BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2012

Blade Cutters Lawn Service, Inc.

Phone: (937) 274-3861Fax: (937) 274-9306

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not deliver amount of goods purchased.
I ordered 3 yards of Topsoil from Bladecutter's Inc. for delivery to my home. Bladecutters delivered the topsoil on September 22, 2014. I have ordered 3yards of topsoil many times but only once before from Bladecutters.

When the soil was delivered, I noted to the driver the soil on the truck did not appear to be 3yds. He asked me to allow him to dump the soil because it appears to be less when on the truck. When the soil was dumped in my driveway, I believed it was less than 3 yards and told the driver. He than justified the quantity as three large wheel barrels which equals three yards, to include after seeing my large wheel barrel, verified the amount of topsoil he delivered equaled three of my large wheel barrels.

I informed him I was not paying $136 dollars for 3 wheel barrels. Having not convinced me, he stated since I was a past customer he would deliver an additional yard later that same day at 5 PM as a solution. I agreed and paid the invoice to receive delivery in case of my absence.

I returned home shortly before 5pm and waited. Bladecutters did not deliver the additional yard of topsoil as promised. I called Bladecutters office the following morning and was told someone would call me back.

The owner called back only to ask me to measure the soil for six wheel barrels. His driver insisted three wheel barrels equal three yards, I felt the owner was obligated to come to my home to verify his driver delivered the correct amount, miscounted or possibly delivered a portion elsewhere.

Bladecutters refused to honor the resolution I agreed to prior to payment. Therefore on September24, 2014 I stopped payment on my check made payable to Blade Cutters on September 22, 2014 until our agreement was honored.

On September 30, 2014, having not heard from Bladecutters, I sent a certified letter requesting they remove their soil from my driveway. They received my letter and did not respond, apparently ignoring and disregarding me since they obviously believed they had my money and would simply dismiss me.

About a week after receiving my certified letter, I received an irate call from Blade cutter's owner shouting at me because he had just received my returned check. He did not address my letter or removing his topsoil, only shouting in a militant tone that if I didn't pay him he would sue me in small claims court. I informed him I too have a claim if he does not remove his topsoil from my driveway, which is preventing me access to my driveway and garage. He shouted to me not to call or use his name and than hung up.

The soil remained in my driveway until October 23, 2014, the date I removed the soil to a pile on my grass at the back street corner of my property lot, available for Blade Cutters to remove it and restore the damage to my grass.

Desired Settlement
Remove topsoil, restore grass and compensation for blocking my driveway for a month resulting in my cars being parked on the street and vandalized with eggs. Refund my Bank stop payment fee of $30.00.

Business Response
We would like to dispute some of the claims of Ms. ***** topsoil delivery. Ms. ***** ordered 2 cubic yards of topsoil on September, 2014. When our driver arrived, Ms. ***** said it didn't look like 3 yards of topsoil. Our driver stated its hard to measure 3 cubic yards of topsoil without a wheel barrel. He told her that, there are 27 cubic ft in a cubic yard and to spread the dirt and count how many wheel barrels you get out of the 3 yards. He said if you are short on any order we will then deliver it out.
We did not hear from Ms. ***** until I called her when she put a stop payment on her check. At that time I did not yell or scream at Ms. *****. She was very unreasonable and said she was not willing to listen.
I watched on our video camera and saw our driver loading 3 yards on that particular day. Bladecutters sells over 6000 yards of mulch and 2000 yards of topsoil per year. We have many satisfied customers.
As far as we are concerned we will not pursue, we will not try to collect the S136.06 and we will never do business with Ms. ***** again.

Sincerely,

**** *****
*********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
RESPONSE IN NOT SATISFACTORY

This response from **** ***** proves without a doubt what an unscrupulous and unprofessional person he is. His entire response referencing my transaction with his business is total fabrication. And, I suspect if his 'self-serving' accolade about his customer satisfaction is not a statement of fact. The way he tried bullying me to pay him was clearly because I was a female and/or a senior in age. I suspect neither he nor his driver would have attempted to 'con' me, or the President's use of threats and a militant voice tone with male dissatisfied customers. An honest business person would have made a professional effort to resolve this issue with the soil and equally would not have responded to my BBB complaint with a response of SIMPLY LIES!

First, over the years I have ordered many deliveries of three (3) yards of soil, including one delivery from Bladecutter two (2) years ago and have never had a discussion with any one, including Bladecutter's driver, about how many cubic feet equal one yard of soil and I have never ordered soil in terms of "2 cubic yards"'.

THE REQUEST FOR ME TO MEASURE THE SOIL CAME FROM BLADECUTTER'S OWNER/PRESIDENT, **** *****, ON SEPTEMBER 24, 2014 ON/OR ABOUT 9:30 AM, not his driver. Specifically Mr. ***** said referencing his driver, "he don't know what he is talking about". And "Mrs. ***** do me a favor and fill your wheel barrel, level it off and spread it and repeat and you should count six to seven wheel barrels". I replied, "I am not going to do that". Mr. ***** also stated during that conversation that he reviewed his tape because they tape the employees loading the trucks. At the time I thought taping employees loading soil was odd and he obviously did not trust his employees with his soil inventory, therefore, why would he trust them with the deliveries. It is true, behavior is learned and oftentimes people react by example. BASED ON MR. *****'S, 'BBB RESPONSE TO MY COMPLAINT, HE HAS SET THE EXAMPLE FOR HIS EMPLOYEES, IF HIS DRIVER TRULY MADE THE FALSE STATEMENTS AS WRITTEN IN MR. ***** BBB RESPONSE. I ALSO SHARED MY 2 CUBIC FT BAGS OF GARDEN SOIL ANAOLGY IN REFERENCE TO THE THREE WHEELBARRELS WITH MR. ***** DURING OUR CONVERSATION ON THE MORNING OF SEPTEMBER 24, 2014. AT NO TIME DID HE OR HIS DRIVER MAKE ANY COMMENTS REFERENCING ANY CUBIC FT MEASUREMENT.


I did not initiate the conversation using a wheel barrel as measurements of three yards of garden soil or topsoil. And the only reference about 2 cubic feet came from me in disputing the driver's justification that the soil he delivered was three (3) barrels and three wheel barrels equal three (3) yards. At which time I told him "I was not paying $136 for three wheel barrels of soil because I could go to a garden center and buy 2 cubic ft of garden soil by the bag for $12 or less and one to two bags would fill a wheel barrel and in using his measurement I would spend a lot less than buying 3yards using his measurement. I continually refused to believe his three-wheel barrel measurement no matter how he continued trying to convince me. I was never going to be convinced by the driver or anyone and after about 15 minutes of his nonsense about the three (3) -wheel barrel measurements. I asked him what size wheel barrel he was talking about and he replied " a contractor's wheel barrel". I own a contractor's wheel barrel and just to clarify or possibly have him retract his statement, I asked him to look at my two (2) wheel barrels for comparison to his three-wheel barrel measurement. The driver walked to my backyard looked and confirmed my contractor's wheel barrel was the measurement he was referring to. I responded I was definitely not paying $136 for three (3) barrels. At that point the driver stated, "Since you are a loyal customer I will return at 5PM with one (1) additional yard, will you be at home?" But before paying, I asked if he was the owner and he said he was the owner's brother-in-law and he had owned a Bladecutter business in Florida and he sold it to move to Ohio to join his brother-in-law in his Bladecutter's business.

Mr. ***** continues to fabricate his BBB Response alleging he did not hear from me until he called about the returned check. He apparently did not receive the notice from his bank until on or about mid October, the timeframe he made his irate call to me demanding payment. I simply responded he did not honor the agreement for payment and he immediately begin shouting he would take me to small claim court and I responded I would counter sue him for blocking my driveway with his soil; thereafter, I did not have a chance to say a single word because he began shouting in a very loud militant tone "Don't you ever call me or mention my name to your friends or anyone else" and immediately hung up giving me no time to respond. I believed he was threatening me because nothing else made sense: GIVEN THE SITUATION IN HOW THEY CONNED ME INTO PAYING, WHY WOULD I EVER GIVE BLADECUTTER REPEAT BUSINESS AND I CERTAINLY WOULD NOT GIVE BLADECUTTER A RECOMMENDATION TO MY FRIENDS OR STRANGERS. SEVERAL OF MY FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS ARE AWARE OF BLADECUTTER'S ACTION SINCE SEPTEMBER 24, 2014; THE Men DID NOT BELIEVE I RECEIVED 3 YARDS OF SOIL. MR. *****'S BBB STATEMENT, 'NEVER TO DO BUSINESS WITH ME AGAIN' IS PUZZLING. Apparently **** ***** thought he had frightened me into paying him because he later followed-up his militant call with an invoice demanding payment. Several days after **** ***** militant call, I removed the soil from my driveway on October 23, 2014. AFTER MY LAST CONVERSATION WITH MR. ***** ON SEPTEMBER 24, 2014, I GAVE HIM NEARLY A WEEK TO HONOR THE AGREEMENT FOR PAYMENT. I DID NOT HEAR FROM HIM, THEREFORE ON SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 I mailed a certified letter to Bladecutter which they received on October 2, 2014 at 1:57 p.m. about two weeks prior to his 'militant phone call'. I don't have a scanner to attach the certified documentation. But the USPS certified Tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX can be used to confirm the delivery date and time. Again, disproving Mr. **** *****'s statement that they never heard from me prior to his mid- October militant phone call.

FROM: ******* *****
**** ********* ****
******* ** XXXXX


TO: BLADECUTTERS
P.O. Box 402
Dayton, OH 45405


Since there has not been a resolution with the issue regarding the Garden Soil delivered to my home on September 22, 2014. You must remove the soil from my driveway.

I questioned the quantity of soil delivered and your employee insisted that three wheel barrels equal three yards. I was in disbelief, therefore, I asked him the size of wheel barrel he was referencing. I have two wheel barrel, a small and large. I asked him to look at my wheel barrels to give me an indication of his measure. He insisted that my large wheel barrel was the size that he was referring to and tried to convince me three full wheel barrels equal three yards.

I was not convinced. He later said he would return at 5 PM with an extra one-yard since I was a past customer. Based on his promise to return at 5PM with one yard, I paid the invoice with a check because I could not be certain to be at home at 5PM.

I returned home at 4:50 PM and waited until 7 PM. The following morning, I was given the impression the female on the phone was unaware of the situation and I was told someone would call me back.

The call back left me questioning the sincerity of your company in resolving the issue with the quantity of soil delivered.

I indicated I had not removed or handle the soil and would not do so until a resolution. Asking me to fill my large wheel barrel and level to top edge, dump and repeat and I should count 6 wheel barrels, which equal 3 yards. First, as a senior in my 60's I cannot physically handle that amount of weight and second, what would be the solution if the count was less than six.....Would I be accused of miscounting?

It was your employee who introduce the subject of wheel barrel as the method of measurement and specifically 3-wheel barrel. And it was your employee who promised and stated a resolution of delivering an additional one-yard that same evening at 5PM. I agreed to his resolution and thereafter wrote the check for payment. You chose not to honor his resolution as a representative of your company.

Your resolution for me to measure your delivered garden soil in my driveway would only have been acceptable if your employee returned to fill and count or observed the fill and count.

I regret handling of this matter has been less than professional. I am now delayed in completing my fall yard work and contracting hardscaping for my home.

Apparently you are not honoring your employee resolution and I cannot accept your alternative resolution. Therefore, please remove your garden soil

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Lawn Maintenance, Mulches, Topsoil, Patio & Deck Builders, Snow Removal Service, Demolition Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.