me that if I dropped the charge back claim, I would get the refund. Never did the company state I would receive a "replacement." After several months of no response, I had no choice but to purchase a batter elsewhere. Now that the company is offering a "replacement" I no longer have a need for their product because I had to seek elsewhere for a battery. After reading their response, it seems very clear to me that there has been a miscommunication issue on their part. If the supplier is willing to provide a "replacement," it seems to me that they did indeed determine that the battery was defective. Therefore, my original claim of them selling a defective battery is correct and I feel that I am due a refund. Whether or not they chose to include shipping and handling charges is up to them, but a reputable business would make things right with a customer.

Business' Final Response
Here is a copy of your emails with ******. Please read them and then look at your response.

They should be in sometime next week to pick up the battery. We will let you know. Thanks.

*******

From: *******
Sent: Thursday, October 04, 2012 12:39 PM
To: ***********

It has been over a week since I have heard back from you regarding my return. Would you please advise me of the status? Thank you.

*****

From: ****
To: *******
Date: Wed, 26 Sep 2012
We do have it in our non reference returns. We will give to the Piqua Battery rep the next time he is here and go from there. Thank you.

******

From: *********
Sent: Wednesday, September 26, 2012
To:********

I show you were going to send to Piqua, Ohio in our emails. I will check the non reference returns and let you know if it is here. Thanks.

From: ************
Sent: Wednesday, September 26, 2012
To: **********
No. I returned the battery to:
Barhorst Mfg
769 E. Main Street
Versailles, OH 45380

*********

From:*********
To: ***********
Date: Wed, 26 Sep 2012
**********
I show you were sending that directly to the supplier Piqua Battery. Do you have a tracking number? They are not showing a return.

***********

From: ************
Sent: Wednesday, September 26, 2012
To: **********

I returned the battery to you over a week ago and have not heard back from you. Would you please advise me as to the status of my return? Thank you and have a great day.

***********

From: *********
To: **********
Date: Wed, 12 Sep 2012

I checked with the owner. We will have to wait and see what Piqua Battery determines. If they find it indeed is defective as you are indicating we will be able to refund you for the amount of the battery. Should they determine something on your kart pulled from the charge we will not be able to refund the costs. Thank you.

***********

From: **********
Sent: Wednesday, September 12, 2012
To: *************

I will be more than happy to return the battery. However, I do not want a replacement, I would like a refund. Please advise.

*******

**********

I spoke with Piqua Battery. They supply the battery for us. They said you can return to their address 200 S Main St Piqua , OH 45356 for them to test themselves. Should they determine it was indeed bad from the start they said they will send a replacement for you. Please include a copy of your sale receipt (******). Thank you.


********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Product Sales - General, Ticket Broker, Internet Shopping, Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales, Guitars & Amplifiers, Generators

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.