BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/12/2008

Ink Technologies, LLC

Phone: (937) 630-3083Fax: (937) 684-4245

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned product to company and have not received the credit back on my credit card.
I returned product at my expense and they have not credited my account for the return. They say give
my financial institute 7-10 days to process the return. My financial institute has never taken more than an hour to process any other returns. Just want my money, please help f you can, hope this helps in someone else's nightmare as well. Good luck and thank you for your efforts, they are appreciated.

Desired Settlement
just a full refund in a timely matter.

Business Response
This customer initiated a return request on our website on 9/13/14, stating he purchased a different printer and no longer needed our product. An RMA number was provided and we received the product in our warehouse on 9/24/14. It was received in good condition, so a credit refund in full was processed to the card through our credit card processing company on 9/25/14. Proof of this refund is available if the customer wants to see it. The funds were removed from our account on 9/25/14 and processed back to his account. Once the credit is issued through our processor, it can take several days to go through the banking systems, which is something that is out of our control. This is a bank issue. This BBB complaint was registered on 9/26/14, less than 24 hours after our processing completes for our EOD batches. On that same day, this customer sent numerous emails to us about non-receipt of his money, and in several of these emails used unacceptable profanity (OMFG) and yes it means exactly what you are thinking - you can blank this out if you feel it is necessary. We turned this RMA around in 24 hours - which is actually spectacular customer service. The customer should call his issuing bank for complete details of the transaction.

08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered an ink cartridge on 8/6/14 online from inktechnologies.com. It was never delivered. I have not been refunded my money.
I ordered an ink cartridge on 8/6/14 online from inktechnologies.com (hereafter referred to as "IT"). I listed my address as ** *** XXXXX, ******** ***** ** XXXXX. This is my current address and one that I have used since March 2006.

From May 27th to August 1st, I worked as a Summer Associate at the *************************** in *************, so I put a temporary forward on my mail with the USPS, from the above PO Box in *************, KS to a PO Box in ********** VA, from 6/1/14 to 8/2/14.

Notice that my temporary forward was officially terminated before I placed the ink order. I listed the address as the same address I've used - and that the IRS and the *************************** have used (I am a military veteran) - since March 2006.

Yet because the USPS ************ office in *************, KS ***** accidentally forwarded my ink package to Virginia or somewhere, the USPS eventually just sent it back to IT. A USPS rep said that FedEx - whom IT uses - only gives the USPS 10 days to deliver a "Smart Post" package to the addressee.

So, I called IT today, in the early afternoon, and I spoke to *****. He said that I would certainly be refunded the $24 I spent on the ink, since I do not have it in my possession. He further said that IT had received the package back at their location (on 8/19/2014).

So, I said that I did want to be refunded, as ***** said would happen, but I also said that I wanted the ink re-sent to me at no cost to me, for free. This is because I had placed an order 2 weeks ago and had still not received it - but had been billed for it. It was to recompense all the time and effort I had spent tracking the package. Please note that I had to call Ink Technologies today and inquire of the status. They made no attempt to contact me.

So, ***** said that he would have ***** return my call.

***** called me and was incredibly rude. She wanted me to be silent while she lectured me, on "2 issues," (which switched to 3 issues) rapidly expending my mobile phone minutes. After I let her explain her first issue for several minutes - about the forwarding order on my mail - I tried to respond. She was incredibly rude, as she was the entire phone call. She interrupted me, and she was drippingly sarcastic to me.

Then, she ignorantly said that my request to have an ink cartridge shipped free to me was "STEALING!" Ridiculous. A customer asking for a freebie, to recompense hassle, is not "STEALING!"

Instead of saying whether she would do that or not, she made her abusiveness that much more offensive by stating that she was going to charge me another $10 to re-ship the package.

Her reasoning was because FedEx had charged Innk Technologies $8.65 to return the ink cartridge since the USPS had not delivered the package in 10 days.

Bluntly: That $8.65 is not my issue. I gave IT a valid address. What happens between IT, Fedex and USPS is a business issue (her problem).

***** at IT is incredibly abusive, and I would bet she treats others similarly.



I want my $24 back, and I request that the Ohio Attorney General look into Ink Technologies billing and shipping practices, as well as into their customer service training.

This is the most abusive experience I've had in over a decade. I honestly can't remember having such an abusive encounter with a customer service representative.

I will probably write the Federal Trade Commission about this, because it seems obvious that Ink Technologies is an Internet-only company who ships across state lines frequently.

Desired Settlement
I ordered an ink cartridge on 8/6/14 online from inktechnologies.com (hereafter referred to as "IT"). I listed my address as ** *** XXXXX, ******** ***** ** XXXXX. This is my current address and one that I have used since March 2006.

From *** 27th to August 1st, I worked as a ****** ********* at the *************************** in Washington DC, so I put a temporary forward on my mail with the USPS, from the above PO Box in ******** ***** ** to a ** *** in ********** *** from 6/1/14 to 8/2/14.

Notice that my temporary forward was officially terminated before I placed the ink order. I listed the address as the same address I've used - and that the IRS and the US Dept of Veterans Affairs have used (I am a military veteran) - since March 2006.

Yet because the USPS Indian Creek office in Overland Park, KS XXXXX accidentally forwarded my ink package to ********, the USPS eventually just sent it back to IT. A USPS rep said that FedEx - whom IT uses - only gives the USPS 10 days to deliver a "Smart Post" package to the addressee.

So, I called IT today, in the early afternoon, and I spoke to *****. He said that I would certainly be refunded the $24 I spent on the ink, since I do not have it in my possession. He further said that IT had received the package back at their location (on 8/19/2014).

So, I said that I did want to be refunded, as ***** said would happen, but I also said that I wanted the ink re-sent to me at no cost to me, for free. This is because I had placed an order 2 weeks ago and had still not received it - but had been billed for it. It was to recompense all the time and effort I had spent tracking the package. Please note that I had to call Ink Technologies today and inquire of the status. They made no attempt to contact me.

So, ***** said that he would have ***** return my call. ***** called me and was incredibly rude. She wanted me to be silent while she lectured me, on "2 issues," (which switched to 3 issues) rapidly expending my mobile phone minutes. After I let her explain her first issue for several minutes - about the forwarding order on my mail - I tried to respond. She was incredibly rude, as she was the entire phone call. She interrupted me, and she was drippingly sarcastic to me.

Then, she ignorantly said that my request to have an ink cartridge shipped free to me was "STEALING!" Ridiculous. A customer asking for a freebie, to recompense hassle, is not "STEALING!"

Instead of saying whether she would do that or not, she made her abusiveness that much more offensive by stating that she was going to charge me another $10 to re-ship the package.

Her reasoning was because FedEx had charged her $8.65 to return the ink cartridge since the USPS had not delivered the package in 10 days.

Bluntly: That $8.65 is not my issue. I gave IT a valid address. What happens between IT, Fedex and USPS is a business issue (her problem).

***** at IT is incredibly abusive, and I would bet she treats others similarly.



I want my $24 back, and I request that the BBB look into Ink Technologies billing and shipping practices, as well as into their customer service training.

This is the most abusive experience I've had in over a decade. I honestly can't remember having such an abusive encounter with a customer service representative.

I will probably write the Federal Trade Commission about this, because it seems obvious that Ink Technologies is an Internet-only company who ships across state lines frequently.

Business Response
The customer has been refunded in full.

We jumped through a few hoops to figure out what happened and we were charged extra money by USPS for the re-delivery of the package back to us (we had asked USPS to forward the package to the address on the package - the address supplied by the customer, but since this was a hand-off from Fedex to USPS, they refused)
The problem was the expired forwarding address at the post office, which was completely out of our control. Once the package leaves our dock,it becomes the responsibility of the carriers (in this case FedEx and USPS). We all pay for the delivery service and if the package is not delivered correctly or timely, the carrier needs to get involved. In this case it was the US Postal Service and they did nothing to help us resolve this situation. As for our CS person, and the alleged poor communications, we will look into this and handle.
We apologize for this inconvenience.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrong color ink cartridge shipped. Right color subsequently shipped but defective. Company wants me to pay for shipping return of defective product.
Ordered four ink cartridges (2 black, 1 yellow, 1 blue) for Samsung CLX6200 printer. Received magenta cartridge instead of yellow. Called inktechnologies, was authorized to return unopened magenta cartridge and provided postage (FedEx) label for return at inktechnologies expense. Replacement yellow cartridge shipped by ground, causing significant delay and not arriving prior to key presentation. Once received, yellow cartridge was defective (i.e., bled ink on documents). Called inktechnologies and received return authorization. However the company wants me to pay for return shipping of their defective product at my expense. This situation has already caused significant hassle and missing a deadline. To pay for shipping on return of defective product is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
Please just pay for the shipping to return defective products, QC products and verify order fulfillment accuracy before shipping.

Business Response
Our customer service supervisor has sent this customer a Fed Ex return tag to send the product in question back to us at no cost to herself. This was an error on our part. A return tag had been set up originally, but did not get attached to the email correspondence. We have tried calling the customer several times, but she has not returned our call. Hopefully this will resolve the issue.
Apologies for the miscue on our part.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have shipped me defective toner and will not issue a call tag to have it picked up.
Invoice #XXXXXXX, toner

I ordered toner for my HP3600 printer, upon receipt and installation of one of the toners, the printer replied with an error (Error 50.17). I researched the error and stated the toner was defective. I then put in another toner cartridge from another vendor and it worked fine.

They will not issue a call tag to pickup the merchandise because they state its on their web site, in the satisfaction guarantee. However it does not reference defective merchandise.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of merchandise and shipping charges

Business Response
The customer was dissatisfied without product and initially he was going to ship it back to us for refund. Then he notified us that it was too expensive for him to ship back. We have attempted to contact this customer several times via email and telephone, but he has not responded to us at all.
We will be issuing him a return tag, via email. When we receive the product back, a refund will be issued. The customer needs to check his email for the return tag (advise to also check spam folder, as the tag will be coming from FedEx) We cannot issue a refund without having the product back.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They advertise 100% Customer Satisfaction. I ordered 3 print cartridges. They were defective and did not work. They would not issue a full refund.
This company advertises 100% customer satisfaction. I ordered 3 print cartridges. I opened the first one. It was defective and did not work. I immediately called the company to tell them and ask how I could return them. I got an e-mail stating they would only refund for 2 cartridges and not the opened one. Their website clearly states they will refund if less than 30% is used. They also stated I was responsible for the shipping. I paid for the shipping back. They refunded me $25.50 out of a total bill of $35.68.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund.

Business Response
Just to clarify our policy on returns,if an order is under $50, the customer pays for shipping. Orders over $50 are free shipping. This customer was charged $10.18 for shipping. Our return policy states, if you return the product for a refund, as opposed to a replacement, the customer will NOT be refunded the original shipping fee and they will have to pay for shipping the product back to us. We reached out to this customer upon receiving this BBB complaint. We will be refunding the customer $10.18 she was charged for shipping on her original purchase invoice.

Page 1 of 3
09/11/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible Delivery Time. 9 Days to get purchase to ********** *** 300 miles distance.
Order Number: IXXXXXX Aug. 15, 2013. Delivery date 08/23/2013. Had to go purchase ink in the mean time. Will tell all of my personal contacts to beware of this supplier/seller and also to ignore the A+ rating given to this company by BBB. Totally ridiculous that this company could be allowed to continue to sucker people in.

Desired Settlement
I would like a total refund of my purchase price.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** placed his order on our website on 8/15/13. Our website offers a fairly wide range of shipping choices - postal ground thru next day air. It would seem that Mr. ****** chose Postal Ground as the shipping method because his ship to address is a PO Box. Our website does state that Postal Ground can take anywhere from 3-7 business days.
The tracking# (Fedex ********************)for this shipment shows the package delivered on 8/22/13 to the post office where his box is located. Keep in mind there was a weekend within this time frame. Postal Ground is a longer process, and even though we do agree that a week is a long time to lapse for a delivery to Tennessee, we have no control over the package once it leaves our building and falls into the hands of the carrier and then the US Postal System. If Mr. ****** still wants a refund, he will need to follow our return policy as stated on our website, by filling out an RMA form. Until we receive our product back, we cannot refund the purchase price. Once the product is returned, it will be inspected and a refund will be issued based on that inspection.
We are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience this caused him.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What they fail to mention is that they do not ship US Postal by the postal service, they ship it by Fed-EX. They're website does not mention that fact either. I have ordered ink from the West Coast by US Postal Service and received it in 2 days. They are a terrible customer service company and didn't care that I had to go out and purchase ink just so I would have some ink to use in the interim. They shipped the ink from OH. to **., totally by-passing ********* **, where it sat for a week in GA. before being sent back to *********, **. I would suggest that anyone think twice about doing business with this company. I contacted them twice trying to locate my order. Ultimately they can do whatever they want and look at the short term dollar they made or they can look at the long term and see if poor customer service keeps them in business for very long. My guess is "NOT", and if I were BBB, I would certainly think twice about allowing them to use the BBB A+ logo on their site as that was one of the main deciding factors that convinced me to give them a try. They have not only given themselves a black eye, they have given BBB A+ rating a black eye. I know I certainly will never, ever order from them again and will tell all business acquaintances to avoid them at all cost. They are definitely a rip off company that is out for the quick buck and think they have no responsibility to the customer after the sale and they have the money in their hot little hands. Shame on them. On top of that, if their service provider can't fulfill their responsibilities in a timely manner, perhaps they should search for a new service provider.

09/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Office Supplies, Fax Equipment & Systems, Internet Shopping, Printer & Printer Supplies- Manufacturer, Printers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.