BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2010

Jack's Pets (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 320-4300Fax: (937) 320-4310View Additional Phone Numbers802 N. Orchard Ln, BeavercreekOH 45434

1TRUSTS
1 Person Trusts Jack's Pets

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2010

BBB has determined that Jack's Pets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jack's Pets' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack's Pets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I ordered bird toys through pet solutions from a magazine that was mailed to me. When toys ordered were delivered they had a terrible musty odor.
Order date: 05/07/2014
Payment type: ****
Paid. Amount:$52.22
Order no. : *********
Batch no :********
Ship method: fed ex

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* **
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******@****************
***** *****,
I am very sorry that the toys had some kind of musty Odor, this is certainly not Typical. We have issued you a full refund for your order. If you have any issues in the future please feel free to contact us at 800.737.3868 or email us at *******@****************

Thank you and have a great day.
***** *******
**** *********
www.petsolutions.com

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I have been buying dog food from jacks pets for 5 months now and finally realized the food was old and expired and has been making my dogs sick
I started buying dog food from here in July 2013 and noticed my dogs would have diareah for 2 weeks and I would have my veterinarian each time diagnose them with bad bacteria in the systems and give them steroid shots and antibiotics every month once the antibiotics wore off the diareah began again very month since July I've tried to figure out what it is that's making them sick. On December 24th 2013 I bought another bag of same food I always buy purine pro plan and when I got home I went to open the bag and noticed cobwebs all over my pants I continued to open the bag and when I did the dog food was covered in cobwebs and dead bug shells and their were live bugs crawling around in the bag which looked like moths or some kind of fly I went straight back to the store and when I walked in the clerk that checked me out got very nervous and before I said anything she said I quote " oh my god" I said oh my god what? She said I quote" was it bugs in the food?" I said yes dead and alive and covered in cobwebs she said I'm so sorry we have had an issue with that I will refund you immediately I was in such shock that she knew what happened before I even said anything I have been going thru this experience of diareah and antibiotics and the stress of my dogs being sick and not knowing what it was that was happening. I returned the food and went to pet smart and my dogs have not been sick since.

Initial Business Response
This is the first we have heard about an issue with ******'s dog. We have reached out and left a message on her phone to call us so we can get details and see how to best resolve the situation. We look forward to speaking directly to her.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Beechmont store not listed. Bakers dozen orjen dog food for 75 dollars a bag. reach the bakers dozen.
I use the beechmont ohio and the eastgate store. I started buying the orijen dog food had to switch after 11 bags of 75 dollars each. Dogs loved it but even cutting amount back my oldest dog was gaining lots of weight. So I changed to call of the wild about 54 dollars a bag. That day my concerns were if I switch will I still get the bakers dozen. The employee said she didn't think it was a problem she would e-mail corp office and have it transferred. At the last minute I saw diamond dog food on sale I also bought a bag of that because my daughter has two dogs and uses this food so I bought her a bag. I average from one to one fifty monthly in jacks pets. She told me to call back to make sure corp did the exchange. They did they sent me a coupon for a free bag of Diamond dog food about 25 dollars a bag. They did this one other time at the Eastgate store but I let it go. On the internet it show that my last purchase was diamond dog food, NO it was Call of the wild at 50 plus dollars a bag!!!!

Initial Business Response
We contacted our customer directly and have cleared up the miscommunication on brands of dog food being fed and have issued a voucher for the correct free bag of food.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a service

Complaint: Advertised same day shipping if ordered before 5pm. I clicked through on a Google search and was taken to the page to order. I placed my order.
I placed my order 10/24/2013 at 8:29 so my order would be shipped the next business day (Friday) I noted that another heater listed below was on back order. It was not the size I needed so I was not concerned for delays. The website clearly has at top of page states "Same day shipping on ordered placed by 5 pm EST" I placed my order. When I checked out nothing popped up to say anything about a delay on shipping due to inventory. I based my decision for economy shipping based on same day shipping. I placed my order with the understanding that my item would ship the next day since I placed it the night before. I did not get any shipping info so I checked Monday to see that my shipment was still in process. I called the company who in so many words called me a liar because he said the website was covered in wording that said shipping delays due to inventory. I never saw any of this. I was very upset and the rep was very insulting in saying it was on there. I asked why when I checked out it did not say anything further about a delay? Why does my receipt not show this information. I was told my package shipped out already. I ended the call. Upset I called back and talked to another rep. I asked again about the inventory delay in shipping. She said the same thing, but said my item would ship out tonight. I told her I was told it already shipped. Then I asked to upgrade shipping. She checked again and said it already shipped. I would not have ordered if I knew of the delay with the shipping I selected or ordered knowing it would not ship for 4 days. I based my decisions on the information of the website. Rep. says everything is updated at midnight.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********@****************
I am very sorry about this issue and the way you were treated on the phone. We did have inventory that day and were not shipping. I am sorry that we didn't do a better job on our site stating this.
We are going to go ahead and give you a full refund on this order and send you a $25 gift card.
Please accept my apology.
***** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: False or unsubstantiated claims in advertisement

Complaint: Internet web page picture not what you get .Item # XXXXXXXX stack and lock double breeder cage .
I orded birdcages . Picture plainly shows 2 bird cages when you get it its not what it is and no where like picture at all . Even after you call them they say no you got 2 cages ,but only when you put the diveder in the middle . Picture is 2 cages they even state they lock together . Costormor service said you got 2 cages. I said thats not what is in picture ,it even states they lock together .

Business' Initial Response
I am very sorry for the inconvenience.
We will be contacting you shortly to offer to pay for the return shipping.
Please note that the cage listing did list the dimensions of the cage and included text stating that this picture was of two cages stacked together since that is a feature of this cage.
Again though we will be offering to pay for return shipping on this product.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
04/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son and I purchased a rabbit in January. We were making our weekly visit to the store like always, and we decided to bring our little critter. While we were there a starter cage fell on my rabbit. The associate ******* witnessed this as well. Unlike dogs, bunnies don't make noises when hurt, so we didn't realize the bunny was injured until the following day. I then contacted the store to let them know, and I spoke with the assitant manager. He showed no concern and told me to take it to the vet. I did the following day, and the vet had to take x-rays and also put the bunny under anesthesia to make sure that they were accurate. After doing so, the vet had contacted me saying that the bunny suffered blunt force trauma and he had a fractured hip and a crushed pelvic, and the humane thing to do would be to put the bunny down. I again contacted the store and spoke with *****,the store manager. She informed me that this had never happened before and that she needed to contact her distric manager, and that I needed to contact the Vet and give my permission for her to speak with him, and that the Distric Manager would give me a call back. I then recieved a call back from *****, the DM, where she informed me that she would need to talk with her supervisor, and she would get back with me the following day. Before we hung up she asked me what I would like them to do. I told them that I am would expect them to pay the $200.00 vet bill and replace the rabbit. The following day she called me back to tell me that they are REFUSING to pay my Vet bill, and replace the bunny! I asked her for the Corporate number and who I needed to speak with there and she told me ********. I have called and left serveral Voicemails for him with NO return call. So this is what has led me here, I am out $200.00 and a bunny, that was put down yesterday along with another bill for it being put down. I have spent 600.00 in the past 1 1/2 months, and I also had to go out this morning to buy another rabbit for my son.

Business' Initial Response
Although a box did fall in our store near our customer's bunny on a Sunday, the box did not strike the bunny. Both the customer and one of our associates agreed at the time the bunny had not been struck. The bunny was being walked on a leash in the store and was able to move on his own accord throughout the visit at our store. Our store was contacted the following Tuesday evening and informed that the bunny had an injury. We directed the customer to take the bunny to her vet. The vet saw the bunny on Wednesday and determined that the bunny had suffered a crushed pelvis and broken leg. We spoke directly with the customer's vet about the injuries and he stated that so severe of an injury would have been noticeable right away. We are of course sorry to hear that the bunny suffered such an injury but are confident that the injury occurred a day or two after visiting our store. We spoke to our customer after speaking to her vet and let her know that we are not responsible for the costs incurred.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Jack's Pets have completely changed their "story" surrounding the events with my bunny. Their associate DID acknowledge the box fell on the bunny. After the box fell on the bunny, it did NOT walk around the store but was taken immediately home where it did not walk around again. The call to the store was initiated on Tuesday morning after a day of no movement from the bunny. The vet never said the injury would have been immediately seen or noticed, conversely he said the bones of baby bunny are about the size of a half of a pea. They are in no way humane in their efforts to care for animals nor to care for their customers. Their statement is FALSE and is completely contradictory to the events and conversations that took place. All they kept asking me is what I wanted. I want my $200 back for vet bills (as THEY told me to take it to the vet) and the money I am out for buying a new bunny.

Business' Final Response
There is no "story" to change. The bunny was not struck by the box in our store, the bunny was able to move around the store on his own accord, we were not contacted about any issue until Tuesday evening, the bunny was seen by the customer's veterinarian on Wednesday at which time the injuries were discovered. Again, we are sorry to hear about the injury to the bunny but are confident that they were not sustained within our store. We are not responsible for the costs incurred.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Pet Training, Aquariums - Dealers, Pet Shops, Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops, Reptiles

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/04/1986Business started: 01/01/1970
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1970, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Brenner (President)Mr. Phil Brefol Mr John (JB) Brenner Ms. Cathy Phillips (H/R Manager)
Number of Employees

389

Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Pet Training, Aquariums - Dealers, Pet Shops, Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops, Reptiles

Products & Services

This company offers pets and pet supplies.

Alternate Business Names
Jack's Aquarium & Pets, RDB Investments Corp.
Industry Tips
American Kennel Club and Better Business Bureau Warn Consumers to be Wary of Puppy Scams

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jack's Pets

802 N. Orchard Ln

Beavercreek, OH 45434

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jack's Pets is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (513) 451-0011
  • (513) 282-6800
  • (513) 727-8277
  • (614) 548-0090
  • (614) 476-5233
  • (614) 527-8571
  • (614) 278-2255
  • (513) 923-2000
  • (513) 752-7025
  • (513) 791-8188
  • (513) 677-1101
  • (859) 371-1133
  • (859) 442-0201
  • (419) 425-3400
  • (937) 645-0252
  • (419) 222-8900
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.