BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2010

Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment (Headquarters)

Phone: (937) 256-3500Fax: (937) 256-57152218 Wilmington Pk, KetteringOH 45420

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2010

BBB has determined that Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
b
I TALKED TO SALESMAN ON SATURDAY 6-14014 TOLD HIM WE HAD NO SPARK ON SNAPPER MOWER.He said to pull ground wire off coil and if mower doesnot start coil is bad.we did that no spark so he had one in stock I went to get it 6 14 14 12:32 pm paid . .$76.32 for coil.when I got back put new coil on mower still no spark called heilbrothers back guy said to bring mower in he would check coil with his tester. I trailored mower to heilbrothers on Tuesday 6 17 14 they checked coil and said it was bad. They got another tester to check and it still checked bad said mechanic I ASKED FOR A NEW COIL HE SAID THAT WAs up to the boss.The boss must have said no mechanic never came back I went inside to see what was going on he asked if I was going to leave mower for them to fix Isaid no Ijust want a coil that works.he just said that was not gonna happen. I LEFT TO MAD TO TALK WITH ANYONE. WHEN I GOT HOME I CALMED down called back to speak with owner the man on the phone said he could help me . Iwent trough all this again he asked if I had my receipt Isaid yas he said to look on bottom no returns on electrical parts Idont want to return Ijust want one that works.

Desired Settlement
I WANT MY MONEY BACK NOW BECOUSE I have bought another one. THE COMPANY I BOUGHT FROM TOLD ME IF THIS COIL IS BAD THEY WILL GIVE ME ANOTHER ONE.

Business Response
Case #XXXXXXXX. In the 35 years we've been in business, we have never had a new ignition coil that was defective out of the box from any of our parts distributors. We have had people try to bring coils back in the past that have been installed improperly, shorted out and damaged, or other conditions which lead to the "no spark" condition. It is clearly stated on our receipts that there are no returns on electrical parts as is the standard practice in every shop in town. As for the customer's claim that he brought in his mower with the new coil installed to have it checked out by us, no mechanic in my shop claims to have done that, and no one remembers speaking to the customer at the front counter to let us know that the mechanics had checked it and/or stated it was bad. As a gesture of good faith, if the customer wants to bring the coil in we can mount it to a mower in the shop to test it out, as long as it does not have signs that it has been improperly installed. We may not be able to do this while he waits. If the coil is bad we will refund his money.

07/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unwillingness to back product sold.
purhased Stihl 130 base unit and weedeater and hedge trimmer attachments in May 2015. Told to use only .80 line in weedeater; however, that line continually breaks at head exit point. Used once and returned and was told Heil Brothers would make it right. On 16 June a Stihl rep said a different head would work. I was led to believe head was ordered and I would receive call when complete. On 26 June, after no call, I made inquiry. Nothing had been done!! When I asked what was going on, the manager said the part likely came in and was put in stock. Another person said Stihl rep was working but now on vacation. When they called Stihl, they were Stihl rep recommended head would not work on curved shaft and none others would either. Then Heil said I'd have to get straight shaft. I told them I specifically wanted a curved shaft. The most disheartening thing is that I couldn't get a designated person to work this matter. No one would take responsibility. A serviceman made makeshift fix using .95 line but I have little confidence this is correct fix. Bottom line is Heil won't stand behind product and won't make things right like they said they would.

Desired Settlement
Find right part or refund cost of product.

08/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempting to charge me for parts that were not needed.
We put our Echo PE-2000 edger in for service. The only issue with the edger was it was not running smoothly, so I needed it to be tuned up. I had just replaced the fuel line, filter, fuel tank seal, etc. We waited 2 1/2 weeks for the call back on the estimate. They said they would call if it was over $100.00 to fix. When they called, they mentioned the carburetor needed to be cleaned and all the above mentioned parts needed to be replaced. When I called them on it, they said it was because the fuel I was using had degraded the lines and they were no longer good. I told them I had replaced the lines the day before we turned it in for service.

I was not happy with this response so I immediately went to the business to pick up my piece of equipment - I felt the integrity of the store was in question. The service dept said it was just an honest mistake and that the lines were fine when they went and checked them again. I asked why was this not caught before creating the estimate and calling me on the price? All they could say was it was an honest mistake.

They then proceeded to charge me $35.00 for the diagnostic check they had done. I feel that this charge should have been waived given the shady practice of trying to charge for unneeded parts was discovered. I paid the fee and walked out feeling like I had been completely taken advantage of!! This is not good business and I feel that this is probably a common practice with this company and they prey on unsuspecting customers. I was just fortunate I knew those parts were not bad - I called them on it and all they could do is call it an "honest mistake".

Desired Settlement
I would like my $37.54 refunded to me - and a formal apology for treating me that way. I have served my country for nearly 30 years so that Americans have the freedom to run small businesses - I don't appreciate being taken advantage of like this...really makes me question why I and my family have sacrificed so much for others in this country when things like this happen!!

Business Response
case #XXXXXXXX
When our mechanic starts to work on an edger, or any hand-held equipment, brought in for a tune-up he begins with a visual inspection of the equipment then he primes and runs the unit. During this process he makes standard adjustments to improve the running of the unit. If adjustments are not successful he recommends work be done to the carburetor. The mechanic (a 30+ year employee who is ranked as a master service tech and who is well respected in our service business) informed the business owner of his findings. Standard procedure for carburetor work is to replace the fuel line and fuel filter to assure the entire fuel system is clean and this work would have put the repair over the original $100 estimate given to the customer so the business owner called the customer. He spoke to the customer at 2:10 on July 30th to inform her that the carburetor would need to be cleaned/replaced and that could cost up to $125. She approved the cost of the repair. Within 15 minutes the customer's husband called back and spoke to the business owner, informing him that he had replaced the fuel line and fuel filter the day before the edger was brought in for repair. The business owner assured him that once the mechanic actually tore into the unit he would only replace parts that need to be replaced so if the fuel line and fuel filter were okay they would not be replaced and the repair would be less than $125. There was no mention by the customer on the signed shop receipt that any parts had been installed by the customer prior to leaving it with Heil Bros. for repair. The customer's husband felt that he was being cheated and informed the business owner that he would be in to pick up his edger. He was informed that there would be a $35 charge as stated on the shop receipt (In the event you choose to not have work completed, a minimum estimate/disassembly charge of $35 will be charged.).When the customer came in to pick up the edger he was verbally abusive, claiming that he was being ripped off. He did pay the $35 charge then left the shop.
Heil Bros. maintains that they followed expected business practices by giving an initial estimate and then calling the customer when it became possible that the repair would exceed that estimate. When they were informed that some parts had been replaced by the customer they tried to assure him that those parts would be used and he would not be charged for their replacement, thus lowering the estimate, but the customer became accusatory and belligerent. He chose to pick up the edger with out having it repaired. When he came into the shop he continued to be accusatory and belligerent, obviously upset but unwilling to understand that he had been quoted an estimate for repair based on the need to replace all parts and that there would have been no charge if parts were determined to be in good working order. If the customer would have notified Heil Bros. of the replaced parts at the time the edger was dropped off for repair there would have been no misunderstanding. Heil Bros. is willing to return the $37.54 to the customer but there will be no apology due to the fact that they did nothing wrong. The customer will need to call Heil Bros. at XXX-XXXX in order to get the $37.54 credited to his Visa card.

Consumer Response
The owner makes it sound as if I was a crazed lunatic ranting and raving in his store. I never raised my voice once and feel that I was very much in control of what I said. I do not think that I was abusive in any form - to use terms such as "accusatory and belligerent" is absurd! I feel that he was uncomfortable with being caught and called out on it.

Additionally, I do not feel it is my responsibility to inform a business that I have just put new parts onto the machine - that is an attempt to shift the blame over to the customer - somehow it is my fault that I did not inform him of the new parts?

I did call back and spoke to someone (appears to be the owner) to inform him that I had just replaced the fuel line and fuel filter the day before the edger was brought in for repair. However, he did not assure me that once the mechanic actually tore into the unit he would only replace parts that need to be replaced so if the fuel line and fuel filter were okay they would not be replaced and the repair would be less than $125. The only thing he assured me of was that the parts were in fact bad - In fact he specifically told me that the lines were gummy, and deteriorated caused from using ethanol in the fuel.

During the phone conversation I did ask him to put himself in my shoes - if you are being told that newly replaced parts are bad, you would obviously question that. If that is being accusatory, so be it. He was not willing to see my point and tried to explain that his mechanic of 30+ years says the parts were bad so I must understand his point of view. He said the parts can go bad very quickly with the ethanol in today's fuel - I was not buying it so I just showed up to the business out of the blue after thinking about what had transpired over the phone...he was surprised to see me because I made no mention of coming in to take the edger during our phone conversation.

When I arrived to get the unit, he stated that the work had already begun and it was in pieces. I told him that I was not comfortable with them working on it anymore and that I wanted to pull it out of the shop. He went to the back and returned the edger to me - obviously still in the same condition as delivered 2 1/2 weeks earlier. He said they had inspected the lines and determined that they were good and did not need to be replaced. I again asked why this was not done prior to calling us on the estimate? The response - just an honest mistake.

I am still having a hard time with the explanation - "unwilling to understand that he had been quoted an estimate for repair based on the need to replace all parts and that there would have been no charge if parts were determined to be in good working order"....that never happened.

"If the customer would have notified Heil Bros. of the replaced parts at the time the edger was dropped off for repair there would have been no misunderstanding"....this is blame shifting; somehow this is my fault...interesting. Maybe if the a thorough diagnostics/visual inspection of the unit transpired instead of ASSUMING everything was bad, this could have avoided the misunderstanding.

My argument has been that what I was to be paying for did not happen and there was an attempt to replace parts unnecessarily. If I did not call them out on the new parts, would they have just went ahead and replaced them anyways? That is something I will never know, but have to trust that this was just an "honest mistake". If they truly did the inspection and diagnostics as I paid for ($35 is easily 30 minutes of work), we would not be in this situation. I actually bought the parts and did the job myself - the entire job took less than 30 minutes and $15 in parts.

I will say, when I was leaving the store I did say, "I hope you can sleep well tonight". If that is being abusive - guilty

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Heil Brothers are unable to finish a job in the time given.
We bought the lawn mower from Heil on 5/7/2011. Took our mower in on 3/22/2014. They told us 3-4 weeks. Phoned on 4/21/2014 and said it would be ready by the middle of the week. I phoned on 4/25/2014 and stated they were just looking at it. Stopped by on Saturday and I did not phone. They said it would be ready by closing time. We have an out of town graduation to attend today and unable to pick it up. I believe they are not serving the little clients fair because more money is involved with the big companies.

Desired Settlement
We would like to be able to have a time frame and have them stick to it or at least call us. Grass is growing and I believe we had our lawn mower in and should not have to wait for 5 weeks. Maybe a discount now that I have finished our statement. Also, I hope we get back our C-clamps we were using to hold our battery together.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, **
Contact Phone: *************
Contact Email: ***@****************
This has been an unusual spring for us at Heil Bros. We usually get mowers in for tune-ups during the off season, but due to the large amount of snow, many of our customers waited until late February and early March to bring in their equipment. Due to the large number of units brought in (over 300 in a two week period) we have been estimating 3 to 4 weeks for tune-ups and repairs. We call customers when their equipment is ready to be picked up. It is not feasible to keep track of each job that is taking longer than estimated due to a high volume of parts and new equipment sales during this time of year. However, when a customer calls for an update on their mower we try to give them a reasonable estimate for when the repair will be complete. Timeliness of repairs is also contingent upon the health of our employees, so when one of our mechanics is out it puts us even further behind. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that our customers have had to experience, and we are very grateful for the customers who have been patient with the situation and who have expressed their understanding. We always inform our customers that the best time to bring mowers in for tune-ups and repairs is at the end of the mowing season, this way it is ready for them when it is time to mow. We value all of our customers and have for over 35 years. We would be glad to offer the Dales a mid-summer blade sharpen and oil change at no charge and again, we apologize for the inconvenience.

07/14/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Internet Shopping, Lawn Mowers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1984Business started: 03/01/1979
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1979, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerome D. Heil (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Ken Heil (Manager)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Internet Shopping, Lawn Mowers

Products & Services

This company offers lawnmowers and related small engine sales and service

Alternate Business Names
Heil Brothers, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment has received 4.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment

2218 Wilmington Pk

Kettering, OH 45420

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2218 Wilmington Pk 

    Kettering, OH 45420(937) 256-3500
    Fax: (937) 256-5715

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Heil Brothers Lawn & Garden Equipment is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.