BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dayton and the Miami Valley

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/1995

BRIGHT IDEAS (Headquarters)

Phone: (937) 458-0322Fax: (937) 401-10215600 Poe Ave, DaytonOH 45414

0TRUSTS
0 People Trust BRIGHT IDEAS

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/1995

BBB has determined that BRIGHT IDEAS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BRIGHT IDEAS' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BRIGHT IDEAS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Delayed on time to finish work and rushing rushing payment before work is done also having hard time with every single step in Repair process.


1- sales lady(**** ****) said I will have a professional workers and electrician to install my exhaust fan ( one guy does everything) his car even doesn't say bright ideas so it's subcontract so that was over representing for your company !!!!
This is fine

2- Contractor was not professional working on electrical switches and we had spark and surge and i did encourage him to disconnect the power.
3- back and forth to ****** ( he had a problem with switches and material) he had switch problem ( the fan did not turn the fan on after its been connected until I told him to you need to replace the switch that's how I knew he is not an electrician . He went to ****** and purchased one different color so I had to go myself and get him the right color.

4- exhaust fan was not what we agreed on in the contract, the fan I told ****** I want decent fan not fancy not cheap and the one I have has loud and noise going on after few minutes when it's turned on and I checked at ********** $44.95 (second cheapest fan with light) and after I insisted to and my wife complained as well because she can't hear our kids when it's on, they agreed to replaced it.
5- I had some mildew and mold on some of the drywall on one side of the shower wall I had to negotiate with installer to cut and replace it because he said I'm not supposed to do it. and I had to paint it

6-shower door has gaps from two corners in the bottom it was not caulked well in the corner!!! So they had to redo the shower door (caulk it and replace the sweep in the bottom of the door.

7- Materials were represented in sales process much thinner than the real one! When I saw the sheet of acrylic it's so flexible versus they I saw real hard one in sales process
8- we have to settle the situation of shower door if it will fixed or repaired on April 8 bright ideas and a glass company and me bright ideas did not show up and no call and I sent an email same night to them telling them nobody showed up they respond the following day apologizing .

It took longer time that they promised 10 days whole process to 1 month.

Finally, I'm unsatisfied with this company and I don't recommended to anyone Took off from my jobs
2 full day March 12, 13
2 half days April 1st, 8th that's also, cost money



Initial Business Response
To whom this may concern:

Bright Ideas was hired to replace an existing shower for ***** ********. Bright Ideas hired *************** in *********** to purchase and install a custom glass shower door for Mr. ********. The door by ********* had the sweep at the bottom of the door was cut approximately 1/4 inch too short and was causing a small leak.
This has been addressed and is being replaced at 5:00 on April 22nd.
The fan that Bright Ideas was told to install was a midgrade fan. There was never a mention of how expensive the fan was suppose to cost. Bright Ideas, with the right intention, did purchase a midgrade fan. Once the fan was up, Mr. ******** said we didn't purchase a good enough fan per what he expected. It was too loud for him. I spoke with our trained bath professional and told him to purchase anther fan/light for Mr. ******** to satisfy his request. The homeowner did not want to purchase his own fan and it was up to the discretion of Bright Ideas.
The homeowner complained about how our Professional Bath Installers was in a non Bright Ideas vehicle. Our business policy, is that our installers are responsible for their own vehicle.

The customer asked our installer to do additional work that was outside of the scope of work for no additional expense. Our installer did agree to do the work, but our installers are not paid to additional work outside the scope of work unless it is approved and a change order is signed by the homeowner. In this case, the homeowner asked for additional work to be done outside of the bathroom and thought it could be done just because we were there to do the bathroom.

Regarding the comment about Bright Ideas not showing up on a scheduled meeting is incorrect...I, *****, scheduled ********* glass to come out to Mr. ********'s home to take a look at the door and sweep on the bottom of the door to see what needed to be done to correct a small leak at the bottom of the door. I original was going to go just to meet the representative from ********* glass, not to meet with the homeowner. The representative with ********* assured me that he was going to look at it and would let me know what he needed to do to correct the problem. We agreed and I told him to give me a call to let me know so I knew the homeowner was being taken care of. The rep with ********* met with *****, had a good conversation and was explained to him that ********* would take care of it. ********* told me the customer was comfortable and agreed to what was going to be done. A day later we received an email stating that the homeowner was disappointed that the owner of Bright Ideas didn't show up to look at a small leak in the bottom of his door. I did apologized, because I wasn't aware that the homeowner was expecting the owner to be at his home for this matter. The appointment was set up for ********* to resolute the problem. ********* has been very communicable throughout the process.

***** *******
Bright Ideas
5600 Poe Ave.
Dayton, Ohio 45414
Phone 937-458-0322
Fax 937-401-1021
RenuYourHomeNow.com

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


First of all, if you see the date of shower door leakage completion is April 22 which means a month after their promise to get everything done so it their responsibility not mine
Also ***** forgot to mention that ***************** did not caulk the corner of the shower corner at the initial Shower door installation ,and then the owner came apologized about his employee unfinished job and the owner caulked that corner .

About the fan yes bright ideas agreed to have mid grade fan that's documented in the contract, and by accident I checked it at ********** it is 44.95 nu tone brand.
About mid grade fan with light they are ranging from $32-$200
And I will let reader decide what $45 fan falls in ? is it really mid grade fan!!!! And I like to correct a point for *****, it was loud per my wife's complaint because she can't hear my boys if something happened
And I was in bathroom and the fan on and my wife with 3 feet from me right by the door from outside and I could not hear her so I think it does not meet agreed fan!!
It's not about price it's about quality

Other point, about professionalism ; I was informed from bright ideas sales lady , when she made it sound like more than one person who will do the shower with ceiling fan and I mentioned in my complaint that the installer was fine as long as the job done correctly... But that was over representing for the company , even I purchased my carpet throughout ****** they told me we deal with X COMPANY AND THEY SHOWED UP AND DRESSED UP WITH SHIRTS IT SAYS ****** ON IT NOT LIKE BRIGHT IDEAS THEY MAKE SOUND THAT THEY HAVE THEIR OWN STAFF ALSO, no offense to anybody but installer showed up with beat up truck and talking about professionalism. And I can show what's truck look like.
one day I had to give him a jump to his truck

And bright ideas agreed to renew my bathroom shower and when I signed the contract they agreed to demolish wall replaced shower base and drywalls plus plumbing so I believe it their responsibility when they see mold or damaged drywall in that shower area from inside and out ITS THEIR JOB TO RENEW ANYTHING IN REGARD OF THE SHOWER AREA IT IS A SHOWER WALL!
THEY AGREED TO DEMOLISH COMPLETE WALL BUT THEY DONT WANT REPLACE LESS THAN A 1/4 OF THAT BOTTOM DRYWALL !!!!!
and by the way I had to convinced the installer to do it !!!
It doesn't make any sense, it's their job to renew my shower
And that what the sales lady said that's why we are different than other companies ... Because we take care of any problem in the job with our clients

And about the meeting,
***** is not telling the truth unfortunately ,
Because he called and apologized and before that I emailed his office manager that Tuesday night and I told her tell ***** thank you for not showing up and not calling to tell me that You are not able to come to my house for that meeting
And ***** office manager called the following day leaving a message telling me I need to pay my remaining balance !!!!

Then I think she saw my email for the night before and responded to my email apologizing about ***** not being there because he was at 10 am appointment and the house owner was late that's why he could not make and commit to my appointment and again requesting to collect remaining balance in the email... Acting like work is done ...
( I have all the documents (emails) saying showing that conversation )
Plus a glass gentle man (**** )was apologizing and he said I will make it work for you and we had lengthy discussion.
Also, I was informed from ***** *****'s office manager that Tuesday that ***** would like to meet with me and **** (glass company )
Because I did not like design of the collection channel in the bottom my shower door and I request off from my work to meet with ***** brightideas owner and ********* rep to find another option because previous Friday I stopped by ********* shop to see other option and I informed one of brightideas worker( ****** ) to have them in the picture because everyone knows my frustration
that's why we had a lengthy discussion ***************** rep and because ***** did not show up and he tried to satisfy me . Also I can proof that phone call that ***** did to me that morning ..
Other point that Mr ***** keeping saying a small leak ? Well, when my bathroom floor mat get soaked with water that's not small leak in the shower !!!!

And about the sign that Mr ***** mentioned it was offer from sales lady as advertising for their company to taking $200 of my price I did not know about the sign but she so disparate to get me signed for the job and my proof to that sales lady asked to have anything down so we can signed a contract and I signed a check of $100 and after couple days she asked to have 50% down so they can order materials and I did pay them half
But thats a good indicator about how they run business !!!!!


I filed this company BBB after trying to reach somebody to hear my complaints also I have the email that I sent to the office manager ***** explaining my complaint.
And I'm not not trying to put pressure on bright ideas but inform other people about this company and also I'm entitled to %25 off because no family will accept the situation that I and my family been through that we have half of their furniture of my bedroom to other room , postponed my carpet installation to accommodate the installer time and a glass service time !!! Which in reality they suppose to work with customer time
Talking about timing one of the promise that I suppose to get is how I like the done time wise
I told them due to my work schedule I would to get the work as fast as you can , well the installer wouldn't work after 5 due lack of tools or materials one his girlfriend need to go with to baby shower so he has to leave by 5 !!!!!
Plus we take shower and water comes out to the floor and we have clean all that mess!!
That's a because bright ideas owner he doesn't want to admit his delayed job completion and does not considered peoples time
So I'm sure anyone in my position won't like to pay bright ideas in full !!!

***** said we had to purchased better fan , and I Said you did not fulfill with right fan in the contract so Surly I will acquire you to get me the fan we agreed on .

And about shower door I mentioned to a glass company representative that I don't like the concept of collection channel at the bottom but after lengthy discussion that you Mr ***** missed
He convened me to keep that style, and I told service rep I will keep it because I'm afraid will take another month to install the style that I like again !

Again, I filed complaint to warn people from companies like brightideas have really nice front but when customers complaint you don't like it and I'm not try to minimize my bill but you don't deserve full payment for all the delay and problems that your company put me in. And I did pay what bright ideas asked at the beginning

Also , next I will complain in my Angie's list account as well

And if bright ideas finished their job within acceptable time I have no way to complaint about them and pay them in full
but not after month !

And I asked your installer if he works on gutters and he said no and his friend knows to work with gutters that's make no sense at all with professions
Plus working on power line without shutting the electricity off this 101 electricity class and when he made several trip to ****** back and forth not even one or two that's mean he Is equipped with he suppose to do as professional company !

Bottom line
%25 off my contract to get my wife and I satisfied


Final Business Response
Bright Ideas reached out to homeowner to discuss customers requested resolution. Customer was comfortable with resolution. There is no further action neccessary with this customer.

Final Consumer Response
Good morning

After my complaint through your company
Bright ideas agreed to satisfy me and give me the discount that I was requesting them due to the delay of work and the issues that I mentioned in my complaint

I would like to mention that bright did what I was asking for my satisfaction
So would you advise how to do that

Thanks

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: Description:
The consumer has a complaint against Bright Ideas.

He contacted them about servicing his bathroom. He was supposed to receive a free estimate. They wanted his credit card number to check and see if he can afford it. After receiving the estimate, he told them that he couldn't afford it. They still charged his credit card for around 6000 dollars although he canceled it. His credit card company is disputing the charges. When he called Bright Ideas, they didn't answer and they have not called her back.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ******** on January 30th signed a contract with Bright Ideas to have his Bathroom remodeled. On Friday January 31st Bright Ideas sent 2 employees to Mr. ********'s house to verify measurements and color selections for his bathroom. Mr. ******** gave approval to run his credit card for deposit and payment for his bathroom. On Wednesday February 5th Bright Ideas called to confirm installation date. At that time Mr. ******** explained to our office that he no longer wanted to move forward with his bathroom. Bright Ideas has agreed to return funds back to Mr. ******** as per explained to him over the phone. Bright Ideas has been working with the credit card company to reverse the funds back to his card. This was all explained to Mr ******** prior to his complaint. He understood and was appreciative.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
BBB Staffperson spoke with the consumer on the phone on 4/08/14, who stated that the company contacted him, explained that there had been a miscommunication between his office and himself and stated that the complaint issues have been resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing, Cabinets, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Kitchen Remodeling, Home Improvements, Baths, Cabinet Refacing, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Cabinet Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Screen Enclosures, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Cabinet Refinishers, Windows, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Construction & Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Baths - Equipment & Supplies, Steam Bath Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/04/1995Business started: 11/28/1995
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State
30 E. Broad Street,state Office Tower,14th Floor
Columbus, OH43266
(614) 466-3910

Bureau of Workman's Compensation
3401 Park Center Dr
Dayton, OH45414
(937) 264-5000

BBB records show a license number of 1783 for this company.

Type: unknown

BBB records show a license number of 1920775 for this company, issued by Secretary of State. The expiration date of this license is 03/08/2015.

Type: unknown

BBB records show a license number of 1895996 for this company, issued by Secretary of State.

BBB records show a license number of 1593674-0 for this company, issued by Bureau of Workman's Compensation.

Type of Entity

S-Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Heckman (Owner) Angie Geise (Office Manager) Winni Ray (Sales Consultant)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen Cabinets - Refinishing, Refacing & Resurfacing, Cabinets, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Kitchen Remodeling, Home Improvements, Baths, Cabinet Refacing, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Cabinet Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Screen Enclosures, Whirlpool Bath Equipment & Supplies, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Kitchen Cabinet Refacing, Shower Doors & Enclosures, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Cabinet Refinishers, Windows, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Construction & Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Baths - Equipment & Supplies, Steam Bath Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

This company provides design and construction of sunrooms, including remodeling services.

Alternate Business Names
Bright Ideas Additions, BIA Enterprises, Inc., Bright Ideas
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Winterizing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BRIGHT IDEAS

5600 Poe Ave

Dayton, OH 45414

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dayton and the Miami Valley. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BRIGHT IDEAS is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.