BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/16/1990

Sunshine Kennels & Garden Center

Phone: (937) 836-1244Fax: (937) 836-11513318 Phillipsburg Union Rd, UnionOH 45322

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/16/1990

BBB has determined that Sunshine Kennels & Garden Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sunshine Kennels & Garden Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sunshine Kennels & Garden Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I dropped off my Bouveir for boading & bathing. When I picked her up she smelled like urine, and come to find out was never walked. Not one phone call
I dropped off my Bouveir for boading and bathing. When I picked her up see smelled like urine, and come to find out was never walked. Not one phone call that their was any issues, actually the opposite that she was being bathed. The kennel said they dog tried to bite her hand - she as been in five different kennels no problems. This was an out-right lie. This is nothing more than a very submissive dog. Their services plain sucked as much as their lazy, lying staff that did nothing to make my dogs stay and pleasant one. This dog has numerious positive references and is well trained as my wife if a registered vet tech.

Desired Settlement
Full refund due to extremely poor service. I used Anipals in Kansas City for grooming, again all positive reference and treatment. No issues. The staff at Sunshine Kennels shouldnt be in the kenneling or grooming business. Worst customer service and kenneling environment; I would have never boarded my dog their if I knew they weren't going to walk her or groom her like they agreed to do. Pick up the **** phone if their is a problem and don't wait until I pick up my dog to make to tell me their were issues (which is why I doubt their was any issues).

Business Response
The dogs were dropped off on 12/31/14 after a long road trip from Kansas, the wife (******)had to go into the kennel to get the leash off of Magnolia because she would not let my employee (*****) take it off. ****** also told my employee that Magnolia had attacked one of their own boston terriers and it had to have its eye removed. This is why Magnolia could not board in the same run as her house mates. We have indoor/outdoor runs and Magnolia used those but would not let us put a leash on her repeatedly biting at the leash. When my groomer ******* who has over 30 years of dog training experience tried to put Magnolia on leash to give her a bath on 1/3-15, Magnolia again tried to bite the leash repeatedly and she could not be bathed . We did not charge for any walks or bathing for Magnolia. We do not feel the dog was in any danger from not walking or bathing and did not contact the owner and upset their vacation. We were led to understand the owners knew the dog was difficult and cannot speak to other boarding experiences. The boston terriers received their walks and used the runs and had no problems. We do not feel a refund is due because we did not charge for anything that was not provided for Magnolia. If there is any issue that is not clear, please let me know. Thank You, ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Who is ******? My wife **** is a certified vet tech. Most of the facts you stated are incorrect. They dogs were not arriving from Kansas, they were arriving from Englewood, OH. The Bouveir didn't attack the Boston terrier. How about you speak from the viewpoint of facts and your prospective. We dropped off Magnolia with the promise of boarding, walking, and bathing. When we called there was no discussion or comments that there were any issues. So the commet about upsetting our vacation? We spoke to your facility, and was reassured that everything was fine. However, it was only when we picked her up and questioned why she smelled like urine that you said she couldn't be walked or bathed. I would have never boarded her their if I knew that weren't going to walk and bath her as promised when we dropped her off, and as promised when we called and checked in her. Your story changed from trying to bite the groomer to chewing on a leash. You are in the wrong business if you can't handle a dog chewing on a leash. Your response is full of excuses we didn't walk because, we didn't bath because, we didn't call because, we lied because, we have poor customer service because, we make false promised because.....

Final Business Response
I am responding to the facts as I know them. I was told you were coming here from Kansas and was given a Kansas address. My employee was told there was an altercation between Magnolia and one of your Boston Terriers and attitude problems were acknowledged. My employee had to have your wife remove Magnolia's leash in our kennel. When trying to put a leash on a dog, it is the only thing between the dog and the person holding the leash. Magnolia tried to bite the leash logically the next thing would be to bite the person. I will not take chances with safety for the dogs or my employees. It is stressful for Magnolia and the outdoor run was an acceptable option in our opinion. Your call to check on the dogs was a few hours after they had been dropped off and we had not tried to walk her at this time. All 3 dogs had used the indoor/outdoor runs and had no issues. I told your wife and her Mother when they arrived that we could not bathe or walk Magnolia and why. I did not try to hide it or charge you for it. I would not change what we did for Magnolia keeping her stay as stress free as possible. We have had great success with many dogs who had difficulties boarding at other facilities and feel we did the best for Magnolia in a stressful situation for her. I am sorry for referring to your wife as ******. That was a typo in my system for *******.
****** ******

I am the groomer who was asked to bathe Magnolia. I was a licesed Vet Tech for 9 years. I hold multiple titles in dog training including: tracking, protection, schutzhund, obedience, rally and agility at the highest levels. I have raised German Shepherd dogs for 30 years. I have instructed both individual and group obedience classes and behavior training for 30 years.I have been a groomer for over 30 years. I have a local reputation for being able to handle difficult dogs. Magnolia would not come in to the inside run for me as she did not know me. I do grooming and do not participate in the boarding area aside from bringing pets out for grooming before they go home. I went outside to retrieve her. She immediately went to the back of the run when I opened her gate. Every time I approached, she avoided me by rushing by me to the other side. I approached sideways slowly, talking gently to her and avoiding direct eye contact. After multiple tries, she decided I was not going to leave her alone and stood her ground. She lunged at me and bit the leash, it was not a full fledged attack, it was a warning to leave her alone.I decided at that point not to stress Magnolia or push her into a true attack. I do not believe in harming, abusing or stressing a dog just to have a bath. I have no way of knowing whether her previous kennel and groomer knew her a young dog and whether she was familiar with the facility for a period of time, just as the owners have no way of knowing how Magnolia behaved here. I have had customers come back from Florida and South Carolina for me to groom their dogs because they were not happy with anyone in their new location. I take pride in my work and feel I did the best thing for Magnolia by not bathing her. ***** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Boarding & Kennels, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Garden Centers, Dog Breeders, Pet Grooming,

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/07/1990Business started: 11/01/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deborah Bailey (Co-Owner)Mr. Ronald Gene Bailey (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Garden Centers, Dog Breeders, Pet Grooming,

Products & Services

This company offers boarding, kennels, grooming, pet supplies and garden center.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunshine Kennels & Garden Center

3318 Phillipsburg Union Rd

Union, OH 45322

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3318 Phillipsburg Union Rd 

    Union, OH 45322(937) 836-1244
    Fax: (937) 836-1151

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunshine Kennels & Garden Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Pet Boarding & Kennels

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.