BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Buckeye Harley-Davidson

(937) 898-8084View Additional Phone Numbers7220 N Dixie Dr., DaytonOH 45414

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Our mission is to deliver the ultimate customer experience through a team that was built with passion and a deep connection with our customers. We listen and understand so we can determine how to best meet their needs. It's all about them!

BBB Accreditation

Buckeye Harley-Davidson is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Buckeye Harley-Davidson's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Buckeye Harley-Davidson's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate Buckeye Harley-Davidson has had a pattern of complaints concerning difficulty with customer service after purchase. Your BBB contacted the company in writing in July of 2014 regarding the pattern of complaints. On July 24, 2014, Buckeye Harley-Davidson confirmed in a letter to your BBB, they will implement a new plan to improve communication by calling the consumers after they have purchased a bike to check in and offer assistance with any issues they may have. They will also improve communication between the sales and service department. The company did indicate in the letter, they never want to release a bike they do not feel 100% confident it will work properly. To ensure that will happen they are requiring the service department to inspect all bikes prior to delivery. The service department will double check service records and makes sure it leaves the shop clean.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Buckeye Harley-Davidson

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide on promised services after buying motorcycle.
We bought a 2001 motorcycle. The radio had a CD stuck in it and there was no license plate bracket. A few small repair items. We were given a 30 warranty. They are now billing us 50% of the cost of repairs and have failed to repair the radio to original stock. They have not returned our calls in a timely manner. They have had the cycle for over 2 weeks and have not finished the repairs. There were charges that they lead us to believe was part of their service agreement w/purchase and then charged almost $500. for those items. I am very disgruntled customer and would expect some compension for our trouble and time. I have spoken to the Manager and he offered only that he was sorry for our inconvenience. That doesn't help our 3 trips down, gas, or time! And they still are not fixing things properly. They have offered nothing except an apology. Please help me and others that are going to taken "for a ride". Thank You.

Desired Settlement
We would expect that the radio be replaced w/stock. We would also not expect to pay ANYTHING for the repairs as this was not told to use upfront that repairs would be on a 50/50 basis.

Business Response
Mrs. ********** I apologize for the experience with your motorcycle so far. I understand that the CD was stuck in your radio and we did everything in our abilities to get it out. We even took it to a specialty radio store and they couldn't help. When we tried to get you a new factory radio they no longer make them. You'll run into that when you purchase older motorcycles. The great news is that we were finally able to get the CD out and I also informed that service department that all repairs will be covered 100% by us. We hope that you continue to do business with us and if you have any questions please contact ***** ********. Thank you.

07/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Motorcycle sold to me which should not have been sold due to major mechanical problems.
I purchased a 2006 Electraglide Standard FLHT in August 2013. A week after having it I had to take back to the dealer for service for idling/ tuning issues. I got it back after they replaced the idle air control but it still was not running correctly. The motorcycle has been back for service 3 times since purchase resulting in the motorcycle being in their shop for 5 of the 9 months that I have owned it. Since getting it back in March 2014 I have ridden it around 3000 miles and it has had running/ starting issues the whole time. I took the motorcycle to a local Cycle shop here in Cincinnati on June 1, 2014 to have it inspected for running/ starting issues. Inspection revealed that the motor components were severely damaged and that all attempts made by the dealerships service to fix running/ starting issues were essentially a cover up of what was going on inside the motor. The problems with the motor were not caused by myself in the less than 4000 miles I have put on it, yet an ongoing issue since the motor had been rebuilt by the previous owner. I purchased the motorcycle for 11,650 dollars which was more than the blue book value of 9,500 dollars because of representation by Harley salesmen that I was buying a great motorcycle that the previous owner had built and put a lot of money into. I am paying roughly 300 dollars a month for a motorcycle that i can't ride and needs another 8,000 dollars or more put into rebuilding the motor. which I can't afford. I feel that the mechanic here in Cincinnati is correct that it should not have been sold, that this has been an ongoing issue with the motorcycle. Therefore damages should be covered under my original 30 day guarantee at purchase. I have made attempts to contact the general manager at Buckeye Harley Davidson but he is always in a meeting or with a customer and does not return my calls. I feel cheated and very disgusted with their business practices. Harley Davidson is a very large and profitable company. To think that a dealership of such a reputable company would cheat a consumer and refuse service or to return phone calls is not good business practice.

Desired Settlement
The motorcycle was guaranteed for 30 days at original purchase. Since the motor was bad at purchase and never fixed, it falls on them to replace the motor. I am not happy with the service department at Buckeye Harley Davidson and have trust issues with the dealership in general. So I believe I should have a mechanic of my choice rebuild or replace the motor and the bill to be covered by Buckeye Harley Davidson.

Business Response
Mr. ***** has spoken to our Service Department and because the bike has had motor work, which the customer was aware of at the time, we wouldn't be able to cover the issues he is having with his motorcycle. As a business it is impossible for a used bike to be covered under warranty for an extended period of time. Even from a dealership there is always the risk of unknown when purchasing a used bike. There is just no way of knowing exactly what the bike has been through. If you purchase any used vehicle from anyone in the country it is always a limited warranty for a short amount of time. The issues Mr. ***** is experiencing are problems we would never have inspected on the bike unless they were obvious problems at the time of inspection. We don't tear a motor apart every time we get one in. If the motor was making noises at the time of purchase we would have addressed the problems. If Mr. ***** has any further questions he can contact ***** ********.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just because the problems with the motor were not discovered prior to sale or during times of service, does not mean that they didn't exist. Problems occurred within the first week that I owned the bike and were covered under the 30 day guarantee. Problems were not corrected during any of the services, therefore still are covered under the original 30 day guarantee.

Final Business Response
Mr. ***** it has been almost a year since you purchased your motorcycle. We can't fix something that far out of warranty. If you had purchased a brand new motorcycle and problems occurred with the bike before the warranty was out but than didn't try to fix the problem until after the warranty expired the company wouldn't honor it. This is a simple matter of time. I can't fix something on a bike that I sold a year ago for free. You also were given the opportunity to purchase an extended service plan which would have possibly covered this problem. I will again state that there is always a risk when purchased a used anything. We offer products to cover this problem at the time of every purchase. I'm sorry we can not help but we would gladly offer you a discount on the labor and parts it's going to take to fix your motorcycle if you do the work here. Thank you.

10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to return phone calls or communicate intentions after warranty/refund paperwork received from Harley-Davidson. Ongoing issue since April 2013.
Purchased a Vinyl Tour-Pak (part # XXXXX-XXA) along with a Detachable Tour-Pak Rack (part # XXXXX-XX) for my 2010 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fatboy on 4-13-2013 from ** at Buckeye Harley-Davidson. The items were purchased by credit card for the amount of $698.07. Tried to install detachable rack on motorcycle and it would not fit with my detachable saddlebags installed. Went back to dealership to see if additional hardware was needed. They had the service manager, ******* look at it and said I needed different docking hardware for it to fit, so we ordered that on 4-22-2013. Once docking hardware was received, it ended up being the same exact thing already installed on motorcycle, so now the service manager, ******* has no clue and passes me off to another employee, **** to handle the fitment issue. Once *** takes over (who eventually becomes service manager)he begins to talk with the regional representative (**** ***??) and she recommends I bring my bike in for them to look at the issue. I dropped the bike off at the dealership overnight and they had it the complete next day to look at the fitment issue. When I came to pick it up, they said they don't know why the parts don't fit and that H-D engineering should be getting back with them for an answer. Engineering got back with them to see if a "T-code" was on the frame near the battery, so I looked and also took my bike to the dealership for *** to also see that there was "NOT" any code on my bike. After this I received no answers and was finally told by the service manager to call Harley customer care to see if we could expedite the issue. I called customer care in mid August and **** supplied me with a service request number of XXXXXXX. He asked what my intentions were and I said at this point I would like a refund. He sent an e-mail to *** and said the dealership would handle it from there. After that I went to the dealership and *** said that he had not received the paperwork yet. I gave him a couple of days and still no response, so I called **** at customer care again and he said that he would call and ensure *** received the paperwork or send it again. I went in to the dealership for the last time on X-XX-XXXX and *** told me the paperwork read funny and he needed clarification on it and would get back with me by Wednesday 9-25-2013. Of course no one got back with me, so I called on 9-26-2013 and left a message for call back, which also did not happen. Finally I called on Friday 9-27-2013 and was told that *** is no longer service manager and ****** has taken over and would help me resolve this issue. ****** called me back that afternoon and wanted to hear my side of the story and then said the paperwork was very clear to him that I would receive a refund. He said that he would have to figure out how to do it and needed to ask someone and would get back to me by late afternoon or first thing the next morning. Once again, I heard nothing from them and called one hour before they closed and was told ****** would call me back, which he has not once again. I have called this dealership on a weekly basis since April 2013 and still have no resolution as to why my parts do not fit. Every time I call they tell me they're in a meeting or is helping a customer. Multiple messages have been left and I may have received 3 total call backs from them. I only get answers when I go to the dealership. Very unprofessional business in my opinion and the worst customer service I have ever experienced from a Harley-Davidson dealership.

Desired Settlement
I would like the full refund promised by **** at Harley-Davidson customer care in the form of cash or back to my credit card used to purchase the items with.

Business Response
We have apologized to Mr. ****** for the inconvenience and we have refunded his money to him.

05/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership has been unresponsive to my request for details regarding my request for refund of a maintenance plan that is ill-suited for my needs.
I purchased a Harley Iron 883 on April 5th from Buckeye Harley Davidson. In the Finance and Insurance Department ******* sold me a "pre-paid maintenance plan" that was marketed/advertised as a VIB plan. The cost of this plan alone was $2,399.00 and the motorcycle itself was $7,999.
After several days of research and analysis on my part, I came to the conclusion that this plan was not a good fit for me and in fact an entire waste of money.
The details of this plan never were explained to me such as "it cant be cancelled".

When I called the finance company they said the plan can be cancelled but they couldn't find me in their system. ***** in F&I told me I "do" have a VIB plan but the dealerships plan can not be cancelled.
After a week, ***** talked to the owner who was suppose to get back to me the next day but didn't so I called *************. I explained to him that I am a first time rider, I wont be putting the miles on the bike that would even require me to have such a plan of coverage and I wasn't educated on the details in F&I when ***** was in a such a hurry to get the paperwork printed, my signature on them and get me on my way.
***** said he would call me the next day and that they should be able to get this issue resolved for me. The next day again, no contact so I emailed ***** to find out what is going on. He had **** call me in another attempt to get me to keep the plan by saying "if you trade it in within three years we will give you 110% of the purchase price". This tells me the plan is already 10% overpriced.
Also, depending upon who I talked to, I was told my plan was good for three years, others told me it was good for life.
After going around and being put off for two weeks my patience ran thin and I emailed the owner again asking for details as to when this would be resolved before escalating to the next level.
He wrote back and in verbatim he wrote, ****- We will be sending your VIB payment to the bank to be applied towards your loan minus administrative fee of $75.00
I wrote back asking the details of this fee. I wasn't charged a fee to "set up the plan" so why would I have this $75.00 fee? I also mentioned that I should be credited the following (Total Cost of Plan + Accrued Interest During the Period - MINUS Zero $ in Fees)
He never wrote back. I even offered my cell phone # where he could have called me to discuss. He never did.

Summary, the F&I sales person did not take time to get to know my needs as a rider and therefore packaged some overpriced bogus plan and NEVER told me it couldn't be cancelled. After a week of getting nowhere, I went to the next level. This was when I contacted the owner, ***** *******.
I explained to ***** this plan does not benefit me. I did research and the maintenance alone is cheaper than buying the plan. Besides, If HD quality is so great, why would I need this plan?
He never got back to me until after I annoyed him with several emails.
I kept emailing them requesting updates. I got sick of being put off and treated as if I don't matter.

I am demanding full refund for the cost of the plan PLUS accrued interest on the amount during the period minus zero in fees.

The fact that I had received numerous different answers from varying people, then another pressure call to get me to keep the plan is beyond annoying. I feel like they figured I would just walk away and not stick with getting mty money back. This plan equated to 34% of the total base cost of the bike and is not needed.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking full refund for the plan PLUS accrued interest of the total cost of the plan at time of sale MINUS ZERO in ANY fees.

Business' Initial Response
The customer purchased a Maintenance Package and later decided he did not want it. Customer did not want to pay cancellation fee. Buckeye Harley-Davidson was willing from day one to refund the product minus a small fee. Customer wants interest on a product he agreed to purchase. Sorry.

12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MY BIKE IS ACTING UP AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. IT IS A LEMON AND I WOULD LIKE IT REPLACED
PURCHASED IN MARCH 2014. 2014 HARLEY FORTY EIGHT. DELIVERED WITH 6 MILES. BIKE WILL SPUTTER AND CHOKE ITSELF OUT AND BOG DOWN. HEADLIGHT AT NIGHT WILL FADE IN AND OUT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON FOR 3-4 MINUTES THEN GO OUT. BIKE WILL STALL AND SOMETIMES SHIFTS ON ITS OWN FROM 2ND TO 3RD GEAR. PUT 2500.00 DOWN BY CHECK , AND PAID A TOTAL OF AROUND 14,000.00 I BELIEVE. (I WOULD HAVE TO CHECK THE EXACT NUMBERS TO BE SURE) WHEN I STARTED HAVING ISSUES, I TOOK THE BIKE BACK AND THE COULD NOT REPLICATE IT THEY SAID SO THEY HAD ME COME UP AND REPLICATE IT FOR THEM, WHICH I DID. A DAY AFTER THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THAT THEY GOT IT TO REPLICATE AND THEY WILL TEST IT. FINALLY THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT GET IT TO REPLICATE AND TOLD ME TO TAKE IT HOME. AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF THEIR DRIVEWAY IT STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN. I TOOK IT BACK AND THEY TOOK IT IN AGAIN TO LOOK AT IT AGAIN. WHEN THEY GAVE IT BACK A SECOND TIME, IT WAS COVERED IN TAR, SO I ASKED THEM TO CLEAN IT. THEY DID AND LEFT SCRATCHES ALL ON MY FENDERS. I TOOK IT AND IT STILL KEPT ACTING UP. I TOOK IT BACK AGAIN, AND THE CLEANED IT (SEMI) AND STILL SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. THEY ARE BLAMING IT ON THE FACT THAT I AM A FAIRLY NEW RIDER, HOWEVER IT HAPPENS TO MYSELF AND MY HUSBAND, BUT THEY DO NOT LISTEN TO ME WHEN I SAY THAT. I TOOK IT AND RODE IT AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT KEPT COMING ON, IT KEEPS SPUTTERING AND BOGGING DOWN AND MY HEADLIGHT WILL GET VERY DIM, THEN BRIGHT, THEN DIM ETC. I ASKED THEM TO REPLACE IT AS I FEEL IT IS A BAD PRODUCT. THEY SAID NO, BUT I COULD TRADE IT IN. I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT I SHOULD HAVE TO DO THAT BECAUSE IT IS UNDER WARRANTY AND THEY SHOULD TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM. THAT DEALERSHIP HAS LIED TO ME AND TREATED ME LIKE I AM STUPID BECAUSE I AM A WOMAN. THEY ALSO FALISFY DOCUMENTS. ON THE WORK ORDERS THAT THEY GIVE ME WHEN I PICK UP THE BIKE, THEY PUT THAT THEY ONLY PUT A FEW MILES ON MY BIKE, AND WHEN I TOOK IT IN THE FIRST TIME, IT ONLY HAD 180 MILES ON IT. THE FIRST TIME I PICKED IT UP, IT HAD OVER 300 MILES ON IT. THE SECOND TIME, WHEN I GOT IT BACK IT HAD ALMOST 480 MILES ON IT. ACCORDING TO THEIR PAPERWORK THEY ONLY PUT LIKE 40 MILES ON IT, BUT THAT IS NOT THE CASE. THE OWNER EVEN ADMITTED TO IT AND OFFERED TO PAY FOR HALF OF MY FIRST 1,000 MILE SERVICE BECAUSE THEY HAVE PUT SO MANY MILES ON IT. I HAVE THAT OFFER IN WRITING. I AM NOT HAPPY WITH MY SERVICES AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP ME EVEN AFTER CONTACTING THEIR OWNERS.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE TO GET A FULL REFUND FROM THIS DEALERSHIP AS THE DO NOT SEEM TO BE VERY HONEST AND FAIR. THEY WILL NOT HELP ME FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG WITH MY BIKE, AND I CANNOT RIDE IT IN THE CONDITION THAT IT IS IN. I HAVE FOUND ANOTHER HARLEY DEALERSHIP THAT I WOULD LIKE TO WORK WITH, AND THEY SEEM THAT THEY ARE HONEST AND WANT TO HELP ME

Business Response
We checked Ms. *******'s bike multiple times and found absolutely nothing wrong with it. I have had 5 different people in my dealership ride this bike and not once have we been able to replicate these issues she has. I have never in my 10 years in this business nor has my staff heard of a bike shifting from 2nd to 3rd on its own. It just doesn't happen. We have bent over backwards to try and satisfy her but she is convinced something is wrong with the bike. We have even spoken with Harley Davidson head quarters and they haven't been able to offer any advice to satisfy her. It's shocking that she would think she is being treated differently because she is a woman. We have sold many bikes to women and consider them to be a huge opportunity for us in the years to come. We have no other options for Ms. ******* until we are able to replicate an actual problem with her bike.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They had me come up to the dealership and replicate the problem for them, which I did while I was out on the bike with a supposed technician, which I later found out was the bike detailer. The very next day they called me and told me they got the issue to replicate and they were checking into it. When I went up there, they changed their story and said that they could not get it to replicate. Ever since the first time they looked at it, more and more things have gone wrong with it and they still continue to insist that there is nothing wrong and that I am causing the check engine light to come on because of the way I ride....funny, when I drive my car the check engine light does not come on.....

11/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait and switch on product sold with motorcycle, and failure to fulfill and the attitude received by company
I purchased the company's VIP package for end of year service and storage. Nothing was ever stated by finance manager about a first come first serve basis. At the end of each year I am supposed to be able to call, get my motorcycle maintained and stored till next season for the as long as own the motorcycle. I have been told by the Sales Manager that it is a first come first serve and that the storage is a bonus to the package, the General Manager said no the storage is included in package but they have limited space yet they sell this product or push to sell it to everyone, so over selling a service that they cannot provide to all sales they complete. I told them the only resolution since they cannot fulfill their promise nor guarantee me that there will not be issues in the future, I have asked for a refund which they are refusing to do, yet they cannot deliver on their promise.

Desired Settlement
The package cost $2600, I wish to have this refunded due to not fulfilling they terms of the package they sold.

Business Response
Our VIB program is the most popular product our dealership sells. It allows a customer to ride their motorcycle for three years without having to worry about the expense of maintaining it. That alone is the very reason why we sell so much of it. We also include in that package the ability to store your motorcycle with us if we have space available in the dealership. We would love to be able to store the thousands of motorcycles we have sold to people but we're limited on space. Even customers that pay to have their bike stored every year have to be turned away when we run out of room. The main reason people purchase the product is because of the maintenance and as an added incentive we will store their bike for free. We will absolutely fulfill our commitment of maintaining the customers motorcycle for free for the length of his contract. I have also offered the customer a spot in our facility to store his motorcycle even though we have turned others away. I understand that sometimes miscommunications happen and for that reason I will find a spot for him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off it was not stated that for the first three years, I was told it was for the duration that I owned the motorcycle. I was also told that storage was included in the program VIB program and nothing was stated on limited space. Their employee misrepresented the product/service that was purchased and because of this error I have requested a refund due to the misguided and misled product sold by the finance manager. Even when I spoke to the GM nothing was stated about three years. It seems like the program keeps changing conveniently depending who you speak to. I am not getting product purchased this want a refund for what I was not sold.

Final Business Response
The program clearly states the winter storage is for 3 years and I can provide that proof for him if he would like. I will gladly store the customers bike as I stated before. If he refuses to take us up on that than there is really nothing else we can do.

10/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased the Buckeye Harley "VIP" program and we told by ***** the finance manager that we could cancel it if we needed to do that. They LIED.....
My husband and I purchased a New 2014 Ultra Classic Limited from this dealer on 9/16/2014, and at the time of signing the loan paperwork, the finance ***** ** offered to sell us a "VIP" program for our bike, as my husband and I considered this, my husband said the only objection to purchasing this would be that he may be getting a promotion at work and may be required to move out of state, and would not want to purchase something that we could not take full advantage of from BUCKEYE HARLEY, at that moment ***** * told us that if my husband did infact get a promotion at work that all we would need to do is call and cancel the "VIP" warrenty the we purchased. The following week of 9/18/2014 we called the dealership and talked to ***** ** informing her that my husband did get the promotion and that we would want to go ahead and cancel the "VIP" item that we had purchased the previuos Saturday. She informed us that she didn't have the power to cancel that warrenty and that she would "talk to the powers that be" and get back in touch with us... She NEVER called back, we called multiple times and left messages for her. Over the next month we left multiple messages asking her to please return our call. Finally my husband came back into town on September 26th 2014, at this time, it had been over a month since we had heard back from *****, so he decided to call Buckeye Harley and ask for the owner, the receptionist immediately asked him if there was something she could help us with as the owner was in a sales meeting with the management staff, so my husband told her the story and she offered to put him in contact with ***** ** Boss and his name was *****. We called Buckeye Harley on 9/26/2014 at 11:56 and we were on that call for 5 minutes.***** was not available, so he left ***** a voicemail. Within a few minutes of hanging up, ***** called my husband back at 12:06 and asked how he could help us, my husband told him the story and how ***** * "A finance manager for Buckeye Harley"told us tha if we purchased the "VIP" warrenty "now" that if we did end up needing to cancel it, that wouldn't be a problem, AND the first thing out of ***** was that those contracts are not able to be cancelled... As you can imagine my husband was upset! We felt like we were lied to, in order for them to profit from something that would never be used... We paid $2,599 for this "VIP" program and my husband ***** that, them not cancelling this is an option, at that point ***** told us that he would speak to one of the owners and he assured us that he would NOT BE LIKE HIS SUBORDINATE ***** AND CALL US BACK WITHIN THE HOUR, we hung up the phone with ***** at 12:06 and that call lasted 6 minutes. Since that conversation, we have NOT HEARD BACK from ***** and at this point are filing this complaint in hopes to get a full refund. We would have never purchased this "VIP" program if we knew that my husband was going to get a promotion and that we would not be able to cancel this contract like we were told! My husband even asked ***** if we could come back later in the week to purchase the "VIP" program and ***** told us that it had to be purchased NOW and would not be available once we walked out of the finance office... At that time, my husband said to ****** "IF we purchase this, WE CAN CANCEL IT RI*HT?" And she said, yes, and that it would not be a problem.... She lied! Along with filing this BBB complaint, We have waited on filling out the Harley Davidson Survey Customer Satisfaction Survey, IF THIS IS NOT RESOLVED ASAP, WE WILL BE *IVIN* A NE*ATIVE SURVEY!

Desired Settlement
We would like a FULL REFUND of the purchase price that we paid, $2,599.00 ASAP

Business Response
I spoke with my business manager and she informed me of a completely different story. She has been with Buckeye for almost a year and our VIB is the most important and popular product we offer our customers. It gives you a huge savings over a 3 year period and more than pays for itself. With this type of popularity there is no reason to lie about what stipulations come with the program. It is a non cancelable product and I feel that this customer just has some buyers remorse. We have the customer sign multiple pieces of paper showing them what they are purchasing and thoroughly explain what each product entails. This product can also be used anywhere in the United States that's further than 100 miles from our dealership. Moving out of state for your promotion is not a problem at all. That being said your statement of us profiting from something that will never be used is false. The other false statement is that ***** is ******** manager. ***** is simply a co-worker and I can assure you he would never give anyone the impression that isn't the case. When your husband initially asked ***** to cancel the product and was informed he couldn't his response was "You never told me I couldn't cancel it." That seems a bit strange since you claim that she was clear that you could. It's unfortunate that you're using the survey to hold us hostage especially since you gain nothing from it but will only harm employees and their job security here. Your husband told me he spent some money on his first service and I told him I will gladly write him a check for what he spent.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First.
Let's discuss this a little bit in more detail!!! After a closer inspection of the document that I signed on the ACTUAL VIB AGREEMENT, NO WHERE on that agreement does it say that this contract is not able to be cancelled!! AND it also states that there are "definitions and exclusions included on the reverse side of this Agreement" AND THE REVERSE SIDE IS COMPLETELY BLANK!!!!
Second.
The fact that you have called me a "liar" in so many words pretty much sums up your customer service!!! What ever happened to "THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT"?This is a he said she said argument. Regardless of what your employees might have told you, we were under the impression that we could cancel the contract. We will gladly let this go as long as we can cancel the VIB contract, AND get a full refund. We understand how much money it can save us in the long run, but we were never told that we could not cancel this contract and EVEN MORE TO PROVE OUR POINT, she admitted exactly what I said to her was true. When we were signing the paperwork with ****** she was clear in telling us that we could in fact cancel the VIB contract and she never told us that we couldn't cancel the contract... The truth is right in front of your face, but you do not want to see it.
Third.
Let us help you understand exactly what you wrote in your response! You said " That being said your statement of us profiting from something that will never be used is false" is a completely true statement. If we paid $2,599.00 and never submit a claim then that would mean that whatever your initial cost is to supply the "regular scheduled maintenance" would be subtracted from the amount that we paid " and since we will not be using it" the balance of the selling price minus your "cost" would equal total profit for your dealership, seems like pretty simple math to us.
Fourth.
Let's address your statement of ***** being ******** manager and how we got that wrong, on Friday September 26th at 12:06 pm we called and asked to speak with the owner, the receptionist that answered the phone offered to put ******** manager ***** on the phone, because the owner was in a meeting, so again we were lied too by someone within and representing your company!
Sixth.
Your comment about us "holding you hostage" with our Customer Satisfaction Survey. That survey is designed for the manufacturer to be able to get customers opinions of the dealers that represent their brand, they actually care about who is representing their brand and we feel like you as a dealer could learn a few things from their "core values"!!
Again, we are requesting a FULL REFUND of the purchase price of the "VIB" contract and will not accept anything less. That contract has never been used and never will be used. We can prove how many times we have called the dealer trying to get into contact with ****** ***** and the "owner", as well as the conversations that were had.
In closing we wish we would have checked your BBB rating and viewed the 13 complaints your dealership has had against it. It appears your dealership doesn't follow thru with what they tell customers, funny how that is exactly the complaint here!

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** ******** ******
** W *** *** ***** ***
****** ** XXXXX

complaint

Buckeye Harley Davidson
7220 N. Dixie Dr.
Dayton, OH 45414
XXX-XXXX

My bike has been in the repair shop since the 1st week of April.

It was hit while parked - the insurance carrier approved repair

************ *******
**** ** ***** ***
****** ** XXXXX

Today is 6-23-14 I still do not have my bike back - each week the Harley shop has told me the bike will be ready soon.

This is not the answer - it is the season to ride now.

Their service is unacceptable.

(phone) XXX-XXXX

******* ******
**** ********* ***
****** ** XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Today is 6-23-14 I still do not have my bike back - each week the Harley shop has told me the bike will be ready soon.

Business Response
Mr. ****** I apologize for your experience with the long wait. I understand that you have your motorcycle now and I'm not sure that even if I had been involved sooner we could have done it much faster. When you deal with a wrecked motorcycle there are a lot of moving pieces. We have to coordinate with the insurance company, paint guy, wait on parts, and technicians. We try to schedule everything to make it as smooth as possible but some items are out of our hands. I apologize and hope that you'll come to us in the future. If you have any further questions please contact ***** ********.

Thank You

Consumer Response
I got my bike back. It is still missing the back rest. They say it is still on order - will call when it comes in. I can not believe it takes 4 months to get this part.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
General Manager will not respond to my issues.
I purchased a 2013 Electra Glide Classic on August 3rd. Had a great experience with the sale of the bike, but since then everything has been going down hill. First of all, I live in *****, **** about 3 hours from Dayton. They were supposed to deliver my bike on August 4th, but when the driver showed up, all he had was an order to pick up my bike and no bike to be delivered. He had to come back the next day. I have been very patient with your company, my patients are now wearing thin. I ordered new exhaust, Exhaust tips in black, but received chrome ones and a Boom Audio Rear Speaker Kit XXXXXXXX. I was also told that I would need part number Boom Audio System Wiring Harness - XXXXXXXX. I don't need this part number, I need part number Ultra Overlay Harness Part Number XXXXX-XX. They told me they would call me when the parts came in, but I had to call to make sure they were going to ship. I feel that if I didn't, that the parts would still be at your dealership. My experience hasn't been what I expected from your dealership. I need your help to resolve this issue. I'm not sure what else I can do to make it better.

Desired Settlement
I want to have the right parts shipped to my home and compensated for my lost time.

Business Response
We have apologized the Mr. ********* for the mistakes we made. There was a mis communication between our driver and the person that was suppose to load the bike in the trailer which is why we showed up without the bike. We did however take the bike to him the next day.The parts that were wrong isn't a result of our mistake. Every Harley parts book tells us that the part number we sent him is the correct part number but Mr. ********* is convinced that the forum's he has read online are correct and not us. We have expressed to him that the best scenario would be to let our Harley trained technicians work on his new motorcycle. If he would like to take us up on this offer please give us a call.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After **** told me the difference in the part numbers I agreed with him. If you are willing to pick up the bike and return it. Then your shop can work on it. Thank you.

Final Business Response
We will contact you to figure out the best solution for this.

Page 1 of 3
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would like my money back I paid for the VIB service pkg. The service dept either don't have skilled workers or enough workers to provide service.
When the finance people get you to buy the VIB service package what they fail to tell you is that their service department is either understaffed or poorly staffed. We bought our Harley in August 2014 and purchased the VIB service package. One of the services is winter storage what they fail to mention is that you have to schedule that months in advance to get a spot. Another service is a yearly detail, we had ours there twice, the first time they had it for a week and they never touched it they kept giving us the run around or I got voicemail with no return calls. After a week I went and got my bike with a promise they would pick it up at another time and they would "MAKE IT RIGHT". We were told they were in the process of "getting their service department straightened out". Obviously they know they have issues but continue to offer a service they can't provide. We gave them another chance to "make it right" but they failed again. They didn't have it back when promised and when we did get it back it wasn't fully detailed. I run a collision center and know what a full detail means and I didn't receive one. I have talked to service writers and one of the owners and was told they will not refund my money.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of the purchase price of the VIB package.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motorcycles - Dealers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Womens Apparel - Retail, Riding Apparel & Equipment, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service, Banquet Facilities

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/29/2011Business started: 01/01/1978Business started locally: 03/04/2011New Owner Date: 03/04/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2010, OH

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brett Tekavec (Co-Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Carrillo (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Clint Coulter (Marketing and Event Coordinator)Mr. Marc Ingwersen (Owner)
Number of Employees

27

Business Category

Motorcycles - Dealers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Womens Apparel - Retail, Riding Apparel & Equipment, Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts, Motorcycles - Repairing & Service, Banquet Facilities

Products & Services

This company provides motorcycles, parts, accessories and motor clothes for sale. We have a state of the art full service facility.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 04:00 PMSun: 12:00 PM to 04:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

* Refunds will be given for 7 days from date of purchase in the form that item
was purchased (i.e. cash, credit check). After the 7th day through the 30th
day, from date of purchase, item will be accepted for in store credit only. No
returns will be accepted after 30 days. *
* No returns on electrical parts at all.
* A 15% restocking fee will be charged on all in-stock items returned; a 30%
restocking fee will be charged on all special order items returned.
* Special Orders must be paid in full at time of order. This includes any
applicable shipping charges. **
* There will be a charge of $30.00 for each returned check.
* Warranty items have different exceptions. See manager for details.
** Credit card purchases over the phone require signature receipt for
additional cost.

Service Area

Dayton, Miami Valley, Montgomery County

Alternate Business Names
Jars Cycles, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Buckeye Harley-Davidson has received 3.89 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Buckeye Harley-Davidson

7220 N Dixie Dr.

Dayton, OH 45414

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7220 N Dixie Dr. 

    Dayton, OH 45414(937) 898-8084
    (800) 783-2222

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Buckeye Harley-Davidson is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 783-2222
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Motorcycles - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.