BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1992

Deal's Landscape Service, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (937) 426-2118Fax: (937) 431-3887View Additional Phone Numbers3454 Dayton Xenia Rd, BeavercreekOH 45432

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/14/1992

BBB has determined that Deal's Landscape Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Deal's Landscape Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Deal's Landscape Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized work done which has damaged lawn.
Unfortunately in my dealings with Deals Landscaping this year, there has not been anything that I can say was a good experience. I do not like to write emails like this but in my view Deals has not given me a choice. There have been multiple issues from the time I had to request a quote to the end result when this company did unauthorized work and damaged my lawn.

In March, I requested a quote from Deals Landscaping for mulching and filling/seeding areas of my lawn which had sunk from tree roots deteriorating. I met ** **** ***** in March. He promised a quote within a couple of days. After some time had passed, I called asking about the quote. I had to call back a second time then received a quote for only the mulching on 4 Apr. I contacted Deals that day asking where the second half of the quote was. I was told they would get it right out to me. I attributed the error and delays on the busy time of year. After having to wait an additional 4 days for the entire estimate, I decided to do the work myself. I did the work for much less than Deals was going to charge. I did not contact Deals any more about this matter. I did not hear anymore back on this matter until 11 June 2014.

I received a call on my cell at about 2:05 pm on Wed, 11 June from one of Deals workers (***) that they wanted to know what color of mulch I wanted. I asked what he was talking about. He said they had filled in the low areas in my backyard and seeded and also high edged the flower beds. I immediately told him I had filled in the rutted out areas and told him there were not large bald areas in the backyard as I had planted grass seed this spring in those areas. I also told him I had not authorized any work and did not want any additional edging since I had done what I wanted. I told him I would be right home. I missed 2 meetings at work and had to make the time up in the evening and early the next morning. I came home to see a substantial portion (4 large areas and two small areas) of perfectly good grass covered/smothered with dirt/mulch. Much of the work done was not even in the areas, Mr ***** and I had discussed. The workers were sent out without a map/direction and had to guess on what to do. They guessed wrong since the bad areas had been done. I questioned the worker on didn't he see that I had filled areas and seeded and that he was covering perfectly good areas. He told me he "was only doing what his boss told him to do". I then asked if his boss told to jump off the roof of a house would he do it. His response was no. I asked to talk to his boss. He got Mr ***** on the phone. Mr ***** said "the work was authorized". I questioned by who. I let him know it was not the home owner. The workers were instructed to clean up what they had done. A laborer (***) began to rake the far back area which took him an hour as he was being very careful which was required to prevent even further damage. I told the team lead (***) to contact me about a half hour before they were to complete the work. *** left to go get another worker ******** and mulch to feather in the damage on the edging. About an hour later, *** called at approximately 4 pm. It was obvious that they had rushed to get the work done probably because of quitting time and to minimize rain damage from the rain that had begun. I looked and they had stepped on mud packed on top of the grass but appeared to do the best they could to uncover the grass and undo the damaging work. The workers were very apologetic unlike Mr ***** and his staff.

The next day, at approximately 1130, I called Deals. A lady answered the phone. I told her I was not happy with the way things turned out. I said I expected Deals to come out in the fall when grass is planted, if the grass did not come back. Her response was, "I'm sure your grass will come back" and "Mistakes happen". There was no explanation how this happened. I have spent over 4 hours on this matter with more to come.

Desired Settlement
I would like to know how this happened. I also would expect some sort of restitution with meaningful work done to enhance the property or at the very least agreement to come back in the fall to repair any damage that does not correct itself.

Business Response
BBB. Response to complaint,
Complaint Activity Report Case # XXXXXXXX

6/12/14

I answered the phone to an Irate customer, I had heard only some of what had happened the day
before, I was not part of the whole process, but was aware that we had started a job that the customer said was not ok'd. I knew he (as quoted from the crew foreman, ***) was "twice ****** size and got right in his face threatening to call the police", (which he did), He wanted everything that was done to be undone. I knew that the crew proceeded to rake up the soil they had used to fill holes in his back yard and remove the soil.

He started the conversation by saying that yesterday we had made a mess of his back yard. If it didn't come back we had to fix it. I told hlm I was pretty sure his grass would come back and if it doesn't we will come back and seed. Before I had finished the sentence he was shouting over top of my voice; he would not listen to what I was saying, He talked over everything I tried to say. I let him rant a bit longer, and when he paused to take a breath I said, "Mistakes do happen, I'm sorry it happened in your yard." What he proceeded to say after that, made no sense to me, He said something about mistakes being one thing but being falsely accused is another. I had no idea what he was talking about, said "Excuse me?" He didn't explain what he meant; said he was going to "put this in writing" and hung up. I hope he can rest assured that our company will do whatever is needed this fall to fix any damage to his lawn if it doesn't recuperate on its own.

****** ******
**** *********
Deals Landscape Service, Inc.

6/21/14

I called Mr. **** this morning and left a message for him to please call me back. In that message I
apologized for what had happened and told him I still don't know how hls job sheet got into the ok'd Job file.

I'm sure we did no permanent harm to his lawn.

6/23/14

Miracles do happen. I received as call back from Mr. **** this morning. We talked, I am going to meet with him Friday June 27, 2014 to make sure everything is ok. He indicated that it was.

**** ** ****
*********
Deals Landscape Service, Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ms ********** account of this matter is inaccurate and appears to be a cover herself defense. Ms ******* was called at approximately 1130 on Thursday before filing this complaint. I did not threatened to call the police nor threaten any action. I did call the police to document the incident but the workers did not know about it until the police came out for the report. I am not twice ***'s size. NO holes were filled in my back yard. Dirt was dumped and spread over perfectly good grass. I did not say they had to come back, I said I expected them to come back if the grass was damaged. I did not talk over or shout at her but was firm on what I expected. She did not state, "Excuse me" and I said good bye when we were finished with the conversation. She never acknowledged on the phone they would come back to make repairs. This company failed to acknowledge my written nor phone complaint to their company. I am pretty sure they would had discarded my concerns, if I had not contacted the BBB.

Mr ****'s qoutes are accurate.

My drive still has dirt visible from their efforts and there is still some minor damage in the yard but based on Ms ********** comments, I am done with this company as I have to question their ethics. Mr **** is somewhat correct in his response that miracles do happen in that Ms ******* has shown her true colors. As far as me calling back, I return calls but I see no reason to continue the debate with this company. They should have just acknowledged they messed up and agreed to fix any long term damage not tried to accuse the customer of things that did not happen. If you are going to represent a company in stating something, it should be true to be a reputable company.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Nurseries - Plants, Trees, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Designers, Landscape Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/06/1988Business started: 01/15/1940
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1998, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Deal (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Cheryl Malott (V.President)Ms. Caryn Weaks (Secretary)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Nurseries - Plants, Trees, Lawn Maintenance, Landscape Designers, Landscape Maintenance

Products & Services

This company provides landscaping, paver patios, sidewalks and driveways. They also sell organic fertilizers, plants and trees.

This company offers a comprehensive lawn maintenance and renewal program designed with all natural fertilizers that will not harm the environment.

Alternate Business Names
Organic Earth & Lawn Care Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Deal's Landscape Service, Inc.

3454 Dayton Xenia Rd

Beavercreek, OH 45432

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3454 Dayton Xenia Rd 

    Beavercreek, OH 45432(937) 426-2118
    (937) 429-2881

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Deal's Landscape Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (937) 429-2881
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.