BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2001

Prime Time Party Rental, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (937) 296-9262Fax: (937) 296-92605225 N. Springboro Pk., DaytonOH 45439

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/23/2001

BBB has determined that Prime Time Party Rental, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prime Time Party Rental, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Prime Time Party Rental, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is really two fold. First with the delivery and secondly with the customer service after.
We hired the company for our wedding to bring in Chivari chairs. We had to change the delivery date due to the heat not allowing the newly laid blacktop to set. The weather was very hot that week so I called to re-schedule the delivery. No one picked up so I left a message stating for them not to deliver. This was the day before delivery was scheduled so there was ample time to make the change. Instead I never received a call back and then the next day I received a call at work saying that the delivery people were there. I had to leave work, drive to the house, help come up with a solution, get a pick up, drive to a secondary location, help load, and then go back to work over 2 hours later covered in sweat. The delivery drivers were helpful.

I called to speak with someone to express my frustrations and was able to speak with *****. ***** said that she would look into and in the mean time send us a gift card for dinner for my new wife and I. Never heard back and never received anything. After my honeymoon I continued almost weekly trying to reach anyone to talk through my frustrations. I still have yet to receive a call from anyone. I even called the owner **** and left a voicemail with him.

This is quickly turning into the worst customer service experience ever. I truly feel like that once they received our money that they no longer had any care about us as customers. Would never do business with them again and would certainly never recommend them to anyone in Columbus to use. I find it unacceptable that they won't even call me to let me explain to them my frustrations, only causing more frustration. Keep in mind the time period covers from August 26 to current day and I still have yet to hear from anyone. Thanks!

Desired Settlement
I feel that for the situation there should be some sort of resolve. Not only did I have to leave work for hours to fix and error on the companies behalf, but the poor customer service and the time that I have spent trying to talk to anyone who ACTUALLY CARES.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Marketin
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@primetimepartyrental.com
Prime Time has built a 17 year long standing with the community based on the care and concern for our customers. As for this particular event, let me detail for you the exact notes from our contract as well as explanation on the company's behalf. Here are the notes directly from the contract during the time of confirmation which took place between Prime Time's Confirmation Associate and Mr. ******
********************************************
5.5 EMAILED TO ADJUST QUOTE. **
7.17 EMAILED TO ADJUST COUNTS. **
8.19 EMAILED TO ADD HOT DOG ROLLER. **
8/19 **** CALLED TO PAY REST OF BALANCE - **
8/25 CONFIRMED. ***

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

DELIVER WED, THURS ANYTIME - SETTING UP FRI - CALL **** WHEN ON WAY XXX-XXX-XXXX
HAVING DRIVEWAY SEALED. WILL NEED CALL WHEN ON WAY - TO TELL YOU BEST WAY TO DELIVER
DRIVEWAY HAS A LARGE BRICK ENTRANCE. SINGLE RED REFLECTOR IN GRASS. ROAD BENDS AT ENTRANCE AND BECOMES SHULL ROAD.
WILL BE DELIVERING TO BARN.
IF ANY ISSUES WITH WED OR THURS - CALL **** IN ADVANCE.
PU TUES OR WED FROM BARN - THEY WILL BE ON HONEYMOON - BUT SHOULD HAVE ACCESS - XXX-XXX-XXXX HOMEOWNER'S (***** OR ****) IF ANY ISSUES.

DELIVERED BY ***** A AND ***** - LEFT 6 CHIVARI CARTS

HAD TO DELIVER TO SECONDARY LOCATION: **** ****** - CUSTOMER TO CALL SHOP REGARDING ISSUE

PICKED UP BY *** AND *****
*************************************************
Just based on the logistics alone of loading and routing deliveries for the following day, we would not have been able to adjust the delivery schedule and loaded truck to accommodate the request to change the delivery. Each week we are making over 300 deliveries and pickups and it isn't as easy as a phone call to change when all routes scheduled.

During the phone call from the client, our manager spoke with him regarding his frustration and explained to him our policy as well as accommodating the last minute change request. During the phone call, the manager asked what else could be done while our drivers were still in Columbus at which point the customer said there wasn't anything else that could be done. He did ask why he didn't receive a phone call which the manager was unable to answer but again reiterated there would not have been an option to change the delivery even the day before. Trucks are loaded the previous day with numerous orders for the following days deliveries. Our manager asked what restaurant he and his wife would like to go to because he was truly was upset that he had to return to work sweaty after the delivery. The customer responded that he didn't know where he and his wife liked to dine and mentioned he would let us know at a later time. Unfortunately, we don't have control over the weather nor how long the driveway took to seal. It is unfortunate that the client was unable to reach the appropriate staff member as we do receive hundreds of phone calls each day. We are certainly willing to send Mr ****** and his wife a gift card for any inconvenience that again we didn't feel we had any control over.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would say that upon review of the response that the vendor gave, I'm in agreement with most of the statements made. Something that I would like to point out is that although the vendor cannot control the situations that come with being a provider of rental equipment, I cannot control whether or not the vendor has ample staffing to check voicemail throughout the day. It is not my responsibility as a customer to staff an office to the proper staffing to meet the growing demand of the business climate. If you as a vendor know that you are receiving hundreds of calls a day then it is the vendors responsibility to correctly project the needs of the business to properly meet the demands of the business. Here is a quote from the response by the vendor that outlines their inability to properly staff their office.

"It is unfortunate that the client was unable to reach the appropriate staff member as we do receive hundreds of phone calls each day."

I find it 100% unacceptable that the vendor is trying to push this back on me, the customer. If you as a business know that you have that many calls then it is that businesses responsibility to deal with the demands. Furthermore, I find it additionally challenging because I left the voicemail with the Logistics Coordinator. Is the vendor saying that the business in whole gets hundreds of calls or is she saying the Logistics Coordinator gets hundreds of calls? It seems a little confusing on what the vendor is saying. Either way, its the vendors issue, not mine.

Second point that I would like to make is inaccuracy and lack of follow up on behalf of the vendor. Please see below quote from the vendors response in which I'm referencing.

"Our manager asked what restaurant he and his wife would like to go to because he was truly was upset that he had to return to work sweaty after the delivery. The customer responded that he didn't know where he and his wife liked to dine and mentioned he would let us know at a later time."

Parts of this are true, however parts are not. When speaking with ***** about the situation I said that ******* ******** ****** were fine. She then stated that she would like to purchase a gift card for us in the mean time while they dug into the situation. She was supposed to e-mail me that way I had her e-mail to communicate the specifics of the call that took place to her. No gift card was ever received nor was any e-mail of follow up to my issue.

I'd also like to point out that this version is actually comical to me. At the same time truly upsetting and very frustrating. ***** makes me sound like a prissy jerk who doesn't want to get dirty or sweaty. In my complaint to her I stated several different issues, one of which was that it was 92 outside and I was unloading chairs. The bigger point that needs to be understood by the vendor is that was my last day of work for almost two weeks. I really didn't have the time to leave work for over two hours to help figure out a game plan. Not only was I out of work, but I was doing part of the job that the vendor was paid to do. I also had to unload the chairs the day before the wedding as well, once again a job that was for the vendor to complete as it was part of the delivery fee. The fact that I had to go back to work soaked in sweat almost three hours later was just icing on the cake. The fact that I smelled and was sitting miserably for hours still wet with sweat was more icing on the cake. And now the one part of the complaint that the vendor got out of our conversation, was that I was upset because I was sweaty is just another layer of that figurative icing on the cake that I'm talking about. This might be the most upsetting piece of the entire complaint. One piece of advice I would have for their customer service people would be to take detailed notes. Don't paraphrase or summarize. This will only make matters much much worse.

As far as the lack of follow up goes, the complaint was started the week of my wedding which was August 30, 2014. That was 8 weeks ago. Had I just not followed up, this issue would be a closed deal. The vendor would have never returned my e-mails (2) and phone calls (4). It is my opinion that the complaint stopped with ***** and never made it anywhere. I am in no way attacking ***** or the vendor, even though in their report they make me sound like a prissy jerk. Upon research of the vendor they have quite the proven track record of quality service all around. I am however saying that the vendor failed miserably at digging into the this particular issue and closing it for good. Instead, I am even more challenged with the lack of customer service and the overall attitude that the vendor and it's customer service representative have taken. The one bright spot in the whole ordeal has been speaking with ****, who is the owner of the company. Before speaking with him I filed the complaint with the BBB, however I think had I spoken with him prior to the filing I would have been able to work something out. He seemed to care, asked me what I would like, and seemed generally more pleasant. I really wish that we would have spoken prior to me filing the complaint. The other bright spot of the company was the delivery drivers were flexible and pleasant to work with. Even though they were challenged, they moved on with a smile on their face.

In summary, it is not the customers responsibility to staff the vendor to properly fill the needs of the business. If you know that you receive hundreds of calls a day I would certainly want to make sure that I had the staffing to keep up with the demand. The vendors customer service lacked the follow up needed to deal with this fairly simple matter. At this point I would like the case to be closed as quickly as possible. When speaking with the owner, he had asked me what I wanted and at the time I didn't really know. At the time I just wanted someone to let me voice my frustrations. At this point I would like the delivery fee refunded in full. The original issue revolves around the delivery issues so I think it's fair. This would amount to a 10% refund of the total bill. Thank you for your help in this matter.

Best Regards,

**** ******

Final Business Response
We do fully understand Mr. ******'s concerns regarding this issue. It is unfortunate that a multitude of factors, on both parts, brought us both to this point. It is always our intention to provide the best service possible as well as a timely and accurate delivery of product. We have issued Mr. ****** a refund as requested, and will look into our processes so that we can avoid such matters in the future.

Sincerely,
******** ******
Prime Time Party Rental

Industry Comparison| Chart

Party Supplies - Renting, Tents - Rental, China & Glassware - Renting, Chairs - Rent, Wedding Supplies & Services, Party Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/23/1999Business started: 06/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1997, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bart Nye (Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs. Missy Donovan (Inside Sales)Mr. Jeff Darnell (Outside Sales)Ms. Jennifer Gilman Mr. Tony Iddings (Operations Manager)Mrs. Christina Pearson (Controller)
Number of Employees

47

Business Category

Party Supplies - Renting, Tents - Rental, China & Glassware - Renting, Chairs - Rent, Wedding Supplies & Services, Party Supplies

Products & Services

This company offers a variety of rentals including items such as tents, tables, chairs, wedding accessories, china, linens, dance floor, inflatables, pipe & drape, office & meeting equipment, games & fundraising equipment, concession equipment, inflatables, and staging/bleachers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prime Time Party Rental, Inc.

5225 N. Springboro Pk.

Dayton, OH 45439

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5225 N. Springboro Pk. 

    Dayton, OH 45439Fax: (937) 296-9260

  • 2104 W Dorothy Ln 

    Moraine, OH 45439(937) 296-9262

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prime Time Party Rental, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Party Supplies - Renting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.